Bern apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Bern Apartment Rental Photos and Description
apartment, sleeps 2-4

Our property is centrally located in Switzerland.

We rent an independent apartment, 2 rooms with full kitchen and spacious bathroom fully furnished in the countryside between Bern and Biel, wit. Good public transportation. Centrally located in Switzerland, possibility to make many trips to the mountains, cities, museeums etc.

Great public transportation!

The setting would serve great as home base for your Swiss travels, or as 'nest' for a sabbatical or a writer/artist to work quietly.

We would love to guide your travels and be your Swiss family if desired.

Keywords: 2 room apartement in single family home

I am a professional Dressage trainer (retired) and my husband is a physician.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1977

Quiet setting next to a beautiful forest, good public transportation, parking off street, great for day trips

In a beautiful countryside in beautiful Switzerland

7 Reviews of Property 258953 in Bern, Switzerland

Serenity in Switzerland
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Holton, Kansas USA
5

Very Nice Country Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I spent 12 days here and is was perfect. Very easy to travel to city on the bus, takes you right to train station. No need for a car rental with the great public transportation. I would recommend getting a swiss travel pass, it is good for unlimited bus, train, some boats and some cable cars. Also is a museum pass and discounts for other tourist attractions.
Uschi and Richard were very nice and really informitive on what to see, hardly even knew they were home.
I would recommend this place and would even go back again. Their home is very clean and comfortable. The people there in Biel were so pleasant and helpful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Minnesota, USA
5

Great home base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I spent a week in Switzerland and this was a great home base. It is located in the quiet countryside, but you can jump on a bus and be at the train station in about 10 minutes! You can travel so easily throughout Switzerland by train. We enjoyed the space - nice and clean, comfortable and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly! They picked us up with our bags from the train station and brought us back the day we departed. We recommend getting out of the city and enjoy the serenity of the beautiful Swiss countryside.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Haifa, Israel
5

Better than we expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We are a family of 3 and stayed for two weeks and felt very comfortable. The apartment consists of two large rooms, a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with hot water all the time, parking a step from the entrance. It is in a separate part of their house with a separate entrance.
Uschi and Richard were very helpful with advice and directions in the area. We arrived late and they offered in advance to buy some groceries. Also let us use their laundry machine and private home and cellular phone. They are very quiet, we couldn't notice if they are in or out of the house.
One of us is a bridge player and they arranged an afternoon of bridge with local people, an example of their consideration.
I'll recommend to anyone interested in a quiet place in Switzerland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Vancouver, B.C.
5

Lovely Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Uschi and Richard were wonderful hosts, very generous. Richard met us at our train to give us a ride. We were provided with lots of information and we really appreciated their assistance. The apartment is clean, furnished nicely, with a comfortable bed, and has everything we needed in the kitchen to cook meals. The house is in an amazing location beside a beautiful forest and across the street to a bus stop. We had all the space and privacy we could ever hope for, felt comfortable and were invited to share other common areas of the house. Uschi and Richard are an easy and fun couple, enjoyable to be around. With being in the country the occasional bug or fly gets in, but I have to mention that in the four months we stayed there we did not see a roach. It is a very peaceful place that we hope to return to one day. Thanks again to Uschi and Richard!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Germany
2

You get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Perfect location for traveling the rest of Switzerland. We drove to the train station everyday and took the train all over Switzerland. I made the mistake of not reading/understanding exactly what we were renting, so yes, it is two rooms at the bottom of their house. We had our own bathroom (which is outside the "apartment" area) and our own entrance. We felt uncomfortable using the common areas of the house as it was their home (their kitchen, their living room, their dining room). So we stayed in our rented apartment only. The apartment was not clean when we arrived. The oven didn't work the entire week we were there and the kitchen had roaches.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: This tenant never complained about anything but the stove which was in fact not working. They used our stove until the repair was done. There have certainly not been roaches (we don't have anything like that in Switzerland), or other insects, the place was professionally cleaned for the new tenants; the bathroom is not outside the apartment.
Helpful votes: 5/12
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Vancouver,WA USA
4

Wonderful stay out in countryside but near a Medieval city

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We are a 60yo couple that stayed here for a week in early October,2010. The charming Uschi met us at the train, took us grocery shopping for essentials and then on to the apartment. It is in the bottom floor of their house, located 2-3 miles from the city center of Biel among the cows and wonderful forest. Walk down to the next door farm and buy your eggs,veggies and rabbit.There is dependable bus service to Biel a few blocks from the house, so this location will not cramp your outings.
The apartment was spotless and well maintained- consisting of a large living room and dining table, a smallish kitchen and eating area and a bedroom.The bathroom was large and the shower had great pressure and endless hot water. The rooms all share the entrance hallway with Uschi and Richard who reside above but no awkward moments occurred and they were most respectful of our privacy. Every amenity described in the VRBO ad existed and the owners most attentive and helpful. The only negative for us were the twin beds--we prefer a queen/king mattress arrangement.
I recommend this apartment to all, it is fairly priced and Switzerland is one beautiful country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The apartment has 2 single beds and one Queen Size bed.
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Serenity in Switzerland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258953vb
+41 76 341 5664
Bern Berne area
Atlanta, GA
4

Very positive experience!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We're a young couple who stayed at Uschi's home for 7 days during our 1st Swiss vacation. Uschi and Richard were gracious hosts who made our stay as comfortable as possible. As a Swiss native, Uschi was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go and what to do, which kept us busy every day. She even went out of her way to take us to the supermarket for groceries so that we could save money by cooking breakfast and dinner at home. We especially enjoyed her delicious traditional Swiss dinner that we otherwise would not have had the opportunity to experience. Uschi's husband, Richard, is an American, and Uschi herself lived in the States for 30 years; so they both understand American culture very well. Their stories are fascinating and their dog Lala is amazingly cute and smart!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 16/17