Harrisonburg cabin rental - Front View of Dry River Cabin in Autumn.
Front View of Dry River Cabin in Autumn.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights
 

Harrisonburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom (Queen Size) 1 Full Bathroom with 1 Queen size sofa bed

HOMEAWAY HAS CHANGED THEIR POLICIES: KIDS ARE NOW BEING CHARGED THROUGH THE BOOK IT NOW OPTION. WE DO NOT CHARGE FOR KIDS UNDER 18. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BOOK THROUGH THE BOOK IT NOW, JUST PUT THE NUMBER OF ADULTS. ADD A NOTE OF HOW MANY KIDS THERE ARE AND WE WILL CHANGE IT IN THE RESERVATION. THIS WILL ALLOW YOU TO BOOK IT YOURSELF AND NOT HAVE THE EXTRA FEES.

Please read the entire description:

Dry River Cabin is rustic, cozy and comfortable real cabin that was built in the World War II era. It was originally built as a Summer getaway in the mountains. It is a very cute cabin, the second to last cabin on a dead end private road that is almost at the top of the mountain. The road can be rough at times (after heavy rains or snow), but we've had guests with every kind of car (including very nice luxury cars) make it up to the cabin. We drive up every day in a little Volvo with no ground clearance easily... snowy or rainy days may need higher clearance or 4 wheel drive. This is our cabin with the best views of the mountains.

We (Katie & Steven) live here on the mountain and are available almost always should you need anything. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything at all we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. If there is ever a problem please let us know so we can do our best to make it right.

The cabin has one bedroom with a queen size bed and then there is a pull out queen size bed in the living room. The bedroom has an old stone fireplace and there is fireplace insert (with glass) so the fire can be seen. The cabin has a knotty pine in the interior, and a screened in porch with a great view of the mountain on the front. The cabin has full bath with claw foot tub, and a full kitchen with all the essentials: refrigerator, microwave, stove, oven and coffee maker and utensil and cookware. The kitchen and bathroom are not updated, but they fit with the theme of the cabin.

All linens and comforters are washed after every guest. The cabin has access to fishing and trails for hiking or mountain biking. It is about 10 miles from Harrisonburg and Bridgewater, so you're only minutes away from shopping and dinning as well.

Beloved pets are welcome but we do require a Pet Fee of $49 to $89. There is also a Property Damage Protection Fee of up to $49 - $89 (depending on length of stay)

Rates will vary during peak and holiday seasons.

Dry River Cabin is a great place to see the stars. On clear nights, you can see thousands of stars overhead. It is a beautiful sight. Also during the spring and summer months, you can see humming birds everywhere. We place feeders off the front porch of the cabin and have personally seen upwards of 20 birds feeding on them at one time. The humming birds should be arriving in April. You don't want to miss them.

Check in time is 4:00 pm and checkout is 11 am

This is a real cabin in the mountains built long ago. Therefore it will not feel like new construction, but then again, that is what gives the cabin its beauty because it is unique. The cabin is on the top of the mountain bordering the George Washington National Forest. The forest contains all sorts of wildlife and deer can even be seen at times walking through the yard. Because this is a real cabin, there may things you should expect to find in an older real cabin such as spider webs (we clean them for every guest but they do reappear quickly), ladybugs and occasional stink bugs during certain times of the year.

Pets are welcome at all of our properties. If you or someone in your group is allergic to pets or anything else (detergent, air fresheners, etc), please let us know in advance so we can discuss this prior to your booking and then also prior to your arrival. We will do our best to accommodate any special requests.

More Details
Hide Details

We moved to Virginia from Texas so I could finish my college degree. We have two daughters, one who is 4 and the other 1. We have another baby on the way. They both love to go for walks and play at the cabins. We are down to 8 dogs now, and we have 2 cats, 2 ponies, 7 goats and a lone rabbit. When we travel everyone gets to go along (pets included). Our pets love to be in the car as well as explore all of the trails here in Rawley Springs.

Katie & Steven Robert Jones purchased this cabin in 2011

We bought this cabin because it was right next to our house, and we decided it would be a nice property to own. We love to spend the night up there when the cabin isn't rented out.

This is our most remote cabin, on the end of a private dead end road with direct access to the national forest.

53 Reviews of Property 932490 in Harrisonburg, Virginia

Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
average rating of 4.773585 based on 53 reviews
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Rustic Cabin with Great Mountain Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Driving to this cabin from Bridgewater, VA was about 25 minutes, complete with beautiful views of the Blue Ridge mountains. I was pleasantly surprised at how close the cabin is from the Harrisonburg area. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the humble setting of the cabin which includes picnic tables, a grill, a swing, as well as a beautiful screened-in porch.
Once inside, I was greeted by hardwood finished floors, comfortable furnishings, and a spacious kitchen. This cabin is quite luxurious despite it's humble setting, featuring wireless internet, flat screen tv in the bedroom, and all modern kitchen appliances. My favorite feature was the new mattress -- it was very comfortable. I do not "rough it" well, and I felt very at home here!
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Beautiful scenery and atmosphere

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Driving up I was met with a beautiful view and amazing employees. The owners Steven and his wife Katie are great people, very personable. Our stay was relaxed and quiet.

The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I hardly wanted to get out of bed. My friends and I used the firepit at night and had a wonderful time.

You won't be disappointed with choosing Dry River Cabin for your vacation.
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Cabin Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This cabin reminded me of some of the camping trips that I'd taken as a boy scout. I used to enjoy camping, whether in tents or cabins, and staying at this cabin reminded me of those trips. The cabin itself had everything needed for a nice weekend stay. My smartphone was able connect to the wifi and the signal stayed consistent while using all of my phone's apps. Also, I felt a connection to the location because of the fact that I was a history major. I studied the frontier era and this cabin, on the top of a mountain out in the 'backwoods,' made me feel like I was living in the wilds of the 1700's. I was very impressed with my stay here.
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Cozy Clean Cabin with all Necessities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The cabin was very cozy and clean and had everything we needed. The views of the mountains were really nice. The high speed wifi was a nice touch and allowed us to listen to Google Play during our stay. There was even a land line phone with free long distance and full cable and a flat screen TV in the bedroom. The new mattress was very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. The fire pit looked ideal, but it was raining so we didn't get to use it. The fire place in the bedroom would have been great if it was colder outside. Cannot wait to come by back.
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Relaxing & Romantic Getaway

Relaxing & Romantic Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Dry River Cabin was absolutely wonderful. It was better than we hoped and exactly what we needed: a relaxing escape from the stresses of everyday life. The cabin was perfect; it was like stepping back in time. It's a rustic, cozy, real-life cabin nestled at the top of a mountain surrounded by absolutely breathtaking views.

The place has just about everything you need. There's an indoor fireplace, which is quite romantic. There's also an outdoor fire pit; great for sitting around and roasting s'mores! There's a grill and full kitchen inside. Although you don't need it, there's even a flat screen tv in the bedroom to watch a movie if you are so inclined. Nothing fancy, which was exactly what we wanted.

There were hiking trails right outside and within walking distance of the cabin. There is a gorgeous river at the bottom of the mountain with trails you can hike. There's also a trail right outside the cabin you can use to hike your way up to the top of the mountain for some absolutely amazing views of the mountains and valley below. Our dog definitely had a blast!

Harrisonburg is within 10-15 minutes, which is very convenient. We could hop into town whenever we needed anything or were looking to do some shopping. We actually took a trip to Luray Caverns and did a tour one day. The cabin really is in a great location. What's more, the road up to the cabin was quite entertaining to navigate. Although you don't need it, driving up the mountain in 4 wheel drive after it snowed was definitely fun.

Katie and Steven were absolutely wonderful: very kind and accommodating. They were definitely the icing on the cake. From the time we made our reservation to even after we left, Katie and Steven were always willing and available to help with anything. After a snow storm, Steven even helped us to navigate our way up the mountain [in the middle of the night!]; well, it was more like a group of friends going 4-wheeling and having a blast too! Honestly, Katie and Steven really are just down-to-earth, good people. We truly appreciated their hospitality and kindness.

In the end, we wholeheartedly recommend Dry River Cabin to anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful, rustic, gorgeous, romantic, and/or adventurous getaway.

Thanks again, Katie and Steven, for all the wonderful memories!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Just As Described In Listing-Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
An absolutely charming cabin!! Everything about the cabin was just as described in the listing. Katie and Steven and their girls met me when I arrived and were very friendly and helpful with everything! They said to let them know if I needed anything and I could tell they really cared. The view from the screened-in porch was fantastic and the stars after dark were SO bright!

I read the negative review left earlier this month and my experience at the cabin was very positive and extremely enjoyable. The high-speed wifi worked very well. Everything was clean and orderly and well maintained. Just what you would expect and hope for in a cute, old cabin in the mountains. The outdoor fire pit was perfect with gorgeous views! There was a wood-burning fireplace insert in the bedroom which would keep it cozy when it's chilly. I would highly recommend staying in this cabin for a relaxing, rustic getaway. I'm am already planning to stay again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
4

Cozy and quaint with a beautiful view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Cozy with a beautiful view. Out of the way, so it was delightfully quiet. Hosts were very welcoming and we had everything we needed for a relaxing two days away from the city. Highly recommended!
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
1

A little confused...

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I am a bit confused by the overwhelming number of positive reviews for Dry River Cabin. I agree with other posters that Katie tried to be perfectly hospitable - she met us at the cabin to greet us and to explain the instructions for the house - but we found the cabin to be unreasonably uncomfortable. The house itself is exactly as pictured. It is a one bedroom house in the woods with a nice screened in porch. However, there were a few major issues that were deal breakers for us. The biggest problem was the bed itself. The bed was caved in the middle so severely that we kept rolling into the middle of the bed. The bed was covered in hair (presumably dog hair?) and it smelled strongly of pets. Katie assured us that the sheets were washed and while I don't think she was being dishonest, the sheets might have been washed by they were certainly not clean. There were other minor issues that would have been tolerable if we were able to sleep in the bed. The cabin had a ton of bugs ranging from stinkbugs to spiders to lady bugs. There was even a large stinkbug in the bed itself. The internet didn't work at all which was not a major issue but something to note since Katie advertises that the cabin is internet accessible.

The BIGGEST issue of all was that my we had made plans to stay in the cabin for two nights. We were not able to sleep a wink the first night. We called Katie in the morning to explain the issues and to see if we could get a refund for the second night. She was completely unwilling to refund our money, which is just unacceptable even after we explained to her that we would pay for the night we stayed but that we didn't feel comfortable staying and paying for a second night. Despite the fact that we had to pay for the second night, it was still not worth it to stay. I highly discourage future visitors to the area from staying in Dry River Cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/6
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
5

Charming cabin, wonderful owners,a perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This cabin was exactly what we hoped it would be. Rustic enough so we felt like we got away from the city -- but comfortable, clean, and cozy. The owners met us as we drove up, after providing expert directions (which frankly were needed). They had a fire going and were happy to answer any questions. The bed was comfortable, the hot water impressive, and close to one of the better hikes I've been on in years. The owners care a lot about their business and it can be felt in every inch of the cabin. We definitely plan to come back, either to this or one of their others. I can't recommend this enough.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Historic 70 Year Old Cabin Dry River Cabin Nice Mt. Views Borders Nat'l Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932490
+1 540-550-8488
Harrisonburg Shenandoah Valley
Stony Creek
5

Delightful rustic retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
From Steven meeting us at the bottom of the property to Katie having a fire started for us and Andy working on clearing the drive of snow and ice, our stay was great! They are incredible hosts who work hard to ensure their property is truly a home away from home as the cabin is very clean and well equipped. Would recommend this property and or any other property that Steven and Katie own to anyone. We plan to return in the future!! Oh...and Roosevelt the dog was so friendly :-)

While in the area Bluestone and CrossKey Wineries, Devil's Backbone Brewery/Restaurant, Wintergreen, Massanutten, and the National Forest are great stops as well as the fun antique shops along the way.
Helpful votes: 3/3