Santa Fe house rental - Sunset at Rass Mandal
Sunset at Rass Mandal
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Santa Fe House Rental Photos and Description
5br/3ba sleeps a maximum 12 (1 King bed; 2 Queen beds; 6 twin beds)

Rass Mandal is a unique adobe vacation residence situated on a mountain range of pine forests with spectacular views. Entering brings you to another time and presents a serene and inspiring atmosphere for all. The house and grounds of more than 10 acres offer abundant locations for quiet time. There are numerous hiking & mountain bike trails immediately accessible, some of which take you directly to the center of Santa Fe.

Rass Mandal was featured on HGTV's House Hunter's on Vacation with the initial airing on June 22nd 2012.

I put up a short clip of the show on YouTube (please paste the link into a new window on your browser): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TU0CS9gJrvs&feature=g-upl

Additionally, you may enjoy visiting the Rass Mandal website for more pictures. Please paste the link into a new window on your browser): http://www.rassmandal1.com

Upon entering the home you encounter a large domed circular living room complete with a fireplace, eastern antique furniture and beautiful views looking out to a pool. This space is ideal for group sessions, gatherings and entertainment. Off to the left of the living room is the dining room and kitchen area. The dining table has room to accommodate 12 and is a great area for entertaining and formal meals. The kitchen is open plan and has a Moroccan style fireplace and a very comfortable breakfast nook ideal for bird watching. Behind the kitchen is a queen size bedroom and a bathroom, secluded from the rest of the house with its own private entrance.

To the right of the living room are guest quarters, each room offers views overlooking the grounds and the entire Santa Fe valley. The master bedroom is complete with a fireplace, a large meditation/work area, beautiful bathroom and sunken Jacuzzi with views. Additionally, there is a 2nd story observation deck that provides expansive views over all of Santa Fe, the Jemez Mountains and beyond. The house is not air conditioned but given the cool evenings it is not actually necessary. Fans are provided should they be desired.

Heading outside, there is a large private pool with waterfall, hot tub and sauna. The pool is heated during the summer months (June 1st - September 30th) - however it is 35,000 gallons and heating is not feasible during the other times. Generally the pool water temperature will be maintained at 78 F in July and August but ranges about 74 F - 76 F for June and September. The hot tub is kept at 104 F. All this is surrounded by a deck and patio ideal for outdoor dining and relaxation. There is also a gas-fired Fire Pit for enjoyment during the cool evenings.

Rass Mandal is simply fabulous, providing a truly unique experience in Santa Fe. It's incredible architecture, shapes, and spaces transport one to ancient India yet with all the modern conveniences in an amazingly beautiful location high in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains above the City with spectacular views. While only minutes to the historic Plaza, all the downtown cultural amenities and many fine restaurants, Rass Mandal is a quiet and peaceful retreat not to be missed. I encourage you to read the reviews from our previous guests.

More Details
Hide Details

Hi, my name is Richard Woodruff and I am an American born in Jersey City, NJ and now living in Santa Fe after having spent the last 28 years living in Europe. You can find me on LinkedIn and on Facebook.

Richard Woodruff purchased this house in 2011

Rass Mandal has unique architecture and is on 10 acres with fabulous unending vistas. It is in the mountains for easy access to hiking and mountain biking yet only about 10 minutes from the center of Santa Fe. The feeling in these hills is truly refreshing and energizing!

Staying at Rass Mandal provides a unique atmosphere that is not found at most vacation rentals. The house and grounds offer abundant space for renewal & reflection as well as exercise & sharing.

69 Reviews of Property 922520 in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
average rating of 4.96875 based on 69 reviews
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Beautiful, tranquil, a real oasis!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
It was like walking into a little baby mountain taj mahal! Very palacial yet cozy. So many beautifully appointed nooks and crannies. It is like going on vacation within a vacation. From an artists point of view, very inspiring.
Would return for sure!
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

A place of beauty, serenity, and magic.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My first impression of the Rass Mandal was one of breathtaking beauty. As we came up the road, the beautiful blue domes came into view with a gorgeous high desert vista for the backdrop. Upon arrival, the owner (Richard) greeted my girlfriend and I and gave us a tour of the property. The grounds are well maintained, and I could perceive the deep level of care Richard had put into decorating the Rass Mandal. Each room has a fabulous feel to it, and the architecture of the building is truly unique. The enormous curved hallway, which is lit up by ethereal blue lights in the evening, provides an almost otherworldly ambiance. My girlfriend and I spent Thanksgiving here with a small group of family and friends. Everyone commented on the deep sense of peace that seems to emanate from the Rass Mandal and permeate into you during your stay. There is a great soaking tub and two-person sauna. Since it was winter, we didn't get a chance to get in the pool or take advantage of the spacious yoga pavilion, but that just means we will have to come back this summer! This is an immensely romantic location. When I was there, it felt like we were in a different time, on a different world. I left the Rass Mandal with a deep sense of serenity and a feeling of rejuvenation. I would recommend it to any of my friends or family. Richard was so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. I could tell that he loves what he does and puts his whole heart into the effort to create the magical atmosphere that envelopes the Rass Mandal. Truly a memorable moment in my life. I look forward to visiting again in the near future.
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Beyond idyllic sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I've traveled the world and never felt so invited and loved. The home is stunning - the architecture, views, pool, huge yoga studio... but the loving touches, are what captivates. The home truly is meant to be a sanctuary that invites the soul. There are personal touches everywhere that have meaning and inspiration. Tons of deities and goddesses and buddhas and mandalas and flowers and candles and lighting. The design spans Moroccan and egyptian to indian and east asian. Just stunning.

We were there for a women's retreat and it was absolutely perfect.

Richard, the owner is the loveliest and Leslie and Scarlett put such love and care into our organic meals and accomodated everyone's dietary desires... and it was oh so good.

I want everyone I know to experience themselves here. It is magical.
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Fabulous private home – great (peaceful) views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is a house you really have to stay at to realize and appreciate all of the beauties that the house and property have to offer. The views of Santa Fe are absolutely amazing, and both the indoor and outdoor living arrangements are exquisite with the utmost attention to detail that really make this property stand out. This house is perfect for large family gatherings as well as for smaller holiday getaways. We took a family vacation over Spring Break with our four young kids and couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations. There was enough room to spread out and the privacy that the house offers really makes you feel like it’s just you and the mountains. We were so impressed with the homeowner, Richard, as well. As you talk to Richard, you can quickly realize how much the house means to him, and it shows with how he cares for the house and the property. As a traveler in a new place, Richard is first class to deal with and helps make sure you are ‘at home’ at his property. We really enjoyed the location of the property – great views away from town, yet close enough that you can get to the Plaza and main Santa Fe attractions with about a 10 minute drive. We very much recommend this property to those that want a great Santa Fe experience!
Owner's Response: Hi Emily, Trent & the girls,
Firstly, thank you for the compliments - you are so nice! I am certain that you're review will help potential guests should they be considering staying at Rass Mandal. I do hope that one day you return during the summer season. The weather and pool will provide a refreshing respite from Texas! All the best, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Truly once-in-a-lifetime experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rass Mandal is truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience and is deeply rooted in the surrounding landcape, and eclectic cultural history of Santa Fe. I won't even try to describe the elaborate layout and decorations of this beautiful retreat, but I will say we felt at home from the moment we entered the house to the moment we very reluctantly left. The views from the home are astounding, and every morning we awoke for yoga in the pavilion before having a refreshing swim in the pool, soak in the hot tub, followed by breakfast and coffee as the morning sun warmed up the deck. Absolute paradise. We also went on hikes and mountain bike rides in the surrounding trail system, which connects to the wilderness areas around Santa Fe and beyond. I would definitely stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review! They mean a lot to me and are so helpful to the future guests contemplating staying at Rass Mandal. I am constantly trying to improve on the experience and hopefully should you return to Santa Fe, you will visit Rass Mandal once more. All the best, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

The best house in Santa Fe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My team and I recently booked The Rass Mandal house for a inspirational work trip. It was hands down the highlight of our stay. Maybe even the best thing about Santa Fe. The house is of great design, full of character and there is a fascinating story behind it (just ask the owner Richard).

Speaking of Richard, he is a excellent host. He is incredibly knowledgable of both the house and Santa Fe. He provided our team with a seasonal temperature guide, a list of full attractions and a detailed manual in case anything was missed.

If you are looking for a one-of-a-kind experience in Santa Fe, stay here.

Thanks, Richard!
- TH Design Team
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Rass Mandal, our home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The UNM LGBTQ Resource Center had its 2nd Spring retreat at Rass Mandal. The Space was nothing short of magical. The house has an amazing energy and was the perfect space for us to create a work plan for the semester. The house is inviting and grand yet also very intimate. It is a beautiful palace and I cannot wait to experience it in the spring. Richard is so accommodating to us and is the perfect host. The house is immaculate and has the most splendid amenities. The kitchen is perfect for creating wonderful meals for all to enjoy. The bedrooms are so comforting and inviting. The fire pit was amazing as is the sauna and hot tub. We look forward to going back year after year. Thank you Richard for letting us into your space, we appreciate it and you!
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Perfect group getaway in beautiful Santa Fe!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at this property over New Years with six couples and couldn't have had a better time! The house was unique and Spectacular and provided a great home base for our Santa Fe stay. From the beautiful views, fun hiking trails nearby and just relaxing at the house we couldn't have asked for more. The group loved the hot tub & sauna after a long day skiing Santa Fe or hiking to the nearby peaks. The kitchen was great and the living areas big enough to accommodate our large group. We definitely hope to come back and stay there very soon. Richard was so helpful and accommodating and really made our stay exceptional. I would recommend this property to anyone.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Lindsey and it would be wonderful to welcome your group back! I also so appreciate the way you all took care of Rass Mandal (and my white pigeons)! All the best to you, Richard
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Five star property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Magnificent property in very good location outside but close from downtown. House originally made for overseas aristocrat with outstanding architecture. Easy to expend hours just admiring the inside before you take over the mountain and valley views. Attention to every detail throughout the house. A week was not enough to enjoy all what this property has to offer. A real gem! Richard was very responsive throughout the entire process.
business
Rass Mandal - On 10 Acres with Pool - Featured on HGTV
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922520
+1 (848)466-9586
Santa Fe New Mexico
Santa Fe
5

Magical and Divine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Vacationing at Rass Mandal was a memorable and truly special time for my family and friends. The entire property is magical and the home is fabulously unique. We celebrated Thanksgiving and the kitchen was supplied with all the appliances and utensils we needed to prepare a delicious meal. The Mandala room was the perfect setting for relaxing after dinner.
Surrounded by Tangkas, Buddhas, and precious antiques we all felt blessed to be immersed in the beauty of the serene.
Richard, the owner, was kind, gracious and attentive to our needs.
I will definitely return!!