Lake Worth studio rental - Tara front garden from parking; Tarasita on left
Tara front garden from parking; Tarasita on left
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Lake Worth Studio Rental Photos and Description
Two separate studios, each with queen bed, full bath and kitchen

Ours is a charming historic private waterfront home in a lovely quiet neighborhood. Guests have total privacy, but my husband and I live on the premises, providing enhanced security and happily meeting whatever needs might arise for our guests! Enter through a luxurious garden filled with fruit trees, tropicals, and orchids. Filled with art and antiques and light, both second story studios catch our fresh ocean breezes. OUR CALENDAR CAN ONLY REFLECT BOOKINGS FOR ONE OF THESE ACCOMMODATIONS, SO PLEASE ALWAYS CHECK WITH US DIRECTLY FOR AVAILABILITY. In Tarasita Cottage, our pet guest unit, the spacious high ceilinged main room has more windows than walls, and a full kitchen, full bath, and walk-in closet. The roof deck, with comfortable chairs and umbrellas, is perfect for reading and relaxing outside. Taralago Suite is very similar except that it is not available for pet guests, and it does not have a stove/oven, but a convection toaster oven, microwave, induction cooktop, and outdoor charcoal grill. Unfortunately, it is not suitable for heavy duty cooking. It does have a large private deck overlooking the Intracoastal/Lake Worth. This is a wonderful retreat place, but still close to everything! Walking and biking are popular in the neighborhood and one can do either to reach downtown amenities or the beach. We have bicycles and golf clubs for our guests. Kayak off our private beach. Watch osprey, kingfishers, pelicans, parrots, and wading birds. Downtown Lake Worth is eight blocks away and is filled with charming shops and restaurants, plus the Bamboo Room (a world class blues club). Many of the cafes have outdoor tables and are dog friendly!

Lake Worth beach has a great open air restaurant bar and a gorgeous new pier for fishing or just ogling the beach goers. Feb. 25th and 26th is the annual Lake Worth Street Painting Festival - a great weekend happening! Other nearby (no more than an hour's drive) attractions include Roger Dean Stadium, home of spring training for the Florida Marlins and the St. Louis Cardinals; the Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens, home to a world class bonsai collection; Palm Beach International Equestrian Center, home of the FTI Winter Equestrian Festival (Jan 11- April 1); Palm Beach Polo Club (polo season Jan 29 - April 2); the Norton Museum of Art; Palm Beach itself and famous Worth Ave for primo shopping; Sawgrass Mills Mall (over 350 outlet stores) for bargain shopping; Lion Country Safari, a drive through African game park; off-shore drift fishing; Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino; Miami Beach!

Nearby Attractions and Activities: Other nearby (no more than an hour's drive) attractions include Roger Dean Stadium, home of spring training for the Florida Marlins and the St. Louis Cardinals; the Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens, home to a world class bonsai collection; Palm Beach International Equestrian Center, home of the FTI Winter Equestrian Festival (Jan 11- April 1); Palm Beach Polo Club (polo season Jan 29 - April 2); the Norton Museum of Art; Palm Beach itself and famous Worth Ave; Sawgrass Mills Mall (over 350 outlet stores); Lion Country Safari, a drive through African game park; off-shore drift fishing; Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino; Miami Beach!

More Details
Hide Details

Lou, from New York City, is a theatre producer and director, and Kathleen, from Monroe, Louisiana is a visual artist and writer. We love our pets, friends, good books, good food and wine, and our gorgeous home in Lake Worth!

Kathleen Holmes purchased this studio in 2010

We have lived in Lake Worth for over 20 years, and finally were able to get a 1924 fixer upper on the water. As with houses of this vintage, the renovation is never really done, but we love the process. The garden has been especially rewarding to create - it's becoming a tropical paradise. Sunrises and moon rises over the lake are a lovely reward for all the hard work!

For probably 350 days of the year we are blessed with breezes right off the Atlantic Ocean, so even in summer, there is usually a cool breeze, especially in the evening.

30 Reviews of Property 934400 in Lake Worth, Florida

Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
average rating of 5.0 based on 30 reviews
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Wonderful vacation at a wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Perfect self-contained studio in old traditional Florida house on the inland waterway, My unit had a huge deck overlooking the pool, yard and water. Kathleen and Lou couldn"t be nicer. It was my best Florida stay yet, can't wait to go back!
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

A rare find. Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We have just finished our time at Tarasita. Never in our wildest dreams did we expect to get so lucky when we booked a 60 day stay on the internet. Tarasita is bright and airy. The many windows and fans make for a beautiful breeze. We only used the air a handful of times. The unit is well equipped. The full size kitchen is great for preparing meals. The use of the outside grill is perfect. A walk in closet very handy for keeping everything put away and out of sight. Location is brilliant. A short 15 minute walk to town with many restaurants and shops. The beach is a lovely stroll through Bryant Park along the Intracoastal/Lake Worth and over the 6th ave bridge. The dock out front is perfect for sitting and watching the pelicans. All the reviews I have read are accurate. As well, Kathleen's pictures of Tarasita, Taralago and the gardens are spot on. It is truly a little bit of heaven. Finally, Lou and Kathleen are wonderful hosts. We felt like honoured guests.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Kevin, June, and Miss Laine!! We can't wait to see you again next winter! xxoo K
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
Grinnell, IA
5

A terrific hideaway on the Intracoastal.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Set in a lush tropical garden setting, this cozy apartment is bright and airy with plenty of windows to let in the Florida sunshine and an outside sitting area to enjoy a book and a glass of your favorite tropical drink. The perfect spot to be away from a winter's cold. Conveniently located to I-95 and Palm Beach International Airport, blocks to downtown Lake Worth shopping and restaurants with more than enough amenities to feel at home. Owners Kathleen and Lou along with the "staff", especially Rani and Liz, help to make you feel welcome. We highly recommend this lovely property and look forward to our next stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
Chappaqua, NY, USA
5

In a word, PARADISE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I heartily agree with every glowing review already written, so I'll try not to be repetitive. It's difficult to describe with words my experience in the Taralago suite in Kathleen and Lou's home! It will, no doubt, sound melodramatic to say so, but this oasis reached right into my soul and uplifted my spirit. The grounds are very lush and beautifully maintained, but in a way that makes one feel it is all the work of Mother Nature. The deck is a lovely place to sit and enjoy the view and the sound of the water, and the windows on three sides of the studio allow the sun to fill the interior of the studio. The studio itself is decorated in the most pleasing way, and anyone who gets to know Kathleen will realize that the decor is straight from her heart. It's hard to believe that such a place exists so close to major highways and activities of every description. Kathleen and Lou were every bit the kind and generous hosts that others have described. Thank, you, Kathleen and Lou, and BRAVI on your having created such a lovely place for guests to enjoy! I look forward to visiting again as soon as possible.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Million dollar view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Wow! Prepare to fall in love. Just the view of Lake Worth is worth the rental fee. An art-filled interior, a huge bathroom, and lots of windows are icing on the cake. We can't wait to return, and have already booked our next stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

A beautiful and well equipped home-away-from-home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was my second long stay (10 weeks) on the gorgeous property of Kathleen Holmes and Louis Tyrell. This time I stayed in Tarasita, an apartment over the carriage house. Though it has no view of the sunrise over Lake Worth, I found Tarasita equally as delightful as Taralago. It is bright and surrounded with windows that allow the most heavenly breezes through the whole apartment. It has a lovely sitting area and full kitchen which makes cooking on a regular basis very pleasant. It's a great place for an extended stay if one happens to be visiting family or, as in my case, working in the area.

Frankly, I do not want to gush too much in this review about how wonderful, helpful, and kind Kathleen and Louis are, and how well I feel my privacy was respected, because then the place will never be available when I return to the area...and this will always be my very first choice...
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Once in a lifetime! or It's A Wonderful Life

Once in a lifetime! or It's A Wonderful Life
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Comfortable elegance, eclectic, honest, real, hosts who make you comfortable and let you alone, in a home that enchants, views that are breathtaking, and quiet times to read, relax, rest or reflect. This is a not to be missed experience.
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Stellar Rewrites

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I stayed here while I was doing rewrites on a play that was being produced locally. What an absolutely perfect place to work and relax. The accommodations were calming, stunningly imaginative and comfortable. A perfect quiet retreat to get some creative juices flowing. And the stunning artwork on the walls made me feel like I was in a room where original and creative thoughts would run rampant. And they did, I got my work done, had a wonderful relaxing stay, and enjoyed my hosts when our paths would cross. This is a delight, don't miss it.
Carter W. Lewis.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Carter - your creativity inspired me, too! We hope you will come back again and again!!!!! xxoo k
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Kathleen and Lou’s home is truly spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I stayed in the Taralago Suite, a second floor studio overlooking the pool and the Intercoastal waterway. There is a roof deck, a perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee and plan your day or enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day.

The suite has a a convection toaster oven, microwave, and cooktop which allow guests to create a simple meal. I enjoy the local restaurants so I only used the microwave to heat up leftovers and make coffee and tea,

The suite is light and airy and surrounded by windows. It is beautifully decorated, with meticulous attention to detail, yet it feels very comfortable. The suite also Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, beach towels, sun screen, etc. Kathleen has thought of everything to make you feel right at home.

Kathleen and Lou are gracious hosts. I felt like a very special guest in their home. I felt honored to stay in such a beautiful place.
Owner's Response: Thank you, Diane! As always, it is a delight having you here - we look forward to next time!!!!
business
Bright and Beautiful Garden Setting on Intracoastal / Lake Worth
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p934400
+1 5615337884
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Fabulous hospitality and unparalleled customer service! The garden is unbelievably beautiful and lush and the location is perfect for enjoying the area. A true home away from home, which we plan to enjoy often.