Cathedral City house rental - Indoor Outdoor living with complete privacy.
Indoor Outdoor living with complete privacy.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Cathedral City House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

One of the most expansive and dramatic views in The Coachella Valley. This home backs up to 15,000 acres of National Monument Land, (not another house in the view between the home and Mt. San Jacinto) and provides a totally pristine, serene, desert retreat experience.

The private residence of a New York advertising executive, a complete renovation of the property was completed in August of 2011. The fixtures, the furnishings, and the amenities were chosen by the owner's architect for her personal use. Now the owner's work/travel schedule has made this a spectacular spot for the demanding vacationer or winter escapee.

Indoor/Outdoor Living at it's best, the 650 ft shaded lanai offers pleasant shelter from the sun during the day and it's recessed lighting and outdoor furniture make this second living/dining room, a spectacular place to watch the sunset over the snow capped mountains.

The Mamounia: master bedroom features doors that let out onto a private garden and an en suite bath whose glass wall shower was designed for two. Queen bed, Calvin Klein Sheets, and Moroccan accents make this a bedroom where dreams do come true.

The Standard: 1st Guest Bedroom with access to pool and mountain view. Queen bed and spacious mirrored closet, this room is also fully equipped with a complete pop-up office-- desk, printer, scanner, fax, phone with free Canadian calling. The guest bath, directly across the hall is a riot of white tile and Palm Springs accents.

The Royalton: 2nd Guest Bedroom/Study. Furnished with DWR day bed and media console this room can become a 2 twin bed, or one king bed bedroom or stay as configured and offer a cool quiet sanctuary for reading, listening to music or streaming your content to the Chrome Cast on this high def flat screen TV. Glass doors open directly on the pool and provide views of the mountains.

Living Room/Dining Room/Kitchen: Forming a spacious open plan for living, these three rooms are furnished with: Moss, Morroso, Ingo Mauer, Sapien, Saarinen, Boerner and many interesting mid-century accent pieces- the all stainless steel kitchen features an Electrolux Professional Stove. There is a gas barbecue just outside the East kitchen door. Samsung 42' Flat Screen mounted above the fireplace with Time Warner cable options.

The Pool: One of the old fashioned egg-shaped pools, it is deep enough (9'.5' at the deep end) to keep it swimmable even in the hottest afternoons. Heated (optional) during the winter it provides just enough length for lap/exercise. There is a 'Dinah Shore Shelf' for partially submerged sunbathing, easy-access steps for entry and an attached spa/hot tub for soothing the muscles after a hike behind the home.

More Details
Hide Details

I was born and raised in the midwest. Transplanted to New York City and am now excited to make my bi-coastal lifestyle official with this home.

Susan MacMurchy purchased this house in 2010

People who have lived in Palm Springs all their lives walk in and scream over the view. From the pool are it's a bit like being on the moon. Yet, it is in a quiet, very friendly neighborhood. The direct neighbors have no dogs and are full time residents. QUIET. I once owned a house that was not and I vowed never to do that again.

The view, the view, oh and did I mention... then there's the view from the living room. Lush bougainvillea hedges shelter the home from outside view and block the view of other homes while still allowing a spectacular sunrise, mountain, palm tree postcard experience every morning. The modern entry, zinc fountain is nice to watch and to listen to. Convenient. 5 minutes from everything: Shopping, 16 screen movie theatre, The Dinah Shore Golf Tournament, The two largest consignment shops in The Valley, Palm Springs/Palm Desert.

11 Reviews of Property 932357 in Cathedral City, California

Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Vancouver, Canada
5

Tranquil Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had the opportunity to spend 2 months in this beautiful private home. It is located in a quiet, peaceful neighbourhood but close to shopping and all that Palm Springs has to offer. On arrival, the place was immaculate. The owner even has blankets of the dog!
Our dog loved her daily walks in the hills directly behind the house- the trails and the views are outstanding. We also enjoyed sitting on the elevated side patio and admiring the lights of Palm Springs in the evenings.
Susan (the owner) was great to work with...always very easy to contact.
All in all, a fabulous home and would highly recommend it to everyone. Will return again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
5

Absolute quiet and comfort!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved staying at this oasis in the desert! The connection between the inside and outside was refreshing and the floor-to-ceiling windows in all spaces allowed us to enjoy the beautiful sunshine all day long. Three bedrooms and two bathrooms gave our group just enough space in this modern secluded vacation house. The crystal clear pool and hot tub completed our relaxation and was a welcoming luxury feature after long days at the nearby festival. The pristine landscaping brought in many kinds of birds throughout the day, the vast amount of hummingbirds were my favorite! Our stay was everything we hoped it would be! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
5

Great Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wonderful stay with family including 6 and 8 y/o who enjoyed spending most of the day in the pool. Also got to the Living Desert zoo nearby which was fun. The house was very clean and exactly what we expected/hoped for. Very good customer service from the owner who responded promptly to questions as well.
Owner's Response: So nice to have these guests with their "leave no trace" kids. And really nice to hear that they had a wonderful time. Glad to be appreciated for our txt answering capabilities. Having guest turns out to be a LOT of fun.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
san bernardino, ca
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We rented this for our honeymoon and it was perfect. We had a wonderful time. The backyard is secluded and the view spectacular. The only downside was that we were not told that the garage was not available to park our car in. We weren't too happy about having to leave the car outside in the baking sun all week.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: In the rare case when some confusion causes a guest inconvenience, we are truly sorry. On the listing site we clearly say, "Garage available by pre-arrangement." And while we are unable to make adjustments at the last minute, we are totally happy to accomodate guests who would like to use the garage. We appreciate that despite this misunderstanding our guest was pleased with the property for "a very special occasion" and was able to enjoy the views.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Salem, Oregon
5

Never Ending Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
A lovely, easy to use home in a beautiful setting. Private and quiet with views of the San Jacinto Mtns from the backyard and pool, views from the living room and a view of Palm Springs city lights from the elevated patio. Walk out the back gate and hike for 10 minutes or 10 hours. A great home for a quiet, romantic escape or fun activities in the Coachella Valley. This a home for repeat visits.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Pleasanton, CA
5

Wonderful, Relaxing Thanksgiving Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We recently stayed there for a long weekend over Thanksgiving with another couple and two dogs. The owner was so easy to work with and made the booking/deposit return painless. The property itself was really well suited to what we wanted - tastefully done, private, well-maintained pool/spa with a large enough outdoor area that the dogs were happy, back gate opens up directly onto a really scenic desert path, perfect for walking the dogs, and the location was ideal. 15 minutes from downtown Palm Springs, down the street from Target/Trader Joe's and Hwy 111, which will take you to any of the other Desert towns. Hope we'll be back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Claremont, CA
5

The perfect spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is one of the most relaxing and beautiful vacation homes you could hope for. From the front door to the back gate that opens onto beautiful, rugged desert trails, it exceeded any expectations we had. The house was up to date, spotless, very comfortable and very much in the Mid-century modern style! Everything was first class! The rental process couldn't have been any easier. We were on a very tight timeline and Susan was a dream to work with. The location was convenient to all the city has to offer and felt secluded and private with views you won't find anywhere else!!! You'll truly enjoy your time here!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Midwest
5

Exceeded All Expectations!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This gem in the desert provides not only the great views you can see from the photos but a home that is outfitted like a designer's dream right down to every high end utensil in the kitchen. While there was plenty to do outside the home it provides a fantastic sanctuary for both relaxtion and fun between the pool, the views and all the local area attractions. It was like an escape to paradise. Such great info the owner provided on "favortie spots" in the area. A great get away with every amenity you can think of. The home far exceeded our expectations and is something we will definitely go back to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Surrey, B.C., Canada
5

Hope to back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My wife and I stayed in this home for the month of March this year.Our experience was perfect. The house is better than the on-line description. It has been completely renovated to an extremely high level - and with excellent taste. The home is very secure, private, and in a quiet neighborhood.

We enjoy cooking - so we found the high-end kitchen very user-friendly. The kitchen was very well stocked, and the appliances were all new and clean.

Beds were very comfortable - lots of linens available. The bathrooms were very clean, and the master shower was quite an experience.

Outside was where we spent most of our time--- amazing views, lovely desert garden, great pool, lots of seating areas (all with very comfortable furniture) in a very private location.

Susan (owner) was extremely helpful, obviously wanted us to enjoy ourselves - and she succeeded.

We are pleased to give this home our highest recommendation (certainly more than "5").

F&M
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Renovated Palm Springs Retreat 3 Bed 2 Bath Pool Amazing View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p932357
+1 917 881-2555
Cathedral City California Desert
Minneapolis, MN
5

Fantastic family vacation home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We recently spent a week at this home and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The home was just as described on the site. This was our first experience with VRBO and we could not have been more pleased. The owner is extremely responsive and organized. The home is very nicely updated and has beautiful views! It is located in a quiet neighborhood, has a wonderful pool area and has easy access to all of the Palm Springs area. Very low wind area and even on very windy days, we only had light breezes. When we arrived, we found a book that the owner had put together with restaurant suggestions, points of interest, etc. We followed her suggestion on several restaurants and found them to be excellent! If you are looking for a beautiful home that is extremely well kept, beautiful views and an owner who is organized and very responsive, then this is a property you should consider. We were so pleased with our week in this home and with our experience with the owner!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4