Kyoto townhome rental - The exterior
The exterior
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kyoto Townhome Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

This townhouse expresses the light of new hope and its evanescence during the era known as the 'Romantic Taisho Era' in Japan(1912 - 1926). Take a step inside and you will be immediately freed from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, and will be exposed to the world of the good old Taisho Romance.

You will enjoy the taste of modern Wa-style Unique with rooms filled with various styles such as the guest room designed in vermilion-based colour scheme that shows different character according to the interior lighting and natural light, bedroom with high ceiling built using quaint, old cross beams, and tatami floored-room with raised platforms inspired by old tea ceremony rooms. Up to 6 people can stay at one time. Please enjoy and experience the old lifestyle of Kyoto in this traditional Machiya-style accommodation with all the modern facilities.

The first floor-

The natural light that pours in from the windows and lamps accentuate the crimson hues of the room(s). It evokes feelings of 100 years ago, during the Taisho Era when new and unconventional ideas were being encouraged.

The second floor-

Traditional style beams line the bedroom’s high ceilings and tatami, or straw floor mats, showing how a modern open space can integrate time-honored architectural elements.

The bathroom/ washroom-

The glass paned bathroom is lined with black granite and cypress, allowing guests to relax in luxury.

The garden-

Moss, fern and other plants that make up a Japanese garden have been arranged with meticulous care to provide a tranquil environment.

The exterior-

The exterior is preserved in its original state. At night, the moon and street lights stream through the lattice openings.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 922080 in Kyoto, Japan

Be Transported Back to 100 Years Ago to the 'Romantic Taisho Era' in Japan!
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews
business
Be Transported Back to 100 Years Ago to the 'Romantic Taisho Era' in Japan!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922080
+81 75 7085610
Kyoto Japan
5

Lovely Machiya in Kyoto

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were a group of 4 adults and 1 child, staying only 1 night in this lovely home. It is about 8-10 mins walk to Shijo train station and the shopping area.

The Machiya is very well appointed with ample space for my group and most importantly, very clean. The bathroom is very luxurious, the rooms large and the kitchenette sufficient for a short stay. The home comes with a washing machine+dryer (2-in-1) which came in very handy as Kyoto was towards the end of our trip.

The communication with the owners/property managers were very good. They are fast to respond. Check-in process was a breeze. Check-out wasn't required. The baggage delivery service (separate charge, of course...but we gladly paid!) made things much easier for us to move around Kyoto after check-out as well.

I would definitely recommend this Machiya without any hesitation.
business
Be Transported Back to 100 Years Ago to the 'Romantic Taisho Era' in Japan!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922080
+81 75 7085610
Kyoto Japan
North Qld
4

Family of 5

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Staying at this Machiya was a wonderful experience! True to the photo's, property was very clean, location was great, easy walking distance to JR Station, Property manager spoke very good english & very friendly helping with tour bookings & making recommendations. Doing the laundry was it's only down fall, as drying facilities were lacking, however this was not so important to us due to our short 4 night stay. I would recommend this property to others to experience the lifestyle. Will certainly be back, Kyoto is a beautiful city with lots to see & do!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Be Transported Back to 100 Years Ago to the 'Romantic Taisho Era' in Japan!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922080
+81 75 7085610
Kyoto Japan
Jackson, Tennessee U.S.A.
4

Good Choice

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The place was great. Enough space, minus the cramp kitchen counter.
Location was excellent. The Place was nice and clean and modern.
The person who greeted us was very helpful and patient.
Definitely, recommend the place.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and recommendation. I’m pleased to hear the place was to your liking. I hope you have the opportunity to visit Kyoto again and look forward to hearing from you again! All the best.
business
Be Transported Back to 100 Years Ago to the 'Romantic Taisho Era' in Japan!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p922080
+81 75 7085610
Kyoto Japan
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Prior to this trip, we have been to Kyoto twice and stayed in hotels near the Kyoto Station. This time, we decided to try something different and what a pleasant surprise! The process for checkin was seamless. We were initally worried about coordinating the checkin time but the modern day electronics resolved that. (aka electronically coded doors with programmed codes for us...) The accommodations were spacious, and very clean. Everything we needed was there in the unit. We tried cooking in the unit and although small, it's still manageable for the two of us. I wouldn't try to cook a complete meal from scratch, though... If there are any complaints, they are quite minor - garbage wasn't removed during the room service day; don't try taking long showers else the hot water can run out... All in all, we would stay here again!
Owner's Response: I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. A machiya definitely has a certain charm that is hard to find at a hotel, so I’m glad you were able to make yourselves feel right at home. With regard to the shower, sometimes if you take a long shower it automatically locks stopping the hot water. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I will also look into ensuring that garbage is removed during the room service day. I hope you will have the chance to come back to Kyoto sometime soon and look forward to accommodating you then. Warm regards.
Helpful votes: 2/2