Franklin house rental - Winter beauty at The Guest House!
Winter beauty at The Guest House!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Franklin House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Two Kitchens, Sleeps 8

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - More than just a vacation rental! Like a blending of a vacation rental and a bed & breakfast, The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge is a beautifully appointed mountainside home, where you are not just renters, you are guests! Our Guest House sits perfectly perched on 23 acres of private mountainside property next door to our main home with majestic views and woodland contentment in lush Iotla Valley, Franklin, North Carolina.

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge is actually TWO HOMES IN ONE with a two bedroom unit upstairs and one downstairs in a lovely studio unit, making this ideal for families who travel together and share or large families with older children who like their privacy. The units are separate, but both are always rented out as one for your comfort and enjoyment. Our lovely Guest House features three spacious, comfortable bedrooms - the upstairs unit features one with a king size bed and one with a queen and a full and the downstairs unit features one with a queen. There's a full bath upstairs and a full en suite bath downstairs. The living room is in the main area upstairs and has a gas 'wood-stove styled' fireplace to create the perfect ambiance. Everything you need for a home cooked meal is at your disposal in TWO fully stocked kitchens. Our Guest House also features two laundry rooms! Wake each morning to a beautiful sunrise and enjoy your coffee on the enclosed porch while the birds serenade you! Take a walk on the property and enjoy the woods and breathe the fresh mountain air!

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge is conveniently located! Just minutes from the Macon County Airport (no, there is no noise. It's only small privately owned planes and barely any traffic :) ), 10 minutes to downtown Franklin, 45 minutes to Highlands, 45 minutes to Bryson City, and Cherokee and The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We are only a few miles from great gem mining, zip lining, tubing and white water rafting. There are many fabulous trails in the area as well, including the Appalachian Trail and the Bartram Trail. If antiquing and crafts are your thing, that's here, too. For motorcycle enthusiasts, the Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap is just in the next county. If you are looking for something a little more metropolitan, Asheville is only an hour and a half away. There is so much to do in the area that you'll have a hard time deciding!

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge has captured our hearts! We love it here so much that we want to share it with others! That's why we've opened our Guest House to you! We live next door to The Guest House in the main house on the property, but we are committed to your privacy and peaceful vacation. We take pride in our property and are responsive to any of our guests' needs. We enjoy providing great perks for all our guests like a batch of our award winning signature cookies, TWO bottles of wine and even a breakfast casserole for your first morning in the fridge. Since we are local, we can deal with our guests directly, but unless you need us we will leave you to enjoy yourselves. Most of our guests never see us and the ones that do have asked us to come over and say hello! We want you to feel that this is Your Home Away from Home in the Smokies, not just a place to sleep!

We invite you to come, be our guest and share in the beauty of the mountains with us!

For more photos and information please visit our website: theguesthouseatdogwoodridge com

More Details
Hide Details

Providing a unique vacation rental experience is my goal. I want you to feel as if a friend has invited you to stay! You are guests, not renters and my hospitality reflects that. We pride ourselves in making The Guest House truly a home away from home and our service sets us apart! All our guests receive a complimentary breakfast casserole for their first morning in the fridge along with juice and coffee, a batch of our signature cookies - Black & White Macaroons and two bottles of wine. We live next door to our rental in the main house on the property, but we are committed to your privacy and peaceful vacation. We take pride in our property and are responsive to any of our guests' needs. Since we are local, we can deal with our guests directly, but unless you need us we will leave you to enjoy yourselves. We want you to feel that this is your home away from home. We invite you to come, be our guest and share in the beauty of the mountains with us!

Stephanie Sainz purchased this house in 2010

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge was founded in 2011 after we moved to our favorite vacation destination, Franklin, NC in the Smoky Mountains. With a guest house next door, we decided to get into the hospitality business and provide a wonderful vacation experience! The 12 mile views of the surrounding mountains and green, rolling pastures of Iotla Valley make The Guest House a great mountain getaway!

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge is just a beautiful place to be! From the 7/10 of a mile drive through the woods, to the abundance of birds and plants,to the flowering dogwoods, to the spectacular view - it's an easy place to love!

28 Reviews of Property 920912 in Franklin, North Carolina

The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 28 reviews
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Georgia
5

Fantastic retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The pictures don't do justice to this beautiful mountain "home away from home." From the moment we arrived, my family enjoyed every minute spent at this wonderful place. Music was playing, candles were burning, and fresh flowers greeted us. We were really impressed with the cleanliness, roominess, and comfort of both the upstairs and downstairs accommodations. Stephanie had prepared a scrumptious breakfast casserole for our first morning so we didn't have to rush out to round up food. Also on hand were orange juice and delicious cookies. (Plus two bottles of wine!) A washer and dryer, with supplies, gave us the benefit of not having to get back home with a suitcase full of dirty laundry. The two main tv's kept our guys happy and I managed to watch a bit of tv on my own in the master bedroom. We also made good use of the dvd's and games provided. There are so many perks provided that I can't begin to list them all. The views from the gazebo and screened in porch are gorgeous. Flowers and greenery abound; we saw plenty of birds at the feeders.
The location is close to Franklin, where there is plenty to see and do. Other towns with activities are only a few miles further. We took a day trip to Gatlinburg; went antiquing in Dillard, and found some great flea market buys in Clayton. It was pleasant to be busy in the day and come back to sit on the porch relaxing with a book or playing games. There is wifi and cell service, how great is that!!
Stephanie visited us once early on to make sure all was well, instructed us to call her if we needed her, then left us to ourselves. A most excellent hostess!
I would definitely recommend this property to my friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our most recent review from a FlipKey guest....

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
"Comfortable, Well-appointed Guest House in a Fantastic Location"

My husband and I had a wonderful anniversary trip staying in the charming Guest House in Franklin, NC. We found the house so comfortable, and the trip so relaxing, that we didn't want to leave! Stephanie, the gracious hostess, provided delicious homemade macaroons and a breakfast casserole, along with wine, o.j., half & half, and fresh flowers. These personal touches made us feel right at home, and you won't find these amenities at many other places! We've stayed in several wonderful homes but none that provided so many little extras as The Guest House. The king bed was extremely comfortable (and the sheets amazingly soft!), as was the living room sofa- I found myself wishing I had such comfy furniture at our house, but I suppose I wouldn't get much work done if we did. :) I really loved the way the house was decorated- comfy mountain-style furnishings with a touch of mid-century modern. It seemed a perfect match. We took advantage of the wonderful gas fireplace every day of our week! The gazebo was a great outdoor amenity- I spent one blissful afternoon lying in the hammock with a book and watching the chickens "free-ranging" on the hillside. I wish I had done more of that! There is so much to see and do in the area, though, if you enjoy driving curvy mountain roads, breathtaking scenery (gorges, waterfalls, amazing views), antiquing & checking out local arts & crafts, visiting unique mountain towns, eating amazing food, and trying out new things (gem mining!). We hope to return to The Guest House again soon!
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Western NC
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed here for several weeks while house hunting. This home was better than expected and the charming owners were absolutely wonderful. We were greeted with macaroon cookies, a breakfast strata, wine and freshly cut flowers from the property. The soothing music and pine scented candles were a nice touch as well. The views from the screened in porch were breathtaking-especially the sunrises and sunsets! The Proprietor, Stephanie, set out a basket that contained menus from area restaurants and much needed information about the area. She was extremely helpful and was quite a concierge during our stay. We appreciated Stephanie's recommendations and she was invaluable with our relocation. We felt "at home" instantly and were grateful she was immediately available. Stephanie maintained our privacy and the property was as described. It was clean, well-maintained, and we loved having so many places to wander outdoors. We had plenty of room for guests and they enjoyed the property also. The amenities were incredible and we were sad to leave. It was convenient to downtown Franklin, yet secluded making it the perfect place for us to stay. Whether you are staying a few days or a few months, we HIGHLY recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
weeki wachee fl
5

A Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Franklin N.C is known for its gold mining, well, we found our diamond in the rough when we chose "The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge" to be our base to explore the many wonders of western N.C.

What a gorgous setting, nestled high atop the mountain, with views of all the splendors of nature. What a view to wake up to every morning. Had coffee on the porch every morning before we headed out.

We were able to take long walks on the property and to rest afterwards in the gazebo.

The house itself was tastefully decorated with all the comforts home. We can't
say enough about the hospitality. We arrived to soothing music, 2 bottles of wine,candles burning, fresh flowers, breakfast casserole (ready to heat)also everything needed for the next morning and delicious cookies.

The House is conveniently located. So we enjoyed all Franklin and nearby towns had to offer.

We are taking our family to greet the New Year in this beautiful home and maybe some snow will enhance our visit. We can't wait to return to this paradise.



Mike & Joyce Weeki Wachee, Fl
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Cocoa, FL, USA
5

Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were looking for a place to relax with a great view and we definitely found it at the Guest House. The view was beautiful with the changing colors of the leaves. It was so peaceful and quiet! We were truly able to get some R&R which was so needed. The town of Franklin was cute and we enjoyed the pizza place and Amish deli. We took a drive to Bryson city which was a pretty drive with very windy roads. We also took a drive to the Highlands which was awesome with the water falls along the road. The Whistle Stop Antique store was such a nice store and very big; definitely worth the trip.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Southwest Florida
5

Best Rental Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This house was wonderful. Our stay was over Thanksgiving weekend with 7 of us ranging from my 83 year old mother down to my 5 year old granddaughter. Everyone felt comfortable and so much at home. We arrived to find coffee, 2 kinds of creamer, red and white wine, a breakfast casserole for the next day and the most awesome macaroons I have ever tasted. The house was immaculate and very tastefully decorated. Every detail was attended to right down to the table being set for us, candles and a tiny lit Christmas tree. High quality bedding and plenty of extra towels. We are from Florida so the extra throws, gas fireplace and central heat were lovely for the evenings and overnight. A large glass and screen sun porch allowed my mother to enjoy the view of mountains and valley below while staying comfortably warm in the afternoons. The laundry room is equipped with modern, easy to use machines. Renters are not expected to wash linens, strip beds or run the vacuum before leaving as we have found in other rentals. All soap, dishes and cookware are provided. Even basic spices for cooking and storage containers for leftovers (another first). The beds were comfortable and provided plenty of sleeping room for all of us. Downtown Franklin area is a 10-15 minute drive away. It was also a great central location to visit other small towns in the area, most only 15-30 minutes away. In response to an earlier review, the property manager does live next door but this did not detract from the enjoyment of the property whatsoever. In fact, we thought they were out of town the entire weekend we were there. Stephanie was very responsive to the emails I sent and would also have been available by phone. We roasted marshmallows at a small fire by the gazebo and walked all around the surrounding lanes and roads. The road to the house does become dirt and gravel, but was easily accessed by both of our cars that did not have 4 wheel drive. We did have a little trouble with our gps directions and if insecure with mountain driving, I suggest calling for directions when close. I would definitely return to this house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Hillsborough, NC
5

Relaxing stay with fantastic views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge was more than I expected. It was a home away from home with all the amenities. The breakfast casserole was delicious and the cookies were a wonderful treat. The porch was a favorite place to hang out. In the morning we could watch the mist in the valleys and in the evenings it was a place to unwind. There were five of us spanning three generations and we all had a wonderful time and would definitely return for another visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
guyton
2

Fair

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The guest house was nice, but I think they should say that the owners house is right beside the guest house. Also there really is'nt acres of land to walk because land is either straight up or straight down. Very rough road to get to guest house.Really need to have 4wheel drive.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent stay at The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge. We were unaware that you were so unhappy with your experience. We are glad that you liked the house but we regret that you did not find our property a suitable fit overall. We try to be informative and communicate the essentials. It is clearly stated in our listings and on our website that we do live next door in the main house on the property. We have received nothing but positive feedback from our guests to the fact that we live on site. Our guests are free to roam and explore anywhere on the property including the short walk to the gazebo and fire pit or our private road through the woods or the loop road that takes you to the top of the ridge and back around. We were unaware that you are in use of a cane and we regret that you couldn't experience and enjoy it fully. We also have plans in the works to add some additional features to the property including a meadow for deer grazing, a horseshoe pit and an 'outdoor pub'. Our access road is 7/10th mile hard packed dirt and gravel road (as pictured) with a moderate incline at the beginning before leveling off the rest of the way to The Guest House. The road is maintained and does not require 4WD (we, ourselves, do not own a 4WD vehicle). We have had a variety of cars, large and small, make the drive. Regardless, we do regret that the road intimidated this guest. We have a video of the road available for anyone who would like more information.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Catawba,NC USA
5

A little bumpy getting there but well worth it

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We found the Guest House online and glad we did. The house up stairs and down was just like it said online. The house was very clean, neat and when you entered it was just like home. Everything you would need except your food, (except for the delicious breakfast casserole and the out of this world home made cookies)that is provided for you when you arrive. The beds were very comfortable and enough wash cloths to last you a week without doing laundry in the new washer and dryer that is provided on both levels. My brother and sister in law went with us so they stayed in the down stairs studio but had plenty of room and a connecting garage to use. The screened in porch with ceiling fans was wonderful to sit out on, no noise just cool mountain air even when it was 90* and a beautiful view. Both up and down stairs areas can get to the porch and screened in porch. The property owners live next door but you never hear or see them unless you need to. When we are back in the area of Franklin (WCU) we will do our best to stay there again. The only negitive thing we have to say is the road is a little bumpy going up, but you can make it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your compliments! We're so pleased that you had a great stay with us here at Dogwood Ridge! It is our goal to make you feel right at home and that you thoroughly enjoy your vacation. The road going up received it's regular maintenance grading a couple of days after your check-out. We'd love to have you return anytime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Guest House at Dogwood Ridge - Gorgeous 12 Mile View, Gazebo, WiFi & More!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920912
+1 8282150606
Franklin North Carolina Mountains
Altamonte Springs, FL, USA
5

July in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I had the priviledge of staying at this property for the entire month of July 2012, with visits from our kids/grandkids while we were there.
Everything that is posted in the description of this property is MORE than anticipated, from candles and soft music upon arrival, wine ready to enjoy, homemade maccroon cookies, fresh flowers and homecrafted soap in the bathrooms, a wonderful breakfast casserole ready to pop in the oven, and coffee and cream in the 'frig! This is truly a home away from home; whether you cook or grill, eat in local restaurants, play games or watch TV, explore the area or stay home and read, use the porch or gazebo for the wonderful views,it MORE than met our expectations! Some of our highlights included tubing down the river, hiking at Glen Falls, going to music and craft festivals, Sat. night "pickin'-on-the-square" in Franklin, shopping on Main St. in Waynesville, gem mining with our grandkids and swimming in the creeks! Don't miss this wonderful getaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1