Alameda bungalow rental - A view over the pond.
A view over the pond.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Alameda Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 2

The island of Alameda is considered by some as the hidden gem of the San Francisco Bay Area.

Your hosts have turned their circa 1890s detached carriage house and stable into a welcoming garden cottage. This tastefully appointed guest spot is perfect for a quiet getaway or extended academic or corporate visit.

Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, you are just walking distance from Park Street, Alameda's central shopping district. Here you'll find everything you need....antique shops, cafes, restaurants, boutiques and the newly renovated Alameda Theatre. Less than a mile away you'll find a pristine beach park with stunning views of the San Francisco skyline.

Want to head into 'The City'? You are just 25 minutes away from all SF has to offer. We are close to the Alameda ferry, AC Transit and BART. A quick drive over the Bay Bridge drops you right into the heart of downtown San Francisco.

The Carriage House: The owners have spent decades collecting antiques and designing interiors and have used their talents to create a comfortable,quiet vacation space for those who appreciate a green way of living.

Virtually every item, from floor to ceiling is recovered or recycled in some way.

The Garden: The bungalow is covered by a gorgeous and legendary Wisteria tree that is the star of the spring season.

The practice of 'Living Green' extends to the lush surrounding gardens. Old San Francisco cobblestones, recovered copper downspouts and perfectly placed architectural elements create a serene garden so creative you'd think you were on a movie set.

A Coi pond that is sometimes visited by elegant egrets, sits just outside the bungalow door. The garden is surrounded by three small aviaries that house small families of canaries. Their song and the sound of flowing water will lull you while you read a book in the sun on your own private patio.

The Neighborhood & Beyond: Developed in the late 1800s as a beach resort community, the modern day version still holds much of it's charm from the early 20th century.

Take a drive through the different neighborhoods and you'll see beautiful examples of California architecture. Perfectly restored Victorians share the same street with cute California Bungalows and Craftsman style homes.

More Details
Hide Details

The talents of your hosts, John and Arthur, have appeared on HGTV’s Curb Appeal and in a series of books on Arts & Crafts bungalows by Paul Duchscherer – The Bungalow, Inside the Bungalow and Outside the Bungalow. Their business, House of Orange, specializes in European Arts & Crafts furnishings, and some of their most outstanding pieces are now in the homes of local collectors who have become close friends over the years.

Their carriage house – circa 1890, has been turned into a garden guest cottage – and except for a few planks, tiles and a sofa bed, the cottage and its contents are all recycled in some way. The wood interior and exterior siding are bits and pieces from old projects, and with their creative eye, all the pieces work: as ceiling and wall sections, windowsills, door jambs, storage closets - you name it!

Their recycling even extends to the surrounding yard. Reclaimed copper downspouts from the roof divert rainwater into the koi pond and an existing well. The outdoor lighting is on a sensor to save energy, and old lanterns were rewired as lamps. Chimney liners were turned into water features and pulley hooks into sturdy plant hangers. All plants need little to no watering and bloom beautifully.

Wisteria Cottage – a name given to it by friends and guests – may be small, but every idea John and Arthur used was big on result and can easily translate on an even grander scale. They provide decorating, remodeling and landscaping services and advice.

John and Arthur are called the “Green Giants” because they are all about reducing, reusing and recycling in a BIG and BEAUTIFUL way. Whether shopping at thrift stores for clothing, repaving their driveway with old cobblestones from a San Francisco street, or resurfacing floors with reclaimed wood, they make mindful and creative use of materials with spectacular results!

22 Reviews of Property 938138 in Alameda, California

Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
5

We had a wonderful experience staying at Wisteria.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
John and Arthur were most gracious hosts, and both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the serenity and beauty of the garden. The cottage had everything we needed; our daughter & son-in-law's house was less than a mile away. We had our twin grand children visit us with their mom several times to feed the fish and enjoy the garden. We highly recommend this retreat to future visitors!
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
Portland, ME
5

A perfect stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This little paradise was full of lovely, delightful touches that added interest to the peaceful setting and comfortable accommodations. As other reviewers note, the location is well placed for easy access to restaurants, shopping, grocers, etc. But what you will appreciate the most is coming 'home.' Entering through the privacy gate you will feel the quiet as well as hear it. You will notice one detail after another that speaks to the creativity and artistry of John and Arthur. The casita is clean as a pin, the garden is simply gorgeous, the kitchen is well equipped. John and Arthur are there when you have a question or request and are friendly and responsive (thanks, John, for setting things up so we could watch the opening ceremonies of the Winter Olympics), otherwise, you will enjoy privacy. We truly loved our time there. We are planning our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We were so pleased to meet you and to respond to your needs . In future we hope to that you will make your reservation during the blooming of the wisteria . It truly is the reason for the name that the cottage was given . Please come again , the koi need to be feed by your caring hands . John & Arthur
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
Ramona
5

Enchanted with Alameda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
If you like feeling safe, along with peace, privacy and beautiful surroundings this place is for you! My husband and I stayed for Valentine's Day through the President's Day weekend. This place was more than promised. It's close to San Francisco without being in the "city", much less expensive and it felt like we were at our own home. We very much wanted to stay longer and will definitely return. It's within walking distance of more restaurants than I've ever seen on one street before, and like a perfect slice of America! I can't say enough good about it. Beautifully decorated, and John and Arthur were the most gracious hosts, everything you need is carefully supplied. There are also quite a few things to do in or very near Alameda such as the USS Hornet Museum. We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You! You were a most delightful couple! We regret that we didn't supply chocolates on the pillow champagne and red roses. When you return we will give you more ideas of the things you could do around our delightful town. Till next time! Our Best Wishes!
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
Leawood, Ks
5

Wonderful find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I just concluded a 3 night stay on Monday and only wish we had booked a 4th. If you want privacy,seclusion and a garden getaway that's within a short walk of shopping, dining options and a beach, all that and more is here. The cottage is more than comfortably large enough for a couple. It's well laid out and includes a nice, fully equipped kitchen in the back that's separated from the living area and has counter seating that looks out over the beautiful rear garden. What a pleasant place to enjoy breakfast and a cup of morning coffee. The owners have created a tranquil, serene oasis for their guests that has to be seen to be fully appreciated. John and Arthur are very accommodating and helpful, but at the same the same time give their guests space to enjoy their stay and use of the property. The kitchen and bath are both well stocked. The location is excellent for anyone traveling to or from the Bay Area via the Oakland airport. Public transit is available for access to SF, including bus service via AC transit, BART is less than 10 minutes away, and alameda has two SF Bay ferry ports for service to SF. The best part of alameda is that it's walkable, and traffic is not the nightmare that it can be in more congested parts of the area. We couldn't have been more pleased with the cottage and will gladly return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
DE
5

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Wisteria Cottage is a little slice of peace and tranquility. Coming back each day I was there was delightful. The owners have thought of everything you might need, and then some! John and Arthur have managed to create a retreat which literally feels far away from everything. Going to sleep with the sound of water ever present from the gardens was wonderful. My grandson of 2 1/2 literally said, "This is Neverland, Meme!!" Couldn't have said it better myself. Hope to stay here again when visiting my son and his family in Alameda. Thank you, John and Arthur!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
Wilmington, NC
5

Restful and Comfortable at Wisteria Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This very well appointed cottage had everything to make my stay comfortable and convenient. I made use of the transit system - 4 blocks away the Bus takes you to the BART. I purchased fresh seafood at the local produce market and enjoyed cooking in the cottage kitchen. I had everything I needed to season, cook, enjoy, and clean up afterward. Everything was clean. The courtyard was inspiring, but did not have Wifi. The owners were helpful and even mailed my clip-on sunglasses that I had left behind.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much David!

It was a pleasure meeting you and we are so glad your stay was agreeable. Sorry the WIFI didn't reach the garden area. We are now getting a booster for it. We would especially like to say thank you for the care you took while staying in the cottage. It would be our pleasure to see you again at Wisteria; perhaps in the Spring when our legendary wisteria tree is in full bloom!

Yours, Arthur & John
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
LaGrange, GA
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
There are no pictures that really depict how LOVELY this rental is! It is an oasis of beauty and peace in the midst of the city. I felt as though I was staying in a spa...(which, by the way, would have cost SIGNIFICANTLY MORE)! The location is perfect - you can walk to everything, and public transportation will carry you to every tourist destination in the area! I LOVED my time at this cottage! I hope to rent it every time I visit my hometown of Alameda!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
Around the world, but currenlty in Kandahar, Afghanistan
4

Great Stay in Alemeda!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The pictures for this cottage kind of deceive you, in both good and bad ways. The wording, "1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 2," falls short of truth, only because there is no bedroom. This is as single as a single unit will get. The picture that you see with the seating chairs - thats it. Thats what you walk into as you walk in... it a single unit, not a one bedroom unit, there is no sepereating wall to make it a bedroom... that was my first draw back to his place.

Second draw back - the place doesnt have "cable TV/satellite". This is just me now though, the case that you're in a bautiful neighborhood might come into play with some of you and might say that your not in a vacation rental for the TV/cable, but I travel a lot and sometimes i just want to relax in my vacation rental and not have to go no where, except the grocery store to buy my food... but I guess John and Arthur force you to experiance the neighborhood in this way - it did to me. So I went to the local sports bar when I wanted to see some Lakers games.

Now these were the only draw backs that I had.

The place itself is great after the facts that i just gave... I owould stay here again without a doubt. And I will because my girlfriend lives across the bridge into Oakland. The neighborhood is great and safe. Everything is within walking distance... the only draw back for me again is the no cable/satellite.

I travel a lot, so I hope someone can sympathize with me when saying that sometimes you just dont want to go no where.

John and Arthur, I'll see you again for sure, maybe I'll some new tattoos to show you!

So if no one minds the small space and the lack no cable/satellite... ... ... go ahead rent this until, you'll enjoy your stay. I know I did... I slept for 2 whole days it was so nice and quiet.
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
5

Absolutely Marvelous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The location - ideal.
The hosts - perfect.
The cottage - outstanding.
The garden - breath taking.
The striking fact about Wisteria Cottage is the attention to details - in the cottage, in the garden, in the entry passage, and especially in the hosts . Design, both inside and outside, made our stay one exciting discovery after another. The trickling water and singing birds of the garden bring smiles of comfort even now. The entry way provides a soothing passage into the quiet world of Wisteria Cottage. The abundant thoughtful touches inside the cottage expressed the hosts concern for our sojourn.
The koi fish in the pond mesmerized our grandson. He particularly enjoyed feeding them. Discovering the birds in the aviaries excited him as well.
We enjoyed their restaurant recommendations on the island, especially the Burma Cafe, and further away. Shopping suggestions with directions served us well.
We truly appreciated the copious personal efforts of our hosts.
Owner's Response: We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. Everything that excited you is something John and Arthur have put a great deal of time and love into and it seems to show! I hope you know you are welcome to come and stay with us anytime!
business
Beautiful and Lush Hidden Wisteria Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p938138
Alameda The Bay Area
Satellite Beach, Fl
5

Wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and I were in Oakland for the Strictly Sail Show and stayed at this property. I would recommend Wisteria Cottage to anyone traveling to this area. John and Arthur are great hosts and the cottage is lovely.. It is hard to discribe the gardens to someone who hasn't seen them, but they are creative and restful. You are within walking distance of a number of great resturants, though the kitchen at the cottage is well stocked and very useable. The outdoor BBQ grill was also nice. Again, we would recommend this cottage to anyone. We are booking it for next years show.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway