Tucson cottage rental - Enjoy the mountains and plenty of sun or shade
Enjoy the mountains and plenty of sun or shade
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Tucson Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

WHAT TO EXPECT:

A cozy casita overlooking the links type Starr Pass Golf Course and the Tucson Mountains is waiting for you. All the comforts of home in a one room guest house with a walk-in closet and beautifully landscaped patio/pool deck from which to enjoy the Arizona sunshine in quiet and privacy..

The perfect accommodation to retreat to after a day of golf, the nearby Desert Museum or enjoying the amenities of the JW Marriott resort within walking distance. A quiet, peaceful environment offering the ultimate in de-stressing and re-connecting with nature.

FLEXIBILITY;

Owners live on the property and are available to give suggestions and/or information as well as address any concerns that may arise. Separate access to the Casita affords privacy and is a few short steps from off street parking. The casita is separated from the main house by a lovely deck/patio area surrounding a lap pool. Continental Breakfast and/or wine and cheese in the afternoon can be arranged.

Annual Events in Tucson: The Tucson Gem and Mineral Show in Jan./Feb. as well as the All Souls Parade in November are two of the many events to be enjoyed nearby. The Accenture Match Play golf tournament will be held in February. We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

Frequently Seen Wildlife: Javalina, Roadrunners, White Tail Deer, Coyotes, Gambel Quail

A Warm Welcome: Although English is my first language, I speak some Spanish and a bit of French. People of all countries are warmly welcomed and we will try our best to make everyone comfortable and be helpful.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I are retired from the financial services industry and found Tucson to be the ideal place for us after spending most of our lives in the chilly Midwest. I am known to be a good source of restaurant recommendations and we continue to visit various places around the world to sample the local cuisine. I love the laid-back approach to life found in Tucson and enjoy sharing my enthusiasm for the local attractions, flora and fauna.

Carol Morrison purchased this cottage in 2000

We love living here and enjoy sharing our beautiful mountain/golf course view with others. Our location is blissfully away from urban congestion, yet near enough to be convenient to restaurants, shops and Tucson attractions.

13 Reviews of Property 937497 in Tucson, Arizona

Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Forest Lake, MN
5

MN visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a fabulous stay and highly recommend this property to others. We felt very welcome. The Casita was decorated beautifully and very clean. Everything worked well. It was a great location for all activities in the Tucson area. The owners gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants and things to do, which we found very helpful since we had never been to Tucson before. They had maps and brochures on the property for our use. We really enjoyed the pool and patio. It was a perfect stay. We would like to go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed our Tucson hospitality! Please do visit again. It's meeting interesting guests like you that make our efforts worthwhile.
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
5

A Week Of Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
After a week driving from Canada we thoroughly enjoyed the serenity of the casita. It's true, Carol the owner has stocked it with everything you can think of, Coke and water, grapes, cheeses and chocolate. A basket on the counter is loaded with cookie and snackbar packages, also microwaveable popcorn. There are lots of extra fluffy towels. No hotel we've ever been in has been so generous.

Unfortunately, the weather was cold when we were there but it was wonderfully sunny and we spent our week exploring. We especially enjoyed hiking in the hills above the casita among the millions of saguaro cacti. One day ten mule deer paraded right past our casita window, another night we briefly heard coyotes howling in the distance.

We drove to the city many times but, close by, we recommend the Golf Course's BBQ Restaurant and Daisy Mae's, a quaint and delicious steak house. The owners' house is laid out in such a way that you can enjoy the patio in privacy; they have many other patios of their own to use!

Carol and Ross are the owners and a wonderful couple who invited us for breakfast on our last day in Tucson. They are people you'd love to have as dear friends.

This is a wonderful option to being in a hotel. We highly recommend staying in this casita.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Minnesota
5

Warm and welcoming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I greatly enjoyed our visit to Tucson. Carol and Ross were great hosts. The location was ideal for the holiday season. We had several dinners at the Marriot (Starr hotel) which were wonderful.
We visited the Desert Museum and Tubac at our hosts recommendation. They exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend the 'raptor' exhibit at the Desert Museum.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
5

Hugs and Soda...and Cycling

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
“La casita que me abraza”, the little house that hugs me, seemed like the perfect place to stay while driving through Tucson on my way back to Golden, Colorado from a business trip to southern California. I wasn't exactly looking for hugs though, but a small, comfortable place in Starr Pass, my favorite spot in the Tucson area to clear my head and unwind my body with a few cycling rides.

Just me and my bike. For cyclists, Tucson offers great riding. Almost within shouting distance from the Casita there is Gates Pass and the Tucson Mountain Park. This is an intermediate up-and-down ride on good roads with spectacular views in the midst of the natural desert ecosystem. Truly beautiful. It's the perfect ride for early mornings or late afternoons, when I got on the saddle. Returning early evening to the Casita I found the refrigerator well-stocked with beer and snacks, conveniently saving me a trip from this paradise to the local grocery store. The room itself is large and comfortable, and artistically decorated. As I settled in, I felt like a local.

Back to cycling…another ride, one more epic, is Mt. Lemmon, which I undertook the next day. Parking at the base, this one covered about 22 miles, nearly all climbing, with approximately 6000' of elevation gain. The road was in good shape with a wide shoulder area/bicycle lane. There were a few other cyclists and not much traffic. The views are immense on the ride up. It's amazing to experience the change from desert to mountain topography as you wind your way up.

Returning to the Casita, Owner and “neighbor” Ross was there to meet me with a Jack Daniels and soda. Not the best recovery food, but well deserved after my 3.5 hour masochistic effort. After a refreshing dip in the lap pool, the hugs continued as Ross’ better half, Carol invited me to their home for dinner and an opportunity to view her colorful collection of Mexican folk art and a brief educational overview of Día De Los Muertos (Day of the Dead), the Mexican holiday which was about to start the next day.

La Casita is the perfect place to enjoy a few days in the sun. At the risk of exposing this secret gem for all to know, I highly recommend staying here. Thanks again Carol and Ross...you're great people and best of hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We so appreciate our guests taking the time to share what they enjoy about our place. I have been asked about the cycling nearby and since I'm not a cyclist, I know others will benefit from John's description of the vistas and terrain nearby. Thanks, John for your info and effort.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Nashua, New Hampshire
5

5 Star resort-why stay in a hotel?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This Casita is better when seen in person than described on this site. We could not have asked for a better place to enjoy our 1st visit to Tucsan, AZ after venturing out for the day, I enjoyed the pool and the outdoor shower after, as well as after changing into comfortable clothes. To be able to sit and enjoy the peaceful sounds of the birds, a few planes overhead, and watch the sun sets every night with a couple of beers, some snacks, and the sounds of a fantastic fountain on the patio.

My wife and I were thrilled to enjoy the beauty of the area, as well as the Coyotes close by early in the morning, we also were lucky enough to see a Bobcat walk across the road and pose for pictures, 1 night on the street we seen 2 Havelinas and have seen Mule Deer on the golf course from the picture window. It does not get any better than this and the Hosts were fantastic-especially Durga---a very content dog that LOVES attention. The 2 hosts were very informative and know the area very well--

If you want serentity--5 Star resort--friendly Hosts--beautiful surroundings--fantastic accomodations--total enjoyment--try this Casitia--we will again very soon--maybe in the Spring if all goes well for us to take another vacation and see the desert come to life.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Nashua, New Hampshire
5

5 Star resort-why stay in a hotel?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This Casita is better when seen in person than described on this site. We could not have asked for a better place to enjoy our 1st visit to Tucsan, AZ after venturing out for the day, I enjoyed the pool and the outdoor shower after, as well as after changing into comfortable clothes. To be able to sit and enjoy the peaceful sounds of the birds, a few planes overhead, and watch the sun sets every night with a couple of beers, some snacks, and the sounds of a fantastic fountain on the patio.

My wife and I were thrilled to enjoy the beauty of the area, as well as the Coyotes close by early in the morning, we also were lucky enough to see a Bobcat walk across the road and pose for pictures, 1 night on the street we seen 2 Havelinas and have seen Mule Deer on the golf course from the picture window. It does not get any better than this and the Hosts were fantastic-especially Durga---a very content dog that LOVES attention. The 2 hosts were very informative and know the area very well--

If you want serentity--5 Star resort--friendly Hosts--beautiful surroundings--fantastic accomodations--total enjoyment--try this Casitia--we will again very soon--maybe in the Spring if all goes well for us to take another vacation and see the desert come to life.
Owner's Response: We are happy when our guests are happy. We try very hard to please our guests and help them in any way we can to make their Tucson experience a WOW! vacation. Of course it pleases us to hear nice comments from our guests, but more than that I feel like a comment about our guests is appropriate. We have been privileged to meet some of the nicest and most interesting people right in our own backyard. Their enjoyment at being here is balanced by our enjoyment of meeting them and traveling while staying home.
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Salt Lake City
5

A Desert Pearl

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
It is possible that this place may become the secret that nobody wants to disclose. What a gem. How often do you find a place that has all the luxury of a high end B&B, the comforts of home, AND the entire place to yourself! Carol and Ross do an outstanding job of making you feel completely welcome and then leaving you to enjoy the serenity of the experience. We soon realized a trip to Whole Foods for some precooked meals was in order, and everything fit in the fridge with no problems for our entire 3 nights stay! We had a special Chicago connection with the owners, and I didn't pass on love from their little family dog who thinks she's a cat - as I was missing my cats back home. My only regret about our trip was that we hardly did anything on our list because we did not want to leave the beauty of the property. Now, as long as you stay away from my rebooking dates - I say "book away!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Chaska, MN
5

A Five Star Piece of Paridise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Kathy and I arrived a few hours early but were graciously greeted by Carol and Ross. They assisted us with our many suitcase packed for our adventures of the great Southwest. We toured their beautiful home attached to a sixty foot reflection pool overlooking the golf course, a 5 Star Marriot Hotel in Star Pass, and the Tucson Mountains to our Southwest. The Casita “that hugs me” was at the other end of the pool adjacent to a large patio. Bob the bobcat and his Road Runner friend did pay us a visit one morning. All the accommodations were first class. The refrigerator was stocked with beverages and cheese. There were baskets of fruit and crackers of all sorts. Our first night was shared with our hosts serving wine, cheese, and cashews on the patio while watching the sun set. The water and linens were all so soft. Maps to everywhere were there. Also WiFi. and cable TV.
.
Kathy and I toured the DeGrazia Art Gallery, the Mission San Xavier, the Sonora Desert Museum and the Sanguaro National Park over the next several days. The Casita was ideally located for couples who spend the day exploring the various sites of Tucson. It also was an excellent location for day trips to Apache Junction, Gold Canyon, the Heritage Highlands Golf Club where Tiger Woods again failed to make the cut...

Carol and Ross were a great reference for places to dine. They also served Kathy and I chocolate croissants in their home our third morning before we left for several parties. I met dozens of new friends from Minnesota hosting Kathy and I at their snowbird homes in Tucson Estates. It was 75 degrees and sunny every day.

Let me not forget the Tequila toast at the J. W. Marriott in Star Pass on their huge plaza overlooking two salt water pools. We had a pass from Ross to use the facilities at the Marriott. Chicken tacos, steak on a stick, perfect margaritas were enjoyed as the sun went down on our final evening..

If you are looking for a little peace of heaven located close to the many sites of Tucson, this is where you want to be. Also our day trips to visit friends in Gold Canyon and a tour of Apache Junction near Phoenix was less than two hours away. The Casita “that hugs me” is 5 star plus place to stay. Nine nights in paradise. When I found your VRBO on the web last November, Kathy said “Book it Danno”. Thank you so much Carol and Ross. You are to be commended..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Spring Lake, MI
5

A Wonderful Weekend Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
After a long Michigan winter, I was on my way back from Asia and wanted a few warm, sunny days to enjoy with my wife. We found this property and, after contacting the owners, decided to give it a try. We had a wonderful time and found the casita to be more than comfortable. It became our "home base" as we explored the city, wineries and local scenery and the pool was a great place to start and end a day. The owners were present when we needed them and nearly invisible the remainder of the time and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I like to run and the location is ideal for jogging through the Starr Pass subdivisions and around the J.W. Marriott property. We saw lots of local wildlife and birds and the terrain was lovely while we were there. We hope to come back when we have more than a long weekend!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review our property, Rick. We strive to make our guest's vacation experience just what they want. Happy to hear you were pleased.

Carol
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Mountain View Spanish Style Casita on Golf Course
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p937497
+1 520 740-1080
Tucson Arizona
Midwest
5

Luxury and privacy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Beautiful custom decor, extremely comfortable, attention to details and extras that were provided was like nothing we had experienced before. Surrounded by breathtaking vistas, doesn't feel like you are in a city. Enjoyed the Tucson Mountain hiking trails. Welcoming and friendly hosts, felt pampered like being at a spa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that Kiko enjoyed our little desert oasis. We try very hard to meet the needs of our guests and make them feel special. Our reward is meeting nice people whom we would meet no other way and seeing them arrive as strangers and leave as friends.
Helpful votes: 3/3