Savannah cottage rental - Private dock on a wide, beautiful river
Private dock on a wide, beautiful river
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Savannah Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6

A MUST SEE if you are planning a vacation, fishing trip, family outing or a special getaway!

Stay in a quaint cottage right on the wide, beautiful Wilmington River. This restored cottage was built in the 1920’s, furnished with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing, healthy, island experience. Located just ten miles from historic downtown, between Savannah and Tybee Island beach.

Located on the intra-coastal waterway, you’ll have your own private dock with a large covered area and plenty of deck for sunning. From the dock you’ll enjoy fishing, crabbing, swimming, relaxing in the sun or just curling up on a comfortable chaise lounge with a book while an ocean breeze puts you in another world.

Casting off from the dock by boat, you can be in the ocean or anchored on a secluded, barrier-island beach in just a few minutes, literally. Whether you stay at the dock, head offshore to fish for the big ones or explore the rivers and marshes for trout, bass or flounder, you’ll have some of the best access to fish anywhere.

You might want to leave the fishing gear at home and take the family on a boating or nature excursion to the barrier islands where you can walk on secluded beaches, view coastal birds, collect seashells and driftwood, explore tidal marsh creeks and rivers or just cruise with friends to a local, boat-access restaurant for food and libations.

If you want to get in a round of golf, The Wilmington Plantation Golf Club (a Donald Ross designed course) is just a golf cart drive down the road. Or you could scoot across the river to the Priest’s Landing, dock the boat and play one of the many courses at The Landings on Skidaway Island (also accessible by car).

Whether shopping for antiques downtown or playing outdoors, after a day of sun and salt air, you’ll want to settle down on the cottage’s spacious dock to watch an amazing sunset.

The cottage has a Cook’s Kitchen and an outdoor grill, making it a perfect place for entertaining indoors or out. Grill your catch of the day, ride to the local market for steaks or bring your favorite ingredients along for an exotic feast. Dine inside the house or set a beautiful table right on the dock.

INSHORE AND OFFSHORE FISHING CHARTERS - BOAT & KAYAK RENTALS - DOLPHIN & RIVER EXCURSIONS - We can hook you up for inshore and offshore chartered fishing, boat and kayak rentals, Dolphin Tours, River and Eco-Tours, Barrier Island Tours and so much more.

When you stay in the River Cottage you should plan to leave work and worries behind. Just relax and play all day.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 936802 in Savannah, Georgia

River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 23 reviews
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Not long enough! (Orange MA)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
They say spring is coming up north but it has already started in Savannah. Though cooler then normal and a little rainy for St Patrick's Day it sure beat what we left and came back to here in Mass. We had a great time, location was perfect and the house is very well appointed. Not long enough to do all that we wanted too, like sitting out on dock and watching dolphins and enjoying the view but enough to recharge us from this never ending winter. Thank you for a great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Knoxville, Tennessee
5

Perfect location for a Perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful vacation at this cottage! We weren't expecting great weather (and it wasn't) but when the beach isn't an option, you discover things to do that you wouldn't choose otherwise. We took a boat for an extremely successful fossil hunt, a night time tour through Bonaventure, toured the wildlife refuge and enjoyed so many of the area's restaurants. This cottage is so clean and the owners have taken the time to equip the cottage with all the amenities you didn't even think you'd need! The beds are as comfy as your own....you will just love this place! You know it's a great vacation when you are planning your next trip on the ride home :) Thanks again for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
tennessee
5

Loved the River Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I my daughter, grand daughter,sister& brother inlaw really enjoyed our stay. It was every thing the owners said it was. Definitely a 10, perfect setting perfect location
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Rock Hill, SC
5

Amazing Cottage !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just returned from 5 nights at this cottage. It was one of the best vacations we have ever had. The cottage is immaculate. The location is perfect - only 10 minutes from Savannah. The dock is the best part. Big ceiling fans help to keep the bugs away and keep you cool and comfortable. I think we caught at least one of every saltwater fish there is - an eel, stingray, flounder, black sea bass, spots, etc. One day while fishing a dolphin came up out of the water close enough for me to touch almost ! Watching the boats go by on the ICW was so much fun. The beds in the queen bedroom and king bedroom were so comfortable. When we arrived every single detail had been taken care - linens on the beds, tissue, soap, paper towels, even Tide in the laundry room. The owners are the nicest we have ever rented from - and we use VRBO a lot. So willing to help with anything we needed. WE WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR !!! We want to thank the owners so very much for sharing their beautiful cottage with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Winchester, VA
5

What a relaxing time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I have rented before on VRBO and as in the past, I was not disappointed in this rental. The house was just as described and shown on the website and is so charming! It is so welcoming and we felt right at home. The house has all the charm and character of an older house but has been well taken care and updated. It has been furnished with all the comforts of home. It is quiet and tucked away from any noise and distractions. The dock... what to say? Probably our favorite part! So beautiful and we spent every evening there watching the boats and relaxing! We even saw dolphins! The house was very clean and everything is in great working order. We had a small issue with the air-conditioner and we called Leslie. She had someone out right away to fix it and was so concerned about our comfort. We had a wonderful week, spent time in Savannah and Tybee (if you are visiting, check out The Crab Shack on Tybee Island, YUM!) This is not our first trip to Wilmington Island and hopefully, not our last. We would definitely rent this home again and would highly recommend it to others!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Greenwood, South Carolina
5

Great place, great owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our first trip to the Savannah area. The property description was right on target. The owners were very helpful in pre trip planning and while there. The cottage was very neat and clean. Our favorite spot was on the awesome pier! The covered area was great during a rain shower or a break from the sun, and the floating dock worked well, as we moored our 20' boat there during the week. Boat ramp access is great, marina options are very close, and fishing opportunities are everywhere. A short ride up the ICW puts you right at the riverfront in Savannah. We will certainly be returning here.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Archer, Florida, USA
5

River Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My best friend, Ricco, and myself had the pleasant experience of staying here and we loved it. It was Ricco's 1st time, my second. Loved it, everything was perfect, once again.
We miss both of you and really plan on coming back this year with my other best friend and cousin, she has earned some r&r and Ricco has her convinced this is the perfect place for just that. She probably will not want to leave either. Ricco met the 'girl of his dreams next door' as we were leaving and he hopes to see her again, he was smitten : ) Talk with you all soon ! Thanks again, for a great, relaxing vacation sanctuary. Take care and the banana bread was very awesome too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
-
5

Perfect Location, Great Fishing, Wonderful Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I just spent the weekend at the lovely River Cottage. Everything was just as described. The cottage was well equipped and very clean. The bed was sooo comfortable. The location is really nice because it only takes about 15-20 minutes to get to Tybee Island and about the same to get to Historic Savannah. Our favorite thing about the River Cottage was the wonderful deep water dock. Even though it was a bit rainy, we were able to fish anyway because of the covered dock. AND we caught about a dozen fish! We would highly recommend the River Cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I recently stayed at the cottage for a week and were 100% satisfied. From the moment we walked in we were pleasantly surprised. The cottage was extremely clean and perfectly located. The owner was more than helpful and very pleasant. Quiet and safe neighborhood. The cottage provides all of the amenities that you need. We enjoyed relaxing on the dock, catching fish,crab and watching the breathtaking sunsets! We cannot express enough what a wonderful place this is! We were sad to leave, however cannot wait to return. Thank you Larry and Leslie!!!!!
business
River Cottage & Private Dock on River, Wilmington Island Savannah, Georgia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936802
912-898-0027
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Maryland
5

Beautiful, Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Rented for a 4 day stay in March. The cottage is lovely and clean, master king bed is really comfortable. It was so nice to come back after a long day of sight seeing to relax in a living room. The dock views were breathtaking especially sunsets, you can't beat the view. The neighborhood was peaceful and quiet. The cottage is close to everything, basically drive 12 minutes in any direction and your where you want to be. Would love to come back and stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice comments. We LOVE hearing good things about the river cottage from our guests and try our best to make the cottage, the dock and the river experience one that we would enjoy ourselves. Receiving a good review makes our day!
Helpful votes: 2/2