Sonoma cottage rental - Cottage Entry
Cottage Entry
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
 

Sonoma Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Best location in the Northern California Wine Country, just a short walk or ride down the Bike Trail to Sonoma's historic town square. Fully furnished and equipped. High speed internet, flat panel TV, Netflix

Sonoma Valley is blessed with award winning wineries & vineyards, historic sites, restaurants, open air markets, museums, galleries, boutiques, and wonderful opportunities for hiking & biking.

Start your day with a short walk to one of our various award-winning bakeries, pick up a newspaper, and return to the house to enjoy your treats on the sunny deck overlooking the colorful garden. Or, walk to the numerous unique restaurants serving full breakfasts. Take a one block stroll for a morning spa treatment.

Spend the rest of the morning shopping on the plaza, visiting the celebrated Sonoma Valley Museum of Art, take an art class at the community center, bicycle through the vineyards on the bike path, shop at the fresh organic vegetable stands, enjoy cheese tastings at the two cheese factories, sit in the Plaza and watch the ducks, gather gourmet delights from the multiple specialty shops, visit the winery tasting rooms to pick the perfect afternoon wine choice to go with your picnic lunch, and it is all within a two-block radius of our house.

The evenings in Sonoma are filled with exquisite dining, jazz, and dancing in Plaza restaurants. Choose from Italian, Thai, California Cuisine, Mexican, Indian, Irish Pub, and French restaurants just a walk away. Catch live theater or walk over to the Sebastiani theater for an art movie. You do not even need your car once you are settled in. The cottage has one bedroom as well as a pull out in the living room and can accommodate up to four people. It has a fully-equipped kitchen and several amenities to make your stay a memorable one.

A complimentary bottle of wine will be waiting for you upon your arrival. Relax and sip a glass of wine on your porch and enjoy the lush outdoor grounds in the beautiful wine country.

Keywords: Private, Kids, car, biking, wine, internet, dogs, cats, weddings, bachelorette party, girls weekend, golfing, hiking, trail rides, beach, get-away, cottage, secluded, excellent, luxury, napa, vacation, staycation, california, beautiful, lodging, deals, specials, trusted, savings, professional, unique, stay, concierge, quality, central location, famous wineries, sonoma plaza, BBQ, patio, business trip, family, memorable, charming, escape, vacation planning, complimentary, Sonoma

More Details
Hide Details

Bennett & Sheila Martin

Both born and raised in Sonoma and have enjoyed raising our 3 children in this small wine town setting. Bennett is a partner in a successful architectural practice and Sheila is the assistant marketing director at a large wine & spirits company located in Napa.

Bennett Martin purchased this cottage in 2005

43 Reviews of Property 378678 in Sonoma, California

Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
average rating of 4.837209 based on 43 reviews
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
4

Quaint and cozy

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Was a very nice and comfortable little house. Close it the plaza to eat and shop. The last night of our vacation we decided to just get takeout and lounge around the house. Was a great deal and much more pleasant than staying at a hotel! The only complaint was being right next to the owners house with no curtains or blinds in the kitchen or dining/living area. Didn't feel like we had full privacy once the sun went down. Would still go back for another stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
Orlando, FL
5

"Perfect" Sonoma Hide-Away

"Perfect" Sonoma Hide-Away
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We just returned from spending a week at this lovely cottage in Sonoma. Each day we remind ourselves of the extremely quiet mornings drinking coffee, the fresh eggs, the doves cooing and the abundance of nature surrounding the cottage. After days filled with exploring, it was a pleasure to return to this peaceful cottage where we could sit on the patio and enjoy a glass of wine from one of the many wineries and wonderful cheese and bread from the Sonoma Market. The tour that Sheila arranged at Sterling was a highlight! Thanks to Bennett & Sheila for the wine upon arrival, well stocked kitchen and most of all for sharing your little piece of paradise. Hope to return again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
Minneapolis, mn
5

As great as it looks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great place in a good location.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
Portland, Oregon
4

Lovely Private Setting

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The property was conveniently located just a couple of miles from downtown Sonoma. The owners were gracious and friendly. The cottage is sweet, with a wonderful large private patio, and the kitchen large, light and well-equipped. It was fun using the darling red VW bug to drive to town. Every morning I took my pup on a lovely walk up Lomita to vineyards, and the neighbors were friendly. One morning we found a basket of fresh linens and freshly laid eggs at our front door. We love Sonoma, and really enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
Hollywood
5

Could I Move In?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I never wanted to leave this charming cottage that was fully equipped to make my stay in Sonoma worth the 2 day drive up PCH! It was like staying in a tree house, completely private but surrounded by nature. I loved the large kitchen so I could cook all my meals after the decadence of a dinner at The French Laundry. The back patio and garden were so peaceful and the cooing doves in the coop in the yard lulled me into a state of perfect relaxation. The cottage was just a little over a mile from Sonoma square, so very easy to get everywhere in town. It was stocked with beverages and sundries and had some good books to read as well, though, there wasn't a lot of time for reading. It was a perfect setting for a perfect weekend in Sonoma.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
Atlanta, GA
5

Amazing home away from home vacation in Sonoma!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our experience at the Sonoma Wine Country Hideaway exceeded our expectations. Truly a relaxing stay that we definitely think was far superior to just another stay in a hotel. The hotel experience would have felt cramped and this home was very spacious, private, great deck and patio space, and had simply everything you would need. Kitchen is fully stocked and most generous to have a couple of bottles wine awaiting our arrival. Bennett and Sheila are wonderful and very hospitable. Will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
madison WI
2

hot, no AC

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were disappointed that the Ac unit continually malfunctioned. It was a heat wave. Also disappointed that the cottage is so far from the center of town, shops, restaurants. Had to use the car for everything. Also disappointed that we had to leave a day early and were not able to get any credit for that night. Would not return.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
4

Five awesome days in Sonoma

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I were in Sonoma for our son's wedding. The cottage was a great place for the two of us to stay. Nice little patio just outside the dining room door. Quiet neighborhood setting. Close proximity to Sonoma Square - dining, shopping, strolling around.

Our other adult son joined us at the cottage for two nights of our visit. The only downside to the interior layout is the bathroom access through the bedroom. We somehow misread the listing and thought it had 2 bedrooms - our error, not the owners. The fold-out sofa bed was OK for two nights. Would be fine for younger children, but would not recommend for adults on a longer stay.

The cottage is generously stocked with snacks and beverages - this was very nice and greatly appreciated as we did not have a lot of time to spend shopping for groceries. There is a vast selection of music. Free WiFi and cable TV. Books and games and guides to local attractions. Prior to our arrival, the owner provided us with resource suggestions for everything we might require during our stay. The property is well maintained. Everything was as described. I would happily recommend to friends and family.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
Beverly, Massachusetts/USA
5

Simply the Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We are frequent users of various website to book private accommodations. We have never had such a perfect place to stay. It far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is a true oasis of serenity. The owners have thought of everything. The attention to detail is unmatched. These are people who have generously made their paradise shareable and private. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could want. We marveled at their trust and generosity. The use of the VW is above and beyond what is typical when renting a private home and was such fun! Our favorite delight may have been the very fresh eggs...what a great treat and for Easter too! The cottage is spotless, quiet, exceedingly comfortable, PERFECT! It made it hard to go out during the day because it was so lovely to spend time there and so wonderful to come back to in the evening to kick back and relax. Unfortunately it was still too cool and wet to take full advantage of the patio but such a glorious spot to enjoy a glass of wine and the outdoors in. You will not be disappointed in a stay of any length at Bennett and Sheila's cottage. It is a must-get-back- there kind of place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jayne & Scott,

Thank you so much. We enjoyed meeting & chatting with you both and hope we see you again.

It was our pleasure!

Bennett & Sheila
business
Sonoma Wine Country Hide-away with Classic VW Convertible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378678vb
7072908361
Sonoma Sonoma County
-
5

Exceeded Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Such a treasure of a cottage, with amazing outdoor/patio space to relax and feel tranquility and sunshine. It was super clean and very well furnished, replete with amazing amenities and kitchen/cupboard treats. It sleeps 4 comfortably, and easily a few more with extra aerobeds. It was perfect for our girls getaway/bday celebration.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway