Providenciales - Provo villa rental - The deserted idyllic beach away from the crowds
The deserted idyllic beach away from the crowds
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Providenciales - Provo Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 1-4)

HERON'S RETREAT is a charming beachfront villa and the Tuscan architecture together with its colonial style furniture reflects the casual elegance of the French colonial Great Houses of past centuries which featured verandas, balconies and louvred windows.

It is situated on a long tranquil beach which runs for miles. You are well away from 'condo land' here (but only a few minutes drive away if you want a change of pace).

The villa has 2 bedrooms each with a queen size bed and closet and 2 bathrooms each with a spacious shower.

The upstairs bedroom suite consists of a bathroom and a bedroom with a four poster bed and its own covered balcony with stunning views of the ocean. A romantic place for early morning coffee while watching the Pelicans fish or for sunset cocktails.

The second bedroom is downstairs and also has spectacular ocean views . It shares a spacious covered terrace with the living room. It also has a bathroom.

All of the rooms in the villa including the bathrooms have awesome ocean views. The terrace has teak loungers and dining table and chairs for al fresco dining.

The property is beachfront and there is a small pathway onto the beach. I have put some beach chairs, umbrellas, mats and towels in the house. Thompson's Cove Beach is a good place for swimming and snorkeling and for lunch you might want to walk for 5 minutes along the beach to 2 beach bars and restaurants, one of which specialises in conch, a local Turks and Caicos specialty.

The lounge dining area and kitchen are all in an open plan room. The lounge furniture is leather and there is a TV, DVD player, Stereo for CDs with Ipod dock, WiFi (wireless internet - you pay for use) and some CDs, DVDs, books and magazines.

The kitchen is very well equipped and includes a microwave, electric ceramic top stove, dishwasher, fridge freezer and clothes washer/dryer.

You can BarBQ and dine under the stars at the front of the house where there is a BarBQ area.

The villa is surrounded by tropical vegetation. The Palms, Neem Trees and tropical flowers give a feeling of calm exotic tranquility. The driveway is lined with Indonesian lanterns and you will find Balinese and other Indonesian sculptures and stonework dotted around the garden.

The birdlife is spectacular and you will frequently see Pelicans fishing and Herons. You should also see Ospreys flying over from time to time. The Night Herons nest in the surrounding vegetation so please do not disturb them when you see them walking around. If you find crab shells on the driveway, it will be the remains of a Heron's dinner from the previous night.

The land area is 1.8 acres and there are only 2 very private villas on the property both hidden behind tall vegetation. The estate is fenced and you enter the driveway by means of an electronic gate. There is also a monitored alarm system.

The villa has central AC which is separately metered and you are charged separately for this. The Bedrooms and Living Room all have ceiling fans.

I have tried to ensure the villa has every comfort so you can relax completely and chill out. There are plenty of towels and linens and everything you would want in the kitchen so that you really feel it is your home away from home. I want you to experience what it is like to live in the tropics. It is so beautiful and tranquil. What about getting married on the beach? The villa would also be a romantic hideaway for honeymoons.

In addition to beachcombing, swimming, snorkeling and birdwatching there is a large choice of watersports available on island including diving, snuba, fishing, parasailing, sailing, kiteboarding, water skiing, wakeboarding, tubing, stand up paddleboarding, semi submarine, glass bottom boat and kayaking.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 928584 in Providenciales - Provo, Turks & Caicos

Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
average rating of based on reviews
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
5

The Best Vacation I Have Ever Had!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I had such an amazing time at this beautiful villa. I wish I was there right now. I stayed at Heron's Retreat with my boyfriend the week of December 23, 2012. The house could not have been any better. The most beautiful views. Whenever I get stressed up here in the cold Northeast US, I close my eyes and dream of the view of the ocean at Heron's Retreat. I am an artist and I am so glad I brought my watercolors because I painted every morning from the balcony upstairs. When I first walked in and saw the view, I could not stop staring at the beautiful blue-green ocean. I did not stop staring at it all week!

Great kitchen (has EVERYTHING you need. Even a coffee press!), the bed was comfy, the rooms were very large, and the place was incredibly safe. We played a "Carribean Party" CD (among a great CD collection for our use!) and just had the best time. We walked to the Conch Shack everyday-- what a great place! The conch fritters are amazing.

The villa is right on the beach and it is very private. Most days, we were the only people on the beach. There are pelicans that fly around and hunt for fish which is very cool.

I highly recommend this villa. I've been telling everyone I know what a great place this is. I just hope it's not taken when we go to book our next stay here! Again, I can honestly say, my stay at Heron's Retreat was the best vacation I ever had. My boyfriend likes to take credit for that, but it was mostly the villa :)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
South Alabama
5

Relax! Relax! Relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Heron's Retreat has the most gracious hostess and the most comfortable accommodations. When you choose Heron's Retreat you will treat yourself to a vacation where you can unwind and relax away from the crowds and the noise. We were pleased to have a beautiful beach all to ourselves. If we chose, it's only a "one-beer-walk" to Horse Eyed Jacks or Da Conch Shack. Or, just call Sailing Paradise and they will pick you up. WOW!
Sun, snorkel (see if you can find the giant orange coral the size of an ottoman!), collect conch shells, or just read and relax on a tropical patio.
You will need a rental car for trips to stores and excursions. The owner will welcome your questions about Heron's Retreat or Provo. Our stay Nov. 3-10 was our first trip to T&C and we hope to return soon. Again, if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, private, relaxing vacation, -call Heron's Retreat...
....Thanks Pam!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
Memphis, TN
4

Charming house!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I recently stayed a week at Heron's Retreat and had a lovely time. The house, in an un-touristy area of the island, is as depicted, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and with great amenities: washer, dryer, dishwasher in full kitchen, nice entertainment system. The vegetation around the house is lush, but is kept trimmed so that it doesn't impede the spectacular view. The sandy beach is a bit of a hike over a rough path, so be sure to bring sturdy sandals, and although perfect for walking and shell-seeking, the beach was not very good for swimming (too shallow a long way out over beds of grassy seaweed) or snorkeling (nothing really to see). But it is a relatively short drive to the public access at Smith Reef at Turtle Cove, which serves both swimming and snorkeling purposes spectacularly. Pamela is an ideal hostess -- leads you to the house, shows you around, then disappears to her home on the other side of a dense hedge, only to reappear if you need her for something. Note: You MUST have a car -- the location is very distant from the main grocery store and most restaurants
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
Gilford, NH, USA
4

Quiet Location, Great View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We just returned from Herons’ Retreat and enjoyed our stay. Our landlord, Pamela started off by giving a complete and very helpful orientation of the property. The house was well equipped and everything was in good condition. There is a nice covered patio outside with a table where we had our meals. Lounge chairs too. The vegetation in front has been trimmed, so we had a nice view of the ocean. There is a patio on the second floor with a spectacular ocean view where enjoyed cocktails every evening.
The adjacent beach is more of a walking beach, than a swimming beach, but our daily walks were a pleasure. The house is a short walk or drive to two beach bars and is convenient to all the hub bub and amenities of Grace Bay. We found it to be a good value and would stay there again. The only word of caution is if you refill your rental car at the Texaco station at the roundabout near the airport, bring cash. They must be the last gas station on earth that doesn’t accept credit cards.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
Torrance, CA
5

Spectacular Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We celebrated our anniversary at Heron's Retreat and had a wonderful time. Pamela was delightfully nice, friendly and helped us to feel right at home and totally comfortable. Plus the snorkeling in Turks and Caicos was amazing! You'll need a rental car to get around, but it's worth it for the solitude and quiet that you wouldn't get at a big resort.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
5

Relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The villa had everything you could possibly need and more. The view of the beach and ocean was beautiful, and we had the beach to ourselves and the water was so warm . Pamela was most helpful and very gracious. Our bedroom was very comfortable and spacious, beach towels and chairs were there for our use.The patio was very pleasant to sit outside and have our meals with a nice cool breeze at all times. The path to the beach was a little bit rocky for walking but worth it to get to the beautiful white soft sandy beach.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Heron's Retreat a Beautiful Beachfront Villa, Long Quiet Beach Spectacular views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928584
Providenciales - Provo Turks & Caicos
5

Amazing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We stayed for a week at Heron's Retreat in Oct and had a wonderful vacation!! The villa was beautiful, extremely clean and had eveything you would need. Pamela was very sweet and helpful! The villa is located in a residential area and most days we had the beach to ourselves (a few of the neighbor's dogs adopted us during our walks on the beach). In my opinion you definitely need to hire a car to get around the island easily.
We loved the shaded patio overlooking the gardens and ocean there was a nice cooling breeze everyday, it was a perfect place for relaxing days reading in the lounge chairs and having breakfast and lunch while gazing out at the gorgeous water. We found some amazing conch shells on the beach during our walks and brought a couple home as souveniers. The water is warm, crystal clear and shallow for a long way out from the beach, there is some sea grass in areas which made me glad I had some water shoes b/c it was a little squishy underfoot. Half way through the week I was wishing I could stay for another week. I would definitely recommend this villa and hope to return someday!!
Helpful votes: 4/4