Harlem townhome rental - Living Room (main view)
Living Room (main view)
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, 1 full kitchen, sleeps 5 (max 6 including infant)

This beautiful, newly-renovated two-bedroom apartment is located in a famous residential neighborhood surrounded by historic architectural brownstone homes. Experience the diversity of contemporary Harlem and the culture, arts, and residents of this unique community that has influenced every corner of the globe. Enter the property from a quiet, tree-lined street, up three flights of stairs, into an apartment with modern amenities and appliances, charming decorative fireplace, hardwood bamboo floors, and furnishings from the owner's travels worldwide. The living room, bedrooms, dining area and full kitchen are equipped with free wireless Internet (WIFI), cable TV and international channels (TV5, RAI, BBC), top-quality, clean linens and all of the comforts and conveniences of home. The B & C subway lines (direct transfer to express A & D lines) are steps from your door on the corner. In 15 minutes you are in midtown: Columbus Circle/Times Square.

The Neighborhood: Harlem is a vibrant community, rich in arts and culture (The Apollo, Studio Museum in Harlem, St. Nick's Pub, Lenox Lounge, art galleries, The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture), historic architecture (Strivers Row, Astor Row, Hamilton Terrace, City College), cuisine (soul food, Ethiopian, French bistro, Dominican, contemporary American, Senegalese, Mexican, bakeries, Caribbean) and much more. Two blocks away, you will find 24/7 corner stores, Duane Reade (a citywide health and beauty chain store and pharmacy), and a Chase Bank with 24-hour ATMs. There are a number of takeout restaurants (Caribbean, Chinese, soul food) if you prefer to eat at home, and local bars (The Shrine and Londell's) where you are certain to meet local residents and fellow travelers.

Nearby Attractions: The apartment is within walking distance of Central Park, Columbia University, Grant's Tomb, the Riverside and Abyssinian churches and half a block from St. Nicholas Park where the newly reopened Alexander Hamilton House is located. The M3 Bus is located steps from the apartment and takes you to the East Side's Museum Row (El Museo, Museum of the City of New York, Guggenheim, Whitney and Metropolitan museums). The M10, also on the corner, takes you to the Upper West Side (Museum of Natural History, Columbus Avenue boutiques and restaurants, Lincoln Center, movie theaters, and Central Park).

Your Hosts: Your hosts are the property owners and they will ensure that your arrival is a smooth and comfortable experience. They have been providing vacation rental services and welcoming guests from all over the world for over four years. Having traveled, worked, and lived overseas, they enjoy meeting guests and providing them with all of the information at their disposal to make yours a memorable visit to New York City. Upon reservation confirmation, you will receive a package of information and referrals to assist with trip planning, and they are happy to share their insider knowledge of the city, recommendations for special events and discount shopping destinations, gospel churches, and trips to other boroughs and cities (Philadelphia, Boston, Washington DC). Families with children of all ages are welcome!

FOR GROUPS OF 7-8, the owners will rent both properties at this location (2-BEDROOM #927780 and STUDIO #922743) simultaneously.

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 927780 in Harlem, New York

Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Welcoming stay in the city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at Kakuna's place for 2 weeks and felt like home right away. The appartment was spotless clean and had everything we needed (clean cotton towels, sheets, bathroom and kitchen equipment). The appartment is conveniently located 2 steps away from the subway that takes you to the city in 15 minutes. Kakuna and her husband are very welcoming and considerate, I would definitely recommend their appartments!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Exccelent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Everything ok; Kakuna Kerina is a wonderful person and an amazing house. We enjoyed very much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As always it has been the greatest of the experiences to stay in this apartment in Harlem. The owners are the best possible partners to share a stay in new york. We loved to be in harlem and of course will be the first option for the next time. Amazing!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
Eugene, Oregon USA
5

An Uptown Jewel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I have just finished a month long stay in this lovely home in Harlem. We've spent a month or more in NYC for the past 5 years and this is the first unit we will return to. So many things to love about this hundred year old remodeled brownstone: 1)The 2 bedrooms are in the back, so no street noise, 2) The subway is just a few steps away, 3) A washer/dryer and dishwasher (you won't find either any of those appliances in most rentals), 4) A functional, well-stocked kitchen, 5) A lovely, safe, neighborhood, 6) Wonderful hosts. We also like that the unit is on the 3rd floor with no one above us. Shopping and dining in the area is good and Whole Foods is just a few subway stops away, along with the Whole Foods Wine Shop, which stocks wine for all budgets. We're already confirmed for a month next year and expect this to be our NYC home away from home for many years.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Couldn't be happier

Couldn't be happier
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Kakuna was so helpful from the first contact to the moment we left; from giving us directions to get to the house, to giving us pointers on what to do and see in the area (Covo, an Italian restaurant she suggested was AMAZING!) . She knew my family was all getting together to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday, so she had cupcakes for us on arrival! She gave us great suggestions for restaurants and car services (which were more efficient and cheaper than the cabs!). The apartment was wonderful, exactly what I expected from the pictures. Everyone was comfortable in their beds, and I slept on the pullout couch in the living room which was also quite comfortable. Kakuna had some breakfast items in the refrigerator for us, and there was plenty of glasses, dishes, etc. for our use. The apartment was 1/2 a block from the subway which made it super convenient for us to go everywhere we wanted. I would definitely recommend staying here and hope its available the next time I'm in NYC.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great apartment, large, clean, everything you need. Very friendly host always available. We had a great stay. Highest recommendation!!
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

A Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We arrived after midnight and Kakuna was waiting and was very pleasant. We found orange jucie, milk, and cereal and we were so touched. Our family was very pleased with this location! The pictures and description of the location and apartment were very accurate. The property was very clean and very well maintained. As for customer service, Kakuna was a pleasure to deal with. She was very professional, friendly, and extremely helpful with any needs from the moment we contacted her with our interest in staying at their location. We would highly recommend this location. however, because this unit is on the third floor, it would not be suitable for the elderly, due to the stairs. It was very quiet and we felt right at home while on vacation!

Thank You so much Kakua!!!
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Wonderful apartment, Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I can't say enough good things about this apartment. It's just lovely! Bright, sunny, modern and so clean, perfect for a large family. We had 5 people total and we were very comfortable. Bedrooms are gorgeous, kitchen perfect & modern. Our host had cereal, fruit and juice already in the kitchen so we didn't have to run out for breakfast the next day. She gave us amazing suggestions for eating out, and the subway was literally steps away. We took the subway all over Manhattan. We loved this apartment, and can't' wait to go back! Thank you Kukuna we had a blast!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Charming And affordable in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Perfect location for direct access to subway at end of the street to take you anywhere in the city you need to go.
Apartment was fully furnished with everything from shampoo, to umbrellas in case it rained, washer and dryer, even orange juice, milk and butter, and coffee! Really felt like i was at HOME and not some hotel, and the price was cheaper then most hotels in the area! Beautiful kitchen and bathroom, nice private bedrooms and extra day bed for 5th adult.
Apartment IS on the third floor so not recommended for elderly or those having a hard time climbing a lot of stairs, but NYC in general would be hard for anyone who couldn't walk stairs really. The neighborhood was nice and clean and I felt safe the whole time, no trouble at all even at late hours of the night walking outside.
Kakuna is very friendly and helpful with questions or directing you around the city. Would LOVE to stay here again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Sunny, Two-Bedroom Full-Floor Apartment in Historic Harlem Brownstone
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p927780
+1 347 688-9328
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfect place, excelent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The apartment was excellent, clean and tidy, equipped with everything you need.
The owner of the apartment was very nice and helpful.
The apartment is in a prime location, situated 100 meters from the metro, so you're in the city center in just 15 minutes.
I recommend this apartment.

Andrija, Croatia, Europe