Olivebridge house rental - The back of the house as seen from the pool area.
The back of the house as seen from the pool area.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Olivebridge House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-8

This cozy and gently renovated 1950 cottage has the charm of a quaint but elegant country retreat. Gardens bloom from early spring through late autumn, an airy screened-in porch is wonderful for birdwatching, reading, eating a relaxed meal, or, on summer nights, sleeping. A stone fireplace warms you in style in the winter, while the thick walls keep the house cool through the summer. Half of the 5-acre property is fenced in, with plenty of room for dogs to run and play; the other half is unimproved, with a babbling brook. A beautiful pool in a clearing, large old oak and maple trees, and a tiny koi pond finish the picture. A simple but functional kitchen with new appliances makes for easy and fun entertaining. A wonderful place to get away from it all, and just 2 hours from NYC!

Activities: Nearby Stone Ridge, Boiceville, Accord and New Paltz provide opportunities for groceries, antique shopping, dining, and even a (wee little bit) of night life. Hikes, biking trails, and canoeing and kayaking opportunities abound throughout the area, as well as cross country skiing in winter, with Belleayre Ski Center 45 minutes away for downhill buffs. Closer to home, the property's pool provides all day entertainment for the kids, grilling - perhaps some meat bought at the famous Fleisher's butcher shop in nearby Kingston - is always fun, and at night you can make s'mores or just chill by the outdoor firepit. There's tons of stuff to keep you busy, but we admit it - we like most of all to while the beautiful days and evenings away with a book and maybe a glass of wine.

Pet friendly: Much of the property is fenced in, and we provide furniture covers, doggie-beds, bowls - even a kitty litter box if you want to bring along the family cat - all to make your furry friends at home. Felines love sitting out on the screened in porch!

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 935361 in Olivebridge, New York

Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
5

Country Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was my husband and I second stay. We first stayed in Jan 2013. We are mostly cold weather people. However, we liked the home so much we returned to give summer a shot. Both times we traveled with our dogs.
This home is clean, comfortable, and very relaxing. You don't need to bring much.
We enjoyed the local farmers markets, wine tastings, hiking in Mohonk, and local eateries. We did a lot of barbeque, swimming in the pool, and just sitting on porch. Our pets have smiles on their faces the entire time at this home. Being that it is fenced, they can explore and chase chipmunks at will.
We would both recommend this property.
Maybe next time we will try the fall season!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
5

Amazing! Better than the photos.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
First of all the property is much better than the pictures look. The bedrooms are spacious and the kitchen was surprisingly big with a nice island. Also the porch is to die for. it has a pitched roof and with an amazing view of the property we spend a lot of nights there. The bathrooms looked recently updated and each had a very nice shower.

The property is really what sets this place apart from others. It has open space, woods, a pool, landscape and a little stream you can hear at night with the wildlife. Perfect place to get away.

We have rented many homes before and are used to bringing bags and bags of items since the houses are usually empty with just s few kitchen items. This house was full of little things we needed - specialty cooking items, books, lawn chairs, a grill scrapper you name it. We didn't even unpack a few bags.

We were all adults and had a great time in the house. it's true the living room is hard to hang out in since there is no real couch but out on the porch there are comfy sofas and lots of pillows. Very nice place and we are excited to go back soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
5

Charm & Tranquility

Charm & Tranquility
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The home and grounds is the quintessential fairy tale setting. Charm abounds this place in every way from the interior decoration to the many secret gardens on this property. This home is a must stay for any family or couple who wish to be one with nature. Set on a very quiet street and a short picturesque drive to restaurants and stores.
The home has everything one may need and more. Clean, well maintained property and if you have any questions the owners are prompt to answer.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
4

Gorgeous Getaway - Very pleased

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My friends and I had a wonderful weekend in this cozy home. The property is absolutely stunning and the house very cute. We mostly stayed inside and played board games, cooked a couple delicious meals and relaxed together. We even got to run around in the snow a bit. :)

We'd love to come back to this house in the future for sure. Besides being super comfortable and incredibly clean and organized, Julie was so easy and flexible in all of our communications. The directions were very simple and clearly laid out for us as far as cleanup and use of any household amenities.

I definitely recommend this property!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
5

Warm, cozy, retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The pictures don't do this place justice. The house is nicely decorated and is charming inside and out. The surrounding area is very rural, quiet, and lovely. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful country retreat.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
4

Summer getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My partner and I spent our wedding weekend in this beautiful home. The bedrooms were roomy and beds were comfortable. Kitchen was fully stocked but we didn't get to take advantage of it because we ate out for all of our meals. Our family pets enjoyed the enclosed outdoor space. The owner was very helpful and responsive to all our emails. The only recommendation I would make is to provide a more comfortable sofa in the living room. Other than that, the house was a pure gem. Would love to stay here during winter and enjoy the fireplace.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
4

Wonderful stay in the Catskills!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We rented the cottage in order to have a nice place to stay and relax with friends while in the Catskills for a wedding. The four of us are seasoned Catskills vacation renters, but we all agreed this was one of the nicest place we'd ever stayed. The cottage is large and cozy at the same time, the bedrooms all have very comfy beds, everything was clean and in great shape. Book lovers will be delighted to find books in nearly every room. The kitchen was great and had everything we needed and more. The sun porch was our favorite room. The only thing we didn't get a chance to use was the outside fire pit. Next time! It was actually a shame we had a wedding to go to, we would have rather been at the cottage! The cottage is on a quiet road, but it is right on it- can be difficult to find in the dark. The only suggestion we would make is for a larger couch in the living room. The house can sleep 6+ but the living room couch is really for 2. Overall, we had a great time and would definitely go back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
5

Relaxation at it's best!!!

Relaxation at it's best!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Julie was such a great and responsive owner, truly a pleasure to rent from her. We were looking to get away from life in the city, and this was the perfect find. The road is very wooded and secluded, and the house was much of the same. We have two dogs, Julie is super pet friendly, who loved that so much of the property is fenced in (from the gates at the end of the driveway). Not to mention, it's well kept lawn for lots of open running.
The large in ground pool is wonderful with no one around, literally seclusion at its best.
The home was much larger than we thought, with 3 nice size bedrooms, two full bathrooms and my favorite, the outdoor shower. The pictures don't do this home and property justice.
The kitchen is more than fully stocked, Julie has tons of spices etc available should you have forgotten something.
The most wonderful room is the screened in great room, we spent hours in this room and ate all our meals there too. There is a futon in the far corner which called out for a perfect afternoon nap location each day of our stay. Each night we were entertained by the "critter concert". The wildlife at night truly turns up the volume for an added treat.
Julie has made it possible for folks to rent her actual home, which you feel the warmth of her gracious hospitality the moment you arrive. You have to pinch yourself to be reminded that this isn't your own home.
There is so much that she has thought of from books to movies, flashlights to bug spray, cooking essentials to soaps/shampoo. There is even a fantastic guest book with very specific questions. It was loads of fun to read what previous guests spent their time doing during their stays.
If you are looking to escape civilization for a while, this is the retreat that the doctor ordered!
We are looking forward to spending other seasons in this home.
Thanks again Julie for all of your hospitality!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
5

simply outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It's hard to imagine a more comfortable, inviting, and relaxing home away from home. The house is just lovely - decorated and apportioned beautifully, though you feel immediately relaxed and at home. The pool, in particular, is just fantastic - though the screened in porch is probably the element we remember most fondly, the site of many dinners and games (and naps). You'll love it here!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, quiet home nestled in woods, with pool, pet friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935361
+1 6462867502
Olivebridge Catskills
New York, New York
5

A whole lotta country charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
House was perfect, a little big for just two, but let me tell you, I haven't felt that relaxed in a long time. The screened in Great Room is like a bird observation post. An amazing space to just wile the day away.

A great cross between rustic country farmhouse and comfortable city living. Would go back without a second thought.
Helpful votes: 2/2