Montreal cottage rental - Our new home spa was delivered on January 31, 2013 -- you will enjoy it !
Our new home spa was delivered on January 31, 2013 -- you will enjoy it !
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps18
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Montreal Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 King, 3 Queen, 2 Double, 1 huge home spa, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Ideally located at the corner of Saint Urbain and Rachel, main entrance of Parc Jeanne Mance and Parc Mont Royal, the heart of the Plateau Mont Royal, one of the fashionable neighbourhoods in North America. Close to pubs, cafes, shops and a laissez-faire ambience, we offer magnificent large and open areas over two floors totalling 1,600ft² plus a South-West facing terrace of 400ft². Including:

- Heating, cooling, ventilation and electricity ;

- 42'' plasma television HD with Videotron PVR-HD and subscription ;

- Unlimited high-speed internet ;

- Unlimited local calls ;

- 1 master bedroom with two double beds and private bathroom ;

- 1 huge and luxurious home spa with bath and shower ;

- 1 bathroom upstairs with toilet and vanity ;

- 1 big bedroom with King bed ;

- 2 bedrooms with Queen bed ;

- 1 huge and luxurious kitchen all equipped ;

- 1 dining space with dining table for 8-10 persons ;

- 1 enormous 600ft² open space with sofa for 8-10 persons ;

- 1 presidential office space with personal computer in the open space ;

- 1 ottoman Queen bed in the open space ;

- 1 400ft² private terrace.

South-West orientation with sunlight all year round.

COMFORT AND SUSTAINABILITY WITHOUT COMPROMISE: This building is Green in many ways -- next to the best biking and hiking trails that Montréal can offer, walking distance from commercial areas, easy access to public transportation, etc. It was also renovated to the highest existing sustainability standards by leading specialists from ABOVE Technologies inc. including:

- extra indoor natural light provided by top quality LED lights achieving -85% reduction in power consumption ;

- full-capacity geothermal heating and cooling saving -75% on heating and -25% on cooling ;

- geothermal preheating of domestic water and heat recovery from used water saving -25% and more ;

- re-insulation of the building as new saving -30% in heating and cooling ;

- water-efficient toilets ;

- ENERGY STAR® appliances.

These features exceed ENERGY STAR® and LEED® criteria by far, probably making it the Greenest residential building in downtown Montréal. Carbon footprint is estimated to be -60% below comparable buildings in the area.

More Details
Hide Details

We manage this property since 2011.

Yuris purchased this cottage in 2010

We acquired this property for its perfect business and leisure location in Montréal Qc and its historic cachet and quality.

It is an historic cottage from 1880 completely renovated better than new in the period 2004-2013 using the latest Green technologies and standards available. We recently contracted a third-party evaluation of the property. Cost of construction alone came out at about 1.2M$.

14 Reviews of Property 926584 in Montreal, Quebec

AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 14 reviews
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
5

Exactly as Described!! Miss It Already!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We recently stayed at the penthouse at the Gate of Mount Royal from September 27th through the 29th. The apartment was exactly as described in the posting from ABOVE Technologies. We dealt with Thierry prior to check-in who was EXTREMELY responsive on all questions asked. Having to deal with the logistics of a different country, Thierry went out of his way to ensure there were no issues with payment and check-in.

The penthouse itself is very large and spacious. The outdoor patio with grill was a great addition to the weekend. No complaints and our weekend went without a hitch. The kitchen was fully stocked with plates and glassware which was perfect for a group dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed Montreal and it was due in most part because of our accommodations. You can't beat the location on St. Laurent. St. Laurent can be very busy, and the penthouse was fortunately a block away from the heavy traffic. Close enough to walk everywhere and quiet enough to get a good night's rest.

I can't speak highly enough about Thierry's level of professionalism throughout the trip. Never did I once feel uncomfortable or worried. It made such a difference to our trip.

I look forward to my next trip to Montreal and will absolutely consider coming back to the penthouse. Two thumbs up.
Owner's Response: Thanks for supporting us, Chris. We enjoyed working with your group and will welcome you in Montréal again soon. Our pleasure !
Helpful votes: 10/15
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
5

Great location, very spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Very spacious appartment within walking distance of a lot of restaurants, bars etc. Located on a quiet street close to parks and only about 20 minutes walk from Old Montreal. The appartment is very clean, has fantastic beds, good quality bedding and towels and two full baths and one 2-piece. All you need for your stay in great Montreal!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

An elegant and comfortable home away -- (*****)

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Great location and beautifully decorated from top to bottom. A warm, cozy escape that's a perfect change to the monotony of hotel living. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a truly unique experience in Montreal. A definite bargain in the heart of this stunning metropolis.
Helpful votes: 6/12
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Girls Weekend -- (*****)

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our group of university friends from Ontario and the East Coast wanted to reunite in Montreal for a weekend, so we decided to rent an apartment instead of staying at a hotel. This was my first time renting a place using airbnb, and it was the best decision that we could have made! The Penthouse was beautiful, clean and spacious enough for 9 girls to comfortably stay. The beds were comfy, the kitchen was stocked with the necessary pots and pans for cooking, and rooftop terrace was fantastic as well. The space was more suitable for visiting than a hotel would have been and it was much less expensive as well. The location was great - there is a grocery and liquor store within walking distance (5 minutes) which was very convenient. We were interested in shopping on St Catherine's street which was only a short cab drive away (the cost was appx $10.00) Thierry was a fantastic host - he quickly replied to any inquiries that I had and made us feel very welcome. I would certainly highly recommend this rental property.
Helpful votes: 5/11
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfectly Easy -- (*****)

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had an amazing vacation and the location was perfect. The apartment was spacious and the rooftop patio was amazing. It had everything we needed.
Helpful votes: 5/11
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Absolutely Perfect! -- (*****)

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I stayed here for a weekend with friends and we absolutely loved it! The owners were great too - very helpful and extremely organised. Location couldn't have been better either, we were within walking distance of everything we needed - Schwartz's, Cafe Santropol, grocery store, running trails (the mountain), Fairmount Bagels... Would definitely like to stay here if I ever have another Montreal vacation with friends!
Helpful votes: 5/10
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
1

STAY AWAY, STAY AWAY, STAY AWAY

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
2500 words is insufficient for describing this nightmare and too bad you can't give zero stars.
We booked the property in February by putting down half the rent by paypal. When we went to pay the second half, the landlord told us that as of the week before, he was no longer accepting payment by paypal and we had to wire the funds, internationally. Facing the forfeiture of our deposit, we agreed (and incurred the respective fee for which we were not reimbursed). The landlord then made us sign a rental agreement which contained several terms never previously disclosed (like the number of guests allowed, no being outside after 10 and several bases for which you would forfeit your deposit). Again, having already paid thousands of dollars and feeling blackmailed, we agreed. Then came the security deposit. The website provided that the security deposit could be paid at check in by credit card. The landlord, however, tried to make us pay by wire a week before. After several emails (the landlord does not ever answer the phone) and contacting HomeAway, we were able to pay by credit card but only by using MasterCard SecureCode.

Checkin was also a nightmare. The landlord will only email or text you the code to the lock box to get in right before 5pm (he would not let us check in early), which meant having to get international data service. After all this, the lock box didn't work and we had to be met to be let in (which meant we also had to be at the house anytime one of the later guests arrived).

Once inside, the place was dirty, worn and full of other people's belongings. The floors hadn't been swept and the pantry, fridge and bathroom cabinets were full of other people's property. Given the landlord's antics, we spent an hour documenting and photographing the damages. The landlord responded by offering to have someone come clean the following day, but we didn't trust anyone being there while we were not.

The description is also misleading. This is a 3 bedroom house, with one bedroom having two beds in it and two beds literally being in the middle of the living room.

Although the website says deposits refunded in 7 days, the landlord charged our credit card $360 almost 3 weeks after we left. He claimed we were outside after 10 and a neighbor complained. The landlord never responded to our formal complaint with HomeAway and we are still disputing the deposit. This was the worst rental experience of my life. Stay away at all costs.
Owner's Response: Dear Jeremy,

We perfectly understand your frustration as you have been one of a few groups in between two booking processes. As of June 2013, we require a signed contract and don't accept credit cards anymore for non-residents. Our booking policies posted on our website and our contract have not changed however. Our security deposit is held against property misuse. Therefore, when neighbors are woken up at 3AM in the night by a loud group speaking and laughing on the outside deck, we can hold your security deposit in full as is the case with many other vacation rentals and hotels in the city. You have accepted these terms and were happy with your stay until you were charged on your security deposit for this night disturbance. We are sorry but we cannot allow such misuse and will not refund the 360CA$ retained by us at this moment even after complaining to HomeAway.com and blackmailing us with bad reviews.

We remind you that you lost your HomeAway.com case already and our listing will not be removed from this website. By opening cases against us, you have closed our communication channel as we have been required to respond to third parties about them. We remind you that we already accommodated you in the past by accepting a late reconfirmation of your stay without cancelling, by accepting a payment with a non-resident credit card and by offering to charge you only 33% of the security deposit for your misuse of our house. Creating all this damage to us including complaints and bad reviews is not helping your case and our decision to not compromise with you further is final.

Wishing you a great experience with other vacation rentals and hotels !
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
5

Beautiful historical cottage with a modern twist

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This penthouse is exactly as described, amazing. We were a group of 9 thirty year old women visiting from Toronto who wanted to spend a girls weekend together in Montreal. The property exceeded all of our expectations. Although it is a historical cottage, it was very modern and clean inside. We had more than enough space, bathrooms and beds for 9 of us to keep us comfortable. We actually opted to stay in the penthouse most of our stay because we really enjoyed the rooftop patio where we were able to barbeque and lounge around the patio table. The kitchen had everything we needed therefore we prepared a lot of meals ourselves. We didn’t have an iron or an ironing board but once I requested it, one was kindly and promptly provided outside of our apartment door. The location was perfect, close to the grocery store, the SAQ, restaurants, clubs and bars. You can either walk or take a short cab ride.

We only had a few problems, one being which the keys were not available in the lockbox upon arrival so we had to wait only a couple of minutes outside of the building until I could get a hold of someone to open the door and provide us with keys. And the second problem was that we received a noise complaint from a neighbour for talking on the rooftop patio at 2am. There were only 2-3 of us on the patio at a time and it wasn’t that we were talking loudly but rather the buildings are very close in proximity so it is no surprise that the neighbours can simply hear us speaking especially on a hot summer night where their windows were open. Other than that it is a great property and I would definitely recommend it to other people.
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
Ottawa
5

Amazing!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This property had everything I imagined and more. This beautifully renovated home had a gorgeous kitchen, beautiful modern bathrooms and had a very fresh new vibe to it. It was like walking into a New York City type condo. Walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants and bars was a plus. Plenty of free parking made things so much easier as well.

If you're looking for a little getaway to either take in a hockey game or just visit the city, this is the place to stay. The price was right and I much rather stay this beautiful home than a hotel.

2 thumbs way up!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy that our penthouse exceeded your expectations, Norm. We just want to underline that our property is not a condo. It is an historic cottage from 1880 completely renovated better than new in the period 2004-2013 using the latest Green technologies and standards available. We founded in 2004 and are still running the first Green Building management firm in Quebec. We recently contracted a third-party evaluation of the property. Cost of construction came out at about 1.2M$. As real-estate professionals, we have never heard of a developer in Montreal or in New York that would spend 1.2M$ for buidling a condo. Our property is way beyond even a luxury condo. Ask an architect and he will confirm. Have a great day !
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
AMAZING 6½ PENTHOUSE AT THE GATE OF MOUNT ROYAL !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p926584
Montreal Quebec
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Very nice place to get way for few days. The Penthouse at the gate of mount looks just like on the pictures, very clean and beautiful. It is very quiet place, I did not hear a single noise which I was looking for at the beginning. I did not have hard time to park my car in Montreal for the first, so that was a big plus. I will go back to this place again, but next time with some friends because it is a lot of space and beds. I will recommend to anyone who is looking for a luxury, and spacious place in the heart of Montreal.
Thank you,
Jennifer Campbell
Helpful votes: 5/6