Hollywood house rental - View Deck off Bedroom
View Deck off Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Hollywood House Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4

Looking for a Hollywood Hills hideaway? And yet want all the convenience of being centrally located...as well as the excitement of the dynamic LA nightlife scene? Then come stay at this just-renovated, 1920s bungalow adjacent to the legendary Hollywood Bowl. Originally constructed as part of a neighborhood built by movie studios to provide housing for young starlets, the ambiance continues to evoke the glamour of Hollywood's golden era.

Located just off of Highland Avenue near the Hollywood Bowl, there is immediate access to the 101 freeway leading to both the San Fernando Valley (with its many movie studios) and to downtown. Equally convenient (in walking distance) is the Hollywood and Highland entertainment complex which includes the Kodak Theater, home of the Academy Awards ceremony.

This two-story,one bedroom house is set behind gates in a private, lushly-landscaped, multi-tiered garden. Whether you want to relax in the shade and listen to the waterfall or sunbathe next to the bougainvillea-draped arbor or have dinner on the deck while taking in the spectacular views of the city, the garden offers something for everyone at every time of day.

Built in the 1920s and just renovated, the first story of the house contains a bright and airy living room with French doors that open onto a deck with a BBQ grill and dining table overlooking the city. Also on the first floor is a spacious kitchen that includes both a dishwasher as well as a full-sized washer and dryer.

On the second floor are the bedroom and bathroom. The bedroom has a queen sized bed and even more spectacular views of the city, while the large bathroom contains a jacuzzi tub and separate glass-enclosed shower. There are flat screen televisions in both the living room and bedroom, cable & wifi.

Come and experience the allure and excitement of all that Los Angeles has to offer and stay in this Hollywood Hills retreat.

Please note: the romance and the hidden nature of this jewel of a house are heightened as a result of it being accessed only by a meandering staircase reminiscent of Amistead Maupin's fictional Barbary Lane From 'Tales of the City'. The stairs might not be suitable for everyone. It is about a 2 minute walk from the house to the parking lot. The neighborhood's charm is heightened by this historic setting, and there is a long list of artists and Hollywood luminaries who have called this neighborhood home over the last century. For the convenience of guests staying at this spectacular location, we offer porter service and grocery delivery on request (charges apply).

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 928221 in Hollywood, California

Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

The best of the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I were so lucky to have found this gorgeous house! It was just perfect for us - situated on a quiet and charming private walk street and just a short ten minute walk to the stores and a supermarket on Hollywood Boulevard, as well as the Hollywood/Highland metro station. If you don't have a car in L.A., this place is perfect for you.

The house is beautifully decorated and extremely cosy. We stayed for about 2 months and loved every second of it! John, the owner of this unique house, was simply the best landlord we have ever had. He was always just a phone call away and helped us in every way possible to make our stay comfortable and hassle-free, so that we very quickly felt at home.

This property also comes with lovely landscaped garden and a fantastic view over Hollywood. We wish we were there right now - sipping coffee or relaxing with a glass of wine on the terrace. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures were promising enough, yet when we entered this lovely home everything was even bigger and better than expected. The house came equipped with everything that was needed and the outside areas were extremely spacious.

The location was perfect and John, the landlord, was beyond welcoming and helpful throughout our entire stay.

Just make sure to rent a small car (Fiat 500, Mini, etc.) to make use of the private garage parking, as guest parking was always quite full during our stay.

Thank you for having us! :)
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

Fantastic Place in Hollywood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a find! Fantastic and well-maintained little house, and when I say little I mean big. It has only one bedroom but all the rooms are spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. There are severable very comfortable outdoor spaces with varying degrees of views and privacy. The neighbourhood is very charming and car-free. You park in a lot at the bottom of the hill and walk up. (Without luggage it only takes a couple of minutes for a reasonably fit person to walk up.) And the owner is super nice and accommodating, very helpful during our stay.

This house is a really nice little oasis from the hubbub of LA. I hope it'll be available on our next trip out there. I highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

Perfect, not one suprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Absolutely a flawless place to stay. We could not have enjoyed ourselves any more than we did
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Houston, TX
5

Amazing Views, Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I had the fortunate opportunity to stay at this enchanting house during my stay in Hollywood. It was incredibly close to everything I needed to do, and I had really easy access to both Hollywood and the Valley. Having business in both locations, I found the location to be perfect. Also, I was a stone's throw from Hollywood and Highland.

The view from the deck was amazing whether first thing in the morning or in the evening with a glass of wine. I had occasion to entertain some friends from work and the outdoor seating and the barbeque made it really easy to pull together a nice evening.

All in all, one of the best places I've ever stayed.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Hollywood Visit

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Jane and I had a most wonderful experience getting to know a little of LA. You rental added greatly to that experience. It is such a pleasure to enter an accommodation that has everything in working order: great water pressure, endless hot water supply, fully stocked kitchen, bottled water, beer, coke, wine, herbs, flowers, bathrobes, paper towels, soap, toilet paper, etc., etc. It might surprise you, but a number of quite nice places we have stayed in the States, Italy, France, England, Argentina, Costa Rica, Canada have not been so perfectly provisioned. We thank you for seeing to all of these details for your guests.

If we ever have friends needing a short term rental in the Hollywood area, we would not hesitate to recommend Alta Loma, provided they have the stamina to climb the 133 steps from the parking area to the bedroom. I was breathing fairly heavily when I first traipsed up those stairs, but then I am 68 and a lifelong smoker, not a good combination I admit. But after one or two trips up the staircase, I was fairly well acclimated to the climb.

We thank again, most sincerely, for being such a wonderful host.

Skip and Jane Norris
Carlsbad
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

A gorgeous place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Staying in this gorgeous hilltop bungalow was an extraordinary experience. The bungalow itself is absolutely beautiful and the surrounding grounds and terrace are stunning. You feel like you're living in a private retreat circa Hollywood 1920. It's amazing. Just amazing. And the owners keep the place incredibly well stocked - from wine and liquor glasses to a full array of pots and pans. You'll be well taken care of if you decide to eat at home and soak up the ambiance.

In sum, we've vacationed in Hollywood twice a year every year for years and stayed at every hotel you can name. We've rented numerous homes as well. And, now that we've experienced this little gem, this is the only place we'll stay from now on.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

October Holiday

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at this beautiful, luxury house for a 2 week holiday in October. At my request our daughter who lives in L.A. met the owner and was kindly shown round the property. She texted immediately 'AMAZING! YOU WILL LOVE IT' She was right! The house is light, airy, very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. Breakfast on the deck was just magical in the shaded morning sun.
The house is set in a beautiful, secluded landscaped garden with a feature waterfall near a patio area with loungers. Ideal to sit and read in the shade.
Setting up the booking from Scotland was seamless. Both the owner and his agent Maz were extremely helpful and on hand for advice if required. Definitely well worth the walk up the steps! We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this holiday rental.
Joyce and John
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Two-Story Bungalow w/Expansive Views Next to Hollywood Bowl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p928221
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Lovely Hideaway for a Romantic Summer

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed at this romantic cottage for almost two months last summer/fall while working and being tourists, about half and half. Not only private, close to everything and on a very special street with many interesting homes and famous past, but the house itself is so comfortable, cozy and with luxurious touches to make a guest feel pampered.
Helpful votes: 2/2