Guanajuato townhome rental - Front door entrance with frogs designed by local artist. 'Guanajuato' means 'Location of the Frogs'
Front door entrance with frogs designed by local artist. 'Guanajuato' means 'Location of the Frogs'
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Guanajuato Townhome Rental Photos and Description
One Queen bedroom, one & half bathroom, study with single sleeper, sleeps 3

This colonial-era house is in the historical center of Guanajuato, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is located at the intersection of two pedestrian streets. It has been newly renovated to U.S. standards with potable water, a great shower, good lighting, WiFi, a well equipped kitchen, and comfortable furniture. Stairs from the street door lead to the master bedroom and a separate study with shared bath. For convenience, there is a 'dumb waiter' to take luggage and groceries to second and third floors. Above the living area there is a private sun-drenched terrace with fabulous 360-degree views. Most evenings the Callejoneadas (student musicians), dressed in traditional Spanish costumes, lead groups singing along the historic streets. Its great location makes for easy walking to the markets, a plethora of restaurants, the university, museums, shopping, and the Jardin Union, the social heart of the city.

House details: There is a washing machine and clothesline on the roof. Ceiling fans are in the bedroom, study and living room/ dining area. The bedroom has good storage, bedside reading lights, a safe in the closet and a balcony. The living area has music with a large selection of CD’s. There are telephones for local calls only. No smoking is allowed in the house or on the roof. No pets. No children. The house sleeps two comfortably but does have a single sofa/bed in the study. The bathroom is between the bedroom and study. The half bath is located on the third floor near the living room and dining area.

Across the cobblestone walkway from the house is the San Roque church that is over 350 years old. The charming Plaza San Roque a few steps away is a principal venue for the Festival International Cervantino, one of Latin America’s most renowned cultural festivals. For a better map view go to google 'Templo San Roque Guanajuato Mexico'.

More Details
Hide Details

6 Reviews of Property 926741 in Guanajuato, Central Mexico / Colonial Circuit

Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926741
+1 5123276454
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Columbia, TN
5

I Was Never Blue in this Blue House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A bonus of staying at this spectacular home is that I never have to look for another place to stay in Guanajuato - this is the perfect spot! Watching the sunrise on the rooftop, hearing the bells and the birds and the town come alive was something I'll never forget. It was the only way to start a day in this magical town and the location of this blue house is absolutely where you'll want to be. The kitchen is ready to go - we loaded up on fresh everything at Mercado Hidalgo and got to cooking. A real plus is the kitchen water filter and there was a cold pitcher waiting for us upon arrival. The house manager made sure we had everything we could want and familiarized us with the home, so we felt comfortable from minute one. After a day of walking and exploring, to return to sunset on the roof to watch the sky turn the most spectacular colors, the comfy bed with wonderful pillows and sheets was like a mini-spa, making sure we were refreshed to do it all again the next day. These homeowners and house manager have gone to great lengths to furnish and maintain this home like I could only dream of doing in my own. Books, local art and regional crafts surrounded us and if the front door with all its frogs doesn't tell the story, I don't know what would. I did not say "adios" to this house, I said "haste luego", because I hope to return sooner than later!!
Owner's Response: We have worked very hard to make this Historical Home a magical place. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Hasta Luego, Marsha
business
Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926741
+1 5123276454
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Mill Spring, NC USA
5

Four nights is not enough

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This ultra charming apartment was an excellent choice. One of the best things about it was its location in the heart of the city so almost everything you would want to see was an easy walk away. Despite that fact, it was very quiet. In the evenings we were serananded by the local troubadores who sang and lectured to their large bands of followers. We could see and hear them without having to follow them around the city. This was something we looked forward to every night.

The apartment is not for the infirm because of the stairs, but healthy people will have no trouble walking up. It's beautifully remodeled with all the modern conveniences you could want. The kitchen is extremely well equpped and all the dishes and glassware are lovely. The house abounds in great pieces of Mexican folk art and books about Mexico and Mexican art. You can get a great view of the city from the roof as well as from the living room windows.

Diego Rivera's house is about three minutes away and is well worth visiting because so many of his paintings are there. If you are like us, you'll be amazed by his many different styles and periods his work displays. The mirador is a good hike or tram ride so you can get
a lovely overview of the city. It's easiest to take the tram up and it's a pleasant walk down.

The owners were so very helpful. They even helped carry our bags to our room because the dumb waiter had just broken before we arrived. There was nothing they wouldn't do or provide. It was as comfortable as staying at the home of your best friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The "dumb waiter" is a problem off and on. We are trying to get it completely repaired. Thank you for the nice words.
business
Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926741
+1 5123276454
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
5

A completely charming and comfortable home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a jewel this is. A true colonial in the best location in the beautiful city of Guanajuato. The owner has totally renovated and modernized without sacrificing its charm. It is very nicely furnished with high quality Mexican art and details by architect Rodolfo Ybarra. The bedroom is especially comfortable and attractive, while a small second bedroom can sleep one or function as an office. The top floor contains the living room, dining area, a well equipped kitchen, and a half bath. From here there are lovely views all around and stairs leading to a rooftop deck. And, there is a dumb waiter for carrying bags and groceries to the various levels!

The location of this charmer is superb; it's on a small, pedestrian only street next to the historic church of San Roque, and easily within walking distance of all the sights, shops and restaurants. A perfect place to enjoy the beauty of colonial Mexico. I recommend without reservation.
business
Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926741
+1 5123276454
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
5

An incredible find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My mother, teenagers and I escaped the Thanksgiving holidays by staying in this comfortable home. Off a pedestrian street and close to both the San Fernando and Jardin Reforma Plazas, the home is very well situated in the town, with fresh baked bread, the market, and multiple museums within blocks of the house. The university is only a five minute walk away. The house is as described, and full of incredible folk art collected by the owners. We made many delicious impromptu meals in the well-equipped kitchen, and also enjoyed some amazing lunches and dinners in nearby restaurants. We were also lucky enough to catch a folk dancing performance at the Teatro Juarez! One day we took a bus to San Miguel (air conditioned, with foot rests, snack and a movie) to do some additional shopping, and were happy return to hills of Guanajuato that night. Some evenings we would enjoy the sunset on the roof, and later be serenaded by the walking minstrels of the town, who take visitors on a walking, drinking, and singing tour of the city. I would highly recommend this special place and we can't wait to come back again.
business
Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926741
+1 5123276454
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
Austin, Texas, USA
4

3 mos in darling casita in uniquely Mexican city

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We loved it! Casa San Roque offers location, comfort, security and cultural immersion. A cozy casita perfectly suited for those who want to feel the authentic pulse of Mexican life. Situated in the very heart of this ancient Spanish colonial city, it is easy walking distance to everything in the centro one would want to see or need to do. At the intersection of two pedestrian-only streets, there are no fumes or traffic noises from cars, trucks or buses. The sounds of daily life in a small Mexican city are all around. Children play games in the street; bells toll; dogs bark; gas and water men call out their presence in the neighborhood. In the evening, Renaissance-garbed troubadours (“estudiantinas”) stroll by serenading their following tourists just beneath the windows. Street musicians, actors and mimes play in the plazuelas. Fortunately, the sleeping hours between 11:00 p.m. and 8 a.m. are usually serenely quiet.

Your living and sleeping quarters, filled with folk art from all around the world, are high above the bustle of the street, affording you the option of observing the pageant below from a safe and secure vantage point, or else opening the door and joining the locals going about their daily activities. The casa is light and bright, nicely furnished, with a generously outfitted kitchen, comfortable beds, and a wonderful housekeeper! The owner is lovely to communicate with and happy to help in any way.

Guanajuato is an amazing city of more pedestrian lanes than streets. We were amazed to find so many cultural opportunities: symphony, classical concerts, movies, lectures, plays, and national/international talent performing in Teatro Juarez. The Guanajuato International Film Festival and the International Cervantes Festival are worth planning an entire trip around. We walked everywhere day and evening enjoying the street life, the parks and plazas, markets, restaurants, music, etc. A few restaurants we enjoyed: Mestizos, Casa Valadez, Chao Bella, El Abue.

ENJOY!
Owner's Response: As our guests discovered, Guanajuato is a "happening" Mexican culture. We hope you can stay in our house and enjoy exploring this colonial city.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique home in central, historic Guanajuanto, Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926741
+1 5123276454
Guanajuato Guanajuato State
5

Easy, Convenient, Comfortable, Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We whole heartily recommend this townhome. The owner’s description is spot on. GTO is a walking city and we found it to be an easy walk from the townhome to the center of the city, museums, shops, restaurants, markets and theaters. We always felt safe walking, day or night.
The house was very clean and comfortable, and the overall ambiance and the variety of folk art are delightful. Although we often dined out, we found it easy to buy food and prepare it in the well-equipped kitchen. Also, knowing that the kitchen had potable water was reassuring.
The living/dining area was a bright and airy place to enjoy our meals and just spend time relaxing. The bedroom and study were attractive and the beds comfortable – we slept well.
The townhome is on a pedestrian-only street. We found our neighbors to be friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Upon arrival it was quite convenient for the taxi to drop us off at the hotel just down the street and then walk about 50 yards to the house on Calle San Roque.
Tom & Peggy Sheehan
Owner's Response: It was so nice to have guests enjoy the "casa" and Guanajuato as I do when I am there. It is a very special place. We have added another reading light to the living room area as suggested.
I am working on a foot stool for the couches. Cheers. Meta
Helpful votes: 4/4