Key West house boat rental - Exterior with floating deck
Exterior with floating deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Key West House Boat Rental Photos and Description
House Boat, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

The Red Grouper is a one bedroom, one full bath floating house located at Stock Island Marina Village. With direct access to the Atlantic Ocean, it's the perfect way to experience Key West by water. Bring your boat and tie up to the Red Grouper, or just enjoy the ocean breeze from the deck or roof-top viewing area. The interior has been recently remodelled with new furnishings and artwork, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are equipped with luxury towels and linens. We have a gym and a dog park at the marina that are also available for your use. Enjoy all the comforts of home with the atmosphere of maritime living!

Stock Island is located just over the bridge from Key West, about a 15 minute ride to Duval Street. It's close enough to enjoy all the action of downtown but kick back in a more laid back atmosphere. Stock Island Marina Village is home to a colorful and friendly array of live-aboards and commercial fishermen, giving you a unique 'Old Key West' feel. And we're pet friendly!

Stock Island Marina Village: Stock Island Marina Village is a multi-use Marine Community located in historic Safe Harbor and serving live-aboard, recreational, and commercial vessels. We offer free wifi internet, use of our new gym and dog park, laundry facilities, and daily trash pick up. Our office is open 7 days a week, and we have security on site after office hours so you can feel safe during your stay. Our residents are very friendly, courteous, and knowledgable of the area, and the docks are a great slice of Key West life.

Stock Island: In 2007, the New York Times said, “The real Key West? It’s not even located on Key West proper anymore, but just over the Cow Key Channel Bridge, on the even tinier Stock Island.” Home to a diverse group of residents and business (and boats), Stock Island is a little quieter than its neighbor Key West, but still close enough to experience all Key West has to offer. Named after the livestock that used to call it home, Stock Island has a unique commercial history. The docks that currently house the Red Grouper were once lined with hundreds of fishing and shrimping vessels. With easy access to the Atlantic Ocean, proximity to Key West, and old island culture, Stock Island’s a great place to relax and experience the Florida Keys!

Red Grouper Ammenities: The Red Grouper is tastefully outfitted with everything you need during your vacation. Amenities include:

- 1 Queen Bedroom with a closet and dresser

- Full Bathroom (tub shower, sink, and toilet) with towels

- Kitchen (large refrigerator, stovetop, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster) with a breakfast bar

- Living room with Full sized futon (sheets available), TV with Direct TV, IPod Dock and Speakers

- 2 person kayak

- Large outdoor deck with table, chairs, umbrella, BBQ grill

- Rooftop sitting area with chairs

- Parking next to the houseboat

- Cleats on deck to tie up personal boat

- Pet Friendly

- Thorough cleaning service before and after each stay

**Please note: Because the houseboat is located in an active marina, adjacent boats come and go. We do our best to represent the property accurately, but the neighboring vessels may differ between the photos on this site and the current conditions.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 931581 in Key West, Florida

The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Where do you live?
5

The Perfect place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I found this place over a year ago and my wife and I couldn't wait to stay there. All I can tell you is, it all and more then we expected. We did have some problems with the WiFi and Cable TV, but we didn't come to KW to watch TV or sit at the computer. NBD!
I love getting up in the mornings and having coffee on the deck right on the water, and at night we'd sit out there and watch the fish rolling in the bay. A most relaxing experience.
I would suggest if you're really thinking about renting one, ask for the brand new Blue Marlin! I puts the Red Grouper to shame, much better layout and quality workmanship.
Even with that said, I'd still rent the Red Grouper! Close to the action, but far enough to enjoy peace and quiet when you want it. Also, make sure to visit the Hog Fish Bar & Grille, it's on Stock Island and only 5 min. away.. Best food in all KW. We ended up eating there 4 time in 8 days. Yes! It's that good.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Aiken, S.C
5

Honeymooners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Me and my wife spent our Honeymoon on the Red Grouper(6 nights). My wife really enjoyed fishing from the lower deck. She caught several fish while we were there. We rented bikes and rode them to Duval Street and the restaurants we ate at. The parking is very limited and the bikes were the way to travel. The Restaurants we ate at while we were at Key West were The Hogfish Bar and Grill, The Rusty Anchor, The Hogs Breath Bar and Grill and Willie T's. We had no complaints about any of the places we ate. The seafood was the catch of the day-very fresh. We enjoyed a tour around the marina on the Kayak one day. We also enjoyed snorkeling at the beach at Fort Zachary Taylor State Park. We also went out fishing on the Gulfstream IV party boat. The folks we met at the marina were very friendly. Everything was as described in the VRBO description. We had no issues with anything. The Stock Island Marina employees were very helpful during our stay. We will surely return someday. We drove this time (751 miles one way) next time I think we will fly. I highly recommend The Red Grouper as the place to stay if you are coming to Key West.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review. I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon and we can't wait until you can stay with us again.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Bloomington, IL
5

Perfect Getaway! We will be back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My partner and I spent a week at the Red Grouper, and absolutely loved staying there! It was close enough to Key West to be able to get there easily, but we really enjoyed being able to leave the "hustle and bustle" of Duval Street and having such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. We spent lots of time on the deck watching the tarpon (and maybe dolphins!) jump, and the boats go by. The unit comes with a two-person kayak. We had a blast exploring in the kayak, and even paddled over to the Hogfish for lunch one day! Everyone at the marina was super nice. Great experience from beginning to end!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We can't wait until you visit again! Thank you very much for your review.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

The way to go! Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
After researching for weeks, I stumbled upon 'the Red Grouper'. And immediately fell in love! I knew that this would be the perfect getaway for my bf's birthday. The pictures do not do justice for how stinkin cute and cozy this place is.

It was storming when we arrived, but the staff assured us we would have a fabulous time and they were absolutely right! The boat house was very clean, music was playing softly when we walked in. Cold Champaign awaited us in the fridge! We enjoyed evening on the balcony with a cold one and coffee in the mornings. The sunsets and rise were beautiful from atop! We took the kayak out, and had a blast laughing at how we had no clue what we were doing.

We brought our own bikes. I'm telling you, if you didn't bring yours, RENT THEM! It's by far the best way to get around the island. We rode everywhere!

Make it a point to visit 'pepe's' for breakfast! You will not be disappointed.

We plan on coming back to the Red Grouper every year!

`Brian & DeeDee
Owner's Response: I am so happy to hear you had a great time on board the Red Grouper. Thank you very much for your review, we strive to provide the best Keys experience each of our guests. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The Red Grouper was the perfect getaway. We wanted something "different," and a houseboat in a marina was just the ticket!

We rented bikes and explored Stock Island as well as most of Key West - much easier than driving!

Some of our favorite evenings were spent on the upper deck of the houseboat, enjoying the evening breeze with cocktails.

Thanks Jana (and Derek!) for providing us with local info and suggestions. Hopefully we will be back in the future!
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to have you on board the Red Grouper. We are thrilled to hear you had a great trip and we hope to see you in the future too.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Tampa, FL
5

Clean, comfortable, and convenient!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a great time staying on Stock Island in the Red Grouper. The houseboat was more than comfortable for myself, my husband, and our two golden retrievers. We were able to bike/drive/taxi very conveniently to Old Town when we wanted, but also enjoyed getting to know new places like Hurricane Hole and Hogfish. We own some vacation cottages ourselves and are very critical of accommodations when we stay places, and the Red Grouper passed all the tests. We would definitely recommend staying here! We loved it and had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am so happy to hear you had a great time, hope to see you soon for another visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
DeKalb, IL
5

A week in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I absolutely loved our stay at the Red Grouper. The accomodations were great and the staff made us feel like home. The sunrises and sunsets were gorgeous from the floating deck or top
deck. The Blue Angels welcomed us with a few flyovers when we arrived as the air show was going on
that weekend. We were hoping to see the manatee but we did see a few tarpon (we thought it was a
shark) surface a few times during the week. We did most of the tourist stuff and ate at Margaritaville,
Sloppy Joes and the Hurricane Hole (catch of the day was red grouper...mmm). We rented bikes and
rode all over the island. We enjoyed the pristine beach at the state park and plan on spending more
time there next year! Did I say next year? Oh yea, we're coming back! Thank you Stock Marina
staff and management for a great week at Key West!
Bill and Cindy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sure are glad you had such a wonderful time and can will be very happy to have you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
DeKalb, IL
5

Cute and Cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed in the Red Grouper over spring break and had a fabulous time. The house boat was clean and had everything we needed for a successful vacation. We sat on the top deck as well as the deck off the back of the boat. We rented bikes from the Recycle bike shop just down the street and enjoyed several lunches at Hurricane Hole. It was an easy bike ride to Duval Street and all of the sights of Key West. If you are looking for a quiet vacation spot The Red Grouper is for you! We are already planning our trip for next spring.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay aboard the Red Grouper and can not wait to have you back for another vacation. Thank you for your review, take care.
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Greer, SC
5

Perfect Accommodations for a Key West Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We absolutely loved our stay at the Red Grouper! It is well situated for easy access into the sites & sounds of Key West, but is a wonderfully quiet retreat from the crowds. The photos & description were perfect... it was exactly what we were expecting and hoping for. In fact, I felt the main living area was larger than the pictures suggest, which was nice. Restaurants and grocery stores are all very nearby, so we enjoyed a great mix of dining out and cooking for ourselves. Our 2 favorite restaurants were right there on Stock Island - Hogfish Bar & Grille and Hurricane Joes. The sites and sounds of the marina were wonderful... lots of bird watching and even a visiting manatee. One of the fishing guides at the marina called us over when he turned on fresh water for the manatee to drink... it was an awesome 'show'! Loved the back dock and the upper deck for coffee in the morning and sundowners in the evening... the sunsets were beautiful!! We loved the gentle rocking of the boat, but anyone prone to motion sickness should be aware that it is always moving a bit.
I hope to have the opportunity to return to Key West and stay at the Red Grouper.... it was the perfect vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you had such a great time aboard the Red Grouper. Thank youfor your feedback, we hope to see soon back in Key West.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Red Grouper - A Funky Floating Condo with Direct Ocean Access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931581
+1 305 294-2288
Key West Lower Florida Keys
Los Lunas, NM
5

We had a great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Coming from dry New Mexico, we wanted to be surrounded by water. The Red Grouper was perfect for us. It was very clean, organized, pet friendly for our small dog, a fishing delight, not to mention the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Each night the houseboat rocked us to sleep. And it was lots of fun to watch boats coming in and out of the harbor. This is a working harbor so we saw all kinds of boats, people, and activity. The owners are going the extra mile to make Stock Island Marina Village a fun unique experience. We hope we can return someday. And yes, it is a very quick bike ride to Key West.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1