Capitol Hill townhome rental - 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill at Eastern Market-Garden Suite
1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill at Eastern Market-Garden Suite
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Capitol Hill Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Two bedroom garden suite w/private bathroom and full shower, sleeps 6

1/2 city block from Eastern Market metro, Eastern Market Suites is a newly renovated Victorian guest house featuring a two bedroom suite on the garden level with modern amenities located in the heart of Capitol Hill at Eastern Market in Washington, DC. You have subway access to anywhere in the city, and around the corner from Barrack's Row shopping and restaurants. Eastern Market and Barrack's Row have become one of the most popular DC destination points in recent years featuring a variety of cuisines, open air shopping, and pedestrian plaza.

Your visit to Washington, DC whether for business or pleasure, will only be wonderfully enhanced by the charming, warm and welcoming environment that is Eastern Market Suites!

Please check our availability below for your trip to Washington, DC and book your reservation now. You will be glad that you did.

If you like this suite, but it is already reserved, please also check out our other suites at #907170 & 914101

History of the Guest House: Kirk Beatley is a fifth generation Washingtonian whose family has lived on Capitol Hill since the late 1800s, and where he continues to live today with his wife and two children. In 1905, Kirk's Great-Grandmother, Margaret, purchased this1890 Victorian home to entice her newly married daughter, Nell, to raise her own family in the neighborhood. Nell and her husband, John Luskey, raised their 12 children in this home.

In 2008 Kirk purchased the house from relatives who had owned or lived in the house since 1905, and then Kirk and his family spent over two years meticulously restoring and renovating the home, blending old-world Victorian charm and grace with new world appliances and technology.

Today, Kirk's family, a sixth generation of Washingtonians, are honored to offer you the opportunity of experiencing residential living in their newly updated family's house, in the heart of our Nation's Capitol, at the Historic Eastern Market on Capitol Hill!

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 931151 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Fabulous Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The garden suite was perfect! Spotlessly clean, comfortable, convenient--truly less than 5 min. walk to metro!! After a long day of sightseeing, it was unbelievably convenient to catch the metro and be so near your "home away from home". Kirk, the owner, was responsive immediately before, during, and even after our stay. He answered many e-mails beforehand such as---does it come equipped with laundry detergent? (yes).
During the stay, he answered his cell phone immediately when we had a question. He even helped look for a child's lost retainer after the stay!! (found in suitcase!). We just loved how tasteful and elegant the apartment was--kitchen nicely equipped--we did cook there several nights with meat and produce from the nearby Eastern Market. We had 2 school-aged children with us and they enjoyed playing in the back yard. We loved being in the Eastern Market area with all its restaurants and coffee shops. All we had to do is walk one or two very short blocks and there were many offerings. Beautiful and safe neighborhood--we enjoyed just walking around after supper. I would highly recommend to anyone for a wonderful time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is the best location! It was clean and exactly like the pictures. Kirk was very nice and even brought us a parking pass that we had forgotten to ask for. He said he only lives 5 minutes away and to call him if we needed anything. After a lot of sightseeing we always knew we were just a couple of metro stops from home. The metro here is fast and cheap and easy to understand. After a quick rest we went to dinner at one of the many restaurants in walking distance. There were 6 of us and this was a perfect place you will love it!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

EXCELLENT APARTMENT. PERFECT LOCATION.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at this fantastic apartment last summer. We had lived in DC for ten years and were heading back fro a visit. The location is really perfect- close to restaurants, activities and literally could not be closer to the metro. DC in the summer is ridiculously hot and being this close to everything was a huge relief.

The owner could not be there during our stay so he sent a friend to check on us and make sure everything was clean and tidy and met our needs. The owner was also incredibly helpful during our booking process. There were a few days when the apartment was rented when would have liked to stay and the owner offered to call around and find us other nearby options. Overall, he was simply a pleasure to deal with.

The place itself is perfectly clean, easy to use everything, great kitchen, strong AC, lovely backyard. It was perfect.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

EXCELLENT APARTMENT. PERFECT LOCATION.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at this fantastic apartment last summer. We had lived in DC for ten years and were heading back fro a visit. The location is really perfect- close to restaurants, activities and literally could not be closer to the metro. DC in the summer is ridiculously hot and being this close to everything was a huge relief.

The owner could not be there during our stay so he sent a friend to check on us and make sure everything was clean and tidy and met our needs. The owner was also incredibly helpful during our booking process. There were a few days when the apartment was rented when would have liked to stay and the owner offered to call around and find us other nearby options. Overall, he was simply a pleasure to deal with.

The place itself is perfectly clean, easy to use everything, great kitchen, strong AC, lovely backyard. It was perfect.
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

EXCELLENT APARTMENT. PERFECT LOCATION.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at this fantastic apartment last summer. We had lived in DC for ten years and were heading back fro a visit. The location is really perfect- close to restaurants, activities and literally could not be closer to the metro. DC in the summer is ridiculously hot and being this close to everything was a huge relief.

The owner could not be there during our stay so he sent a friend to check on us and make sure everything was clean and tidy and met our needs. The owner was also incredibly helpful during our booking process. There were a few days when the apartment was rented when would have liked to stay and the owner offered to call around and find us other nearby options. Overall, he was simply a pleasure to deal with.

The place itself is perfectly clean, easy to use everything, great kitchen, strong AC, lovely backyard. It was perfect.
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Jersey City, New Jersey
4

Family vacation in D.C.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My mom, sister, and I booked this apartment for a family weekend to celebrate my sister's birthday (with her two young children in tow), and we had such a wonderful time. The apartment was clean, nicely decorated, and homey--the exposed brick and artwork were very nice touches.

The outdoor space was put to good use with the kids, and the neighborhood couldn't have been better. There was a street fair planned at Eastern Market the weekend we were there, the metro is a block away, and there are a ton of good restaurants and bars on 8th Street.

The owner was very helpful throughout the booking process and accommodating when I had to make changes to our check-in time.

We were a large group for the space, but we managed just fine. (There are multiple units available in the building; it would have been fun to book more than one.) I would suggest getting a few cooking staples for the kitchen and clearing out the front and back stairwells, but overall it was a great experience, and I would definitely book this apartment again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

A Nice Stay in the "Garden Suite"

A Nice Stay in the "Garden Suite"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This is the perfect place for anyone wanting to be close to downtown Washington to tour this magnificant city. It is close to the metro and everything you need (grocery store, pharmacy, coffee shop etc.). We did not see much of Eastern Markets itself as it was pretty much closed on weekdays. The unit is newly renovated and basement level. All the appliances incl kitchen amenities were brand new. The unit was clean and neat and comfortably accomodated our family of 5. The owner was on hand to greet us when we arrived and answer any questions.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Hollis, New Hampshire
5

Can't wait to return

Can't wait to return
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My husband and I recently stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The location can't be beat - so close to the Eastern Market Metro, easy on street parking and just around the corner from a ton of restaurants in a charming neighborhood. The apartment was very comfortable and well appointed. It was beautifully maintained and serene.

Prior to our visit, Kirk provided some much appreciated links to help us get around the city as well as (what I heard) was a great running route that my husband really enjoyed.

There is so much to do and see in Washington that we barely scratched the surface. We're very much looking forward to a return trip and would definitely stay in this apartment again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fabulous 1890 Victorian on Capitol Hill, 100 steps to metro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p931151
+1 2024253485
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Exceeded Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our autumn trip to DC was made all the more enjoyable by our stay in this lovely property. Located just steps away from a metro station, we were easily able to access all of our planned events. Having this spotlessly clean and well appointed suite made it a pleasure to return "home" in the evening to relax after each day of exploring the sights of DC. In the evenings we enjoyed nearby cafes and restaurants along with strolling the charming streets of this picturesque DC area. Even before our trip began, Kirk was so kind to answer any and all of our questions promptly. Throughout our visit he was available to us to make our time in DC as enjoyable as possible. As they selected all of the furnishings for this suite, Kirk and Lisa have put so much thought into the comfort of their guests. Although we have visited the DC area before, staying in this beautifully renovated property gave us a view of the city we have never experienced. Because of the space available, amenities and charm of the property, this location was so much more preferable to staying in a hotel. When we visit the city again, we would definitely hope to stay in this Eastern Market Suite.
Helpful votes: 4/5