St. Michaels estate rental - House and Garage as seen from above (pool on left)
House and Garage as seen from above (pool on left)
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps20
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

St. Michaels Estate Rental Photos and Description
7 bedrooms, kids sleeping loft, 8 bathrooms, sleeps 20 (SORRY -- NO WEDDINGS)

Deep Neck Point is a very private luxury waterfront retreat able to comfortably accommodate up to 20 guests. Located on a private 60 acre peninsula that reaches out into a mile-wide stretch of Broad Creek, the 8,000 square foot house and detached 800 square foot garage apartment is surrounded by 270 ° of water. The property, which was built in 2003, features a large in-ground pool, a 150 foot dock with 4 ft mlw, a new tennis court, a 200 foot zip line over a marsh, a game room, a ping pong table and a small kids playground.

Moreover, the property is located on a secluded 60 acre parcel that is ideal for nature hikes, sports, hunting (in season), and fishing. Guests may dock their own boat at our dock, or may arrange for local fishing guides to pick them up to take advantage of the rich fishing options of the Chesapeake Bay.

This house is perfect for family retreats. We designed it such that there is no reason to leave, but if you do, there is tons to do.

Description of House: The house was custom built in 2003 by a renowned local builder and the interior was designed by an accomplished interior designer. Much of the furniture was sourced from local antique stores and auctions.

The 1st floor features

~a large eat-in kitchen with a refrigerator/freezer, double oven and 2 dishwashers

~a utility room with refrigerator and washer/dryer, a casual dining room that seats 12

~a formal dining room that seats 8

~a private office (with sofa bed)

~a large living room with four sofas a flat panel TV/VCR/DVD and seating for 14,

~a wood paneled study with flat screen TV/VCR/DVD and Wii plus seating for 6

~2 bedrooms and 2.5 bath rooms.

~a 2000 s.f. wrap around porch

The second floor includes:

~game room with TV and VCR

~4 bed rooms and 3 full bathrooms. The master bedroom has a porch overlooking the water.

The third floor:

~dormer with 5 twin beds with 5 additional rollaway beds (e.g. sleeps 10) and a 1/2 bath plus access to a roof top crows nest.

Exterior: The house is accessible by a private gravel drive that opens into a 60 acre private oasis.

The home sits on a manicured 5 acre lot with plenty of room to play football, lacrosse, baseball and other activities. A full sized basketball court with two 10' adjustable hoops sits adjacent to the house and serves as an overflow parking area. In the back yard, which overlooks the water, a 200 foot zip-line runs over a waterfront marsh, adjacent to a large fire pit that is surrounded by 10 adiorondack chairs and tables. The fire pit is perfect for making s'mores or just relaxing and watching the sun set off the edge of the property.

A new full sized fenced in tennis court sits within 200 feet of the house, and a large fenced-in pool (not heated -- available only in summer) with pool house, ping pong table and hammock are perfect for the summer months.

Hunters will enjoy the 3 waterfront duck blinds and 3 inland goose blinds, along with acres of woods for exploring.

St. Michaels, Easton and Oxford-Belleview Ferry: Locally, you are 15 minutes (9 miles) away from the quaint town of St. Michaels. There you will find 5 star restaurants and spas, ice cream parlors, the world-class Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum and numerous boutiques for great antiquing and shopping.

Just 20 minutes from the house is Easton, MD, the county seat. Easton features top notch art galleries and more 5 star restaurants.

And all guests are encouraged to borrow our bikes to take the 6 mile ride to the Oxford-Belleview Ferry. Established in 1683, it is the oldest continually operating ferry in North America. Today it takes cars and bikes on a 10 minute ride across the Tred Avon river from Belleview, MD to Oxford, MD and back. In Oxford you will find more great restaurants and shops along with world-class sailing.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Louisiana and moved to DC after attending college in North Carolina. My wife and I built this home in 2003. We spend as much time as we can here, but rent it when it is not being used.

Our property is professionally maintained by a team that includes our caretaker, our cleaning crew and our lawn and landscape crew. They are very meticulous, and every detail is attended to.

Owner purchased this estate in 2003

My wife and I come from large families and we use this home as a getaway, family gathering spot and beautiful place to just relax. We live in a busy metro area, and life here can be extremely hectic and packed, but once we cross the Bay Bridge and enter the Eastern Shore, the stress seems to slip away and we can truly relax.

Between my wife's and my parents, there are 9 children and 30 grandchildren. We have 3-4 family get togethers here each year, and we spend most of the summers here with our kids. The kids enjoy roaming our 50 acre property, fishing and crabbing on the dock, riding the zip line, playing tennis or basketball, biking, etc. The property is extremely private. The property is the last house on a peninsula that sticks out into the Bay, which provides us with isolation from (literally) everything and everyone else.

We designed the house, and hired a local builder to construct it. It took three guys two years to build the house, but the quality of the construction is top notch.

We are surrounded by 270 degree of water -- 3 sides. We overlook a very wide body of water, and we are on a large farm, so there are no other homes visible to us. You have the entire area to yourself.

One of my favorite features is the 'crows nest' on top of the house. You have to climb a ladder to get there, but its really wonderful to have a 360 degree view of the surrounding water and farms.

The tennis and basketball courts are also favorites! Runners have a 3 mile jog down to the end of our road and back, or 10 miles if you are feeling ambitious and want to run to the Oxford-Belleview Ferry and back.

11 Reviews of Property 942769 in St. Michaels, Maryland

Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
York, Maine
5

Already trying to plan our next trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We couldn't have asked for a more perfect spot to have a reunion with our college friends and their families. We came from Maine, New Jersey and North Carolina, so the location was perfect for all. I can't say enough about the house and the grounds. The house is immaculate and so beautifully appointed, but comfortable all at the same time. Everything we needed was right there, so we really never left except to pick up some fresh, local crabs in town one night. The weather was perfect, the sunsets were beautiful, the pool was a hit and the tennis and ping pong tourneys were fun (and competitive!). The owners were so helpful and responsive, as was the caretaker. I really can't say enough about this house and what a perfect place it is to host a large gathering with family and friends. No doubt we'll be back - hopefully very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

Perfect for small work retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a stunning property! We hosted a small non-profit work retreat for our staff and Board and were able to sleep the whole staff in the house/guest house. The beautiful grounds, large family room, two dining areas and two kitchens made it easy to have fun, work and eat -- everything we needed. Will is a great host, would recommend and come back!
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
Pennsylvania
5

Magnificent Estate Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Private estate in a spectacular setting -- we had a group of 15 old friends for a get-away-weekend. No one could find anything negative about the property -- very comfortable and well equipped -- we were able to seat all in the dining room for gourmet dinners the gals prepared. Sunsets are to die for, sitting around the fire pit w/ cocktails. Could go on & on about this place -- it's a "can't miss" for a relaxed get-away-weekend with a large group of good friends or family.
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

WAY beyond our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We wanted to be sure to tell you that our weekend was nothing short of fantastic! We were completely "wowed" by your home and the property around it! Great layout for our crew aged 5 - 85. We found EVERYTHING we needed to prepare gourmet meals for our large clan. The zip line and the pool were huge hits with the kids, and the fire pit was the perfect late night gathering spot for the college guys. Your caretaker, Bert, was also very helpful in showing us about the property, and we thank him for being accessible to answer our questions. We have all agreed that we would love to come again for a longer stay! Thanks again from all of us!
The Dyer Family
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

The pictures don't do it justice, Amazing property

The pictures don't do it justice, Amazing property
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The property is a little hard to find as you wind down a long wooded driveway/road because the place truly is a hidden gem. The property is a massive, well maintained retreat. There are tons of activities and everything is provided. Whether you are using the tennis courts, pool, basketball court, or fire pit you will see the care taken to keep the place special. Be sure to bring everything you need as town is a bit of a drive, but that is the charm of an escape so close to DC/Balt. You won’t have to fight over any of the main bedrooms as they are all great. Adults will be a little campy in the big dormer which if more geared towards a room full of kids. Don’t miss the sunset on the back balcony.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
Washington, DC
5

Amazing property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I chose Deep Neck Point to celebrate my 40th birthday with some family and friends and can't imagine a more amazing setting to do so. This property is far and away the best property we have ever rented (and we are frequent users of VRBO). It has everything you need to keep everyone - children and adults alike - in your party comfortable and entertained. You never need to leave during your stay unless you want to (in which case it is convenient to St. Michaels and other Eastern Shore towns). This is a family home that is well-loved and used often, and it shows. It is impeccably decorated and every amenity is available. The kitchen is extremely well-stocked, which was a big plus for us because we like to cook. The owner was very pleasant to work with and everything about this property is as described and pictured (except that there are no longer cribs in two of the bedrooms - not a big deal for us, but more as an FYI for future renters. There was a pack n play already set up in one of the bedrooms.). I cannot recommend this property highly enough. We didn't want to leave and joked that if we all just split up, there was no way the owner could ever herd all of us up to remove us. Fabulous in every way!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad that you enjoyed the property and that you had a fun birthday. Thanks for the positive review. I am so sorry about the cribs. We took them down about a year ago (our kids and our neices and nephews outgrew them) and forgot to update the photos. We do have a pack-n-play, and will get another just in case it is needed. Hope to see you back!
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

A GREAT PLACE FOR A FAMILY REUNION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Rented: November 20, 2012


While gathering a family of 19 for a family reunion and celebrating Thanksgiving away from home can be an overwhelming challenge, this property was the perfect choice!
Not only was the house beautifully decorated, clean and well maintained, the owners thought of everything we needed – providing all the amenities as stated in the listing. The floor plan is outstanding and well designed with cozy spaces to gather without feeling crowded. The well equipped kitchen and adjoining utility room provided us with all the space we needed to avoid clutter. And the 15 ft ceilings were great….helping to absorb the noise of family activities!
The views were outstanding, with water and wild life surrounding us. We loved watching the deer prance around on our walks. And needless to say, the rocking chairs on the porch were a big hit for visiting and watching family games…… with a roaring bonfire the perfect way to end the day! The owners have provided all the “toys” for a good time!
We also found the owners to be very available and helpful in answering any questions we had during the planning stages. We had great peace of mind and were more than satisfied in the choice of this listing. We would love to return another time - and highly recommend this home to those seeking a private family retreat……. beautiful surroundings……. and the luxury and comfort of well planned amenities!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

Best Weekend Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I stayed here with a group of family and friends and we all had the most amazing long weekend. The house has everything you could need and more. It is beautifully furnished, spacious, quiet, perfect. The kitchen is beyond stocked and there were plenty of towels, extra toiletries, pillows, etc.

The caretaker was the nicest man! He helped us with any questions we had. The owner is also very communicative and flexible. He answered all my questions and emails immediately.

We just had so much fun enjoying the pool, docks, basketball. Just sitting on the porch swings looking out on the sunset is an experience!

Loved everything about this house and hope to be able to return soon!
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

Family can't stop raving about this house

Family can't stop raving about this house
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a very memorable family reunion / 85th birthday weekend at this home and all of our relatives are still raving about how wonderful the house and grounds were. The listing description is very accurate. The home is very well maintained and beautifully decorated, the kitchen is stocked with every possible tool/utensil/etc that you could need, the grounds are stunning, and there is plenty of everything (rocking chairs, dining table seating, living room seating) to accommodate a large group. On our second to last night we roasted marshmellows around the bonfire and on our last evening everyone except 85 year old grandma took a turn on the zip line and enjoyed the sunset from the back porch. We would all recommend staying at this home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious and Extremely Private Waterfront Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p942769
St. Michaels Chesapeake Bay
5

Gorgeous House and Lots of FUN.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house is absolutely beautiful, surrounded on three sides by the Chesapeake Bay. We vacation yearly with our extended family of 12 and this is one of the best spots we have found. We all had a great time. The home is very large and lovely, has high ceilings and a perfect design and layout for a large group. The furniture was very comfortable; the casual dining table large enough for all of us. We have a bunch of great cooks (all the in-laws!) and they loved cooking together in the kitchen that was well appointed including 2 dishwashers and 2 refrigerators.

We loved sitting out back on the porch on one of the many rockers or out at the water's edge, listening to the water, reading books, sitting around the fire pit, hanging by the pool, etc. We also had a few dinners outside on the patio furniture. The pool is big and has a great diving board. The poolside tables with umbrellas offer shade from the sun and the pool house has a refrigerator and large icemaker. The tennis court is new and very nice. The basketball court is a lot of fun. If you want to relax in a beautiful environment with built-in activities, this house is the perfect spot.

A few of our group went out with a local fisherman/boat and went fishing. The groundskeeper helped us out with the logistics. Perfect.

The owners are kind, helpful and responsive to any questions or issues. I would highly recommend this home to others.

Bonus: Nature. There are a lot of ospreys on the property and it is fascinating to watch them soar and interact with one another. We also saw a bald eagle on one of our walks down the long driveway and road. Deer and hummingbirds were enjoyed as well.
Helpful votes: 2/2