Ramrod Key cottage rental - Relax Under Your Tiki Hut
Relax Under Your Tiki Hut
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Ramrod Key Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Kitchen, Bath, Only Sleeps 2 (Child or Infant counts as a Person)

Your Front Door is only 42 feet from the Ocean !

Only 5 Steps (Most rentals in the Keys are on Stilts and have a lot of steps to climb)

Tiki Hut is Only 4 Inches from the Water !

We only have this one rental and do all of the cleaning ourselves. We even wash the shower curtain liner before EACH rental. This way you know that it is clean in case it touches you while showering.

Plenty of Off Street Parking for Your Car & Trailer

WiFi Broadband Internet Access (In the Efficiency or under the Tiki Hut while watching the boats go by ! )

Fishing Poles;

Fish right off the Seawall (Catch your own Dinner);

BBQ Grill (You can cook your dinner from only 3 feet from the water while enjoying the view;

Kitchen with 4 Burner Smooth top Range, Microwave & Frig.

Snorkeling Equipment (some sizes)

Satellite TV

Dockage for your Boat Along Cement Seawall, Cleates & Fenders

Bait freezer in Storage Area

Southern Exposure

Quick Access to Gulf or Atlantic

Canoe;

Roll-Up Blinds on ALL Windows (Except Bathroom Window which is Frosted)

Dive Shop is located 1 mile away (they do Daily Dive and Snorkel Trips to Looe Key National Marine Sanctuary)

No Pets;

No Smoking Anywhere (indoors or outdoors)

No Loud Music

2 Person Maximum (Child or Infant count as a Person)

A Car is recommended. The Bus Station is 1 mile away and does not come very often.

Has been with HomeAway since 2011

The Efficiency has a private entrance from the outside and can not be entered from the main house. The Efficiency is like a cottage that is attached to the main house. The common wall between the Efficiency and the main house is your laundry and storage area ( with your snorkeling and fishing equipment). This makes the Efficiency private from the main house. The owners (husband, wife and NO children) live in the main house, but the lot is a large lot about the size of 4 normal size lots in the Keys. They do not have any pets, so you can walk about freely without being bothered by pets. The Efficiency is usually very quiet (many of our Guests have fallen asleep under the Tiki hut in the daytime), but occasionally our neighbor rents out his house to vacationers who are noisy. It is important to us that our guests be happy with the Efficiency, that is why we wanted to point this possibility out because the Keys are a vacation destination and this does not happen often but it can happen. If you read the reviews of the past Guests, you can see that it has not been a problem; we just wanted to let you know that it is possible.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 943399 in Ramrod Key, Florida

The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 20 reviews
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

A Little Slice Of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We came here from a cold PA to do some fishing and relaxing. The sunrise is a great way to start your day. The tiki hut is a great place to go anytime of the day. From morning coffee to beverages in the evening. Don't forget your fishing rod if you like to fish. Everything you need is inside the efficiency. It is very clean and well maintained. Our hosts were wonderful and knowledgeable.You have your privacy if you want it, or if you need anything, Tom and Judy are always there to help. Tom is a great story teller and if you need to know what that fish is, ask Judy. The seawall is right out your door and we spent a lot of time there. Even when the sun is high and bright the tiki is a great way to enjoy the seawall. There are a lot of things you can do at the seawall like swimming, snorkeling, canoeing, fishing, nature watching, sun bathing, and just relaxing. The seawall is also great at night. There are underwater lights to see fish, and the stars are bright. We visited No Name Pub on No Name Key, good food. We also fished lots of bridges. We went to see key deer many evenings on No Name Key. We took the seaplane to the Dry Tortugas. Pricey, but once in a life time trip. If you go, first flight in the morning is best. We chartered a boat for tarpon. Tarpon Diem was the charter and capt. Chad is a great captain. Yes we were successful. Lastly, we would highly recommend this little slice of heaven as a great romantic getaway.
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

A stunning little piece of paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
For our travel needs the accomodation was perfectly located in a very nice neighborhood on Ramrod Key, equidistant from Marathon to the North and Key West to the South. Tom and Judy, the owners, maintain the property wonderfully. We really lacked for nothing in the way of amenities. It truly felt like our home away from home! The unit offers complete privacy with separate access to the apartment. Since it is the only unit they have for rent you have the whole place to yourselves. Did I mention the views? The calm waters are just outside your door and in full view from the apartment. The lounge chairs and shaded thatched tiki are available for spending a lazy day just reading or just watching the birds and fish. We loved it and are eagerly planning our return trip next year.
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
4

Great Property. Better than advertised.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Really nice efficiency attached to single family home. Nicely remodeled and literally steps from the water. Great water views and very private yard areas. Lots of extras included like canoe, snorkeling, and fishing equipment. Use of washer and dryer was very convenient. Kitchen was much better equipped than most condo rentals. Lots of parking for motorcycle or boat trailers.
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

Wonderful location with great host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a remarkable time. The Efficiency was very clean and comfortable and oh so close to the Tiki Hut! While there are so many interesting things to do in the Keys, sitting under the Tiki Hut, doing nothing but enjoying the ocean breeze and underwater life off the sea wall, was truly special. Judy and Tom were perfect hosts. Their insight of the area was invaluable. Overall it was a perfect week and this couple hope to return soon. Thank you Judy and Tom. PS, catching the five foot shark was an unexpected treat. (We practice catch & release.). Annette and Bill (Arkansas)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

Perfect location for a Lower Keys vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I love this efficiency on Ramrod Key. The location is perfect for any activity in the Lower Keys. The property is very clean and well-maintained. Each morning, we watched the sunrise from the tiki hut - a great way to start the day! Each afternoon, we would be back in our seats at the tiki hut with a book to relax before dark. In the clear water, we could see several varieties of fish near the sea wall.

During our stay, we visited the Dolphin Research Center, The Turtle Hospital, Bahia Honda State Park (the best beaches in the keys), Fort Zachary Taylor, the Key Deer Refuge, and, of course, Key West. All of these attractions are short distance away.

The efficiency is well-furnished. Having a kitchen is wonderful. It is well-stocked with cooking essentials, dishes, spices, oil, etc. A large grocery store is close by on Big Pine Key where you can purchase anything you need. We cooked several meals and saved a lot of money not having to go to a restaurant for every meal. Speaking of restaurants, there are several close by with excellent food. We had a really good lunch at Boondocks - just across Highway 1 from the neighborhood. There is also a Tiki Bar that was very popular. We didn't go there, but there was always a nice crowd. If you want good Cuban food, I recommend Havana 1 on Truman Street in Key West. The owner is also an artist and has his studio in the restaurant. The food is very flavorful and the art is very interesting.

The efficiency comes with several amenities we did not take advantage of, like a canoe, fishing equipment and snorkeling equipment. There is even bait in the freezer! We did use the grill (right on the water!). They also provide almost everything you need for a beach trip. The folding chairs, cooler, ice packs, beach towels and beach bag came in handy for our trip to Bahia Honda State Park and Ft. Zachary Taylor.

Tom and Judy are perfect hosts. They made sure we had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. They were there if we needed them, but never intrusive or in the way. We always enjoyed our conversations with them. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends. Hopefully, we will be able to visit again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
London, England
5

Guests from the UK

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This apartment certainly exceeded our expectations. We found it to be surprisingly roomy, comfortable and well equipped for a small apartment. Although attached to the owners' house, it is completely private and the location is perfect. It has been lovingly created and decorated, was scrupulously clean and we felt very much at home.

The owners, Tom and Judy, are welcoming and charming hosts. We very much enjoyed our chats with them and found their local knowledge invaluable. Knowing our interest in wildlife, they were able to direct us to remote areas of the nearby Keys. Our only regret was that we had not planned a longer stay here as part of our Florida vacation. We could have paddled the sheltered waters in the canoe and explored the local area more thoroughly.

We would strongly recommend this efficiency to any couple wishing to explore the Lower and Middle Keys or simply to relax in a beautiful location. It will definitely be our first choice place to stay whenever we return.

Ray and Astrid,
London, England.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
Prior Lake, Minnesota
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a wonderful little unit in the Florida Keys. It is about 25 miles from Key West so accessible when you want some of the tourist activities there but far enough to provide a wonderful getaway. The unit itself was clean, nicely updated and well furnished. It was a beautiful setting right on the water. The owners, Tom and Judy are very nice and helpful. We would highly recommend this unit for a couple wanting a little getaway in the Florida Keys.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

Warm & wonderful but windy

Warm & wonderful but windy
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
After a less than wonderful day of traveling, we arrived at Tom and Judy's and found everything to be as good, if not better, than we read about. They were so kind (LOVED the cold welcome beverages and the Happy Anniversary balloon!) and attentive. The view was amazing. The location was perfect. We were about 25 minutes from Key West - out of the commotion but certainly close enough to head down for a few hours.
The accommodations were just as promised. It was clean and well-equiped. There was nothing we needed except a little less wind. We never felt like we were being watched and we never felt unsafe. Tom taught us the proper way to open a coconut and we ate fresh bananas from the tree.
Our most favorite restaurant was The Square Grouper. We did some flyfishing one not-so-windy day with Chaos Theory Charters. Other than that, we relaxed and took in a few sights.
It was a wonderful week at a location that I would highly recommend to any couple that is looking to escape for awhile. Quiet neighborhood. Relaxed atmosphere. Definitely 5 stars!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

Ramrod Key Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The efficiency rental exceeded our expectations. It was recently remodeled and was well maintained and very clean. The location was ideal being within driving distance of Key West and many of the more popular state parks and local attractions, yet far enough from the "commercialized tourist" areas of Key Largo. Snorkel gear and a canoe are provided with the rental and provide an excellent opportunity to explore the surrounding area. We especially enjoyed relaxing during the evening in the Tiki Hut watching the fish and listening to the ocean breeze rustle the abundant palm trees. Tom the owner was a superb host, being very knowledagble about the area and local attractions. I would recommend the rental to anyone looking for a relaxing, real Florida Keys getaway.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Water Is Only 42 Feet From Your Front Door & Only 5 Steps To Climb
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p943399
+1 3058488600
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guests From Germany

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Wir waren vom 11.-17.11 2012 zu Gast bei Tom und Judy und waren total begeistert. Die Ferienwohnung liegt direkt am Atlantik, so dass wir gleich nach dem Aufstehen erst einmal schwimmen gegangen sind. Das anschließende Frühstück, unter Palmen und direkt am Wasser, war ein Genuss. Häufig nutzten Tom und Judy diese Gelegenheit, sich nach unserem Befinden, unseren Wünschen und Plänen zu erkundigen und sie gaben uns wertvolle Tipps für Unternehmungen. Tom und Judy waren sehr freundliche und herzliche Gastgeber, so wie man es sich nur wünschen kann. Die Ferienwohnung ist sehr liebevoll und geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Es fehlte an nichts und alle Dinge sind bis auf das Detail aufeinander abgestimmt. Die Wohnung befindet sich in einer sehr ruhigen und gepflegten Gegend. Wir verbrachten eine herrliche Zeit. Sollten wir noch einmal auf die Keys fahren, dann würden wir wieder sehr gerne Gäste von Tom und Judy sein.

Günter und Yvonne aus Berlin
Helpful votes: 1/3