A vrbo disaster
I have been renting apartments all over the world for the past 7 years through vrbo and never experienced anything as distasteful as that of this apartment in Amsterdam. We were 3 generations ranging in age from 14 to 75. The best and only redeeming quality of this place is its location; it is walkable from everything in the center and a few steps from the Prisengracht canal. Beyond that, the issues begin. The layout--2 bedrooms up a steep set of stairs and toilet downstairs (that any large framed individual will not fit in)--makes for a difficult visit, especially if you use the bathroom in the middle of the night or are elderly or injured. The stairs are so steep that we left our luggage in the living room all week and only unloaded bits and pieces at a time. And since the owner seems to occupy the apartment when it isn't rented her personal belongings fill most of the drawers in the bedrooms, leaving little room for paying guests. But perhaps the biggest turn-off is this: the owner is in the wrong business. She does not belong in hospitality because she has no interest in her guests, in answering questions, or in accommodating them beyond any written instruction she has provided or that prior guests have left behind. It is only about the money and she requires payment in full 6 weeks before arrival, which I have never had to do in Prague, Costa Rica, Paris or beyond. The light bulbs blew in the upstairs bathroom (sink and shower tub) so we had to bring in a lamp and when we went to email her there was no internet; since she leaves instructions how to reset internet we fiddled and eventually succeeded yet when she came to change the light bulb she couldn't believe everything we touched and shouldn't have to reconnect internet. At every turn, she was clearly put out, fed up and short, almost to the point of hostile. The worst was the end. We checked out early Friday, December 6. Her cleaning crew came in next and I don't even know when she came to check and make sure everything was as it was found and therefore she could return the deposit. I received an email 48 hours after our departure claiming that we had knicked the paint on the stairs with our luggage, which had never left the bottom floor. There was more, which is unnecessary, but it is now January 8, and we just received our deposit via PayPal. She had done it via an e-check, which she claims she always does, and it far exceeded the two weeks she reserves to return the deposit.
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that this guest has felt compelled to write such a negative review. We have apologized profusely for the unintentional delay in returning this guest’s damage deposit on a number of occasions, a delay caused by a most unfortunate “Murphy’s Law” sequence of events that happily has been resolved in the meantime. Guests rightly can and should expect a prompt deposit return as agreed in the contract. Re. the other issues concerning the disappointment with the apartment we can only say that all our written and visual information on VRBO is informative and 100 % accurate. All terms and conditions concerning i.e. the payment are transparent and included with the booking form, available before a guest commits to a reservation. In addition we are always happy to supply any additional information about the apartment. It is in our view not reasonable for guests to be angry about disappointments in hindsight when they have failed to attain relevant information from the available sources beforehand. Customer satisfaction has always been a priority for the last 5 years and will continue to be so in the future. Based on our many enthusiastic reviews, luckily, we seem to be doing most things right.
Did you find this review helpful?