Volcano cottage rental - The sleeping loft is surrounded by windows.
The sleeping loft is surrounded by windows.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Volcano Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, studio + loft, 1 bath (Sleeps 1-6)

In the Hawaiian language, a kipuka is a kind of oasis. It can be an island of forest surrounded by lava fields, saved from volcano goddess Pele's embrace. Or a kipuka can be an opening within a forest, or even a dwelling, a home within the forest. This is our Kipuka -- a cottage, a vacation home for you here on Hawai'i Island (''the Big Island''). We look forward to sharing it with you, and we welcome your questions.

Kipuka Cottage is in a native Hawaiian rainforest just a 7-minute drive from amazing Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, where you can see the steaming glowing summit crater of Kilauea volcano. There are miles of hiking trails through lush forest and rocky volcanic landscapes. There are ancient historic sites, a volcano museum, art galleries, good restaurants, a wonderful community farmers market (don't miss the used-book store) -- and even a small bowling alley! A black-sand beach where turtles sunbathe is 30-minute drive in one direction. And 30 minutes in the other direction is the fun, funky, historic town of Hilo.

We are your hosts, husband and wife Bill Harby and Marie-France Robert. Bill is an American freelance travel writer, editor and photographer who has lived in Hawai‘i for 31 years. He is happy to answer your questions about Hawai‘i. Marie-France is Swiss-Canadian, and works as the senior health, safety, and environment specialist for a multi-national company. We met in 1975 in Neuchatel, Switzerland, Marie-France’s hometown. After two memorable days together, we lost track of each other for 32 years. Then, after several marvelous miracles, we married in 2009, and now call both Volcano and Montmollin, Switzerland home.

Bill designed and built this lovely (if he does say so himself) cottage because he fell in love with the Volcano area when he first visited it as a child. Years later, while living in Honolulu, he learned that this beautiful patch of secluded forest near Volcano village was available, so he bought it and began drawing plans for his dream home. Then he convinced his good friend Terence, a master carpenter to build it. Kipuka Cottage is the result. Bill lived there full-time for 7 years before getting married. He and his wife Marie-France now divide their time between Volcano and Switzerland. One day they will retire at Kipuka, but for now they are happy to share it with people who love custom architecture and interior design in a secluded dramatic natural setting.

21 Reviews of Property 923214 in Volcano, Hawaii

Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
5

Quirky Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This place was great, we stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our 3 week vacation. It's on the side of the island that gets a lot of rain, in an area that feels like a jungle. Two nights was perfect for us, as we went to the Kona side for the rest of our time there (sunny side of the island). It had all the comforts needed and we loved going to the volcano, lava tube and steam vents. The only thing I didn't like was that when you first arrive, the place smells old and wet, but you get used to it. I would still highly recommend it and we loved all the quirky items through out the house and yard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Robyn. Mahalo for taking the time to post this review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipuka. Alas, humidity inside and out is a fact of life in a rainforest. We run our dehumidifier between each of our guests, but the forest will have its way!

A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Gurnee, IL
5

Our favorite part of our trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I am so late in writing this review, however I was looking back at pictures from our trip to Hawaii and fell in love with this cottage all over again. We spent 2 weeks in Hawaii - 4 days in Volcano, then took a cruise for 7 days, then the remaining few days on Oahu. When I told my husband about the Sublime Forest Cottage (in the middle of a rainforest, 1 bedroom, no TV) he was not very enthused about my decision. However after coming back from our trip, he informed me that our stay in Volcano was by far his favorite part of the trip and he wished we could stayed there longer.

This cottage is absolutely beautiful!!! I cannot say enough about the uniqueness of the design, the gorgeous surroundings and the peacefulness of the area. I took a bath every morning in the incredible tub...windows wide open, listening to the birds chirping. Absolutely paradise! In the evenings, we pulled out our laptop, found a cheesy movie on Netflix, cuddled up together with a glass of wine and had an extremely romantic time. Note: Volcano Winery is only a few miles away from Volcano National Park. We went for a wine tasting there then brought back a few bottles to enjoy during our stay.

As with other guests, we did get into Volcano earlier than the check-in time. The woman that cleans the home was there and was kind enough to let us dump off our bags and groceries and she suggested places to eat/ things to do for a couple hours while she finished cleaning (and she did a wonderful job cleaning - the place was spotless). Since we were there over the 4th of July, she also left us information regarding the following day's 4th of July parade and actiivities that took place in Volcano. We did go to the parade then the celebrations after. Soooo much fun!! We were so thankful for her letting us know about the July 4th activities. Btw, there is a little 'hole in the wall' Thai place in downtown Volcano that is phenominal! By far the best Thai food we've ever had.

As other reviewers mentioned, I do have to agree that the only thing I could possibly improve in this gorgeous home is the cushions. Also, the bed upstairs was a bit too firm for my husband so I ended up sleeping upstairs and my husband slept on the futon downstairs.

Overall, we loved, loved, loved this place!!! and can't wait to come back!
Owner's Response: Aloha Laurie.

We're happy you fell in love with our bathtub -- and everything else! Hope to see you again!

~Bill
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

thank you for your advice on staying a little long

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Hi bill. Back home in canada where there is snow on the ground, and just going through old emails. Just wanted to tell you that, looking back on our trip to hawaii, i do believe that volcano and kipuka cottage are my highlights!! Considering we were also on the kohala coast at the fairmont orchid, and in kauai on the coconut coast, that is no small feat!! Loved the cottage, the volcanoes and hiking. And honestly, the climate in volcano was more to my liking than all the heat we encountered everywhere else. (Not complaining though) Anyway, thank you for your advice on staying a little longer than i had originally intended. We are so glad we did.
Mahalo!
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
5

A delightful private retreat in the rainforest.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a beautiful cottage, hidden in the rainforest. There are enormous windows all around and at first I thought there was no privacy when taking a shower or when going to bed. However, there is no need. The house is surrounded by jungle and far from any neighbors. It is the most private place you can think of. A car can be heard only once in every few hours. What an amazing place. This is at some elevation and the weather during the days was generally very pleasant and cool at night.

The mattress on the bed and the cushions in the chairs were a little less than ideal, but we got used to the bed. The porch is also beautiful. Believe the photo's; that's what it looks like.

Thank you for letting us stay here. We would love to have a home like this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Michiel,

We're delighted you enjoyed Kipuka so much -- especially the seclusion. We agree with you that some of the chair cushions are past their prime, and will replace those soon. We hope you'll come visit us again soon.

A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

une maison si idyllique

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hi Bill,

merci beaucoup pour nous avoir offert une maison si idyllique, si commode et si marrante avec plein de coins
et angles de surprise, meublé avec beaucoup de gout, d'amour et de fantasie.
On se sentait tres bien dans votre petite
oase et on est rentré avec plein de nouvelles inspirations et idées.
Appart le temps (on ne s'est pas attendu une tel
difference de temperature (de 35 a 16 °)et de la pluie permanente), tout marchait super bien et il n'y a absolument
rien a reprocher.
Je vous remercie pour votre organisation simple et vite et pour avoir contribué a rendre ces vacances
dans une des vacances plus magnifiques qu'on a jamais eu.

merci,
je vais surement recommander cette maison a des amis,
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
New Jersey
5

So Near...Yet So Far

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Peaceful, quite, comfortable, serene. Stunning, awesome, beautiful. There are so many words that could be used to describe this one of a kind find in the middle of a rainforest. The cottage is clean very well maintained. there are a number of amenities including spices ,coffee ,tea ,shampoo, soap ,CD & mini CD player. The photos on this site accurately show the rental. I assure you WILL be more impressed in person. The property is in the rainforest secluded but yet only a few minutes drive to the town of Volcano as well as the National Park. IF you want to feel like you are really getting away from it all but yet still in proximity to what you came for, this is it. I can easily recommend this property to anyone. FYI, you may not want to leave. Enjoy it. Aloha.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo "Brett" for taking the time to write. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kipuka Cottage. We look forward to your return one day.

A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Georgetown, Suoth Carolina
5

Loved this place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We arrived early at the cottage knowing full well we would not be able to enter at that time (our flight was early)but we just wanted to have a look see. Arlene, was just arriving to ready the cottage for us and was quite accommodating and friendly.She allowed us to leave our bags and few groceries and gave us some ideas on places to visit for a few hours.
Arriving back at the cottage a few hours later it was spotless.We explored the house and the grounds for a few, all the time exclaiming how it was so much more than we expected!!! We settled on the porch with a nice glass of wine and began our vacation.
The Cottage is not far from the Volcanoes National Park. The Park is an amazing place to visit and we recommend you plan on a few days just to explore it. We came back after viewing the Lava glow that evening and lit a nice fire in the wood burning stove. Such Ambiance!!
The little Volcano Village has some GREAT restaurants with our favorite being the Kilauea Lodge. But you must remember to make reservations as they are quite small and popular.
The cottage is not far from Hilo which we found to be quaint and charming. We even rented kayaks from the local Hostel and went kayaking for a day in the Hilo Bay. We saw lots of sea turtles!
As the cottage is located in the rainforest we did experience quite a bit of rain but it was sporadic and mostly at night. We just lit the fire, filled up a glass of wine , turned on the music and enjoyed this little peace of paradise-(and yes...peace :-) for the evening.
One morning we were talking about how rock solid the house was as we had had gusty winds all through the night when suddenly the whole place shook. We experienced a 4.5 earthquake!!! How cool was that! Several nights were clear and the view while lying in the bedroom is awe inspiring. You feel like you can reach out and touch the stars.
My personal favorite was the bathroom.... It has a huge sliding glass window and a deep deep tub. I loved to fill it up, open the window, and relax with a glass of wine.
As you can see, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage and it has given us many fond memories that we will cherish.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mark and Mandy,

Glad you had a good time at Kipuka. And you even got to feel the planet shimmy and shake, you lucky guys. Mahalo nui for taking the time to write this sweet review.

A Hui Hou (Until Next Time)
Bill, Arlene and Paul
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Cozy

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Hi Bill,

Our stay at Kipuka Cottage was great. I really enjoyed how cozy the cottage felt with the soaker tub, woodfire, & multiple reading locations. The location was perfect for exploring volcanoes national park! Oh I also really liked all the reading material that was available.

The only amenities that would help improve the experience would be a BBQ (more important) & a dishwasher (less important).

Cheers,

Erin
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Eventful afternoon

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Aloha Bill,

We enjoyed our visit immensely, particularly coming back to Kipuka cottage in the evening. Such a pleasant atmosphere to relax and unwind!

We did have one eventful afternoon when we chose to take a nap mid-day; an earthquake of 3.8 that rocked the bureau in the loft. I woke and asked David, "What was that?" and he said, "That was an earthquake". Sure surprised us both - really exciting. Of course we had to check the volcano out on the internet and then go that evening to see what was going on.

The thing I particularly enjoyed was a well equipped kitchen - it has everything we needed. I also really enjoyed the soaker tub - wish I had one at home, LOL.
business
Sublime Forest Cottage just outside Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923214
+41 78 876 10 51
Volcano Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Felt like home

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Aloha, Bill. we enjoyed our stay at Kipuka Cottage, very quiet and relaxing (our favorite place during our Hawaiian Vac). We did a lot of hiking, so it was nice to come back to the cottage for rest and relaxation. The best thing about Kipuka, was that it felt like home - like going to our cottage. One small suggestion, a couple of screens on the windows would allow people to open windows without allowing bugs in.

We will definately recommend to friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1