Southwest Harbor cottage rental - View of harbor from the lawn
View of harbor from the lawn
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6 adults & 2 children

In a prime location on Mount Desert Island Maine, this property has been lovingly cared for and enjoyed by the same family for four generations. The Cottage was designed and built in 2003-2004 by our father, Caleb, to take full advantage of this ideal spot which has direct access to the water, dock, mooring and gorgeous views of the harbor.

Near the end of a private road on Connor Point, you will feel the peacefulness of a true get-away. Steps away from hiking in Acadia National Park, and yet you are only a 5 minute drive from the charming downtown of Southwest Harbor and 25 minutes from bustling and fun town of Bar Harbor. Feel life slow down as you enjoy your morning coffee on the large deck overlooking the ocean and decide whether you will hike, sail, swim, kayak or shop. Great place for kids with large grassy area, beach combing, and many kid-friendly activities. Ideal for up to 6 adults and 2 children.

Accommodations: Our cottage features clean, open and bright rooms overlooking the ocean, a fully equipped kitchen and all of the modern amenities to enhance your stay. All the modern amenities: washer, dryer, dishwasher, gas stove, microwave, satellite TV, DVD, high speed internet (wifi), and heat. Great for boaters with both dock and mooring access.

Nearby Activities: Walk just a few minutes to hiking trails, or drive (or take a free bus) around Mt. Dessert Island where you can stop to hike up mountains, swim in lakes, view the rocky coast, or visit Thunder Hole. You can hike (or drive) up Cadillac Mountain, the highest mountain in Acadia National park,which is one of dozens of mountains to climb. From here you can look down to Bar Harbor and the Porcupine Islands, the Cranberry Islands, and much of Mt. Desert Island

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 930389 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect Vacation Destination!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was the perfect vacation destination. The cabin is so inviting - with all the comforts of home. Everything is beautifully maintained, and clearly loved by the owners family. The location on the "quiet side" of the island turned out to be a wonderful decision. Southwest Harbor is lovely, and returning to this cabin after a busy day hiking is ideal.
The view is spectacular, and we absolutely loved the dock and the unique setting on the point looking out to the harbor. We enjoyed all of the restaurants in SW Harbor, including the terrific bakery. The local drug store, bank and very nice grocery store are all within a short drive. Two or three outstanding hikes are within walking distance. Our thanks to the Foote family for sharing your cabin, and history. We will definitely return next summer!
Owner's Response: Thanks!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Picture perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a great vacation at Caleb's Cottage! The location couldn't have been better! The house is within a few minutes drive of downtown Southwest Harbor (including a grocery store), walking distance to a short hike to a beautiful peak overlooking Sommes Sound and the Cranberry Islands and a few minutes drive to various other hikes and a local swimming hole on Mt. Desert Island. The house was beautifully maintained, new construction with all the conveniences of home, friendly neighbors and a dock, which was frequented daily by harbor seals. Located on a peninsula, this vacation home provides serenity and privacy yet convenience to all amenities.
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Caleb's Cottage!
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A quiet oasis that has it all !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was one of the most relaxing getaways we have ever had. We had all of the comforts of home and a spectacular view to boot! We really enjoyed our coffees in the mornings and wine in the evening while on the front porch and the dock! One evening we were even treated to a "show" by three harbor seals. They splashed and played in the cove for over an hour!

We were very fortunate in that the weather was absolutely perfect. Lows in the upper 40s to low 50s, and highs from 72 to 75 each day. Your proximity to Acadia was perfect! We visited the park almost daily and went into Bar Harbor several times during the week. We never even left the island once we were there. Anything we needed was not far away.

Some of the Cabin highlights......

- Location, location, location! Your neighbors on the point were very friendly and waved daily!
- The front porch was an oasis alone!
- Extremely well stocked kitchen and laundry area. ( We really enjoyed being able to boil lobsters at home and have all of the necessary items to make them easy to eat ! ) FYI, we found them in a small store in Southwest Harbor for $4.99/lb cash!
- Plenty of bed and bath linens. ( loved the hamper in the master bedroom closet!)
- The hand crafted shelves in the bathrooms and bedrooms were wonderful! There was ample space to store personal items for the week.
- The grounds were immaculate. We really enjoyed the grassy area, especially my husband, who took his free standing hammock from home! We also took our lawn game and enjoyed the many corn hole / bean bag toss tournaments that took place!

Some of the places we visited in the area.....

- Ate at Gilley's Head of the Harbor with the entire crew and the ladies had lunch at Sea Biscuits one day. Both were very good!
- My husband, son, brother-in-law, and niece took climbing lessons in Acadia on Otter Cliffs.
- We all took a carriage ride at the Wildwood Stables.
- We enjoyed biking some of the carriage roads and walking around Cadillac Mountain.
- In Bar Harbor, we ate at Stewman's, Geddy's and our favorite place.....West Street Cafe' Seaside Grill
- The ladies enjoyed shopping in Bar Harbor one afternoon.
- We all enjoyed an afternoon sail on The Margaret Todd Schooner.

There was so much more that we enjoyed during our stay, but no matter what we did during the day, it was always nice to know that a comfortable cottage awaited us ! We would love to return to visit and stay again!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review!
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Peaceful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Ben, we really enjoyed the cottage.It is secluded and serene. It provided a relaxing environment that everyone needed. As far as feedback, everything was just right. The cottage is of nice construction and is in a great location. We dined at Thurston's and the Red Eye (very good restaurant). There is much information and history to learn about Mt. Desert which makes the trip very interesting. There is always much to do and explore. Again, Thanks
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Caleb's Cottage!
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our stay at the cottage was fantastic

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our stay at the cottage was fantastic. It was a perfect place. Peaceful, quiet, and the accomadations worked out perfectly for us. We had good weather, so we able to hike and kayak nearly every day. We had such a good time that we are thinking seriously about next year doing it again. Again thanks very much.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband, 6 adult "children" and a dog arrived at Conner's Point mid-Saturday afternoon on the 18th. of August. Literally we fell in love from the first second that we saw the house and the location.
Conner's Cabin is the perfect place to go if you need to get away from the grind and be renewed.
We have been coming to Mt. Dessert for years. (I started coming when I was 7). I have never enjoyed my week in Maine more. Sitting on the front porch, with my husband and my coffee before anyone else got up; either reading or talking or just watching the"bird show" as my husband called it was so peaceful! At any given moment we could watch 9 herons, terns, osprey and multitudes of other birds that i'll look up some day. Our first nigt we saw porpoises and the next morning my daughter saw a seal.
The house was a little creaky ;but so obviously lovingly made and so perfect in every other way. It is large and open and rustic, but has a great kitchen abd the dining area looks at the same view that you get from sitting on the porch, so was of course perfect for me as well. Go there. Realx and renew yourself. It's amazing!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review!
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
To say that we enjoyed our stay at Caleb's Cottage would be an understatement. Our family has been visiting Mt. Desert Island for nearly 20 years and this was our first time renting a house. It surpassed our expectations in every way; the location itself is serene with gorgeous views of Somes Sound from the Master bedroom. We felt tucked away from the hussle and bussle of summer tourists in Acadia, but still close enough to great hiking, carriage roads, and beloved Echo Lake. Caleb's Cottage proved to be a quiet and peaceful retreat from which we could dock our kayak, hike up Flying Mountain, or visit the swimming rock for a refreshing afternoon dip. It suited our family of 8 perfectly--plenty of space to relax, enjoy meals together, and sit on the porch at sunset. Other than the lack of mirrors in the bedrooms, Caleb's cottage had every amenity that we needed, including some great push toys for our 1-year-old son! We loved this property and would visit again in a heartbeat.
Owner's Response: We're happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank your for choosing Caleb's Cottage!
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

A Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Dear Ben,
We had a fabulous week at your cottage. The setting was beautiful and so relaxing. We were amazed at all the supplies that were available for our use. You even supplied electrical socket plugs to help us baby proof the downstairs! Having a washer and dryer was awesome!! We were impressed with how clean the cottage was!
The notebook you provided filled with brochures helped make us aware of what was available if we wanted to be adventurous. Some of the activities we chose were whale watching, deep sea fishing, a plane ride, miniature golf, Cadillac mountain and shopping. We loved the Man Store and Suncatchers in Bar Harbor! Everything we did was so easy to get to because of your location.
We also spent many nights cooking lobster and clams at home. The picnic table and the front porch got a lot of use! Thank you so much for sharing your cottage. It was like a home away from home.

Sincerely,
Tim and Darlene Baum
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Lovely Family Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I rented this house for a long-awaited family vacation/reunion--7 people, 1 dog. We absolutely loved our time at Caleb's Cottage! First, I can't say enough about how clean it was. Seriously---we have rented houses in various places before, and this was far and beyond so much cleaner! All of the bath and bed linens were new, which was so nice. Overall, the house is so accomodating--from all of the kitchen supplies, to the furniture, the storage spaces, etc. All of the space in the house is open and roomy, and everytime someone went exploring to look for something, we found it! Last, the property is so beautiful. We all admired the craftsmanship of the house itself, and and the property, yard, and the views were just stunning. Even without a boat, the dock/pier was so fun and enjoyable! We were warmly acknowledged by neighbors and friends. This rental was a wonderful place for my family to experience our Mount Desert Island/Acadia vacation. I hope we all make it back to Caleb's Cottage at some point in the future!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Cottage w/ Dock & Mooring - walking distance to Acadia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p930389
(612) 990-7099
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Ideal location for Mt. Desert Island vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I'll start by saying the location of Caleb's Cottage was ideal. I was concerned about staying on the "quietside" at first, worried we might be too far removed from activities, but that's not the case at all. As others have stated, Bar Harbor is just a 20 minute drive away. Since we wanted to explore areas on both sides of the island, it was the perfect spot. It was a leisurely drive to the east side's Bar Harbor, Cadillac Mtn., Jordan's Pond, etc., but also close to Bass Harbor Lighthouse, Bernard and Echo Lake.

When we tired of being tourists, the cottage was a great place to come back to in late afternoon and relax. Our kids, ages 3 to 10, thorougly enjoyed the location right on the harbor - beachcombing at low tide and swimming off the rocks and jumping off the dock at high tide (yes, it's cold, but they didn't care). They even caught (and released) a crab right off the dock one evening. The water is calm enough here that the only one that needed a life vest was our toddler. We enjoyed boiling lobster and eating on the picnic table one evening, as well as having coffee every morning on the front porch and watching the heron and ducks. I highly recommend hiking the Flying Mtn. Trail, which is an easy walk from the cottage and provides a great view of Somes Sound, and getting lunch or dinner at Beal's Lobster House in Southwest Harbor, just 5 minutes away. It was our favorite place to eat on the island.

As for the cottage itself, it provided plenty of room for our family of 6 and was very open-feeling. We enjoyed reading about the history of the property and seeing the photos on the walls of the area from years past. As others have stated, the kitchen was stocked with most everything you would need for cooking and the bedrooms/bathrooms were very comfortable. They provided little things that have not been in houses we've stayed in previously but are very helpful (like laundry detergent, hand and dish soap, toilet paper, etc.). There was a nice container of toys for little ones too. If I had to make one suggestion, it would be to install ceiling fans in the upstairs bedrooms (or have more floor fans). Most evenings cooled off quickly enough that it wasn't an issue but our first evening was a little uncomfortable because the windows had been closed until our arrival (although the description says there is A/C I don't think there is). Other than that, the stay was perfect. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and suggestion. More fans are on the way.