Bend bungalow rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Bend Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Charming Craftsman in the historic Old Bend neighborhood just south of the downtown core. Our home is just two short blocks from downtown shops, great restaurants and art galleries and only a 15 minute walk to the Old Mill District. The Deschutes River with Drake Park, hiking and biking trails, kayaking and tubing are just a short walk away also and the Mt. Bachelor ski resort is only a 30 minutes drive. You will find a newly remodeled Safeway grocery store 3 blocks away and we are four blocks from one of the best bike rental shops in town.

Other amenities include a gas fireplace, gourmet kitchen, washer/dryer and two full baths with heated tile floors. We kept the original maple hardwood floors in the living room and yes, they still squeak, but the have been beautifully refinished. Both bedrooms have one queen size bed.

Please check our calendar for available nights.

Come be our guests and enjoy!

Guest comments:

'We had a delightful long weekend at your Bend house! The location was great--a short walk downtown and convenient to the road to Mt Bachelor. And the house is so cute and comfortable.

Mary S.'

'We loved your house in Bend. The weather was perfect and we got in 10 days of skiing at Bachelor. The lifts closed at 1 PM which gave us a little hiking/biking time in the afternoon. Hope to do it again in the near future!

Thanks Again - Bill'

'Mike and Sharon...

We just wanted to tell you that we had a wonderful time in Bend .. The house was just too cute. You did an excellent job on the remodel. We treated your place as it was our own and would not hesitate to to book there again. We loved it!!!

Dan and Nancy Warner'

Keywords: Bungalow

More Details
Hide Details

Sharon is a real estate broker and Mike is a general contractor. We both love craftsman style homes and renovating and remodeling. We live in San Diego but find Bend to be the perfect second home. Dave, our caretaker in Bend makes renting our place easy because of his attention to detail and prompt follow-up with our guests.

Mike & Sharon Bythewood purchased this bungalow in 2006

We found Bend completely by accident. Our only experience with Oregon was visiting Brookings on the coast just north of the CA border and we found the stereotype of OR weather to be spot-on. Wet, chilly, even in the summer.

What we didn't know was the little advertised east slope of the Cascade mountain range is one of the most beautiful places on earth. On a ski / road trip in 2005 to visit friends in Vail and then Jackson, we were then headed to Florence, OR for a wedding. Fortunately for us our path took us directly through Bend. That was after spending the night in Burns and wondering how we didn't know there could be a desert in OR.

Anyway, we fell in love with the place. It was February and the weather beautiful! Stopping for gas we asked for directions to Mt. Bachelor. The station attendant who was wearing shorts, advised us not to head up to the mountain that day, because there were blizzard conditions. Yeah right, we thought. Bachelor only 20 miles away and it was nice and sunny in Bend.

To make a long story longer... the attendant was right. We started our journey and at mile 5, it started to snow. At mile 15 it was snowing REEEAALY hard. By the time we got to the resort parking lot we were in complete white-out conditions and could barely see to park.

Well, we had a very a nice lunch in the lodge, and, after a very short discussion, we decided skiing an unfamiliar mountain in whiteout conditions would probably not be wise. We resigned ourselves to return another day.

Resuming our trip to Florence, we were delighted to find little Hoodoo ski resort (two lifts) just west of Sisters. After two fun hours of skiing in clear conditions we still made the coast and Florence by 5:00 pm for the rehearsal dinner.

Our next trip to Bend was in the summer and that sealed the deal for us. The people, weather, community, dining, and outdoor life are everything we wanted for a second home. So we bought one!

THE END... and new beginning :-)

Sharon & Mike

Summertime on the front porch talking to neighbors and passers-by. Walking to downtown restaurants and shops.

40 Reviews of Property 93880 in Bend, Oregon

Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
average rating of 4.848485 based on 40 reviews
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
Ashland, OR
5

Guestbook Comment

Enjoyed our stay at your home. Decorated very cute and stocked well. Nights were cozy with the little gas wood stove. Look forward to staying here ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
Enjoyed our stay at your home. Decorated very cute and stocked well. Nights were cozy with the little gas wood stove. Look forward to staying here again.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great location! Easy walk to downtown and park. Nice and clean home with everything you need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
4

Worked For Us!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Handy location. It was a good base-ops for skiing and hiking.The owners obviously put a lot of time and money into renovating this cozy cottage. It had all the comforts. I think the only negative was that the immediate surroundings were a bit drab. Admittedly, this may have been due to the fact that we stayed there at the very end of winter. We would stay again, though. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This place more than exceeded my expectations. I didn't realize when I booked it how close it literally was to downtown. The house is very nice and comfortable. The gas stove was great to crank up after a day on the mountain and traipsing around town. The owner, Mike, is a super nice guy and was very understanding when I managed to lock myself out of the house on my last day there. I'll be staying here in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

Excellent stay. We'll be back.

Excellent stay. We'll be back.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a wonderful time at the bungalow. The house was clean and nicely renovated and is in a great central location. We were very comfortable and loved hanging out in front of the cozy fireplace. We appreciated being able to bring our dog as well. We look forward to visiting this wonderful property again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a very comfortable and accommodating home. The location is excellent. We love staying here.
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

Nice place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were very happy with this house. It was very cozy and comfortable and walking distance to downtown. We had two couples and it was perfect. I would not hesitate to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

Judy and Mike

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Paddle House. The furniture was very comfortable and it was very clean which was a big plus. The kitchen had newer appliances and we appreciated the washer and dryer. The deck and bbq were greatly appreciated as the weather was perfect for being outdoors even though it was late Oct. The only thing that I could recommend that was not included was kleenex. The location was perfect. It was great to be able to walk to restaurants and parks. We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
slc
5

Great location! Great house - attention to details!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I can't recall a nicer VRBO rental anywhere, and we've stayed in several over the past few years. The place had all the little things one needs - blow dryers (yes, plural - one in each bathroom), kitchen items, paper towels, soaps, shampoos, plenty of hangers in the closets, extra towels, restaurant menu book, etc. There was nothing we needed to buy except food.

The reservation and payment process went flawlessly, access to the house, and wi-fi set up were a breeze. Items were labeled to avoid confusion (e.g. remotes said what the went to, coffee pot said it was filterless).

The place was spotlessly clean (except for the blinds - they were dusty), and there was more than enough space for our family of four. The hidabed was actually comfortable enough for adults to sleep on - no poking wires, and it didn't slope into the middle. Most of the furniture seemed brand new, and was of a nicer quality than usually found in rentals - ditto on the remodel work - well done! The queen beds had memory foam toppers, so they were very soft (a tad too soft for my taste, but then I like my matresses extra firm). Yard was fully fenced, and so was the patio (separate gate to enter the actual ground part of the yard).

Great afternoon sun on the south facing patio, plus CLEAN table and chairs to sit on - added bonus. The hardwood floors have been re-finished, and look nice, but they squeak something fierce (to be expected in a home of this age), but the bedrooms are carpeted and quiet, and the spacious kitchen was also quiet. Parking is sufficient for two cars.

Oh, there was a vacuum provided, but it didn't seem to work right - i.e. it wouldn't suck. Maybe just needed to be emptied (I didn't bother to check). There was a broom and dustpan though for tidying up.

Yes, the location is awesome. Quiet at night for sleeping, but walking distance to downtown. We walked to breakfast or dinner several times. Bend is wonderful too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Deb!
Your review will be very helpful to our future guests, especially those unfamiliar with renting through VRBO and Homeaway. We will definitely be working to keep up with those important details you mentioned and we hope to impress you even more for your next stay.
Sincerely,
Mike & Sharon
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Downtown Westside Craftsman Bungalow - Walk Everywhere!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p93880vb
+1 619-742-2270
Bend Central Oregon
5

A cozy home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had such a wonderful time in Bend and this was our first time. This cottage is very cozy and so clean. It is a perfect location, just a few blocks from downtown and all the restaurants. We would come again to this cute place in a heartbeat. We loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway