Beautiful house, bad hospitality
Although the house is beautiful, well equipped and well situated, the owners' attitude was so awful that it destroyed our ability to enjoy the house. Due to some unfortunate misunderstanding, which they didn't bother to check and correct, they made us feel uneasy, unwanted and not at all welcome throughout the whole stay. Their approach was: "my guest is my enemy", from the day we arrived - when they showed us the house and gave us specific instructions what to touch and what not to touch, until the final day, in which they came to inspect the house, equipped with flashlights, for over an hour, and then returned a few hours later to recheck it!! The general feeling was that we were unwelcome. What good is a beautiful house if the hosts make you feel uncomfortable that you are there?
Owner's Response: We do not appreciate this misleading review from our guests, especially considering the circumstances of their stay.We feel the obligation to clarify the reasoning behind their “unwelcoming” experience and to explain the events that were factual, not a “misunderstanding”. Our general standard is to be very welcoming to all guests.Prior to the guests' arrival, we were forewarned by the owner of the house that they had previously rented in another Luberon village that we should be cautious with these guests.Apparently they had left her home quite dirty, broken a marble table, covered it to hide the damage, and merely left the house key in the mailbox.She regretted that she had not been more careful with their check in and had not completed a check out process.We assume that this references the “not checked misunderstanding” written in the guest's comment.We did not want to pre-judge, but chose to take extra precaution with the check in/check out process and of course insuring the receipt of deposit. The guests arrived unprepared to fulfill their end of our rental agreement and defensive when asked to provide the deposit.We had a modified agreement with these guests that allowed them to pay the habitual one week rental cost + deposit upon arrival instead of at least 15 days prior to rental.This agreement confirmed.We even sent a reminder 20 days prior to check-in via mail. They did not have a deposit ready.We allowed them 2 days to collect the necessary funds for the deposit.The tension began there.During check in Mr. and Mrs.H were extremely rude and their children unruly.They allowed them to play football with an extremely ripe, ready to explode melon inside the house in our presence and did not watch over a 5 year old who was playing by the swimming pool (for which we were of course concerned).After check in, we did not see them until check out since they did not need our assistance.M&Mrs H. informed us that they would be leaving at 4 am Saturday and asked if the check out could be done Friday at 9 pm.The check out took us longer than usual(more difficult to check the status of a home while there are still the guests' belongings within).We proposed to wire the deposit to their bank account on Monday.They preferred that the transaction not appear on their bank account and asked that we return at 3:30 am with the deposit: then YES, when jumping out of bed, not totally awake flashlights help when it is darkWe are not at all used to this kind of relationshi
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?