Rainbow Bay villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Rainbow Bay Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4]

Chic, stylish Lookout villa is a wonderful property inside and out- beautifully furnished and with a spectacular and secluded location, with panoramic 180 degree ocean views. It is only a few yards from the shore on a slight hillside, in a wonderful grove of 100 year old thatch palms, native trees and tropical flowers, close to several beaches. Sip a cocktail on the large, private patio overlooking the indigo and turquoise ocean, watching the hummingbirds by day and fireflies by night. Relish the tranquility- all you can hear is the sound of the sea and the wind in the trees. Starry nights are spectacular, you may even see shooting stars.

Lookout Villa is over 1100 sq feet, not including two outdoor patios one of 500sq ft overlooking the ocean and one of 200sq ft for barbecues. It has 2 lovely bedrooms both facing the sea with one queen and a double bed, one large bathroom, 2 halls, a well stocked kitchen and a separate utilities room.The Great Room consists of a large, airy, comfortable sitting room with 2 large bamboo sofas, coffee table, flatscreenTV /DVD etc, and a dining area, with high vaulted wooden ceilings and ceiling fans. It is air- conditioned and faces the ocean, except for the kitchen and bathroom, which look out onto a wonderful garden full of native vegetation and flowers. Lots of windows and sliding glass doors display the ocean’s beauty. There is one large private patio facing the ocean and also a separate patio to the west where you can grill your fresh fish or crawfish dinner at sunset.

There is a sizeable tropical garden of 2 lots- help yourself to fresh herbs, papayas, bananas and sugar apples or sit and read a book. The second lot to the east is left completely wild.

Lookout is only a 3 minute drive to the nearest swimming beach [the famous Rainbow Beach] where you can explore the exquisite waters and marine life with my new 2 seater Ocean Malibu kayak or snorkel gear! It is also 1 minute and 2 minutes from other sandy beaches on the eastern side of the island. It is perfect as a romantic getaway or for a small family vacation.

Plus it is just a couple of minutes’ walk from The Rainbow Inn if you don’t feel like cooking or driving, and the private tennis courts if you feel energetic. The nearest shop is 5 minutes' drive away and now we have an organic vegetable farm about half a mile from the villa!

Originally I bought Lookout just for myself, not as a rental, so I have furnished it to my taste; expect lovely, new Indonesian bamboo furniture, large mirrors to reflect the water, and Haitian and Caribbean artwork. I have internet so bring your laptop if you wish and your Ipod as I have a docking station!

I have deliberately chosen not to have satellite/cable tv, but I have a huge selection of good DVDs to watch

Lookout is tucked away on a side road and is very quiet and secluded.For example, due to its elevation and setting on the Atlantic, it is cooler and less troubled by mosquitoes and sand flies than properties right on the water or on the 'Caribbean' side.

Another reason why I bought this beautiful villa is the location in Eleuthera [see map]- Rainbow Bay is a great location for exploring the whole island north to south, from Harbour Island to Lighthouse Point,100 miles of beaches, beauty and history! It is only 15 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from Governor's Harbour, the bustling,quaint little capital.

Eleuthera is the vision people have of the Bahamas - beautiful and unspoilt. You can explore to your heart’s content, go bone fishing, snorkeling, surfing- or simply relax, relax, relax.

Full details of the amenities of the property and information about the island is to be found in the folder at Lookout Villa. I would be delighted to help you rent a car which will bring you directly to the villa, arrange a fishing charter, anything to make your stay as pleasurable as mine are.

More Details
Hide Details

Originally from from England, I have lived in Nassau for 30 years [I used to teach English] and love exploring the Bahamian Family Islands, my favourite being Eleuthera. I have spent most of the last year living at Lookout with my dog Lily. I have 2 grown sons, Simon and Jordan. As I have to spend more time in Nassau this year, i have decided to rent it for the first time.

Angela Darville purchased this villa in 2010

The house itself and location are stunning. For Nature Lovers, the garden is very large and partially cultivated with hibiscus, bougainvillea, banana suckers, papaya trees, herbs and passion fruit whilst the rest is left wild- palmettos, various palms, pigeon plum trees etc.I chose Rainbow Bay as it is fairly close to the capital, Governor's, but far enough away to be very quiet and restorative. There is now an organic vegetable farm close by too! As I am a Brit- Bahamian who has lived in Nassau for 30 years and is experienced in these matters, I selected the location of my property carefully. For example, due to its elevation and setting on the Atlantic, it is not as stiflingly hot or as troubled with sand flies and mosquitoes as many properties on the “Caribbean” [really the Bahama Bank] side of the island, which is important to my comfort as well as yours and a main factor why I bought this property! The breeze is very welcome indeed!

Another reason why I bought this beautiful villa is the location in Eleuthera [see map]- Rainbow Bay is a great location for visiting Surfer’s beach 10 minutes to the north, just outside Gregory Town [home to one of my favourite lunch spots the Laughing Lizard Café], the extraordinary Glass Window Bridge, and only 40 minutes drive to Preacher’s cave or the ferry to world famous Harbour Island [a fantastic day out]. Not to mention a good, well stocked supermarket near the Bluff settlement, also 40 minutes’ away!There are dozens of wonderful beaches acessible from Rainbow Bay on Eleuthera and unlimited exploring to do.

24 Reviews of Property 938891 in Rainbow Bay, Bahamas

Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 24 reviews
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
4

Great deal for the money.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Four of us spent 10 wonderful days in Rainbow Bay at Lookout Villa. The central location is perfect for exploring the island. One bath could be a draw back but we managed fine. The Villa is is exactly as pictured on the web page, clean and pretty well maintained. You definitely need a car and a GPS is a big help for locating the beaches. The book "The Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera" is in the villa and is a must read to locate them. There is a cell phone for use in the villa, you just buy minutes for use, this was very handy as I did not have service on my cell. Angela was very responsive and helpful. We visited everything from north to south that we could fit in. Lighthouse point is breathtaking and the 3.3mile ride in is pretty tough, it took us 40 minutes to go that far but I would do it again. We ate at Rainbow Inn (across Queens Highway), Tippys and Pascals. Rainbow Inn serves their own organically raised vegetables and fresh caught fish, Zeb (son of the owners) raises the veggies and catches the fish. All in all the villa is a great value for the money.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I thoroughly enjoyed communicating with Edie, Tink and friends before and during their stay at the villa and am hoping that they will visit again next year as they really are the perfect guest, both for the villa and for Eleuthera! thank you Edie!
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Boston, MA
5

Book the Lookout Villa... You will NOT be disappointed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was my second trip to Eleuthera and my second stay at the Lookout Villa. The last time we stayed here was in 2006 and the villa was owned by the previous owners. Angela has done so much to improve the property and give the villa a real tropical island feel. The colors are bright and the decor inviting. The villa really has everything one could need or want, and we really appreciated the ability to escape from it all... Including tv, but with access to the internet (for those rare moments when we wanted to reconnect with civilization!). The island of Eleuthera is like nowhere else we have traveled (and we have been lots of places). Despite the obvious poverty on some parts of the island, the Bahamian people are so very friendly and so happy. How could one not appreciate the beauty of the place? The islands beaches are to die for, and the villa is centrally located, making it the perfect spot to stay if wanting to explore the whole island (as we did both visits). Although we ventured all the way to Lighthouse Beach in the south and Harbour Island to the North, in our opinion, French Leaves on the Atlantic side and Ten Bay Beach on the Caribbean side are the best beaches, not just on the island, but really of any we have seen. Ten bay was so pristine and calm, it literally looks like a gigantic infinity pool... Shallow forever, crystal clear, with almost no waves. Perfect for the little ones. french leaves pink powder soft sand and unique tidal patterns are breathtaking. The villa is a fantastic value for money. You cannot go wrong by choosing the Lookout Villa!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
5

Just what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I spent four fabulous nights on Eleuthera at the Lookout Villa with my wife and 2 year old son. The villa is very well maintained, beautifully landscaped, nicely decorated, bright and spacious. Within a few minutes of dropping our bags, having a look around and walking out onto the balcony it was obvious we’d made a great choice and were set for a great stay.

If you’re looking for a chilled-out back to basics vacation then Eleuthera is the place for you. It’s all about relaxation here. The beaches we visited were clean, picturesque and, best of all, sparsely populated. As advertised the villa provided us with snorkeling equipment. A kayak is also available though we didn’t make use of it.

With zero light pollution the night sky is a mesmerizing sight. If the lack of noise and neighbors didn’t already make you feel remote and secluded then an evening on the balcony will.

We plan to visit the island in the future and look forward to staying at the Lookout Villa again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
5

L'aventure confortable

L'aventure confortable
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Jolie maison bien située sur l'ile, ce qui permet de visiter le nord et le sud.
Bien entretenue, aérée, claire avec une belle vue.
Angela, la propriétaire prend vraiment soin de ses hôtes et nous avons eu un excellent contact.
La climatisation dans les chambres permet de passer de bonnes nuits l'été.
Approvisionnement en produits frais facile grâce à un maraicher à environ 1 Km et du poisson frais auprès des pêcheurs de James Cistern. .
Je recommande sans hésiter cette villa d'un excellent rapport qualité-prix.
Owner's Response: Isabelle, Sylvie and Fabrice were absolutely the most perfect guests. I really enjoyed our email contact too. They loved exploring the island, made friends with the locals and really had an Eleutheran experience. It will be a pleasure to meet them in 2 years when they next come over from France. A pleasure to have them!
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Kalkaska, MI, United States
5

Charming and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the Villa. Angela has everything that you might need for a perfect vacation: washer, dryer, Internet, a fully operational kitchen with all the amenities, a big full size bathroom, snorkel gear, kayak, and more. We did not use the DVDs, but there is an extensive collection. She also has a small collection of good books, including a few Pulitzer Prize winners. The Villa itself has a beautiful view of the Atlantic on the deck side. We spent every morning there drinking coffee and watching the sunrise.

The house was immaculate and just as pictured. The grounds were also beautiful with many blooming flowers. When the sun became too hot on the deck, we sat in the small entryway courtyard and watched birds come and go between the blooming flowers and shrubs.

It is a short walk to the Atlantic Ocean where you can watch the waves crash onto the shore or swim if the waters are calm. The Caribbean was an absolutely beautiful blue and calm enough each day for snorkeling, swimming and shell searching.

Naaman (who supplied our car) had his wife meet us right at the airport to take us to the villa. Along the way, she supplied some interesting facts about the places we were passing, including Alice Town and the silos. Angela has put together an incredible amount of information about the island that really helped us plan out our days. We spent some fun days exploring and searching for hidden beaches, but we also made sure to spend some down time just enjoying the breeze off the Atlantic on the deck while watching for passing ships.

Do check out the local organic garden just down the road. For a few dollars, you can get fresh tomatoes, herbs, swiss chard, kale and many other vegetables if you want to do some cooking at the villa. We also really enjoyed the outdoor barbecue in James Cistern on Friday and Saturday and the delicious meal Francis made for us at the Front Porch in Hatchet Bay.

All in all, Lookout Villa exceeded our expectations and was the perfect backdrop for a wonderful visit to this lovely island. We certainly hope to go back! I would heartily recommend to anyone who is looking for a beautiful relaxing place to unwind and refuel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am very lucky to have guests such as Brad and Jana who really love and appreciate the island as much as I do and who were so at home at lookout Villa and all it offers. They couldn't have been happier with its beauty and amenities.Thank you for this review
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
5

Blissful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed here for 6 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My daughters1.5 and 4 years old loved Eleuthera and loved Lookout Villa. The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds and great sheets. There is also a large and comfortable futon in the living room if needed. The kitchen was well stocked- we could have made muffins if we wanted!

The beaches were amazing- on our last day a dolphin swam with us!

Angela was very helpful--she even arranged for us to have everything our youngest would need to make our stay more comfortable. She has lots of information about Eleuthera available in the cottage which was really useful to us.

Great rental, great owner, great vacation. We will be back.
Owner's Response: I am delighted that Jen and her family had such a fantastic time and adored the villa. She was so enthusiastic that when she went home she sent me photos of the trip and the villa which i really enjoyed.
Eleuthera's motto is, "Eleuthera- it's not for everyone." This is because if you want a holiday where it is guaranteed that everything will work perfectly, there are jetskis and fast food, you shouldn't come here. However, we have amazing beaches, friendly locals and beautiful scenery which guests such as Jen really love- as do I! thanks for the lovely review jen.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Montreal, Quebec
4

Une semaine de rêve à Eleuthera...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Nous avons passé une magnifique semaine début janvier à Lookout villa ! La maison est très agréable et relax, avec tout le confort; la terrasse offre une vue panoramique sur l'océan, superbe pour le petit déjeuner et le soir le ciel nous offre sa voute étoilée, quelques bateaux de croisières illuminés passent au loin, accompagnés du chant des crapauds et des grillons... Nous avons gouté aux papayes du jardin...La situation de la villa permet de se promener autant vers le sud que vers le nord de l'ile. D'explorer des plages et des plages toutes aussi belles les unes que les autres ! Nous avons aussi beaucoup apprécié Ocean Drive (chemin tranquille qui longe la côte rocheuse juste en bas de la villa). Angela met à notre disposition beaucoup de documentation sur l'Ile, elle nous avait conseillé un locateur de voiture et elle est toujours prête à répondre aux questions. J.J. le caretaker est lui aussi trés sympa et disponible.
Je recommande vivement cette villa. Elle est pleine de charme comme Eleuthera et en plus son prix est très abordable.


We spent a wonderful week in early January at Lookout villa! The house is very nice and relaxing with all the comfort and some nice things like the kayak..., the terrace offers a panoramic view of the ocean, great for breakfast and in the evening the sky gives us the starry sky. We tasted the papayas of the garden ... The location of the villa allows us to visit the south and the north of the island and to explore stunning beaches... We also enjoyed Ocean Drive (quiet path along the rocky shore just below the villa). Angela have a lot of useful documentation on the island in the house, she recommended us a car rental and she is always ready to answer questions. JJ the caretaker is also very friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend this villa. She is charming as Eleuthera and its price is very affordable.
Owner's Response: I hope Pascale and Armande come back soon as their love for the villa and the island matches my own! thank you so much for this lovely review!
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
5

Perfect Perfect Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family stayed at the villa for three weeks in Nov / Dec. The villa was just as described, although as previous reviewers have pointed out the photos don't do it justice. The cost of the stay was very reasonable compared with other nearby rentals.

It was in the ideal location for us to explore all of the island from Harbour Island in the North to Lighthouse Beach in the South. It is difficult to recommend a specific beach as they are all pretty fantastic. Rainbow Bay beach is just a stone's throw away and is great for lazing, swimming, snorkelling, beach combing and kayaking.

The Rainbow Inn is a short walk away and is great for food.

The villa itself was a real 'home from home' with everything we needed for a great holiday. It was clean and comfortable with an extremely well equipped kitchen. The views from the rear deck of the Atlantic were stunning.

The owner was extremely helpful both before, during and after our visit.

If we returned to Eleuthera we would definitely try to rent this property again.

Just a note on Eleuthera - if you like frantic nightlife, fancy restaurants and wall to wall shopping then don't waste your time. If you like a relaxed pace, stunning beaches, quiet roads and friendly locals then this is the place for you. The only downside was the 'noseeums'. I was bitten a lot, however the rest of my family weren't bothered by them. If you are susceptible to insect bites I would recommend bringing a minimum 50% deet spray as they only seem to stock 25% in the island stores.

My overall verdict - I would definitely recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lisa emailed me the day after she arrived to tell me the house was "fabulous" and how much they enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the wind and waves. They have loved and appreciated Eleuthera as much as I do and as always, I am delighted when guests take the time and trouble to post a review. thank you Lisa.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
austin, texas
5

peaceful vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed at Rainbow Bay property in early August. The views from the villa were lovely and the house itself was in great condition with a beautiful garden. We had some early confusion with the caretakers and the car rental, but everything got sorted out fine within an hour or two. The beaches and the villa were gorgeous and secluded just as indicated in the property listing. It is about a 30 min drive from Governor's Harbor and a 10-15 minute drive into Hatchet Bay. We were there for a Hatchet Bay festival, where we ate some fairly tasty conch fritters and jerk chicken. Since the island is quite rural, food was our biggest expense. I suspect the next time we go, we will bring groceries along. There are nicer restaurants within a 20-25 minute drive. We particularly liked the Sky Beach Club restaurant.
The swimming and the beaches are as advertised... absolutely beautiful. It was difficult to determine which fantastic, secluded white sand/pink sand with crystal clear water beach to go to at some point. We spent most of our time swimming on the Caribbean side at the Rainbow Bay beach just down the road. The water was crystal, clear, warm, and the snorkeling was fantastic. We took the kayak out near Rainbow Bay once or twice with no trouble at all. The Atlantic side was a bit rougher, but that's mostly due to the time of year. We did manage to go down to the south side of the island to swim (near Rock Sound) and to Hidden Beach (near the villa) when the waters were calmer on the Atlantic side. The swimming there was also fantastic with a different variety of fish to see. The entire vacation was relaxing and peaceful and fantastic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I really look forward to seeing Aerik and Emily next year as they are the perfect guests- enthusiastic, adventurous and really tried to see as much as possible of the real Bahamas.Thank you for the review!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Ocean Views, Spacious, Stylish, Secluded W/ Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938891
+1 242 324-2616
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Piraeus, Greece
5

Awesome Villa!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Having never been to the Caribbean before, my girl and I went to Rainbow Bay to escape the madness of work in Athens, and we couldn't have asked for a better week! Eleuthera is truly an ideal destination for travellers looking for a really liberating experience, with the freedom to explore and make their own holiday in a beautiful part of the world. I really recommend the Glass Window Bridge a few kilometres up the road, a truly spectacular natural wonder, and exploring the towns and beaches from north all the way south to Lighthouse Point. We didn't even need to open the Lonely Planet when we got there, it's perfect for exploring yourself (car, walk, bike or boat!) and finding local bars, restaurants and things to do.We had also been given lots of tips on places to go by the owner which was really useful

We loved the villa, having space to flop for a change was brilliant! And we loved the gardens too, perfect for an evening in together with just us and the sound of the ocean nearby. Also, there's no light pollution there so the stars are truly spectacular too.


Thanks for an awesome week Bahamas - we were rooting for you in the men's 4x400!
Really recommended!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway