South Haven house rental - La Casa de Vinzos
La Casa de Vinzos
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

South Haven House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2.5 bath , sleeps 14 max

Close to downtown South Haven. 10 minute walk to downtown, restaurants, shops. 15 minutes walk to beach. Easy access from I-196.

Fence backyard.

Multi-family home (2 adjoining units) : Recently renovated. New floors. New kitchens. New bathrooms. 3000 sq. ft. back yard. Great in summer for kids and backyard picnics.

Peaceful, private and comfortable, La Casa de Vinzos is the perfect weekend getaway. Choose your favorite excursions: beaches, wineries, golf courses, boating, fishing, fine dining, night life, casinos. and the natural beauty of Michigan are all only minutes away. In the winter months, enjoy skiing, ice skating and winter vistas. We are a short drive from Chicago and a short trip from wherever you happen to be.

The house is ideal for large groups. With 2 kitchens, 2 living rooms and dining room.

Includes top-of-the-line, modern amenities..

- Two (2) 42' Flat screen TVs

- Free DirecTV and Netflix (movies and TV programming)

- Free wireless Internet.

- Spa foam mattress topper in each bed to ensure your comfort.( 9 beds available( 3 queens 4 full and 2 twins)

- Jacuzzi to relax after your trip to the Lake (or the ski resort in winter).

Make it your vacation home away from home!!!

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 930393 in South Haven, Michigan

Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Great house - very cute, comfortable and clean.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We enjoyed our stay at this property. My husband and I rented it so both our families could stay with us and the layout worked perfectly. Each family had their own unit and separate kitchen even though we always ate at one unit or the other or outside. The yard is great!.
The house decor is very cute and it was very clean. Everything was in working order, the wifi worked well. It's in a great area, cute neighborhood and minutes from the beach. Also, grocery stores are super close. All in all, great property and we would stay again. The management company was good to work with, too.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Champaign, IL
4

Large home in South Haven

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed our stay here, we love South Haven and this was a nice house for our large group since it has 2 1/2 baths and sleeps 14. It was great to rent the whole house, it would be hard to rent the units separately since things like water pressure effect both sides and the larger kitchen was more stocked than the smaller kitchen and the back yard is shared. We loved the back yard, it was great that it was fenced and it was the perfect place for the kids to play and there is a lot of seating so it was a great place to eat our meals. We had a great vacation here!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
2

Nice and clean, but misleading description

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was cute and very clean, but we were very disappointed by the layout of the rooms, beds, and bathrooms. I suppose this is my fault because if I had scrolled down and read all of the reviews, I would have known, but from the description listed in VRBO, it seemed that there would be 5 bedrooms, each having at least 1 queen bed. This was not the case - 3 of the bedrooms only have full size beds, which are all 3 in one house, which poses a problem if you are a larger-sized adult who is used to a king or queen bed.

Another misleading thing is that it really is 2 separate rental units, with two separate entrances. You cannot walk through from one to the other without going outside and using the key. Thus, you can't put all the kids in the smaller beds and the adults in the queen beds, because then the kids would be alone in their own house.

As mentioned in another review, one of the "bedrooms" is really a full size bed in an open loft, with no door, and you need to walk through that space to get to the other bedroom. One side of the house is great - 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms, but the other is really unworkable - only one bathroom with no door (only a flimsy accordion) that connects to the one bedroom on the main floor. My elderly parents had this main floor bedroom (due to the fact that it was difficult for them to climb the unusually steep stairs in the house), and they were constantly woken up by the others who had to go downstairs to use the bathroom. There is also no bathtub in this house, only an odd "rainshower" setup in that bathroom. I felt so guilty because the other side (the one that my family got, due to the fact that we have 3 kids and my sister has only 2) is much more spacious, with 3 queen beds and 2 bathrooms, one half-bathroom on the main floor and a very nice full bathroom upstairs. (This is also the "Jacuzzi," though it's basically a regular-sized bathtub with a Jacuzzi jet in it).

We made it work for us, and there were some nice features about the house (nice grill, 2 nice (smaller) kitchens, nice front porch), but I really felt that the description was very misleading.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had 5 couples who all wanted to stay together and this property was perfect! The owners made renting easy from start to finish. The yard was large enough to accomodate us all with plenty of sun and shade. The house has a huge front porch which we used each morning for coffee and day planning. We planned on cooking out 2 of the 3 nights and the grill wasn't usable, so the guys bought one and the owners reimbursed us for it within 2 days. Beach, golf course, downtown was all within a short distance. The house was very clean and someone even came and brought the outside garbage cans to the curb on garbage night. Having 2 kitchens worked out very well also as we could get the cooking sone in 1/2 the time. We had such a good time that we are planning on making this an annual event and would be excited to be able to stay at this property again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
St Louis
2

Not Luxury, very tight fit

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property is in a great location and neighborhood with a cute porch and big backyard. If you are planning on visiting, you need to note that one of the bedrooms is a loft, while several of them do not have air conditioning. Also, there is an accordion connecting door from the bathroom to a bedroom. I would not recommend this property for large groups of unrelated adults, as you are basically on top of one another, especially as bathrooms go. We had 8 adults and 4 children and it was a tight squeeze. Some of the furniture and a rug are very, very stained and need replacing badly. More importantly, there were no working smoke detectors in the home. Our stay at the property was ok. The manager was easy to contact and responsive.
Owner's Response: Dear Karen

We are sorry you feel the way about your experience, but in the interests of fairness, we must correct several inaccurate assertions in your review.

The house has five bedrooms, as advertised. The loft was originally an enclosed bedroom, but the owner converted it to loft to create more open space. Most of our customers have found that arrangement to be superior to an overly confining, tiny room. The house has 4 full mattresses and 3 queen mattress, plus 2 air mattresses for children. Sleeping arrangements have never been a problem as long you don't pack more than 14 adults in the house. It is very comfortable.

The party called several times and we also received also several emails. We replied in a timely fashion and we did send over the housekeeping to provide you more paper towels. We offered to put your relative onthe phone so we could help him or her with the Wi-Fi connection. We called Comcast our Wi-Fi provider and everything it was fine. Wi-Fi connections have always been easy and to our knowledge no other customers have had problems getting online.

Regarding "old" furniture, your statement is untrue. The furniture is the exact furniture that appears in the advertising photographs. Our mattresses are very new we do have a special therapeutic foam and very clean linen always. The owner purchased almost all completely new furnishings. There some antique items included to add some character to the house and we are always adding new items.

Your statement regarding the air conditioning is also inaccurate. We do have air conditioning in the blue unit (which is the older of the two) in the form of window units on both floors. We have central air conditioning in the green unit.

As soon as we became aware of the smoke alarms, we addressed the issue promptly.

We really care for our customers. Safety is our first priority.

We apologize, but we cannot refund half of your reservation money as you have requested. We have met the terms and services of your rental agreement.

However, thank you for your review. We learn from the bad and good reviews, and all reviews help us improve services. Our goal is happy customers.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Labor day vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I submitted a review but forgot to add that my family forgot our jackets in the closet and returned home. I contacted the owner who graciously retrieved all the jackets and shipped them back to me. I was very pleased with the way we were treated.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Stay during labor day weekend 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family went to the Vinzo's home during the labor day weekend and my cousins from Chicago met us there. This home is great for a big family reunion. The property is well maintained and just a short drive from the beach which was the best part. South Haven is a beautiful place and the vacation was truly relaxing.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Lansing, Michigan
5

Cute, clean vacation rental worked well for us!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Whether you rent both sides, or just one, this is a very clean, well-maintained and cute vacation rental in S. Haven. A convenient location right off of the main road into town, just blocks from the highway, yet convenient to town. Quiet, neighborhood street. We used it to house our family during a weekend of wedding festivities and it worked great. Lots of space inside, air/conditioned, beautiful decor, comfortable beds, and the bonus of a wrap-around porch to enjoy coffee in the morning, and comfy lawn chairs and hammock to relax in during the afternoon. We used the backyard to hold an informal rehearsal dinner and Sunday morning brunch for the bride and groom to open gifts. The owners were willing to work with us on arrival and departure dates to make it work for our needs, We'd definitely recommend it to others - and may be back to house us all when we come visit my daughter's new in-laws.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had an absolutely great experience at our stay in South Haven. The house was beautiful inside and out. There was plenty of room for the 9 of us to sleep comfortably.The nice big back yard was great for relaxing, cookouts and exciteing games of wyffle ball. The location was perfect distance from tourist type entertainment but far enough away to be away from the traffic. The house was very easy to find from the high way as well. We loved it and helped provide the scene for the best week with my buddies that I've had in a long time. I would highly reccommend this property to anyone and hope to make it back in the near future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Lake town Cottage MAY 17 UNTIL JUNE 2 BOOK 3 NIGHTS AND GET 1 FREE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930393
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
A group of us had the opportunity to stay the weekend in South Haven and found the location to be what we were looking for. We were just a short walk to the downtown area and beach. The home itself was in fantastic shape and you could tell that the owners took great pride in sharing their home.
The best part about the home was the backyard which was made for people to gather. We used this as our primary hang out spot as there are lounge chairs, a hammock, and other places for people to sit around a fire pit on a beautiful summer night. We could not have been more thrilled with this set up as we were a rather large contingent that really enjoys each other's company.
If you plan to make your way to the shores of South Haven I have no doubt about it that you will find this home will provide a welcoming and enjoyable experience.
Helpful votes: 3/3