Tom Nevers cottage rental - Welcome to 'Lesser Light'
Welcome to 'Lesser Light'
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Tom Nevers Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 queen, 1 futon sofa (double bed), 1 futon chair. 1 full bath. Sleeps 2-4.

Don't miss our VIDEO TOUR (Shown either below the Amenities and above the Guest Reviews, or as Photo 25 above) or copy and paste this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XgqxL1mtn4

'Lesser Light' is a charming cottage surrounded by brush & flower gardens, w/ cathedral ceilings, a fully-equiped kitchen, W/D & large, private deck with patio furniture, outdoor shower & gas grill. One queen BR, a separate sleeping area (behind pocket doors) off main living area w/ futon (double pullout bed), & futon chair (twin) in LR. Full bathroom w/ tub/shower. Will comfortably sleep up to two couples, but is even more perfect for a couple alone or w/ 1-2 small children. Good dogs allowed w/owner approval (extra fee). 'Lesser Light' is an idyllic getaway w/ easy access to all the attractions of the Island by car, bike, or shuttle bus (bike path and bus stop are 1 block away). 'Lesser Light' can be rented separately or together with our 5BR house 'Incandescence,' listing # 299894. Both are set on the same 3 acre property but are privately sited over 300' away from each other, separated by a meandering stone path & screened by thick brush.

$125 cleaning fee for stays shorter than 7 nights; otherwise cleaning is included in rental rate.

$500 security deposit for all stays (refundable).

Dog fee varies depending on size and type.

PLEASE SCROLL DOWN FOR AVAILABILITY CALENDAR.

More Details
Hide Details

We welcome you to 'Lesser Light,' a lovely cottage that makes a perfect get-away destination. A builder on the island for close to 20 years, Ron built this cottage for himself. The love he put into it shows in all the details.

Ron chose this property because it is a lush, beautiful, 3 acre parcel, affording privacy and at the same time easy access to everything Nantucket has to offer.

When venturing out, I love to spend an afternoon in 'Sconset, which is less than five minutes away. There, you can park your chair on the beach, catch some rays, read a good book, and when you get hungry, leave everything there and walk up the stairs from the beach right into the middle of the quaintest, most charming village. There's a general store with all kinds of good things, including the most delicious coconut and ginger ice creams! Then take a stroll around and look at some of the rose-covered cottages -- all framed by the sparkling blue sea.

'Sconset offers five restaurants (besides the general store): a cute sandwich shop (Claudette's); the beach-side bistro at the Summer House; the upstairs bar and restaurant at the Summer House; The Sconset Cafe, which has a really nice breakfast, offers lunch and a BYOB dinner (the liquor/wine shop is adjacent to it); and The Chanticleer which offers an upscale dinning room and a more casual bar dining area (lunch in season).

9 Reviews of Property 936025 in Tom Nevers, Massachusetts

Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
average rating of 4.857143 based on 9 reviews
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

Relaxing retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at the cottage with our lab the last week of August 2013. We enjoyed being in a very private residential setting and staying just outside of town. We went to the beach and did the nearby trails/land banks during the day with our dog. 'Sconset was the best! At night it was an easy drive to and from town for dinner or just drinks if we cooked in. The cottage was clean, homey, and very relaxing. Ron and Lauren were wonderful to work with and we will definitely be contacting them in the future for other vacations!
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect cozy cottage!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
"Lesser Light" was a fantastic place to stay! It had all the amenities you could want and a beautiful deck outside, perfect for grilling and enjoying the summer evenings. Ron and Lauren made themselves totally available. I plan on staying there again. It was nice and private as well. The perfect cottage for our Nantucket stay. I highly recommend it!
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

Sweet cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a very sweet cottage that was perfect for a small family with younger kids or a romantic get away for one couple. We had the children sleep on a futon in the common room that can be separated with a pocket door. There is a small tv in the separate bedroom. Lots of privacy. The location was terrific with quick access to the bike trail. Tom nevers is located in the middle of the island so we were able to run to sconset and bike to town. This was our first trip to Nantucket and we look forward to going again. Lauren and Ron were wonderful hosts and very helpful!!! Would rent from them again.
Owner's Response: We love that you kept saying "perfect, perfect," about the cottage. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you back again!
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
5

Perfect for a young couple (with dogs, especially)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This really is a wonderful little cottage -- quiet, secluded, with a lovely rural setting. By the third day, my wife was already trying to figure out when we could come back next year.

We brought our two dogs and had a great time exploring the island with them. We were very pleased with the cottage's location. There are plenty of trails to walk just across Milestone Road at the Middle Moors. Tom Nevers Beach, which never has much of a crowd, is also a beautiful walk. The bike path along Milestone Road makes it an easy ride into 'Sconset or Nantucket proper.

Everything was clean and as-described, and, as others have written, you can tell that it was put together with a great deal of care. Some of my favorite moments on the trip were just sitting out a storm or the midday sun in the alcove. We didn't make much use of the kitchen, but I can verify that it's at least adequate for grilled cheeses.

Lastly, Ron and Lauren were very helpful (and very patient with us).

It was really a great experience for us and we can't wait to do it again. I would recommend this cottage to any party of a similar size.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your detailed Review. I know that people considering staying will appreciate reading about your experience. We're so happy you enjoyed yourselves so much and that you want to return for two weeks! You were terrific guests and we look forward to having you back again.
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
4

A week in August

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Lesser Light was a great fit for my husband and me and our small terrier mix dog for a week of summer rest and relaxation. It is clean, well-cared-for and quite private. It's nicely situated on the island, never too long a drive to anywhere, with particularly good access to the south side beaches.
Owner's Response: We're so glad you got some peaceful, romantic relaxation on your 'babymoon.' It made us happy to think of the two of you in the cottage, resting up for the big event. We hope to see you back sometime in the future with your little one in tow!
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

Picture perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The cottage is a little piece of heaven set in the privacy of Tom Nevers but close enough to the beaches and town. We were there for our first anniversary, on a romantic holiday, and it was the perfect choice. Everything in the cottage is charming, right down to the linens and the pictures on the walls, and all the amenities (washer, dryer, well-stocked kitchen, a dishwasher) are provided. We brought our schnoodle, Chester, and he loved the doghouse on the deck.

We also brought our car, but it wasn't really necessary because we ended up biking most places. Nothing is very far away on this island, and buses and taxis are available in case you need them.

We especially loved sitting outside on the generous deck, barbecuing on the gas grill and watching the stars; we couldn't believe how many there were! Birds fly in and out of the bird-feeder in the garden all day, singing as they go, and there was one spectacularly exotic bird with a long multi-colored tail that showed up now and then. We also saw, in a single day: a robin, a starling, a blue jay, a sparrow, an oriole, a woodpecker, a red tail hawk, a pine siskind, a cardinal, a chickadee, a purple finch and a goldfinch.

We can't wait to go back.
Owner's Response: The birds can be quite a treat. We're so glad you got to meet "Fatty" -- our resident ring-necked pheasant. Actually, depending on its girth, it might have been Fatty or it might have been "Mrs. Fatty." Either way, what a sight (although, I must admit, the male is a bit more spectacular, being much more colorful). We consider ourselves fortunate to be on those birds' regular dining route. Anyway, we're so very glad you enjoyed the cottage and had a lovely anniversary celebration. Hope to have you return sometime. We've made some nice changes to the cottage, including some new pieces of furniture and even nicer linens. Best wishes and happy upcoming second anniversary!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The cottage was a special treat !

  • Submitted: May 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The whole family wanted me to let you and Ron know that they thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the house and what a great setting it is. The cottage was a special treat for the upcoming newlyweds. Thanks again for another great vacation on our favorite island.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

Perfect Little Cottage for a Happy Little Family!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband, our two young children and me had our best vacation EVER at this wonderful little cottage in Tom Nevers. Going in, we were worried about two things -- the size of the place and getting around without a car -- by the time we left, we only worried when we'd be able to come back again! The size of the cottage was perffect for the four of us -- Donnie and I felt totally at home in the wonderful bedroom with the high ceiling and the lazy swirling fan; for the kids, my seven year daughter -- acting like a queen -- in the double futon bed and our little one delighted in his own convertible twin. (The kids took special delight in the outside shower - I guess watching those amazing birds at the feeder while you shampoo's not something they get to do enough of in teh city!!!). And the huge deck with the grill and the hammock and the sofa chairs and all was like having a whole second home outdoors!

Getting round without a car? Not a bit of a problem. My daughter and I brought over bikes on the boat ($7), my husband rented a way cool bike with a back carrier for the little guy. Our main destination - the beach at Sconset (sp??) - it was like ten minutes by bike. Open sand as far as you can see and so few people I thought we were on someones private estate. The little town was fun and cute (when there were kids) and ROMANTIC (when it was just the two of us). Maybe the happiest dinner of our life one special night at the Chantacleer. At the end of the day, when the kids were beat - we loaded the whole crew - bikes and all - onto the shuttle bus and it dropped us at the end of the drive. We also used the shuttle bus to get to the old whaling town for sightseeing and shopping and the moviehouse. And when we needed to go in style? It turns out the owners have a 'in' with one of teh cab companies. As soon as we gave teh address -- they knew the house and gave us special attention! Last thing to say... the owner builds homes on the island and i guess he first built the place for them -- its all handmade cabinets and classy woodwork. You could tell it was done with love and they seemed to love knowing we were happy there. (Okay... THIS is the last thng...) I probably wrote Lauren 100 emails with evry worry and question and problem tht I came up with for the four months before we went. She was fabulous! She knows the Island, loves it, loves helping. Only bad thiing? A week on Nantucket FLIES by!!! Next time: TWO weeks for us!

Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sweet, Private, Dog-Friendly Cottage with Huge Deck Near Bike Path
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p936025
+1 914 9145254485
Tom Nevers Nantucket
5

What an amazing cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Myself, my girlfriend, and two of her close friends made the trip to Nantucket this past Labor Day weekend. What a great trip! We stayed at the cottage on this property and were impressed upon arrival. It's just as peaceful, private and well kept as the description and photos suggest. The patio/deck area with the BBQ, hammock, and lawn chairs is where we enjoyed to sit the most while at the cottage. The inside of the cottage and kitchen was remarkable, as well, with everything you can imagine and more -- we're just more the outdoor type, so we really appreciated the deck. We brought our bikes and saw most of the island by bicycle. There is a beach just a few miles down the street which does not attract a lot of beach-goers, so the private feel of the beach was nice -- the beach becomes more impressive the more you walk towards the west. The town of Sconset was only about 3 miles towards the east, and the main town of Nantucket was about 5 miles west. So, we were pretty centrally located at this private cottage, which is pretty well tucked in the woods away from it all. And, when we got tired of biking, there was a bus stop just a short walk from the driveway. I'd recommend this cottage to anyone that appreciates tranquility and also doesn't mind traveling by bus, bicycle, or car to get around. Our party would definitely stay at this cottage again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed the quiet privacy that the cottage has to offer, and also got to see so much of the Island. We do think that we offer the best of both worlds, being in a location from which it is easy to set out exploring, but also providing a peaceful place to relax, enjoy the outdoors and have a beautiful view of the astounding Nantucket night sky. You were terrific guests and we hope to see you back here again!
Helpful votes: 5/5