Bear Creek cabin rental - Front View of Cabin
Front View of Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bear Creek Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, full kitchen, sleeps 4

Located in the peaceful community of Bear Creek Lakes, this authentic log home is nestled on a quiet, wooded acre. Come grill on the back deck and relax in the hot tub. Head down to the lakeside beach with your favorite raft. You will have access to the lake, pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, softball field and playground within the Bear Creek Lake Community. In winter, ski all day and return to the cozy hot tub and Vermont Castings gas fireplace. Full kitchen, internet, cable and the cozy cabin decor will help you feel right at home. Enjoy the exposed beams and the charm of log cabin living.

This is a NO SMOKING, NO PET, provide your own sheets and towels rental.

Bear Creek Lake is a very FAMILY-ORIENTED community.

Located nearby: Historic Town of Jim Thorpe, Mauch Chunk Railroad, Penn's Peak, White Water Rafting, Skirmish Paint Ball, Beltzville State Park, Hickory Run State Park, Big Boulder/ Jack Frost Ski Area and Split Rock Water Park.

Downhill Skiing/ Snowboarding / Golfing: Centrally located to several Pocono ski areas:

Blue Mountain (20 miles) skiing and tubing,

Jack Frost Big Boulder (11 miles),

Camelback (18 miles),

Shawnee (31 miles).

Be sure to check Summer Activities and Fall Festivals if you are visiting in the non-winter holiday.

Split Rock Golf Resort (10 miles),

Blue Ridge Country Club (9 miles).

State Parks/ Fishing/ Boating/ CC Skiing: Hickory Run State Park (16 miles) You will not want to miss the experience of visiting Hickory Run State Park's Boulder Field. A geographical phenomenon that you will never forget. Trails - Picnicking - Swimming - Fishing - Hunting - Disc Golf - Wildlife Watching - Cross-country Skiing - Snowmobiling - Ice Skating

Beltzville State Park (11 miles) Hiking - Covered Bridge - Picnicking - Swimming - Boating - Launching and Mooring - Water-skiing - Fishing - Hunting - Cross-country Skiing - Ice Fishing - Ice Boating.

Historic Town of Jim Thorpe/ Biking/ Whitewater: Located just a few miles outside the town of Jim Thorpe, this mountain/lake setting will still provide full access to Pennsylvania town life. Walk down the historic main streets or take a train ride from the Mauch Chunk train station.

Pocono Whitewater Ltd ( .5 miles),

Skirmish Paintball (5 miles),

Penn's Peak (5 miles),

Lehigh Gorge State Park Rail-Trail - 25 miles of pure nature, including small waterfalls, and continuous views of the Lehigh River. Jim Thorpe to White Haven. Trailhead near Mauch Chunk Rail Station.

Split Rock Water Resort (10 miles),

Mauch Chunk Train Station (6 miles)

Bushkill Falls (54 miles)

Becky's Drive In Theatre Inc (18 miles)

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 923632 in Bear Creek, Pennsylvania

Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Fantastic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I rented the cabin for a weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The owners were lovely, responded to any questions we had quickly, and best of all they let us check in as early as we wanted and check out as late as we wanted. It was like adding an extra day to our stay. The hot tub was absolutely fantastic, we were in it a few times each day. The cabin was relatively secluded, very quiet and peaceful. My only suggestion to the owners would be maybe updating the TV - the cable worked just fine, but I guess we are spoiled with high def TV. We didn't really come to watch TV, so I still give the place 5 stars. You won't regret staying here. The pictures on the website don't quite do it justice, it was roomier than we expected. The master bedroom has its own separate hallway, making it very private from the other bedrooms and the loft sleeping area. The deck and the gazebo over the hot tub looked new and was really nice. We had a great time.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Extra long weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Had a wonderful time in the cabin. We got lucky and had a little snow, just enough to cover the ground which made it even better. The town of Jim Thorpe is absolutely wonderful, even though we went to town after the St. Patrick's Day Parade and most shops were closed. For all the people who cannot do without there is a Walmart a short drive away. We are looking forward to a stay in the warmer months to check out the lake. Also went on a 7.26 mile hike to the Boulder Field, and lets just say hiking in PA is not like hiking in DE. All in all a wonderful time and would recommend the cabin to anyone who wants to get away without being too far away.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Wow what a great weekend. Amy and I arrived early on Friday to find the house exactly as advertised. Natalie was very helpful with all communication both prior to arrival, during our stay and also upon departure. The rental was the cleanest property that we have rented including the hot tub. We were able to arrive as early as we wanted on Friday and stay as late as we wanted on Sunday. All arrival instructions and departure instructions were clearly explained and easy to understand. This does not happen with all rentals. The pictures do not do any justice for this rental. What an amazing experience. We spent most of the day Friday, relaxing in the hot tub. I proposed and Amy said yes!!! We spent the rest of the weekend sightseeing in Jim Thorpe and the general area. We would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quiet relaxing getaway that is close in proximity to anything needed. Natalie's customer service, information, directions and overall communication was second to none. Oh and did I mention the hot tub was clean, amazing and very relaxing. I am sure we wil be staying her again in the future. Again a huge thank you to Natalie and Jim for giving us the opportunity to stay and their house as it will commemorate a very special time for Amy and I.
Owner's Response: Gene and Amy,
Thanks so much for the kind reviews. Congratulations on your engagement! We would love to have you back anytime. Thank YOU for leaving the house so clean! It is always appreciated.

Best Wishes on a wonderful wedding and future together!
Natalie and Jim
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Jim Thorpe Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We were so pleased with this charming rental cottage! The log cabin feel and rustic country decor give you a warm, relaxed feeling right away! But, the cabin has all the modern conveniences that you would need and was very clean. The description and pictures of the Kegelman's Log Home are totally accurate. What I didn't realize, was that there are actually two hallways- one with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom off of it and the other one with the master bedroom and connecting master bathroom off of it. I really liked this layout, and although we were just one couple, I see where it would be great if there were more people or kids - you'd each have your own area. (Also, my husband was happy that he had his own bathroom. Ha!)
The owners were very thoughtful and concerned about our wants and comfort - they replied quickly to any questions we had and were a delight to deal with!
We enjoyed the hot tub and we also used the bikes one day and rode around through the pretty community of Bear Creek Lake with it's lake, two beaches and forested roads- lots of beautiful cottages and homes all over, but very private because of all the trees.( I will say that the bikes were a little old and a couple of them were in need of air in the tires, but we managed, and it was a bonus to have them anyways.) We saw deer at the back of the cabin and also while driving through the community - there seem to be lots of them around! I wish we would have had time to use the canoe- the lake looked so nice!
We loved the town of Jim Thorpe and looked through a lot of the great little shops. Also, we went on the hour long train ride along the river. We decided to go first class which is a section of the train that is set up like it would have been in the 1930's or 40's, I think. We were the only ones in first class, so got to sit outside on the back of the train and had the best view you could get! Got lots of great pics of the mountains and river with rafters. We also took a tour of the Harry Packer Mansion. Lots to do in that picturesque little town!
We want to come back and bring some friends or family and we would definitely stay here again! It's very central to lots of attractions and has lots of room. Will recommend it to all we know!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
West Chester, Pennsylvania
5

Wonderful Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a peaceful and wonderful retreat! My husband and I spent an entirely relaxing but adventurous week in your delightful cabin. We hiked, biked, and kayaked, and always ended our day by a relaxing evening in the hot tub. It was so quiet and peaceful there and we enjoyed every moment of it. The last two nights, we had several kayak friends join us (we were all going to kayak the LeHigh on the weekend), and we easily slept 8 people there with room to spare! Thank you so much -- we agreed it's the best vacation we've ever had.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
4

Spacious Cabin close to Everything!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This cabin was the perfect getaway for my husband and I. It is close to a lot of activities but still secluded. It is very spacious and has a seperate master bedroom/bath suite off the kitchen. You could easily fit 10-12 people. The kitchen is stocked with all amenities. Ceiling fans in every room was nice to circulate the air when the windows were open. The large deck with hot tub and was nice for relaxing after a day on your feet. We also enjoyed a fire on our last evening. Dealing with booking was easy and stress free. It was nice to know we could call during our trip if we had any questions. We are definitly going to plan a trip back.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Cozy Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This cabin is everything it advertises and more. Went up for a birthday celebration weekend with the family and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed rafting, hot tubbing, game playing and most of all sitting around the fire at night. Great owners to deal with. Any questions were answered quickly. Hoping to get back again soon. Thanks for providing a cozy, clean and calming getaway.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This Log home is awesome!! It is in such a convenient yet quiet and secluded area. Very home like and perfect for any group looking for some good alone time with friends or family. I went with a group of 6 and we had the best weekend we have had in such a long time. The hot tub is amazing! We didnt want to leave!! I will definitely be looking to stay here on a regular basis. Big thank you to the Kegelmans!!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much. We are so happy to hear you had a great time!
~Natalie and Jim
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Amazing Cabin!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We rented this cabin for a weekend getaway and had such a wonderful time. It is beautiful inside and out, very spacious, well kept, comfortable, relaxing and very cozy. The owners are very polite and friendly. We definitely are planning when we will return. Highly recommend.
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear this! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kegelman's Log Home in Bear Creek Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923632
+1 3027644807
Bear Creek Poconos
5

Perfect poconos cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The house is great. The pictures and descriptions are accurate. The cabin is very unique, clean and adorable! The loft and hot tub were so much fun! They made everything easy for us. There are instructions for everything. You just need towels and sheets - they supply everything else. It comfortably sleeps 10 people (one queen bed is in the loft). We also loved going downtown for bars, restaurants, little shops, etc. Perfect vacation. We will definitely be renting this house again!
Owner's Response: Kim and Jason,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. We would love to have you back anytime. Best wishes to you both.
Natalie and Jim Kegelman
Helpful votes: 1/1