San Antonio bungalow rental - Open floor plan, perfect for enjoying time with family and friends
Open floor plan, perfect for enjoying time with family and friends
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Antonio Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)

Welcome to the Palm Bungalow; located in the beautiful King William Historic District located in downtown San Antonio and just 15 miles from Lackland Air Force Base.

Comfortably upscale with a unique combination of Texas, Mexico, and California. This two bedroom, two bath retreat offers inspired spaces both inside and out. The living area is designed for relaxing and spending time with family and friends. The oversized couch is perfect for sitting back and relaxing and can comfortably sleep two adults. The space also offers a flat screen TV, dvd player (with a selection of movies), and cable TV.

The custom designed kitchen is fully stocked with kitchen necessities including stainless steel appliances, and a gas stove. The dining room includes a fold out table which can seat six and overlooks the garden through a french door. Down the hallway you will find the energy efficient washer and dryer for your convenience. Both bathrooms include custom designed and built vanities.

The main bath offers a walk-in shower and the second bath has a jacuzzi tub.

Both bedrooms are relaxing havens including King Koil ''Heavenly'' pillow top mattresses and luxury linens. The ''Turquoise Room'' offers many amenities including Onyx pendant lights, a sleigh bed, writing table, and exterior door that opens onto the patio and garden. The ''Copper Room'' is a quiet get away that draws it's inspiration from the original artwork painting hanging over the bed. It includes white spiral glass pendant lights, a platform bed, and large closet.

The Palm Bungalow draws it's name from it's private garden which is filled with palms, succulents, and other plants native to the southwest. It is the perfect backdrop to unwind and includes an outdoor fire pit, two fountains (one is a Koi fountain), several seating areas (including an outdoor table that seats six). The garden is a must at night. . . richly ''decorated'' with landscape lighting throughout.

A perfect place to hold a graduation party or small reception.

The Palm Bungalow allows offers such amenities as covered off street parking for two cars, a private coded gate entry, an outdoor gas grill, close proximity to local shops and restaurants. For those that want to leave their car behind, you can make the 45 minute walk to the Alamo and World-famous River Walk.

Due to the koi pond, outdoor fire pit, and a few desert plants, we have not listed this property as being kid friendly. Kids are welcome but renters take full responsibility for the safety of all individuals including children. Pets are welcome but may require a deposit depending on breed.

*** Check out the link to our VIDEO (Located just above the Map & Owners profile section just a little further down on this page, under the ''Links to more information'' header) to get a more complete view of the property.

To the right of the main video you can select from three more videos (one for each of the bedrooms and one for the dining room, kitchen, and living areas).

*** 10% of the profits of this rental are donated to World Vision and/or International Justice Mission

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 927899 in San Antonio, Texas

2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 18 reviews
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
Syracuse, NY
5

Christmas and New Year in San Antonio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I would highly recommend anyone looking to rent a vacation property in San Antonio to stay at the Palm Bungalow. It provided my family and me with the perfect base from which to explore the city and surrounding environs. It is exactly as pictured: clean, comfortable, and amply equipped with modern conveniences. The kitchen, in particular, is incredibly functional (cooking Christmas dinner for the family was a breeze).

The bedrooms are very cosy, and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and the showers have excellent water pressure and temperature control (if you are anything like me, this is an important detail for any accommodation selection). Because we were staying during an unusually cold winter, we didn't really make use of the outdoor area, but it was well maintained - with a soothing fountain feature, and, at night, colorfully lit up.

In addition, the Bungalow is in an excellent location for exploring downtown San Antonio. The King William neighborhood is replete with attractive houses (I urge those with any interest in architecture, or who simply like peeking into grand homes, to do the walking tour). There are some top-notch restaurants nearby: notably, Bliss (just round the corner) and in the Pearl Brewery (a ten-minute drive away). Moreover, the famous Riverwalk is only fifteen minutes away on foot - a very pleasant stroll indeed.

All in all, the Palm Bungalow is the sort of place that is so inviting that you really feel that you have returned home after a day's outing. Kurt and his wife are attentive without being intrusive - and were very responsive to our questions. Thank you to you both for making our first visit to San Antonio a memorable one.
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
5

Experience Nirvana here on Earth.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We arrived to the bungalow to find a slight chill in the evening air and the wonderful scent of burning wood crackling on the fire pit. What a greeting! I knew at this instant this was going to be a wonderful, relaxing stay. We were immediately greeted by the caretaker to see if we needed anything and I was just fine. A complimentary bottle of wine was present with a note...to call if anything is needed. The dogs immediately took to the wonderfully landscaped yard, mom and dad laid down on their comfy beds as we had just spent 8-1/2 hours on the road after arriving here it was all worth it. There were so many things about this place that was so serene, the natural tiled showers and floors, and oh the French door to the patio was my favorite. I frequently left the doors open to allow the dogs to come and go as they pleased. The dining table near my favorite French doors and a cup of coffee and I was set. I love to cook and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you'd ever need. Love the stainless steel work table. The island was a wonderful place for computer work, comfy stools. We all enjoyed the patio and the landscaped yard as best as we could this time of year because of the cool temperatures. The Caretaker made sure to keep our fire pit going. We grilled out, pondered, and relaxed between site seeing. As long and Mom, Dad and the dogs were happy, I was. This bungalow is very spacious--I often looked around and said, "you know...I could live here...even with Mom and Dad." The open floor plan gave me a sense of peace and the space I needed even though my parents and the dogs were near. This place made our San Antonio visit so wonderful. It has been one of the best places I have ever stayed in--even more comfortable than my own place. Thank you all for having the best organic products, materials, fibers, and providing recycle containers. It brings everything to full circle.
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our first family vacation using HomeAway! This Bungalow was a perfect stay and a pleasant surprise. We (family with teenagers) had a very quiet stay at the Bungalow. Kurt made sure our family was comfortable as there was construction to the front of the property. The construction was not too much of a bother. The construction workers were able to move for us to drive down the driveway. It was a bit muddy because of the weather the week before our arrival. The Bungalow was clean and spacious for our family. We felt welcomed and rested. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Bungalow. It is behind another property but private!! The garden is just beautiful and relaxing. Thanks Kurt and Jamie for such a welcoming property. We stayed a week and loved every minute of it. Our Yorkie baby came with us and she even had a divine time being able to come with your family for vacation. Such an amazing find!! Would definitely stay again!!….as we are returning this November at another property of Kurt and Jamie!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
5

Awesome place to stay, Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you Kurt and Jamie for the great place to stay while we were attending our Granddaughter's BMT Graduation. The Bungalow is in the perfect place, close to everything we wanted to see and had to be. Our Airman appreciated Kurt's recommendation of the Taco Haven. It was just what she needed after the long graduation ceremony. We highly recommend it to all. It was a perfect place to fill her up and close to the bungalow so she could take her well earned siesta! We couldn't enjoy the patio as much as we would have like to due to the heat but we did appreciate and enjoy the cool dark bungalow after a long day in the San Antonio heat. Our Daughter enjoyed her naps on the HUGE sofa. She has back problems and said that sofa made her back feel better! The bungalow is located in the King William Historic District which has amazing historic homes. We walked through the neighborhood to Riverwalk which is a short distance from the bungalow. We actually took a day and walked on the Riverwalk to the Alamo and took the tour bus back which dropped us off in the King William Historic District within blocks of the bungalow. Kurt and his Mother Jamie are the best hosts and kept in touch before and throughout our visit to make sure we were wanting for nothing. Their hospitality was first class. If you are attending a graduation at Lackland AFB we recommend you stay here. There is plenty of room for a large group and it is within 20 minutes of the base which is great since they tend to want you there before the sun is up! The entry is private and gated so you don't have to worry about security. Thank you again Kurt & Jamie! Oh, by the way, they even have doggie bowls and snacks if you want to bring along your best friends. How awesome is that?
Owner's Response: :) Thanks for the wonderful and glowing review...we love and appreciate our military members and their families. The sofa is the brain-child of my wife who fought for that (and showed in the end that she was the much smarter on that purchase...I do have to admit that it is a wonderful place to watch a movie, hang out with family or friends, or sleep for the night...which we often do if we get a chance to stay at the Bungalow). Thank you for pointing out Jamie (my mother) who is the true genius behind making sure things run smoothly...she is the first of a long list of people who work to make sure that our guests have a wonderful and memorable stay. We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to write a review for us...If you come back, please contact us so that we will know you are coming...it's always nice to see old friends. Again, thanks for your daughter's service to our country...we are so thankful to each one of them and their families. Hope to see y'all again soon. Sincerely, Kurt and Kelly Hemphill
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
4

Very nice

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed there for our Daughters graduation from Basic Training. It was very close to the base and was a great please to relax.
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
Ohio
5

Heavenly Haven for Humans and Hounds!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 0005
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I was traveling through Texas with my dog for my business, the Travel Dog Network and was looking for a pet-friendly vacation rental in San Antonio. Not only was this bungalow pet-friendly, it was over-the-top people friendly! Absolutely LOVED this place!!! What a location! Walking distance to the River Walk and many, nearby, wonderful restaurants. But, the bungalow was so welcoming and comforting, that I rarely wanted to venture out for dinner. The kitchen is fully equipped and left us wanting for nothing. And the fully fenced in stone patio with a Koi pond and firepit was inviting and inspirational. I enjoyed starting each day on the patio and closing each day there with my dog. And the beds were SOOOO comfortable. My insomnia was cured during my stay here. I hesitate to rave about this place because I am worried that it will be booked solid next time that I am passing through town. Because I WILL be back. This is a special place. The owner of the rental, Kurt, is a kind and gracious gentleman and could not have made our visit any more wonderful. Thank you for having us!! Can't wait to return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
5

Great, Convenient place in San Antonio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This place was exactly as pictured on the website. Not only was it convenient, clean and comfortable, the owners had decorated and landscaped to perfection. Being able to bring our little dogs made this vacation complete! It was a great meeting place for old friends and family. Convenient to downtown San Antonio, the Alamo, River walk, Mission Trail, etc. An added bonus were the local Mexican restaurants in the King William District that had the best Mexican food, along with several other restaurants nearby which were outstanding. Kurt was a great host who was very warm and gracious, and made sure that our every need was addressed. It doesn't get much better than this!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
5

Relaxation Plus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a paradise place! The house is awesome, the scenery- yes scenery!-landscaped by the owner is so coll you feel like you're no where near town BUT you are so close to everything! Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Oh- did I mention the owner is so helpful you feel like you have a family member available for help and recommendations? Very cool place! If not available I would re-arrange my schedule rather than stay somewhere else!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
5

Di & Deb's Excellent Adventure

Di & Deb's Excellent Adventure
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Thank you so much, Kurt and Kelly, for sharing your beautiful home with us. It was the perfect place from which to enjoy all that San Antonio has to offer. We will certainly be back with our husbands. The place was impeccable and very cosy. The beds were very comfortable. We appreciated your warm welcome and all the tips on restaurants and activities. We really enjoyed spending the evenings in the beautiful yard with the fountain and creative lighting. Thank you for providing us with a lovely fire in the pit on our last evening!
Di & Deb.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2/2 Urban Oasis w/ Private Courtyard & Gated Prkg /walking distance to Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927899
+1 817 917-3035
San Antonio Texas
Franklin, MA
5

Bungalow heaven in San Antonio!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Having never visited Texas before, San Antonio was a place we wanted to explore. We chose the Palm Bungalow based on the description and location. We made the right choice! This beautifully renovated eclectic space was just what two couples needed for our stay. All the amenities were included. Had it been warmer we would have spent time out on the private patio. We rarely used our car as we walked to many great restaurants and to the famous River Walk - not to be missed. The King William historic district, where the bungalow is located, makes for a beautiful stroll. Be sure to check out the Tower of the Americas and Rosario's restaurant. With the L-shaped couch, large screen TV, private parking area, fully-applicanced kitchen, this is THE place to call "home" while visiting San Antonio.
Helpful votes: 3/3