Longboat Key house rental - Front of house view from street
Front of house view from street
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Longboat Key House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Lovely home, located on a quiet canal with a private dock in beautiful Buttonwood Harbour. Relax in completely enclosed pool surrounded by lush Florida landscaping. Enjoy the kitchen, dining room, and den with retractable sliding glass doors that open up to the beautiful lanai.

Bring your boat and tie up right on your back yard dock. Walk down the street to the beautiful beach or jump on a boat and head straight out to Sarasota Bay. The cut to the gulf is only minutes away.

Relax by the pool on the screened in lanai. Enjoy outdoor living at its best as you watch the peaceful water and birds out back on the serene canal while sipping a cool drink and grilling your steaks on the grill. Feel free to cast off the dock to see what you will catch or maybe you'd like to rent a boat nearby and check out the sites.

The house is easy one level living. There is a spacious living room with a flat screen TV and generous view of the lanai and pool.

Take a short stroll up the peaceful streets of Buttonwood Harbour to the uncrowded, quiet, white sand beach perfect for morning beach-combing and end of day amazing breathtaking sunsets.

The master bedroom features a king-size bed, the guest bedroom also features a king-sized bed and the den area has two sleeper sofas.

This home has high speed wireless internet access so you will be able to work efficiently or just keep in touch with family while you are away.

The house is situated on a quiet dead-end street with minimal traffic. There are no homes across from you - just quiet mangroves along the bay.

The home is located in the neighborhood of Buttonwood Harbor. Almost directly across the street from the Buttonwood Harbor entrance is public beach access. You can easily walk, drive or bike to this access. There are three bikes available for biking.

This home and location is perfect if you have a pet. The street is perfect for walking together as you have the uninhabited area right across the street plus the neighborhood is wonderfully quiet. Longboat Key hosts tons vacationers with their dogs - having lunch and walking around St. Armands Circle, walking in Joan Durante Park, Beach at Bird Key, Beach on Cortez Avenue, walking Gulf of Mexico Drive, etc.

Longboat Key is on the West Coast of Florida, near Sarasota and one hour south of Tampa. Sought-after Longboat Key has some of the most unspoiled beaches in the area.

Longboat Key is a ten-mile long barrier island attached at each end by a bridge to the mainland.

Walk to our famous, wide, ten mile long white sand beach. Close to LBK's ten-court award winning Tennis Center. Ten minutes from St. Armand's Circle, known for it's boutiques and famous restaurants. A short drive to downtown Sarasota which offers galleries, museums, restaurants, shops and more.

Tampa's Bush Gardens is a short 90 minutes drive and Orlando's Walt Disney World is only 2 hours and 30 minutes away.

Major League Baseball, Grapefruit League Spring Training camp for the Baltimore Orioles in Sarasota and the Pittsburg Pirates in Bradenton Florida each spring.

The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art is located 11 miles away in Sarasota. The Museum of Art, built by John Ringling to house his personal collection of masterpieces, today features paintings and sculptures by the great Old Masters including Rubens, van Dyck, Velázquez, Titian, Tintoretto, Veronese, El Greco, Gainsborough and more.

Keywords: relaxing, serene, tranquil

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Northern Virginia. We love the beach, water and beautiful sunsets.

Janelle Branower purchased this house in 2006

We love Longboat Key for the tranquility of the prestine white sand beach.

Buttonwood Harbour is a quiet neighborhood.

The community is surrounded by a beautiful canopy of trees and lush Florida tropics.

14 Reviews of Property 406624 in Longboat Key, Florida

Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Deland FL
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
From our first contact with the owner until the end of our vacation my wife and I could not have been happier, this is not our first VRBO but it has by far been the best, this home is wonderfully maintained from the clean pool to the immaculately clean home,ample off street parking for truck and boat.This is a very quiet neighborhood the neighbors are very friendly and helpful. Bring your boat and enjoy the the west coast fishing and boating, we Kayaked the canal out to the bay and fished. This home has everything you will need for your vacation, enjoyed the lanai with its view of the canal and birds that visit every day, just a short trip to St Armands for shopping and restaurants. Must visit harry's Kitchen for great food, also Dry Dock restaurant.The kitchen is very well equiped with everything you will need to dine in Publix is just a short drive or walk for your grocery needs.We felt very safe and secure in this neighborhood even saw the local officers drive thru the area which gave us a great sense of security even when we were not home. We are already planning a spring visit to this home, so dont delay jump in and have a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Sterling, VA
5

Just one more excellent review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is our first time renting a vacation home in LBK and WOW it was amazing. My wife and I read all the reviews before renting this beautiful home and we have to say that it was beyond what we imagined. I can go on and describe how clean and comfortable the house is but, just read all the reviews and multiply it by 10. After one night we went back to VRBO and checked out when we could return to this wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Best of both worlds...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Turn into Buttonwood Harbour and you will be impressed by this sumptuously beautiful neighborhood – mature moss covered trees line beautifully landscaped gardens. Step into a home lovingly cared for by owners who have thought of everything to meet your every expectation for your stay. Perfectly located, this home is situated between the beach and a wild life filled canal on the other. If boating, fishing, and nature loving is your thing, you are in the right place. Step out onto the lanai and be prepared to enjoy breakfast with a blue heron as your guest. Take a dip in the pool after a steamy day at the beach. We truly enjoyed our respite from the “real world” in DC and couldn’t think of a better way to do it. We will come again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Knoxville,TN
5

We had a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was one of our best stays on gorgeous LBK. Having our own pool access was great. We had our boat right at the dock to use whenever we felt like it. Neighbors were very nice.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Port Orange, FL
5

Peaceful piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I rented this charming, peaceful, comfortable home in May for a week with my brother and his wife who were in the US from England. My brother loves to fish and loves nature. We were not disappointed. The home is on a canal. The very first morning we decided to eat breakfast outside around the pool which is located next to the canal. Very spacious area with lots of room to entertain. First, a beautiful blue heron dropped by to say good morning, then we heard loud splashing coming from the canal and lots of white fins appeared above the water - a school of sting rays were also out for their morning swim jumping and playing all the way up the canal. This was a morning ritual the whole week we were there. Large fish and Dolphins were also jumping high out of the water to entertain us as we ate. We all decided that if we did not do anything else at all while in Longboat Key this was well worth the trip. The house is very well designed with the kitchen window and sliding door opening directly to the pool area with a serving area to pass the food. We were lucky enough to be staying at the vacation home during a cool, low humidity week when we could open up the house and switch off the AC and enjoy the wonderful crisp fresh air. We actually walked to Publix a few times to pick up bread etc. Less than a mile walk. CVS is right next to Publix and many charming restaurants are nearby. The location is perfect.The guest book in the home is very well written and if you follow all the helpful suggestions on where to eat and visit you cannot go wrong. My compliments to the owners. The Jungle Gardens are just wonderful and so are Selby Gardens. I got to hold a giant Burmese Python and a baby alligator at the Jungle Gardens...and Ringling Brothers mansion is just wonderful.. Also try the Sunset cruise out of Sarasota harbor, especially around the end of your vacation...to end a wonderful experience. We wished we had a boat to dock at the house but we did the next best thing. We chartered a boat and captain. Actually, this turned out wonderful because Captain Carson took us out fishing for 7 hours. We caught many fish including mackerel, trout and flounder. Captain Carson cleaned them for us to eat back at the house. You can locate Captain Carson at PattiGeorge's Restaurant about a mile from the house. Highly recommended. The house is close to the beach which we walked every morning. Wonderful place, wonderful time, we will be back. Thank you so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
upstate NY
5

Lovely neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a delightful place to spend a week. The two bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect for privacy. The pool was much enjoyed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Buttonwood Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife ans I could not have been more pleased. Home is located on a deep water canal that leads directly to the bay. If you are a sailor or fishing enthusiast, this is perfect. Across, and along the almost trafficless street, is a natural preserve area exellent for walking your dog. Grocery (Publix) is within just a 3 or four minutes drive. Restaurants in Sarasota or Ana Maria are only a few miles distant. Beach access is within a few hundred yards short bike ride across Gulf of Mexico Drive. There is also car parking available at the beach. If you are looking for a comfortable, pet friendly home with a pool in a secluded, quiet, small residential neighborhood that is idealy located, we highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Hastings, MI
5

Beyond our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This home MORE than met our expectations. There was more than enough room for all 9 of us w/o bumping into eachother. The neighborhood was very quiet and great for a family walk. The pool was a great bonus to our stay this year. We will never rent a home w/o a pool again. On those chilly/cloudy days (or evenings after sunset) it was really nice to still have a heated pool option for the kids. This home is located on a channel and we weren't 'expecting' to see any wildlife but we were pleasantly surprised when we did. One evening three dolphins swam the channel and the following day we saw several manna rays. There was even a bird that came to visit every morning and we named him/her 'Fishy' :) We were just really pleased with our entire stay. The home was close to our relatives and close to shops and groceries. Everything we needed for preparing meals was available to us in the kitchen. It was really nice to have a grill available as well. After a long, cold winter we looked forward to grilling out. I would highly recommend renting this home. We will definitely look into renting this property on our future trips.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
United States
5

Exceptional Vacation Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was our first experience with renting through VRBO and it was outstanding. The process from start to finish went perfectly. The home was everything it was advertised to be and the owners' were extremely helpful in answering our questions before and during our stay. We were excited when initially inquiring about the property to find the owners accepted larger dogs when many others do not accept pets or have weight limits. The neighborhood is very quiet and quite beautiful and we loved walking our Goldendoodle every day. It's especially nice that there are no houses directly across the street from the house - just wonderful tropical foliage. It's an easy walk over to the beach and we would go there in the evenings to see the beautiful sunset over the Gulf. We particularly enjoyed the fact the house is situated on a canal and would sit for hours reading a book and watching the wildlife and boating activity. Swimming in the heated pool in the enclosed lanai while herons and egrets flew overhead was a great experience. St. Armands Circle, Mote Aquarium, Durante Park and other attractions are nearby and we enjoyed visiting these sites. Shopping for groceries is only a short distance as are terrific seafood restaurants. All in all, this was a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing vacation in a beautiful home and locale. We enjoyed our time so much that we have already booked our return trip for 2014! I would not hesitate to recommend this home to everyone and want to give a special thanks to the owners for making their wonderful home available for others to experience. What an exceptional way to start the year - we can hardly wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Canal Home With Private Dock, Enclosed Pool And Short Walk To Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p406624vb
703-3626985
Longboat Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Great Holiday Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This property was everything it was billed to be.... stunning, beautiful views and luxurious accomdations! We would not hesitate to rent this property again and we would highly recommend this property to our very best friends. Such an incredible experience! Thank you so much for a wonderful time and for making our vacation a memorable one. The home was clean and very well maintained. There was plenty of room for our family and it was fully equipped from the furnishings to the kitchen amenities. We had a gorgeous view that inspired our entire trip. The pictures don't do it justice. St Armands Circle was a unique place to shop and have dinner out. We had a boat, so we were able to enjoy many sites from the water (fireworks, boat races, fishing, scuba diving, etc). I want to especially thank the owner and property manager for their kindness in answering all of our questions and making themselves available before, during and after our stay. If you want a relaxing, enjoyable, and luxurious vacation on Longboat Key then stop looking for a place to stay. This home is the perfect spot for your vacation needs. Best Regards, John
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1