Woodridge Lake house rental - Steps to water, kayak, double kayak, canoes, stand up paddleboard, paddle boat
Steps to water, kayak, double kayak, canoes, stand up paddleboard, paddle boat
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Woodridge Lake House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 6

Our lake house has a large private waterfront directly on a private (residents only) 400 acre lake in the Litchfield Hills, only 90 miles from New York City.

The lake is private and can be accessed by residents only - this means there are NO public boat launches like you find at nearby lakes such as Lillinoah, Tyler, Highland, Bantam, Waramaug, Candlewood Lakes. As a result, our lake lake is peaceful, relaxing and quiet and by far the cleanest in the area.

The home has 3 bedrooms and a large loft. 3 full baths.

Our home is very clean & well maintained.

Kitchen was gut renovated and totally redesigned in May 2013.

High end gourmet kitchen with all brand new appliances including an Electrolux induction cooktop, Sharp microwave drawer, Electrolux Refrigerator, separate beverage drawer. Soapstone and marble counters & backsplash.

2 of the 3 full baths were fully renovated (May 2012) with heated floors and high end fixtures.

Propane Fireplace, Central Air Conditioning, WiFi, Cable TV inc.

SUMMER/SPRING/FALL:

We have a large, flat, private waterfront yard with dock, adirondack chairs, screen porch, deck, gas grill, hammock and campfire pit. Canoes, single kayak, double kayak, standup paddle board and a paddle boat. Great trout & bass fishing (stocked lake).

NOTE: All boats must be pre-registered with the Association before launch (max of 20 feet, 90 hp, outboard motor) and can be docked at our private dock at the house

**Membership to our Beach, Tennis, Pool Club Included in rental rates! **

Club also has a snackbar (summer), basketball court, gym & playground.

Social events/concerts at the clubhouse (summer).

Clubhouse is walking distance from the house (less than 0.5 mile)

14,000 square-foot Clubhouse with lounge, gym, yoga classes

4 Private Residents Only Sand Swimming Beaches (one is right next door)

8 Tennis Courts & 1 Basketball Court. Tennis lessons available.

Small Playground

Quiet roads for jogging & biking

There is so much to do in the Litchfield County area (hiking, wineries, shopping, tennis, golf, music, arts) - there is something for everyone.

Numerous nearby historic towns with great shopping & antiquing such as Litchfield & Kent. Great local restaurants like the famous West Street Grill (Litchfield) and Arethusa al tavolo a wine bar and restaurant in Bantam. Small local ice cream shops, perfect for a summer evening treat! Wonderful seasonal farmers markets. Seasonal fruit picking (blueberry, apples etc), pumpkin patch. And the famous Nodine's Smokehouse is just down the road.

Historical sites, such as the first law school in America.

The house is near many of the wineries on the CT Wine Trail (close to Miranda & Sunset Meadow Vineyards) which host some great events.

There are also some wonderful restaurants nearby such as the Winvian Restaurant (9 miles) which is a Relais & Chateux property that receives lots of positive press & top awards. There's also a fantastic spa there.

Great hiking year round at Mohawk State Park, White Memorial & Kent Falls State Park and the Appalachian Trail.

Golf at Stony Brook Golf and Torrington Country Club.

Tubing, Kayaking & Rafting in the Houstatonic & Farmington Rivers.

Limerock Race Track, White Flower Farm, White Memorial Woods, Infinity Hall, Goshen Players, Arethusa Farm Dairy, Milk House Chocolates, Bantam Cinema, Action Wildlife, ... the list goes on.

Getting to New York City & Other Info: If you feel like a day in New York City it is about 2 hour drive to Manhattan by car. Or you can take Metro North Railroad from the Wassaic stop in NY State which is about 20 miles from our house. The train ride from Wassaic to Grand Central Terminal/New York City is about 2 hours. There is also a bus from the town of Torrington.

Other Info:

Our house is close to many of the areas best private schools including Hotchkiss, Kent, Marvelwood, Forman, Indian Mountain and Salisbury.

Boston is a 3 hour drive.

*Must be 25+ to rent*

WINTER: Only 5 miles from Mohawk Mountain. 23 miles from Woodbury ski area (snow tubing) and a few miles from great hiking in White Memorial and Mohawk State park. Larger ski areas in MA (i.e. Butternut) are about 40 minutes away. Winter sports also include ice skating, ice fishing, cross country skiing and snowshoeing. Nearby White Memorial has over 35 miles of cross country skiing trails with free access.

**Note: The lake is drawn down from November to mid-March, this is when shoreline maintenance and other work is done to manage invasive plants which keeps the lake pristine.**

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 931820 on Woodridge Lake, Connecticut

Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
New York, New York
4

Beautiful time and space!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Since this our second consecutive stay at this property and our experience this year was even better than last year - what else can we say. It is a very enjoyable place to be. A plus is the availability of a magnificent pool and tennis courts nearby to the house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

Not Just a Rental, A Real Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a beautiful property that is perfectly maintained. We are a family of four with two boys aged 12 and 14. We were able to enjoy the tennis and basketball facilities at the pool club and the canoeing, kayaking, and swimming right off the backyard. The house and property itself are maintained to a far higher standard than any of the other rentals we have enjoyed on home away. First class appliances and bedding, furnishings and kitchenware. Sarah and family are also very thoughtful in leaving plenty of supplies -- the kind of stuff you hate to buy for a one week rental but very few owners provide. A beautiful place for a relaxing and active vacation!
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a beautiful vacation home! I was stunned by how open the home was yet comfortable, clean and practicle. One of my favorite characteristics about the house was not only the huge screen patio out back, but the simple yet relaxing hammock right next to the water. It was a perfect place to lay and read my book (and take a quick nap too).

If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place to vacation- I highly reccommend this house! Especially in the early fall when its still warm to enjoy the water and marvel at the exquisite New England foliage. I look forward to coming back next year!
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

A Filmmaker's Dream!

A Filmmaker's Dream!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What an absolute pleasure this secluded gem turned out to be - the perfect setting to shoot an independant feature film on-location, and I couldn't be happier that that's exactly what we did during our stay.

The Frogmarch is a story of a group of longtime friends who hold a surprise intervention on a truly isolated piece of property in an effort to leave no choice for the addict in question but to detox. Thankfully, this rental had everything - literally, everything (outside of the food it took to feed a twelve-man crew) - that we needed to conveniently create the reality of our film.

Spacious, luxurious, and visually stunning, the home itself sits on a wonderfully kept piece of land, where the front of the house is subtlely removed from the street, and the back of the house not only lies directly on the pristine waters of Woodridge Lake, but also provides a backyard large enough for a game of two-hand touch or whiffle ball. And that's just the location.

The home itself is simply phenomenal. A giant screen porch, a wonderful bench-lined deck, a fantastic dining area which opens into a living room with cathedral-ceilings, a fully-eqipt kitchen, and a lovely loft space comprise all of the common areas.

In addition to those beautiful spaces where most of our scenes were staged, are three bedrooms (not including the loft space which has two beds as well) - each having the capacity to sleep two people. The house easily slept eight of us, and after eighteen hour days of shooting, the comfort of the beds was critical for us to make it through the week during what little time we had to rest.

On top of everything, this place is the epitome of the boyscout motto: be prepared. From disposable razors, to back up propane tanks for the grill, to a sea of spare blankets and pillows, if you forgot something, or simply need anything in a pinch, there's a ninety-six percent chance you'll find it on-site. Amazing.

So if you're looking for an exceptional getaway, this is it. Lounge in the shoreline hammock, have a laugh by the fire pit, take a spin in one of the kayaks, or if you're so inclined, shoot a film.

Thanks to The Butlers for their hospitality!
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

Exceptional setting and owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is beautiful waterfront property with lots of places to sit and enjoy the lake -- the chairs seen in the photo,the large rocks at the edge of the lake (shallow along the shore so safe for everyone), the deck, the screened porch, and even the upstairs rooms.
Canoes and kayaks the owners provided were fabulous. Water temperature was perfect for swimming.
The owners care about their home, and it shows. Bathrooms are new. Furniture is comfortable, lighting is excellent, large screen TVs and music system for rainy days. Every amenity is provided - from detailed notebook on area to baskets of toiletries in bathrooms and night lights in every room.
Sarah was a pleasure to work with -- very organized and responsive.
We stayed for two weeks, and would definitely return to this property and recommend this property.
Excellent meals: West Street Grill in Litchfield; the lobster rolls at the club (weekends only).
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

Fantastic Stay at a gorgeous home on the lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My stay at the lakehouse beat all of my expectations, set very high! Visiting in person, the atmosphere completely outshined the photographs online. The home is beautiful, uncluttered and updated with gorgous bathrooms and special touches gallore. Loved the L'occitane in the bathrooms and the heated floors! The water was clean and warm. The whole experience was so relaxing. Will be coming back.
Thank you!
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

Above & Beyond Expectations

Above & Beyond Expectations
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house was perfect as a base camp of sort for my CT family to converge while visiting from TX. The pictures show how beautiful this house is and we didn't have any surprises. Sarah was a wonderful host and very responsive to questions or supplying us with information about the area. We truly had everything on hand. The kayaking was great everyday and the yard is big enough for to play frisbee. I would love to stay here again! Thank you for sharing your home with us.
business
Lake House with Direct Private Waterfront Tennis/Pool/Beach Club AC, Wifi, Kayak
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931820
+1 203-424-0722
Woodridge Lake Litchfield County
5

Perfect Lake House Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family of four stayed a week at this lake house and had a wonderful time. My two girls (8 and 6) spent countless hours swimming in the lake.

We enjoyed taking a nice walk down to the clubhouse and grabbing ice cream at the snack bar. We played tennis a lot.

There's a lot to do in the area, but we chose to spend most of our time at the lake.

The house had everything we needed and was very kid friendly.

The owners were very nice to deal with. We will be back again next summer.
Helpful votes: 1/1