Ravello villa rental - view
view
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Ravello Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms,10-11 sleeps, 1 bathroom with tab and 4 bathrooms with shower

Modern comforts in the exclusive charme of a period villa with breathtaking views, swimming pool, gardens, terraces and spacious garage.

Visit also our website:

www.portadonicaravello.com

“PORTA DONICA”, nestled on the beautiful Amalfi Coast, is an elegant private villa which blends the magic atmospheres of the lovingly preserved ancient structure with all the amenities of a modern renovation. Relax by the swimming pool, the ancient belvedere, the plentiful lemon trees and enjoy the efficient lodging and open air reception facilities.

Origins: Origins: the current villa rose in the early 20th century around the ancient tower dating back to the 11th century. This tower, opening the way to the flight of steps that to this day leads with a ten minute walk to the Duomo, was the main gateway to the then flourishing city of Ravello. It was Porta Dominica and its name underwent successive alterations first changing to Porta Domnica and finally to Porta Donica, eventually lending its name to the flight of stairs and the entire district. This historically rich landmark is now conveniently accessible by road and is halfway between the contemporary beauty of the newly constructed auditorium (a design donated to the city by Oscar Neimeyer) and the famous SS. Cosma e Damiano sanctuary.

The Villa: The villa: from the road you access the property through the garage (which houses up to 3 cars) and make your way to the higher floors either by taking advantage of the internal elevator, or by climbing the indoor stairs framed by the scenographic backdrop of the exposed rock formations that constitute the building’s foundation. The unique architectural structure of the villa houses 5 bedrooms (for a total capacity of 10 individuals), each with its own independent bathroom, a great living room with a large fireplace, an elegant colonnade patio, steeping agricultural terraces and outdoor dining area with verandas and well equipped indoor and outdoor kitchen areas. Other convenience features include central heating, air conditioning, telephone land line, satellite TV, and Wi-Fi DSL connectivity.

Outdoors: as convenient as the indoor quarters are, you will mostly enjoy the elegance and relax of open air living by the garden and dining areas overlooking the outdoor swimming pool and the breathtaking view of the coast. A small kitchen, BBQ, pizza oven and toilette serve the area and the lawns, terraces and walkways shaded by lemon trees offer variety and privacy. The orchard will delight you with fresh salad, vegetables and fruit.

Events: the structure is well equipped with ideal areas to host private banquets and receptions. Both of the owners’ sons tested and perfected these facilities by hosting their wedding receptions in the villa.

Rent: the villa is available for rent on a weekly basis to private clients, either families or small groups of friends.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 920846 in Ravello, Italy

VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

Beautiful villa with stunning views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The villa was fantastic. Beautiful views, great accommodations, great location, clean and well managed. Tano is awesome!! I strongly recommend this villa and plan to use it again when I am in Italy
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

Gorgeous Villa - words cannot express

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent the last week of our 3 week visit to Italy at Porta Donica. The villa is beyond beautiful inside and out with the most amazing views of the coastline.
The old world charm with modern conveniences made this the perfect place to end out trip. The gardens are meticulously cared for as was the interior of the villa.
Tano, the property manager, went above and beyond the call of duty. He was attentive to our needs and available to us anytime. From helping us to arrange a private boat tour and pizza chef to cook at the villa to his vast knowledge of the area and Ravello. Our time spent on the Coast would not have been the same without him.
We would love to return to Ravello and Porta Donica, words cannot do it justice.
Bellisimo!
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

Magical villa in a magical place - again.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
In writing my review, that was just submitted, I clicked submit before seeing that my star rating was incorrect. Porta Donica was definitely a 5 star experience for the group of us!
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

Our best vacation EVER !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful property with an incredible view ! We were welcomed warmly by Gaetano upon our arrival. He showed us around the property and told us he was always available if we had questions or needs..and he was!! The villa was clean with a well equiped kitchen. We had asked Gaetano a week before we left the States to purchase some food supplies and it was there when we arrived. Later in the week Gaetano cooked a FABULOUS dinner for my wife's birthday. There were ten of us (9 adults and 1 four year old) and we never felt crowded or in each other's space. Plenty of room to be alone ! The pool area is beautiful as is the upper sitting area. We would love to come back, one week is too short a time at Villa Porta Donica !!
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
4

our stay in Ravello

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time in the quaint village of Ravello and in this lovely home. All but one of the rooms are small but the grounds are breathtaking. We so enjoyed the common areas with the summer kitchen, pool, a balcony. This is a very large home of which most we didn't use. There are a fair amount of stairs so that should be taken into account if needed. Our greatest expense was transportation as the house is someone removed from the shore and towns to go and visit. Tano, the house manager was terrific. He helped us schedule boating, dinners, drivers etc. We enjoyed having a home base and the house is centrally located to the towns you would want to see in the Amalfi Coastal areas. LOVED out vacation.
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
Montreal
5

Simply magical ...!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Ravello is one of our favourite places on the Amalfi coast and staying in this villa was simply magical. In the past, the villa was mis-managed and as a result, suffered a bit of neglect. Today, however, Tano, the ever-helpful property manager is slowly restoring it to its obvious splendour! This villa can best be described as 'quirky'. Because of all the doors and staircases, it took us a while to understand what was where ... we spent the first two days laughing and calling out to family members because we didn't know how to get from one room to the next.

We were four couples and we each had our own bedroom and bathroom (some rooms are more spacious and well appointed than others). There were enough areas for everyone to gather together or simply retreat to a quiet corner. The swimming pool was well maintained on a daily basis and the house was cleaned a few times a week. The house has several outside terraces and a magnificent old tower from where you have absolutely spectacular views; we got up early every single morning to see the sunrise and to see the town slowly awaken ... it was magical! It was a treat to pick tomatoes and eggplants from the garden and lemons and pomegranates from the trees. The house has indoor parking for two small vehicles - definitely a plus! As for the location - it is simply perfect - climbing 152 steps to the centre of town got easier every day ... the walk to town alone kept us fit (it can be done in 8 - 10 minutes)! On foot you accessed the town centre and everything it had to offer and by car, you could easily get to Amalfi and Positano or catch a ferry to Capri.

Tano, the property manager, is very helpful ... and what a great cook! He cooked us a meal one night which was simply wonderful! Upon our departure, he was eager to get our input as to how he could improve the villa for the future. The owners are very lucky to have someone as attentive as he is to manage their property.

It is the villa with its spectacular views, the magnificent sunrises and the magic of Ravello that will forever stay in our hearts and our memories and we look forward to going back!

Sonia & Raymond (Raimondo)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

The best views of the Amalfi coast, if not Italy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What a place, what a view, what a great holiday we had!

This villa isn't modern, prestine and with all your mod cons some might expect for a holiday home with this price tag, what it is is a quirky, fun and traditional house that is great to explore and with THE best views, not only of the Amalfi coastline, but of Italy.

From the garage down at street level, to the terrace on the roof where the sunworshipers caught the last rays, this villa must be over ten floors and it really is a great fun place to explore.

It sleeps 10, as long as two people are single and happy to stay in very small rooms. But hey, no-one spent much time in the room when there was the pool to enjoy and the view to take in.

As well as the main kitchen there are two further kitchens - outside by the pool and inside by the pool. The perfect place to make lunch for big groups as there is ample cutlery and crockery and glasses available everywhere. Plus there is a dishwasher in the main kitchen and outside kitchen so no-one has to wash up.

Other hightlights of the villa are the home grown produce. We weren't sure if we should but we helped ourselves to lemons, and made lemonade, as well as delicious tomatoes, peppers and chillis - wonderful!

There is ample seating areas throughout the house for people to sit in groups or alone to have a quite read and get away from things for a while...

Beware of the 152 steps up to the town of Ravello. As the week went on it became easier but this isn't for the faint hearted.

The pool is a good size and cleaned regularly but it isn't heated so was cold in October.

Great places to explore nearby are Positano and Amalfi - Capri was nice but take your credit card!!!!!!!!!!!

We had a wonderful time in Ravello and would highly recommend this villa.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

Wow Wow Wow!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Well, what can I say about this villa apart from AMAZING! The photo's on the website do not do the property and it's gardens justice. The decor is stunning and has lots of original features but you still have the use of all the modern conveniences. The location is perfect with breathtaking views from almost every angle and the walk to the main square only takes about 5-10 minutes. The swimming pool was cleaned every morning which was brilliant meaning it was ready to use whenever we wished. On top of this there was a cleaner who came in twice during the week who also provided fresh towels.

Tano, the manager is just brilliant and so attentive which made our stay out of this world. We had rented the villa as we were getting married in Ravello and Tano helped with dinner reservations, travel, helping us find our way around the town and recommending places to visit for our guests even though some of them were not even staying at the villa taking the stress from myself and my fiance so we are able to focus on relaxing before our big day. We will definitely be back to stay as we could not fault anything with our stay here. Thank you Tano for everything!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA Porta Donica Ravello great views swimming pool gardens and garage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920846
+39 3294242274
Ravello Amalfi Coast
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I recommend without reservation the villa. It mixes the best of antiquity and modern conveniences, with an 11th century tower, mosaic tiles, an updated kitchen and an elevator. It has the perfect location: a quick, 5-10 minute walk to the center of town. It is a bargain; the price does not fluctuate and get more expensive during the high tourist season.

Tano, the manager of the villa, was so accommodating that he makes you feel part of his family. On the first day, he met us at the villa and helped us with our luggage and groceries. For that night, he made reservations for us at a fantastic, nontouristy seafood restaurant, which turned out to be our second best meal of the trip. He was also available to answer questions about the town and steer us in the right direction. He cooked our best meal of the trip, our wedding rehearsal dinner, a banquet including pizza, grilled vegetables, various salads, two types of pasta, and tiramisu. The food was delicious and plentiful. All our guests left happy and satisfied.
Helpful votes: 4/4