Austin house rental - Your home away from home in the Travis Heights historical neighborhood!
Your home away from home in the Travis Heights historical neighborhood!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

**AUSTIN CITY LICENSE 105088**. Our home is located in beautiful Travis Heights, one of the oldest neighborhoods in this vibrant city known as the 'Live Music Capital of the World'. We are on a quiet street, (no through traffic), next to SoCo(South Congress Ave) which offers some of the finest restaurants in the city along with unique shopping (no chain stores) and live music, and quirkyness all within walking distance.

You'll come back from your explorations to enjoy the well shaded back deck, fenced back yard for your pet(s), hardwood floors throughout, the fun updated kitchen with stainless steel counter tops and a tiled island for you to gather around with your refreshments as you plan your next journey. We have a beautiful flat screen TV (42') in the living room with cable.

We are close to parks such as Stacy, with a naturally heated pool and a kids wading pool, Barton Springs, Zilker, the hike and bike trail, Lady Bird Lake(Town Lake) which offers some of the best sculling in the country, the Convention Center, downtown with more great restaurants and live music, Auditorium Shores, the popular bats at the South Congress bridge, Whole Foods Market, museums, tours, theaters the Long Art Center and so much more.

This home is registered with the City of Austin! Renting homes that are not registered may result in eviction by city. BEWARE!

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Hi travelers...my name is Sandy Bowman. Our vacation rental was our home for many years before we found our dream home just blocks away. Since 2006 we have rented the home to many wonderful guests. We pride ourselves on making your visit in Austin remarkable! I am a licensed Realtor specializing in the downtown Austin residential market. Let me help you find a perfect home while staying in the best neighborhood in Austin! I love this business and was one of the first vacation rental owners in Austin. I have counseled many people regarding starting VR's and am commited to educating other owners on proper procedures when running a great vacation rental.

The Owner purchased this house in 1997

45 Reviews of Property 93982 in Austin, Texas

Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
average rating of 4.977778 based on 45 reviews
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Austin
5

HomeAway employees give property gold star!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We had a lovely stay in Academy Drive. Our party was made of 3 adults and one toddler and the house was the perfect size and layout for this. The master bedroom is large enough to accommodate an energetic 3-year old and everything had been thought through. We enjoyed drinking our welcome bottle of wine and found the information pack, leaflets and maps very useful. The location is obviously fantastic, being so central. Our timetables (and the weather!) unfortunately did not allow us to make use of the decked area outside but we’re hoping we can do so if we have the pleasure to come back next year. My daughter said: “I really really love this lovely house” and we adults could not agree more! A great house, full of character, in a great location.
Owner's Response: Thanks Homeaway!! Sandy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a great house and even better location! It is close to everything fun to do in Austin. We had a car but used cabs a lot of the weekend and it was perfect. Very close to the town lake running path! The house was very clean and well kept. It had everything we needed. The owner was easy to get ahold of for quick questions and great to work with. Highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
5

Great location, wonderful home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a marvelous time in Austin, much of it had to do with our choice of accommodation.The house is very comfortable, in a beautiful neighborhood with parks close by. Lazy mornings drinking coffee and reading on the back deck, a short walk to great restaurants and an easy stroll home after shutting down the Continental Club. Couldn't have asked for more.
Would highly recommend this home for your Austin vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Denver
5

Great Location and Great House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This house was perfect! We had a friend’s weekend in Austin and could not have asked for anything better! Sandy takes great pride in this charming house near South Congress and you can’t help, but feel like you are at home the moment you walk in. The house was clean, cozy and well stocked with everything you need (and then some!). We were able to walk to bars, restaurants, and Town Lake Trail. We took a taxi down to 6th street one night and it was under $10. You could not ask for a better location! It was awesome! I highly recommend this house for anyone looking for a fun weekend in Austin and likes the comforts of home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
NJ
5

Perfect home base for a relaxing family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It was such a pleasure to stay in this clean, comfortable home within easy walking distance of South Congress' many delicious restaurants and funky shops, as well as Lady Bird Lake and its beautiful jogging trail. We had four adults and one baby, and Sandy was able to provide a pack'n'play and high chair for the baby. Sandy was a great host -- very accommodating with our late arrival time and was easy to communicate with before, during, and after our stay. The home is in a lovely historic neighborhood and we enjoyed taking long walks each morning, always ending up at Jo's on South Congress for some coffee and treats. The kitchen was well-supplied with everything we needed to cook meals at home, and there was plenty of tourist information (books with restaurant reviews, recommended attractions, etc). Wifi worked perfectly. This was our first VRBO and we are sold! So much easier to travel with a baby when you have a whole house to spread out in -- and laundry facilities too. Austin is a wonderful place to spend a week, and this was the perfect home base from which to explore it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks!!! Come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
California
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Absolutely excellent stay at a wonderful house and easy to work with owners. I booked this house for a business trip to Austin.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks! Great guests too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
San Francisco
5

Academy House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wonderful rental. Great location. Quiet residential neighborhood. Very comfortable, clean, well appointed in all rooms and homey as well! I would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Austin, TX
5

Cozy home, wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed here for a girls' reunion weekend. It was the first time in Austin for several members of our group, and I think the house had as much to do with their falling in love with the city as anything else. We lounged on the couch, enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen, and spent long hours on the beautiful deck in the sunshine.

The house was well-maintained and spotless, and a perfect example of Austin charm. And a 10-minute walk to SoCo, to boot? Suffice it to say, we spent the weekend congratulating ourselves on our exceptional choice in rental properties.

Many thanks to the owners!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Santa Fe, NM
5

A week before Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This property was wonderful - exactly as it was advertised and more. The owner met us upon arriving with the keys and made us feel very welcome. The location is right in the middle of the SoCo area, within easy walking distance of shopping and wonderful eateries. The house is so cute and comfortable. We had a family Christmas party and there was plenty of room for my son and granddaughter to spend the night with me. I would definitely recommend the property to my friends, and I would gladly stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: more wonderful guests!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Travis Heights Downtown 3 Beds Walk to S. Congress Ave!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93982vb
(512) 447-5000 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Chicago, Illinois, USA
5

Charming House, Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We (two couples) stayed in the house for Formula I weekend. It was perfect. The house is in a nice location, we walked to neighborhood restaurants and bars. Close to a park and jogging trail. We loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests!
Helpful votes: 1/1