Granada house rental - Central garden with pool, gazebo and fountain
Central garden with pool, gazebo and fountain
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Granada House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Casa Gallo is a traditional colonial home 5 blocks from the Central Park, in a quiet area of large colonial homes. This 5,330 square foot house (8,500 sq. ft. including gardens) was restored and modernized in 2004 to serve as a delightful vacation rental home. With a score of 4.5/5 for 11 travelers' reviews on Trip Advisor, Casa Gallo is the number one vacation rental in Granada.

There are three bedrooms (one 20' x 20' x 15' high), 3 bathrooms, dining area, kitchen with bar, a large living room, and a TV/Library room, with all rooms fronting on the large interior courtyard with its beautiful trees and garden open to the sky. A pool, gazebo and fountain complete this central area. A wrought iron table and chairs are in the center of the gazebo.

There are two distinct seating areas along the edge of the interior courtyard in addition to the dining area, kitchen, bar, and gazebo seating. The home is furnished in colonial style, with antiques and replicas. There is an employee room and bath. Stairs in the rear of the courtyard lead to a second level balcony with panoramic views of Granada rooftops and Mombacho Volcano. A beautiful private walled garden of 2,300 square feet with fruit trees, banana plants, bougainvillea and lawn is entered through a large covered patio from a door at the rear of this balcony.

All bedrooms have bathrooms with hot water showers and split compressor air conditioners with remote controls, as well as ceiling fans. Two bedrooms have queen beds and cable TV, the third has twin beds. There is a laundry room with washer & dryer, and a garage.

A land-line is available for local calls only; 2 cellular phones are also available for guests' use and phone cards may be purchased locally with whatever number of minutes are required. A high speed internet connection with WI-FI is installed, so you can also use Skype on your laptop to make long-distance calls.

Our housekeeper works 9-4 Mon-Fri with an hour off for lunch, and 9-noon on Saturday, although guests often prefer to excuse her earlier if her work is done. She will also wash clothes and iron upon request. Our gardener works daily from 9AM until he finishes cleaning and watering the garden. If guests are away on a trip, leaving the house empty, he remains at night from 6PM to 6AM to provide security.

Casa Gallo has an automatic standby water system of 750 liters, and two battery-inverter standby electrical systems that provide essential 110 volt power for much of the house in the event of a power outage.

A highly-experienced property manager from Granada Property Services (GPS) will assist you when you arrive at Casa Gallo and take care of any and all house-related problems that may arise during your stay.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 929574 In Granada, Nicaragua

Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Houston, Tx.
5

Wow, the perfect place to stay in Granada!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a beautiful classic Spanish Colonial house. The house has been very tastefully done with local flair, the courtyard with the lovely tropical landscaping and pool were phenomenal. The location was great, close enough to town to walk, although we had a rent car and there was indoor covered parking. Jose and Maria Elena were very sweet and helpful and fun to talk to. I would highly recommend this villa for anyone who wants to enjoy the pretty city of Granada. There were only the two of us that stayed here for a week, but the house is definately big enough for a large family to enjoy. Just enjoying the house was one of the big highlights of our trip. Would definately stay here again. Thank you, Richard and Trudy for sharing your gorgeous home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Costa Rica
5

nice stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
my famliy (5 persons in total) spent 3 wonderful nights in this very nice house. the house is very clean, the kitchen well equipped and the rooms with their own bathrooms nice as well.
we loved to stay in the poolarea using the small rancho.
the house is close to the center and so perfect for sightseeing trips.

we really recommend this house!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Nanaimo BC Canada
5

6 Days in Beautiful Casa Gllo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The trip from Managua to Granada by taxi was a hot one, but when we walked through the doors of Casa Gallo (pronounced Casa Gaya) it was like walking into an oasis. The beautiful gardens, outdoor kitchen and dining, and the many areas for sitting in or out of the sun, including two hammocks, were all inviting. The view from the upper sitting area was amazing. Just sitting and watching the remarkable birds flitting about in the tree outside the garden wall was something that entertained us for hours. Jose and Maria Elena were wonderful - and my adult son (who was our fall back when it came to the Spanish language) got lots of practice as Jose patiently spoke to him and explained about very aspects of Granada and the surrounding areas - what to see - and how to get there. One morning he accompanied us to the bus depot (a definite cultural MUST) for a trip to Masaya - I didn't think you coudl get that many people on a bus! Casa Gallo is so beautifully situated thatyou can walk to almost anywhere you want. We had read some travel advisories about safety issues (walking after dark) and I can honestly say that at no time did we ever feel there was an issue with our safety. The people were friendly and industrious and the town has a rick history worth exploring by horse and buggy. After a morning exploring we always came back to Casa Gallo for lunch and a dip in the pool - ahhh, a total godsend, as were the airconditioned bedrooms at night. We'd highly recommend Maria-Elena's cooking.and we would also recommend the Garden Cafe just off the City Square. Fabulous food, great prices, lovely atmosphere. RECOMMENDATION: some lounge chairs for the pool area. Other than that - PERFECTION!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
5

Casa Gallo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The casa Gallo was perfect for our stay in Granada,
we didn't need a car, walk everywhere.
Jose help us with transfer to visit the islands and the lake Apoyo, both are must see while in Granada. He ever coordinate a baby sitter so we could enjoy yoga!

We recommend to any small family or group!

Thank you Again Richard!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
South Florida
5

Amazing Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We arrived at Casa Gallo and were greeted by Jose the property manager. He is a local who can barely speak English, but more than makes up for it with his enormous enthusiasm and desire to please. We ordered breakfast every morning prepared by Jose's wife, Maria Elena--it was incredibly good--gallo pinto, fruits, tortillas, and other traditional foods, all at a reasonable cost--often served on the second floor porch with breathtaking views of Mombacho Volcano.

Casa Gallo has the largest open space of any hotel room or villa we have ever stayed at and definitely larger than any hotel room or B&B we saw in Granada--having such an enormous open living space was spectacular. The newly-resurfaced and retiled swimming pool was clean and very refreshing on hot days, exhilarating in the early morning and romantic in the evenings.

Right behind the upstairs seating is the entrance to the very large and totally private garden. On some nights, after dinner and cocktails, we ventured upstairs and star-gazed. Casa Gallo was our private home for 8 days, which we stocked with plenty of the local and outstanding Flor de Cana Rum, Toña Beer, bottled water and sodas. We made ourselves totally at home and enjoyed our stay immensely. Facilities were truly terrific and it's a stay we'll never forget.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Chicago, Illinois
5

Casa Gallo-Relaxing Retreat in Glorious Granada, Nicaragua

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Granada--what a lovely old colonial town, and what a great place Casa Gallo is for exploring it! Our week-long stay was so relaxing, just sitting by the lovely little pool or enjoying morning coffee on the balcony overlooking Mombacho volcano, that we can't wait to return next year. Jose and his wife Maria Elena are the perfect team, even though they barely speak a word of English between them. Jose knows everyone and everything and housekeeper Maria Elena is truly an excellent cook who prepares very tasty local dishes at a reasonable cost. Now that we have discovered Casa Gallo we would not consider staying anywhere else in Granada.

Casa Gallo is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the wonders of Nicaragua, whether it's a day trip to Ometepe and beverages on the beach, to shopping in Masaya at the artisan markets, Casa Gallo served as a central jumping off point to our adventures. We recommend exploring the southern coast and San Juan Del Sur with barren beaches and local comida like the Guapote fish, hiking Mombacho and zip lining through the sound of Howler monkeys in the trees. Granada is always nice for the adventurous spirits and a bus ride in and out is a breeze with limited knowledge of espanol. We already miss the pastelitos, fritanga and fresh mojitos and the marimba memories sprinkle our dreams with the sweet sound.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Bourne, Mass., USA
5

A beautiful home from which to explore Granada

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I just spent two wonderful weeks at Casa Gallo with several friends. GPS, the property managers, were very responsive from the moment I made my first inquiry and were there to greet me upon arrival. If you want the experience of living in a colonial home, you can't go wrong here. The home is impeccably maintained by Jose, who was also a great resource for planning activities in the area, and by Muriel, who speaks excellent English. The open air kitchen, lovely pool, and upstairs terrace that overlooked the Mombacho Volcano were all features that made our stay so special. The open gazebo even had an electrical outlet in one of the columns so we could plug in our laptops while sitting in the shade. Casa Gallo is located about 4 1/2 blocks from the central park, an easy 10 minute walk, which we felt was an advantage as the neighborhood is quiet. The only suggestion I could add to make this home perfect is a few comfortable lounges by the pool. If you go, be sure to have Jose's lovely wife cook you a Nicaraguan meal some night. You won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Bozeman, Montana, USA
5

A Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We spent two wonderful weeks at Casa Gallo. Our visit was really a perfect mix of tropical ease and modern convenience. We were especially ready for a vacation when we arrived, and Casa Gallo was just what we needed. It’s a really idyllic home, and beautifully maintained. We were not familiar with Nicaragua at all, but we soon realized that Casa Gallo’s courtyard design, with cooling plants and a plashing fountain, matches the climate so perfectly. And the pool of course was a huge bonus. It was great to swim a few lengths, but so refreshing just to cool off in the evening after a day of sightseeing, taking a boat trip, visiting a coffee plantation on Mombacho, or shopping for crafts in nearby Masaya. We loved that Casa Gallo is so close to Granada’s restaurants and cafes just a short walk away, but we also both enjoyed quiet evenings at the house, sitting in the beautifully crafted wicker chairs or in one of Nicaragua’s famous hammocks, relaxing and chatting and listening to music. Thanks especially to Miurell and Jose who take such good care of the house every day, and of course to owners Dick and Trudy. Our time went so fast: we really didn’t want to leave. And yes, we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Casa Gallo: a Spacious & Beautiful Colonial Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p929574
Granada Nicaragua
Colorado
5

Great house for us with 3 boys (10, 6, and 5)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
A wonderful enclave for our young family. The kids loved the pool. We enjoyed the fountain, the garden, the warm welcome we received from the lovely folks working at the house. They could not have been more friendly, efficient, or helpful. It had been over a decade since my last Granada visit. We found the town vibrant and a great entree to Nicaragua. I'd stay in the house again. It was clean, beds were comfortable, the property management firm we dealt with -- GPS -- was excellent and extremely helpful. We were able to order meals a few nights, through their contact, which was a great way to go. Easy and the food was good and very reasonably priced. The house really does look like the photos! Through ORO Travel, we took a city tour -- recommended if it's your first time in town. And we visited the islands and Masaya and the volcano, too. The walk from the square at night got a little long for our youngest (after lengthy, hot days walking and playing), but taxis are cheap, easy to come by, and always an adventure, too. So the location worked for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2