Santa Cruz house rental - Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz Surf Museum and Lighthouse
Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz Surf Museum and Lighthouse
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Santa Cruz House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

• • •

This adorable, lovingly-maintained, Westside 40's bungalow is located in a central yet peaceful neighborhood. Ideally located on the corner of Bay & Lighthouse, it’s a short walk to: Cowell’s Beach, Steamer Lane, the lively Municipal Pier and the ever-entertaining Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Take one of our beach cruisers for a short bike ride Downtown, to Mission Street, New Leaf market, the Harbor and beyond. You'll never need to get into your car.

Our well-appointed, but simple home was recently renovated - adding modern amenities while maintaining it’s retro feel. For a small house, the two bedrooms, kitchen and living room are all quite spacious with loads of natural light. The sunny kitchen is great for entertaining and is outfitted with new appliances, good knives, and stocked with basic supplies like olive oil and spices. The master bedroom has a wonderful Cal King bed, work desk, task chair, and an iMac computer loaded with an interactive version of the guest handbook and local information. The larger second bedroom has two double beds. If more capacity is needed, we have an Aero bed stored in the closet along with a Pack ‘n Play for infants.

If it’s exercise you desire, you can clear your head with a 5-mile run on the gorgeous sea wall, winding along the secluded beaches and rocky outcroppings. Stroll out to West Cliff, where the world-class surf ranges from beginner to pro. Pedal up to the stunning UCSC campus or wilder ranch for amazing mountain biking, or just blaze down the scenic coast highway on your roadbike.

If you’re more interested in filling your belly, or your soul, you can ride out to the Westside Farmer’s Market on Saturday morning to pick up fresh produce, meats and flowers. Stop by Kelly’s Bakery for a fresh chocolate eclair or hit the Santa Cruz Yoga Studio for a Vinyasa Class. Kick back at the Bonny Doon wine tasting room or grab a beer at the Santa Cruz Brewery.

If you like to shop you can take a stroll Downtown on historic and vibrant Pacific Avenue. Pop into the many locally-owned businesses. Grab a taco from the Taco Bar at the Palomar Inn, have an intimate dinner at Gabriella’s but be sure to save room for dessert. Penny Ice Creamery has wild flavors made on site with surprising local ingredients.

If you want to take a day trip, there are numerous redwood hikes with swimming holes, a variety of colorful coastal towns, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel & Pebble beach, and the San Jose Tech museum.

Check out our website. The link is at the bottom of the 'Rate Details' section.

Keywords: lighthouse, westside, west, beach, beachside, sand, sunset, boardwalk, house, cottage, bungalow, bike, bicycle, cycle, cruiser, skateboard, walk, surf, parking, westcliff, west cliff, downtown, jogging, running, stroll, seawall, ocean, sea, volleyball, coaster, family, families, yard, backyard, BBQ, garden, lawn, privacy, quiet, peaceful, sunny, TV, cable, satellite, internet, wireless, broadband, laundry, wharf, pier

More Details
Hide Details

Alan and Brit are originally from Canada but have spent the past 15 years in the Bay Area. Alan is a product designer and Brit works in advertising as a Digital Production Consultant. We're kinda nerdy but LOVE to surf. We have traveled all over the world but think the Bay Area and Santa Cruz are hard to beat. We split our time between SF and SC.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

After spending more and more time in Santa Cruz over the past few years we realized how much it has to offer and how it is the perfect compliment to San Francisco, where we both work. We love both places and the vacation rental allows us to enjoy both.

The one downside of Santa Cruz is the traffic - especially on the weekends. Location is key. We park our car when we get here and hardly ever use it. There’s something about getting around on a beach cruiser, or strolling, that totally changes your state of mind. We always leave here feeling mentally refreshed. . . and maybe physically exhausted from surfing. It’s a great feeling.

24 Reviews of Property 377763 in Santa Cruz, California

Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a beautiful little bungalow situated ideally just a block from the ocean. The property is beautifully maintained and looks better than we expected. The owners have thought of every detail and are the nicest people. We enjoyed every aspect of this vacation. There is so much to do nearby with the Wharf, the Boardwalk, downtown and trails, beaches. We've already booked next year for the same time. A+++!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Boise, Idaho
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was the best rental expereince I've ever had. The location is literally a five minute walk to the beach and pier. The house is clean and includes things like shampoo, hair dryers, coffee makers, olive oil, etc. Alan was a great host and he even let us check in early. I liked the key less locks to the house. The bikes came in handy as we went riding daily along West Cliff Drive. The house comes with two parking spot which is handy because there are some parking restrictions on the road. This was definitely a 10 out of 10 experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
New York
5

Californian cool

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It feels like Brit and Alan have spent years travelling and staying in other rental properties purely to come up with the perfect equation on how to do it right .... a house in a great location; a house that is clean, spacious and stylish; a large supply of high quality linen and bedding; generous supplies of bathroom, laundry and kitchen consumables; and efficient, friendly communication. The house has a laid-back, retro vibe that suits its location perfectly. The kitchen was equipped with every gadget your heart would desire, and the pantry was well stocked with all the basics you need. Thoughtful additions like a computer with a printer and stack of paper; recyclable shopping bags; surfboards/bikes/beach bags; pump packs of shampoo/conditioner/bodywash etc. What's not to love about this place?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Myself, two teenagers and one child - it was the perfect setup and location!
House was adorable! Location fantastic. Very well kept and beautiful gardens.
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

714 Lighthouse Ave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Given the detail provided in the listing, our expectations were exceeded throughout our 10 day stay. Can't say enough good things about our experience at this home. Many household essentials already available as we arrived. Beyond making this our home, location was exceptional. Easy access for the many activities we engaged in: walk and ride cruiser bikes on pathway along ocean cliff; Santa Cruz Pier and the seals; the boardwalk, amusement park, and that "carny atmosphere" that goes with it; participated in 2 hour private lesson to learn how to surf; day trips to see Redwoods, San Fran. and Monterey/Carmel; and just being lazy on the patio. Grocery store and wine/liquors close by. Best testimonial is that we would return in a heartbeat given the chance. Great landlords who get what this whole experience is supposed to be like. Just do it !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Location, Accomodation.......Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had an amazing vacation in Santa Cruz in this beautiful home. As many reviews before us have pointed out, Alan and Brit have this place set up so incredibly well, you park, unpack and enjoy. From the entertainment system with cables for all, the computer with the guest site listing answers to every question you may have, and the very comfortably furnished home, we didn't need anything. We have 2 kids, 8 and 11, we had brought our own bikes, however the beach cruisers we so much better suited for everyday life here that we put ours in the locked shed and didn't touch them all week. The kids used their bikes and we rode the beach cruisers everywhere. The location leaves you in a great spot to bike or walk down to the beach in a few minutes, or out to the cliff and along bike trails, or a comfortable ride to groceries, restaurants, and hikes. Walk down to the beach to go paddle boarding/surfing. You really can leave your vehicle parked! I would recommend Alan & Brit's home to anyone that would like to experience the lifestyle of the California coast at your fingertips. One of our best vacations ever!!! Thank you!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Beautifully maintained house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We booked a week at 714 Lighthouse. 2 adults and 4 kids. The house was perfect. Modern touches in an old style beach bungalow. Located just 5 min walk from the boardwalk and beaches.
The house has a shed with toys, bikes, boogie boards, surf boards and even wet suits (you will need wetsuits!).
Owners are very easy to communicate.

Overall a perfect setting for a great vacation
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Naperville, IL
5

Fantastic Vacation Home - We all loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We felt incredibly fortunate to have found this gem, hidden so close to the beach, the boardwalk, restaurants, and the lighthouse.
Exploring on foot and on bike was great, and easy to do.
Brit and Alan were so nice, friendly, and helpful. I do believe they have thought of every detail to make their home a vacation heaven for any traveler to cross their doorstep. They provided things that we didn't expect, but loved to find, and very much appreciated! From the coffee beans, and grinder to the condiments and spices, getting comfortable in the kitchen was easy to do! They also thoughtfully provided laundry detergent, and other soaps, which was very welcome, and allowed us to refresh our things and ourselves very nicely.
This home was immaculate and incredibly well organized. It was so charming inside and out - vintage in feel, yet modern and clean at the same time. The decorations were very tasteful and fun. The outside gardens were beautiful.
We loved the storage unit outside with the bikes, boogie boards and beach toys.
When we were ready to wind down, we enjoyed the media toys provided - the nice TV and cable connection and movies, and the wi-fi and MAC. Alan and Brit provided a wonderful interactive guide on the house computer, as well, which was very useful in mapping out where local businesses and attractions were in relation to the house.
We also loved the keyless entry! That is ESP. nice at a beach house, so you don't have to worry about your keys if you want to swim or surf.
We ate out quite a bit while we were here, and would recommend the FIREFISH GRILL on the nearby wharf for a great dinner. The IDEAL Bar & Grill was also good, and fun to sit outside and watch the people go by on the beach. There were outside heaters at IDEAL which were nice to warm us up from the cool evening breeze. For a really good burger, we ate at BURGER and were not disappointed. It was quirky, fun and delicious. We would also recommend the Richard Schmidt school of surfing for surfing lessons. Our boys had a great instructor, Conrad, through this school, and had a great time at the Hook for their lesson.
You won't go wrong with this wonderful vacation home. We would most definitely rent this again, and highly recommend this rental property. Thanks Brit and Alan - We enjoyed meeting you, and loved your place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
United States
5

Great West Cliff House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house was very comfortable and the owners very friendly and helpful, yet never intrusive. Everything was clean, worked well, and the set up of the rooms was comfortable for two couples. The house was even nicer than the photos, and very quiet, considering how close it is to everything. The BBQ and private back yard were great for relaxing outside, and West Cliff walkway is just a step away. We really enjoyed our stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Westside Bungalow Walk to Surf, Beach, Boardwalk and Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377763vb
(831)295-8454
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Nanoose Bay,Canada
5

A Great Santa Cruz Vacation Home In a truly Great Location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is a great facility in a great location .Ideally situated for an easy walk to both the beach and for surfing.With the bikes included with the rental ,not only can you take advantage of the miles of seawalls
and trails along the ocean front but you can also bike to the weekend farmers markets,to the marina for lunch and in fact anywhere in town .It is within easy driving distance of some marvellous hikes in the giant Redwood forests and also some of the best golf in the country with the Monterey peninsula close by. Alan and Brit are great hosts and will direct you to the best attractions and to some great eateries throughout the town and surrounding areas .All in all a great well maintained place for a great vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway