Ellsworth house rental - Large windows in every room
Large windows in every room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Ellsworth House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 baths, sleeps 8

'Austin’s Point' is a large 3500 sq ft home located on 5 private acres with 300' of waterfront along the Union River in Ellsworth. Cathedral wood ceilings with large windows give great views up and down the river from every window. A deck with a hammock and a grill allow viewing of bald eagles, osprey, and seals. Fish from the back yard, or bring your boat/kayak/canoe along for easy access to the Union River Bay and ocean beyond (mooring available). Inside are 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms, sleeps 8 people; 2 of the bedrooms in a self contained attached apartment with complete kitchen. A high quality pool table is in the home. Board games and a full Cedarworks playground set are available for kids. 25 minutes to Bar Harbor, Acadia, and Blue Hill, and 40 minutes to Schoodic Peninsula.

Sleeping arrangements include high quality mattresses:

1 king, 3 queens, 1 futon couch full.

House has lots of space:

2 living rooms, 2 dining rooms, 2 kitchens for everyone to have their private space.

Please NO sales solicitations. Rental inquires welcome.

More Details
Hide Details

We lived in this beautiful home for 10 years before moving to Portland, Maine because of our jobs. I won't sell the home because I LOVE the home and location. We have shared the home with over 40 happy renters over the last four years - just check out the great reviews.

Jon Fanburg purchased this house in 1998

True tranquility made us buy this house. Large rooms with high ceilings and big windows make you feel like you are part of nature. At night, you can see the stars from you bed. An added perk is being only 20 minutes from the hiking of Acadia National Park. But you don't even need to travel that far, as seals, osprey, and bald eagles hang out along the river's edge out back of the house.

LOBSTER - I LOVE IT. I use to park my boat out back at the property's moring and go check the traps each morning. For those without a boat, you can buy it fresh within 10minutes of the house (both cooked or live).

17 Reviews of Property 938209 in Ellsworth, Maine

Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
average rating of 4.8 based on 17 reviews
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

TOP CHOICE

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Your home is truly a gem! We had the most wonderful time. We vacation in various places throughout the U.S. and rent homes in each site, but your home is truly one of the top choices.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
McDaniel, Maryland
4

Beautiful and Peaceful.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a great place to spend a week with our children and grandchildren. The property is a beautiful and peaceful setting, with no other houses close enough to see or hear noise from. The house has a great open floor plan, with plenty of room for ten of us to sleep, without sleeping on sofas, as well as to spread out for indoor activities (not that we were indoors much of the time. There are only a few things that could be done to improve the experience: There are an adequate number of televisions, however, if you like to keep up with the local or national news, you are out of luck. This could be solved by subscribing to Direct TV, a dish for which is located at the house. A larger lobster pot, as well as burner, would be a welcome addition to groups as large as ours (10). The existing lobster pot is good for 3 lobsters max, and is not very effective if everyone wants to eat at one time. Linens are included, however, if you have a large group, you may want to bring a few extra towels. We found ourselves having to go out to buy towels, since there are not enough on site for 10 people.
Owner's Response: Glad that this renter found the property beautiful. The house doesn't have satellite or cable TV, but does have the television hooked up to the internet with a free movie subscription thrown in (Internet speed in rural Maine is not as speedy as inner cities). Great ideas to put more instructions about cooking lobster in the renter's guide for out of state renters, as our pot cooks 8-10 lobsters (unless they are 5 pounders). Unlike some rentals, linens and towels are included with renting this property. We had 13 high end towels and 3 beach towels out for this group of 10 people, but the renter may not have seen all the supplies yet, as he posted his review half way into his stay. We aim to please and welcome calls before, during, or following your stay and welcome calls that allow us to make the stay even better part way through !!!.
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
College Station, TX
5

Perfect location; perfect house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This place is amazing and absolutely wonderful! It is just a short distance to Mount Desert Isle with hiking, walking the beach, and breathtaking views, and, of course, there's shopping in Bar Harbor. At the end of the day I love to sit on the deck and watch the boats go lazily by, listening to the sounds of the river and the ocean. PERFECTION!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
5

Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Beautiful home nestled on the Union river with a MILLION dollar view looking up and down. The home has everything you need in the kitchen and living quarters and there is plenty of room for multiple families or a large family. The house is close to Mount Desert Island and pretty much central to everything that is going on. We loved it and my family is already planning a return trip to stay here in the future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
Odessa, FL
4

Beautiful views in a great location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were 2 families of four making our first trip to Maine. We chose this house due to it's size and location. We had plenty of room to spread out, and, as advertised, the views of the river and the convenient location made it a great place for us to enjoy Bar Harbor and Acadia! The owner was wonderful to deal with and very helpful. We had everything we could possibly need, and the descriptions in the listing were accurate, but two things we didn't realize, which would have been helpful to know, were: 1) The upstairs master bedroom with the only king bed is actually a loft (open to the living area below). The adults in our group wanted privacy and quiet, so two children ended up getting the master bedroom! 2) The bedroom with the futon did not have a door, so that was another sleeping area without privacy. Overall, this home, although a bit dated, was a lovely and enjoyable place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This newer home for New England was built in 1997 and was designed with a modern floor plan by a Seattle company called Lindal Cedar Homes, hence the very open and airy feel. As the online photos show, there are windows in every room and one photo even shows the openness to the master bedroom upstairs. Few rooms have shades (2 bedrooms), but the only neighbors around are the people that you bring with you, as 5 acres of privacy is a bonus and luxury along the coastline. The fifth bedroom with the futon does not have a door and could double over as a study, hence the reason why the home is best suited for 8-10 people despite the very large space. A great vacation from city living and a spot where you can see the stars from your bed at night. We have had guests look at multiple properties in the area and chose this one because of the high quality and value of what they are renting.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
Forked River, New Jersey
5

Breathtaking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This home is wonderful for a large family, or many couples to spend their time in Maine. Our stay was wonderful, from the comfortable bedrooms to the spacious kitchen and living areas, it suited our every need. The views from the house and grounds were serene and calming. Access to Mt. Desert Island was easy. The owner, Jon was very professional with every call or email that was made, and answered our questions quickly and precisely. If you want a fabulous time to spend In Maine with your loved ones this is the place to be, you will not be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
5

Great Couples Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We were pleased to find a location that would comfortably sleep four couples. The house is spacious and the kitchen well-equipped. We loved the back deck and the pool table. All in all, it's a fantastic get-away location, the views are spectacular, and the ambiance tranquil after a day spent exploring Acadia, Mt Desert Island, and Bar Harbor. All eight of us want to thank you for making your home available and for being so easy to work with. It's the first time I've used VRBO and it won't be the last.
I LOVE MAINE!!!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
College Station, TX
5

Great vacation house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This beautiful house is located in the woods of Maine, nestled by a bubbling river. The rooms had everything I needed--including some spices for cooking the lobster! The HUGE sunroom is great for reading, watching the boats sail by, or playing pool on the full-sized pool table! Sitting on the deck as the sun set was amazing! We will definitely come back to this one.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
WOW! A very large home with fantastic water views. Great value for waterfront in the area, and very close to Acadia. My kids loved the pool table, and my wife loved the scenery. Clean home with high quality interior made it a plus and kitchen was a cook's delight. I definitely look forward to returning. It was the perfect peaceful no-hassle vacation.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Executive Waterfront Home - Near Acadia ** 2014 ON SALE NOW **
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938209
+1 2078099177
Ellsworth Downeast and Acadia
4

Private Waterfront Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
House is very nice in quiet, private location. Owner was very friendly and helpful. The home was clean with a well stocked kitchen and all appliances worked properly. Large areas to spread out in various parts of the home. We had an infant in our group and all accessories, toys, etc. were avaialable for use. I would definitely recommend this home to other large groups.
Helpful votes: 3/6