Lovettsville chateau / country house rental - Linden Hall Historic Home
Linden Hall Historic Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Lovettsville Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Country House: 3 Bedrooms, Kitchen, Living & Family Rms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Linden Hall Farm Guest House

A Sojourn in the Country

Our Northern Virginia Guest House is your home in the country for a week or a weekend -- a peaceful and central location near the many attractions in Northern Virginia, Washington DC, Western Maryland, West Virginia and Pennsylvania.

Enjoy a rural setting with upscale accommodations and privacy in a newly renovated farmhouse (circa 1790's) located on 35 acres in historic Loudoun County. The guest house is unique and separate from the main house, giving you your own private entrance, a fully equipped country kitchen, a living room and studio, so guests have plenty of space for privacy or gatherings. There are two beautifully decorated bedrooms upstairs, a small bedroom downstairs off the kitchen, and a newly renovated bathroom. The guest house features two porches, with one overlooking the gardens and the Blue Ridge mountains. There are stables and a ring available for horses.

It just is a wonderful, peaceful, private setting!

Come hike, bike or ride your horse on the 184.5 mile long Chesapeake & Ohio Canal located along the north bank of the Potomac River, starting in Washington, DC and ending in Cumberland, MD. Hike the Appalachian Trail. Raft or kayak on the Potomac or Shenandoah Rivers, or visit historic Leesburg, Harper's Ferry or the many local Civil War battlefields, all within an hour or less scenic drive. Or, you can relax and enjoy the view of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains from your private porch, while sipping wine from the local vineyards.

Visit award winning Virginia wineries, just minutes from the house. Dine at excellent restaurants within 30 minutes drive. Shop at antiques shops, Leesburg Outlets Mall, or in prominent locations such as Middleburg VA. Spend an evening at the Charles Town WV race track and casino. See museums, from the Brunswick Railroad Museum (5 min) to the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum (40 min).

A commuter train to Washington is just 5 min away. Or just relax and enjoy the quiet setting.

Initial continental breakfast makings provided in a complete country kitchen.

More Details
Hide Details

Bart and Carol are your hosts at Linden Hall. The property was acquired in 1997. The previous owners had purchased the home in the 1960s and spent over 20 years restoring the rundown buildings, for which they won the 1984 Loudoun Preservation Society Merit Award. Since then, the Hodgson’s have continued to enhance the home inside and out. The Guest House was previously a rental home. In the Summer of 2009, the Hodgson’s decided to create an upscale lodging which would emphasize the rural setting and availability of local attractions. Over the following months, they labored to upgrade the kitchen, bathroom and furnishings throughout the residence.

The doors to Linden Hall Guest House opened in November 2010.

The Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 1997

Warm, comfortable, and in a relaxing country setting central to many activities.

40 Reviews of Property 923075 in Lovettsville, Virginia

Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
average rating of 5.0 based on 40 reviews
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

Will stay longer next time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We used Linden Hall as a place to land during a bachelorette weekend. The guest house comfortably slept the six of us (although it's three beds) and it was great to not have to worry about being up late laughing.

The farm itself was really beautiful, and I wish we'd had more time to walk and enjoy the fields and the animals and sit on the porch. All the stories about incredible breakfast food are true!

The owners were very kind, great to work with and flexible, and accurately recommended the best winery of the whole tour!

The house has a great history, and the guest house is full of sweet details, and it was interesting to hear and read about.

Highly recommended, and I hope to go back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Raicheal. We appreciate the great review. You combined two of the more frequent reasons our guests come to us - proximity to the Loudoun vineyards, and small "girls" reunion groups. You were excellent guests, and we're glad we could help you enjoy your vacation. Come back and spend some more time!
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

Linden Hall Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We chose Linden Hall Farm based on reviews we found online. We had stayed at a bed and breakfast in the area a few months earlier and were disappointed. But Linden Hall definetly met our expectations for being spacious enough for a family of four, comfortable rooms, stocked fridge with fresh eggs (!) and other goodies for breakfast and snacking. The history of the home was very interesting, the sweet miniature donkeys a treat and the property was in a very peaceful setting. We had the added bonus of spending some time with several black lab pups from a recent litter of one of Carol and Bart's dogs!!! Carol was very helpful in directing us to local restaurants and wineries. They (Carol and Bart) have wonderful, warm guest house in a very pretty area - we'll be back for sure!
Owner's Response: Kathy, thank you very much for your review! We're very happy to have a Guest House that provides a gracious setting for family and small group outings. We are grateful that our farm provides the peaceful and relaxing environment that it does for our guests and ourselves. We'll be looking forward to your next visit. Bart and Carol
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Washington
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The owners were really great and we really enjoyed the accommodations of the guest house. It was well-stocked with breakfast staples, and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast - followed by a scenic walk around the grounds to pet the donkeys and visit the sheep.

It was well-appointed and very clean. Plenty large for the two of us. We'll be back in the spring with the two kids. Great value.

There are some great food options nearby, including the Restaurant at Patowmack Farm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Al, Thank you for your nice review and for being our guest at Linden Hall Farm. We're glad you enjoyed the farm atmosphere, while unwinding in our fully equipped Guest House. We look forward to meeting the whole family next time. Don't stay away too long!
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Dillsburg, PA
5

Great getaway location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a great place for a couples' getaway for two (or even three) couples, as long as you don't mind sharing a bathroom. My wife and I and our friends stayed here in November and although it was a little rainy, we really enjoyed our stay. It's close to everything in Northern VA, but far enough in the country to be relaxing.

The proprietors were kind and helpful, as well.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jason. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. You're right - the weather wasn't cooperative, but then you can kick back and enjoy what the Guest House has to offer most: a warm, comfortable retreat in the country. And there's still a lot of indoor activities in which to partake in the area. Come back and see us again!
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

Relaxing Guest House in Wine Country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We absolutely enjoyed our stay in the Linden Hall Farm Guest house. We were in Loudon county for a wedding at Whitehall manor. We opted to avoid the wedding blocked rooms in the nearby hotels and instead rented the guest house for the weekend. What a wonderful decision! Leading up to the wedding we visited a number of vineyards, which were within minutes of the house. This includes our favorite Virginia vineyard by far (Hiddencroft), which is a mere 5 minutes from the farm.

The house is quiet, relaxing and packed with amenities, including high-end shampoo, conditioner and lotion. When we arrived, the refrigerator was stocked with juices, cinnamon rolls and even farm fresh eggs from the chickens on the farm! Check-in and check-out were simple as the owners live on the property. The owners were gracious to give us a late checkout as well. We would highly recommend this property to anyone coming to the Northern Virginia area for a truly unique experience!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jamie,
Thank you for the kind words. We're very glad to have helped you enjoy your weekend in Virginia's wine country. Next time, you'll need to stay longer. There are a lot more vineyards to try, all a short drive from us. We look forward to seeing you again, soon!
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

An Amercian house we just loved

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We are from Austria/Europe and were traveling with our two teenager girls. After three weeks of busy sightseeing (the last week we stayed in NY), we were ready for something relaxing, more quiet and nature.
When we entered the guest house we were just overwhelmed by the beautiful and very cozy looking rooms. The fridge was filled up with all kinds of different food. The whole guest house was telling that the owners take very good care of it and love the house themselves.
The information maps were great with lots of recommendations. Bart was very helpful to all our questions and needs.
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Mt Shasta CA
5

DONT LOOK ANYWHERE ELSE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
First thing: You are waisting your time if you continue looking.

We were looking for a spot to stay while visiting Washington DC. I wanted to stay somewhere that was commutable while close to DC. Bart & Carol have something magical here. The house was clean and had everything you will need during your stay. You simply wont find a more peacefull setting. My wife and I - along with my father - were looking for a place to stay wgile seeing/visiting DC for the first time. Gracious owners who go the exta mile for their guests. Looking toward to coming back soon. - WE SIMPLY LOVED THIS HOUSE!

Carol; sorry for taking so long to write the review - hope you enjoyed the flies I tied

JD M
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear John and family
Good things are worth waiting for! Thank you very much for this excellent review. We're very pleased to have been your hosts while John participated in the events in Washington, and we're pleased the peace and quiet of our country setting provided the counterpoint. We look forward to your next visit.
Carol and Bart
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Alexandria, VA
5

The Perfect Wedding Shower

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I hosted a small wedding shower for my son and future daughter-in-law on Sat., 13 July 2013. It was a perfect weekend! We checked into the Linden Hall guest house on Fri., 12 Jul and departed on Sun., 14 Jul. Bart and Carol were the epotome of what owners of a guest house rental should be! They went the extra mile to make sure our stay was comfortable. We set-up a screen on the back porch to show a slide display of the to be bride and groom, and we used the gas grill. Bart & Carol were so accomodating with providing some extra chairs, ice buckets, etc.They made our stay one that will not be forgotten. The family is still, almost a week later, talking about how much fun was had by everyone!

The description of the accomodations and farm were extremely accurate. The property was clean and very well-maintained. If you are planning a small family get-together---this is your spot! We had approximately 25 guest attend the shower with 5 adults and 3 small children who stayed overnight.

The children had a fantastic time with the tree swing, feeding the donkeys, and visiting with the chickens! Linden Hall Farm is a FANTASTIC get-a-way! I will definitely go back for several visits in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Bernadette. We're pleased to have been able to be a part of your son and future daughter in law's wedding shower. Thank you, also, for taking such good care of the guest house. While we don't often rent our Guest House for events, the Guest House and grounds did lend themselves to a small event, and we were happy to help with what little support we could. In the end, the things that made this such a happy time were those that reflect in nearly all of our guests' comments - beautiful and tranquil surroundings. We look forward to hearing from you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Kentucky
5

A tremendous place for a family to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We are a family of 7 (kids age 6-16) so it is hard to find "perfect" places like this to stay. It was comfortable, safe, spacious, very well-appointed, and clean. My younger children loved the farm setting and my older kids enjoyed being able to spread out. Because the farm sits well off the road, there was no issue with through traffic or road noise. Little extras like having fresh-eggs, sausage, juice and many other goodies was welcome when we rolled in during the wee hours and could not shop. That level of care continued throughout our stay. Too many extras and attention to detail to mention. Everything about this place is praise-worthy, and when we later spent some time on this trip in cramped hotel rooms, we sure missed the farm!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: John and family
We're happy to have been able to help you and your family have a great time on your trip. As your review points out, our Guest House is great for families with children, and other small groups. But we have been hosts to couples and even single visitors, and have enjoyed providing the same restful environment for all of them. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and have a great summer!
business
Upscale Three Bedroom Guest House on Historic Linden Hall Farm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p923075
+1 540 8225010
Lovettsville Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Pennsylvania
5

Loved the farm!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Linden Hall exceeded our expectations! We were a group of friends having a mini-reunion and we wanted a place to relax, chill out and eat and sleep. Linden Hall was perfect! The kitchen was already well-stocked, the owners accommodated our request for a giant soup pan, and we loved the relaxed atmosphere on the property. We have all traveled extensively, and this guest house gets top notches from each of us! We visited one vineyard, took some long walks, and generally just enjoyed the porches and the property, even on the days that it rained.

I would definitely recommend Linden Hall to others. If you're looking for a country get-away, this is the place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Brenda, for your great review! You've described what makes Linden Hall Farm's Guest House a great place to stay - restful, peaceful, and located near one of Loudoun County's greatest attractions: our vineyards. Loudoun is rapidly becoming a destination of choice for its vineyards and historical character. And our Guest House is located in a great place to sample the attractions. Or, just stay and relax. Great for families and small groups such as yours. We look forward to seeing you here again, soon. Have a great summer.
Helpful votes: 1/1