Coupeville house rental - Charming 2 bed 1 bath view home on Whidbey Island.
Charming 2 bed 1 bath view home on Whidbey Island.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Coupeville House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4

This home is perfect for week-long family vacations, romantic weekend getaways, writers retreat, house-hunting visits, and temporary lodging for relocated executives.

On a clear day the views of the water and mountains are spectacular!

Be sure to have a camera ready to capture sea stars (star fish) ranging in color from orange to purple in the water at the wharf in Coupeville, and the bald eagles and herons to name only two bird species that live here.

Immaculate 2 bedroom 1 bath home located on Whidbey Island boasts a fantastic view of Crockett Lake, the Puget Sound and Olympic Mountains.

1 1/2 mile to State Park beach at Admiralty Inlet and 2 miles to Fort Casey Park where you can visit the light house and explore the many acres of trails and park on foot or bike. Come see the kite festival in September, Race week in August and some type of art festival or other entertainment year round.

The Keystone-Coupeville Ferry is located here and will take you to Port Townsend on the Olympic Penninsula. Miles of beaches to walk, run and play on right here and all up and down Whidbey.

For those that scuba dive, this vacation home is 2 miles from a world famous dive park. The giant octopus lives here as well as many other beautiful sea creatures!

Explore the island with all it's riches, from expansive views of farmland on the prairie in the historic Ebey's Landing to the bluffs overlooking the glistening Puget Sound waters.

Whidbey has become home to many writers and artists and Coupeville, the second oldest town in Washington State, has much to offer with it's waterfront restaurants, shops and farmers market open between April and October. These are only a few of the attractions you will find here. Located in the 'rain shadow' of the Olympic and North Cascades we measure one of the lowest rainfall amounts in Western Washington.

Check out the video of the view from the closest beach in December, one of the colder months. Even then the vistas are beautiful. But don't forget to bring your windbreakers, it can get windy, it is an island after all!

There is always something going on, whether it be local art festivals or studio tours, or live theatre in Oak Harbor and Langley, Whidbey Island is a great place to spend a vacation.

Plan your trip around any number of the many activities available, or just come here to enjoy a relaxing getaway.

Famous Deception Pass is a short 1/2 hour ride to the northern tip of Whidbey. This State Park offers beautiful vistas, great hiking and beautiful beaches the whole family can enjoy..

Seattle, located 40 miles to the south and easily reachable by the Mukilteo Ferry in Clinton at the south end of Whidbey, a days outing to the city is just an hour away.

Owners of this vacation rental live just around the corner and will be available if needed.

Stroll the beach 1 and 1/2 mile from this home and see the bald eagles, great blue herons, snow geese and wide array of others birds and wildlife. Deer and rabbits frequent this homes 1/2 acre yard.

If it is a vacation filled with being out in nature or you are looking for a writers retreat, this vacation home on Whidbey Island is perfectly situated.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I fell in love with Whidbey We love the life style and pace that island living affords us.

Whenever we can, we walk on the beach a mile and a half from our home, and never grow tired of the wildlife and beautiful views of the Sound, the Mountains and prairies near our home.

Owner purchased this house in 2007

The view from this home is incredible - even better than the one from our own home. We put a lot of work into making this vacation home everything we would want in a place we chose to stay. We hope you find it that way too.

We are only a half mile away and make ourselves available to our guests if they need us.

23 Reviews of Property 922301 in Coupeville, Washington

Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

Comfortable "Home away from home" in a great location

Comfortable "Home away from home" in a great location
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed here for a 2 night mini-vacation for our anniversary. It was immaculately clean, maybe the cleanest vacation rental I've ever seen. We could have been the first guests since it was remodeled with no visible wear & tear. The location is quiet but close to the all the sights on Whidbey Island. The layout of the house was well thought out. Both beds were comfortable, although I preferred the guest bed, since I'm not a big fan of memory foam. (Just a personal preference.) There was everything we could have wanted in the kitchen, unlike a few places we've stayed where you don't even get salt & pepper. Our hosts made it clear that we could contact them if we needed anything, but since they thought of it all in advance, we didn't need to. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're happy celebrating your anniversary in our home was an enjoyable experience. And truly appreciate your commentary on the cleanliness of our home and that there was nothing you needed.

As we've commented before to other guests, we wanted this place to be as close to a home as possible. Of course each individual has their own likes and dislikes - but we try to do the basics so that when our guests arrive they can relax for a bit before going shopping for those items of personal preference.

Last but certainly not least...We hope the birding was enjoyable and that you took home lots of good memories!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Anchorage Alaska
5

Can I live here forever?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I took my 91 year old mother to stay in this house to celebrate her birthday. She walked from room to room and then stood in front of the window admiring the view and asked me, "Can I live here forever?" That was just the beginning of our love affair with this darling little house set in a beautiful location on this perfect island. I have just gone back and looked at the pictures and read all the comments and I can say "amen" to every one of them. The only thing lacking are the exclamation points describing this house, location, and view. One thing I will add is this is a birder's paradise, we saw 18 identified species in 4 days without binoculars in the local lakes, fields, and along the seashore. Just marvelous is all I can add. Sande and Peter was so helpful. We were here during a cold snap and they were so concerned we would be warm enough. The house was snug as can be and the deer in the back yard at dinner time everyday was such a blessing. We will be back next year to celebrate her 92nd birthday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We couldn't be more pleased that both you and your mom had such a wonderful stay in our home and on Whidbey!
The only up side to the unusually cold weather you experienced while here was the air was clear making the view spectacular. And that you were able to view so many different species of birds right by the house - that's one of the reasons we love living here.
We too look forward to your returning for your mom's 92nd birthday and hope you'll keep in mind you are welcome to come earlier too!
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

Well worth it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My hubby and I originally booked a two night stay in this lovely little rental with our daughter in tow. Thanks to the grandparents, we were unexpectedly blessed with a two night get away. :) We arrived later than expected that day, so it was dark when we checked in. Lights were on, the fire place was going, and there was wine with cheese & crackers waiting in the fridge. It was very clean, well set up, and the bed was very comfortable. The owners of this property are wonderful too. They called to make sure we got in okay. They even came over to make sure the heat and some lights were on for when we arrived. The ONLY downside (which is just a personal preference) for us was there wasn't a TV in either of the bedrooms so we could snuggle & watch movies. Great place for a little R&R!!! Thanks for making our time so enjoyable Peter and Sande!!!
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our home and thank you so much for the review!

We're happy to that you weren't upset with my calling to see if you got in safely. With the weather the way it was at the time of your stay, concern for your safe arrival was on my mind. Thinking about it after I called I thought - boy these folks must think I'm being nosy! Thank you for letting me know otherwise.

As to no TV's in the bedrooms - I too have thought about that. With the size of the rooms I thought "where could I put a flat screen like the one in the living room that could be easily viewable from the beds without those awful cords hanging everywhere?!!". The no TV in the bedrooms won out for the time being. I will keep thinking about it though and thank you for your bringing it up.

Please come by again when you are out our way - we offer discounts to returning guests!!!

We'll leave the lights on!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
5

Fantastic Vacation Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great time staying at your vacation property, Sande and Peter. Thanks so much for the yummy treats to welcome us. We love every details of your house, including the beautiful flowers in the front, the colour coordination throughout the house, and the sight of wildlife looking out from the kitchen every morning and evening. Just wonder how you can keep the property so clean and charming... Will love to come and stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So few guests leave a review and to those that do, including you now we are grateful. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in our home and thank you for the compliments on the ambiance!

As to the flowers...we've enjoyed a wonderful summer this year which has aided us in keeping the blooms longer. The seasons here are short it seems but each has something of interest to offer. Even the colder months of winter provide beautiful scenery and wildlife.

We look forward to your return any time and thank you not only for this review but for taking such good care of our home!
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

Best bang for your buck, Look no further.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This little house is quite a bargain, we stayed here July 21-July 25 2013. For starters this house is located about 10 min from Coupeville proper which houses a gas station, market, and a few various restaurants and shops, and is relatively close to anywhere you might want to go on the island. The house sits on a decent size lot and there is a ton of wildlife coming through the yard, day and night. The house is very well presented, the owner left us some cheese and crackers to munch on and a bottle of wine, which I thought was good of them. The layout of the house is very desirable with the kitchen and living room somewhat separated from the bedrooms to lessen the chances of waking housemates,the couches and chairs are very comfortable to sit back and watch TV or read a book, which there are plenty of in the house. The beds are very comfortable, with plenty of layers of bedding to suit your individual sleeping routine. The bathroom is very clean and the shower is great. There are plenty of towels and such as well. The kitchen is fully stocked apart from your food which made our vacation a little easier on the wallet being able to cook our own food. The front patio is an awesome place to sit in a chair and relax or shoot the breeze. The owners of this house have gone above and beyond in trying to make your stay great. This house is highly recommended, if we visit again you can bet we will stay here.
Owner's Response: We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our home, and glad you had the opportunity to see the wildlife that frequents our yard. We hope you got to see the twin fawns still with their spots.

It is important to us that our guests feel welcomed and comfortable while they stay here and we very much try to make the home as we would like to find one when taking our own vacations.

If you do plan to come back to Whidbey, please give us a call - we give a discount to returning guests!

Thank you again for such a lovely review - it really is appreciated.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

"Dads House"

"Dads House"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented your vacation house for opening weekend for Halibut. We love, love loved the house. It is so homey and the sunset from the patio was awesome. we will definitely be back. I love all of your pictures and wall hangings. Sorry we meant to leave you a surprise in the freezer and when we were driving down the road I asked Dennis if he remembered and he said no ;-(. Next time. I have your number so when we are up next weekend if we catch more Halibut I will see if we can hookup with you ans share. It was awesome also to have the room to park both rigs. Thank you again Dennis and Cindy Chonzena (Pam and Tim also)
Owner's Response: We're so glad that all four of you had a good time on the island and in our home. The weather couldn't have been better! Especially for May. You couldn't have picked a better few days to visit the island let alone go fishing.

They say we're going to have a long and hot summer - and I'm holding 'em to it!!!

With the boat launch right down the street we hope you got out early enough to enjoy as much of the day as possible and we hope you caught all the Halibut allowed.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review, it really means a lot to us.

We too look forward to your return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

Whidbey weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The house was a perfect, peaceful and comfortable weekend getaway from Seattle. We enjoyed the tulips in Mt Vernon on the drive up and a short hike at Deception Pass before arriving in Coupeville. The town is adorable and I will definitely be back to explore the town and bluff hike along Ebey's Landing in the future. The house was super clean, spacious and on a quiet street with a nice view of the water. I only wish the clouds had dispersed long enough for us to get a glimpse of the mountains out the window. Sande and Peter were very accommodating and flexible with our arrival and departure times, which was much appreciated. We will definitely be back!
Owner's Response: Even though Seattle is only 40 miles away - it's like another world compared to Whidbey. We're so glad you had a chance to get of of the city and found our home what you were looking for.

The fact that the time of year you chose to come - coincided perfectly with the tulips blooming in the Skagit Valley was only icing on the cake. And yes, those clouds...I kept hoping they would part even if for just for a few moments, so you could see the snow-capped Olympics. Maybe next time!

No matter though, there is always something to see and do on Whidbey, and we're sure you will find something new every time you return, which we hope will be soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We don't recall the number of times we have stayed at this home but I must say that each and every visit has been a joy. It is as advertised. One of our daughters and her family live about five minutes away and having this comfortable, clean and cosy rental available when we travel from Wisconsin to see them takes the "unknown" out of the lodging equation. This home is as advertised. On a rainy day or evening the warmth that the living room "fireplace" generates chases the chill allowing you to enjoy a glass of the wine and cheese/crackers supplied by the owners. On a clear and warm evening watch dynamic sunsets from the deck. The fully equipped kitchen is clean and modern. The beds are comfortable with snugly sheets and blankets. Fluffy towels await you in the bathroom which also has its own heater. No chills when getting out of the shower. This home is as advertised. On our most recent trip we left more than a foot of snow on the ground at home and pulled into the driveway here greeted by green grass and beautiful flowers blooming in their window boxes. We felt a true sense of welcome. I say it again this home is as advertised. No disappointments.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As always, having you stay in our home is a treat. It feels like ol' home week when you return.

We know that family is what draws you to the island, and family always comes first with us. To know that you feel comfortable in your home away from home means more than you know and we always look forward to your return.

You've been there with us from the beginning. Your kind words and encouragement have been extremely positive influences on us. Thank you so much!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
5

Best Birthday Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Having been to Whidbey many times in the past, we knew exactly were we wanted to "land" for a perfect island location and reap the benefits of the rain shadow. This home is in that exact spot. The location is perfect for absolutely everything!!! The price was great and the home is immaculate...which is a big deal to us, especially dealing with allergies. (Had no issues here at all...didn't even need my air purifier, which I faithfully bring everywhere.) The view from the home is really something. Enjoyed watching the Keystone ferry come and go, looking at Crockett Lake, and seeing the snow covered Olympics. We can only imagine how nice it would be to relax in the lawn chairs on a warm sunny day out front and use the new grill stored in the garage.) The home is stocked with anything you may need, the water tastes amazing, nicely decorated, very comfortable...especially the lazy boy chairs, great directions for the TV and DVD player and the owners were delightful to deal with...made themselves available to us the whole time. Was sweet to be welcomed to a bottle of wine and cheese and crackers when we arrived.
I celebrated my 52nd birthday this weekend and I truly can't think of a better one I've had. I can't stop smiling thinking about everything we did and to be at such a comfortable location to celebrate it all was a treat. Thank you so much Sandy and Pete. Your home is a gem and we will not hesitate to come back.
Owner's Response: Happy Belated Birthday!

We were so glad to see the sun come out on the Sunday you were here. It was in a word - glorious! The Olympics peaks covered in snow and the color of the Sound were amazing. We're so pleased you had that to wake up to.

You are right in thinking how nice it would be to sit out on front porch in warmer weather. We've done just that and can assure you it's heavenly.

We look forward to your coming back as soon as you can. The spring and summer months are great to watch all the baby animals that frequent the yard - especially the baby deer with their spots. Be sure to bring your camera!

We'd like to thank you for taking such good care of our home - we will be sure to have it as clean and comfortable for you upon your next visit.

Sande and Peter
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Central Whidbey Island Water and Mt View Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922301
+1 360 678-1005
Coupeville Whidbey Island
West Richland, WA
5

End of winter stay near the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We experienced a very comfortable and hospitable stay at this beach house. It was a nice surprise to receive an appetizer tray, fruit, and a bottle of wine upon our arrival. This house presented a great base camp to go explore the nearby state parks: Fort Casey with it's military history of extensive grounds of gunneries and protection of the Puget Sound. The grounds were amazing to explore and the wind was enormous this time of year! Next was Eby Landing State park which provided a beautiful scene of the ocean surf and hiking along the upper bluff. The town of Coupeville is very much worth taking in (more than once :). We are very thankful for the opportunity to bring our dog to this property, with the extra room in the house and the fenced front patio and open back yard. 99% positive review with only negative that the bed in the master bedroom was not so comfortable. We look forward to a future stay here to explore the extensive biking trails on this island that we observed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy that all of you enjoyed your stay in our home.

The island is really a beautiful place and has a wide range of activities for a variety of tastes.

We thank you for your compliments on our home as well as the comment regarding the master bedrooms bed. Most guests find both beds to their liking but now after hearing this I will be shopping for a mattress pad that will hopefully be pleasing to all.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review and we look forward to your return.
Helpful votes: 3/3