Shelby house rental - Taken May 2012. Udated photos coming soon.
Taken May 2012. Udated photos coming soon.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Shelby House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4-6

Your home away from home. Live in the city and tired of the traffic and busy life? Get away from it all and come on over to Nell's House. Are you working in the Shelby area? Give up that cramped motel room and come on over to Nell's House.

So close, yet so far away.

Here is a place to sit back and relax and watching the horses graze in surrounding meadows. The nights are peaceful with only the sound of nature and the light of the stars. The days are opportunities for hiking, exploring, fishing, or just relaxing. Nells House is intimate and informal.

GUEST INFORMATION: Is it time to get back in touch with your what life was like in a gentler and quieter time.

Nell's House is your place to be when visiting Shelby, North Carolina, for business, pleasure, American Legion World Series Baseball, Cleveland County Fair or when passing through Cleveland County.

Hafta Mosey Farm, on which Nell's House is sitting, is your place to be when visiting Shelby, North Carolina, for business, pleasure, or when passing through Cleveland County.

Nestled on a farm, Nell's House lets you escape the day-to-day rat race and provides you with a memorable country experience. You can relax on the porch, nap the afternoon away, or sit and watch the cows, horses and if you are lucky, you may even see deer, all from your chair on the back deck.

While suitable for any traveler, the home is perfect for families who need affordable, flexible and friendly lodging. The home consists of two nice-size bedrooms with 1 king bed and 1 double bed and a third bedroom with bunk beds for the children. There is a television with basic cable in the cozy den. The eat-in-kitchen contains all cookware, utensils and kitchenware, and all linens and towels are supplied. There is a large, centrally located bath with double vanity and tub with shower.

However, the greatest amenities are outside the home as it is situated on a dirt road just a short turn off the main road in a quiet community with a deck off the kitchen, presenting pictorial views of woods and pastures where horses quietly graze.

Pets are not allowed in the home, but please inquire about suitable arrangements on site.

If you are traveling with horses, email us about stabling located right across the road. Coggins and health certificate required.

LOCATION: Shelby is 40 miles west of Charlotte, NC and 40 miles east of Asheville, NC. You will find outlet shopping twenty minutes away in SC and furniture shopping in Hickory, NC with just a 35 minute drive.

· Fully furnished kitchen

· Comfy living room

· Table and eat in bar in kitchen

· Cable TV/DVD

· Wi-Fi and Broadband

· Gas grill

· Situated on one acre, safe community

· Kid friendly with room to play outside.

· Restaurants and shopping minutes away

Close and not so far away places

• American Legion World Series Ballpark

• Cleveland County Fairgrounds

• Carrowinds Theme Park

• Carolina Panthers

• Biltmore House

• Lowes Motor Speedway

• Gardner Webb University

• Golf and swimming

• Hiking, mountain biking and trail riding

• Restored 1919 Herchell-Spillman carrousel

• Moss Lake

• South Mountain State Park

Two night minimum stay. Reservations recommended. A 50% deposit is required with reservation. Balance is due upon arrival. Personal checks accepted with advance deposits only.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Nell's house, located on Hafta' Mosey farm, is hosted by Harold and Debi Metcalfe, founders of Stolen Horse International, Idaho, pictured here with Debi, was stolen from us in 1997. She was recovered 51 weeks later. Her theft is the foundation for the nonprofit organization that assists thousands each year.

The Owner purchased this house in 1975

This home has been part of our family since it was built in 1975. Nell, lived in the house alone most of that time until she suffered a stroke in 2004. She was diagonised with Alzheimer;s Disease and and passed away in 2011. Nell's Farm House relfects her wonderful life with from the vintage dishes to the pictures. We kept as much of Nell in the house as we could but also mixed in our love of horses into the house. It is an interesting mix vistors enjoy.

Peace. Quiet. Crickets singing. No smog. No traffic. Dirt roads to walk on without cars whizzing by. Trees. Green fields.

12 Reviews of Property 240370 in Shelby, North Carolina

Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Hope Mills, NC
5

Christmas Season

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What a fantastic place with fantastic owners! We spent our Christmas Holiday at Nell's Farm House as we have family nearby. The Metcalfe's(Debi &Harold) were fantastic hosts as they had a Christmas Tree decorated and awaiting us. Wassail on the stove and a fresh evergreen wreath on the front door. This house is exactly as the pictures show. The house and surrounding farm so closely resembled the house I grew up in and spent 45 Christmas Seasons that my family decided to gather in Nell's living room for our gift giving. What a outstanding stay! It was like being back at my grandparents house again, with lots of memories.
Oh and if you like special sunrises, make the coffee, open the curtain on the sliding glass door and have a seat at the kitchen table. Peer out the door and wait, it'll be there.(You can imagine it now, can't you?) Beautiful, I saw it.
This is the best. House, hosts, location, surroundings, serenity, you name it.
(BTW: The Metcalfe's must be fantastic people. They, like me love those tiny layer chocolate cakes!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Midwest
5

Summer Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
How we enjoyed Debi's true Southern hospitality at Nell's Farmhouse this past spring! The home is so spotless and well maintained, and the area so quiet, we're counting the days til we can return and watch the horses from the kitchen!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Connecticut
5

Lttle House on the Prarie

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house is in excellent shape and was perfect for our use. It is very private and quiet so sleeping at night was not a problem. Overall I would recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Toledo Ohio USA
5

Family of 4 adults

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Lovely scenery, comfortable home. Will go back the same Holiday weekend.
Owner's Response: Thank you sooooooooooo much Peggilou. Glad you got home safe and we do look forward to seeing you again. Let us know if we can help you with anything on your next trip to Shelby.

God Bless!

Debi and Harold
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Southside Virginia
5

Can't wait to go again!

Can't wait to go again!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I just had an excellent stay at Nell's Farm House. The house is very comfortable and quiet. I cooked several meals while there and was able to find everything I needed in the kitchen. It is well-stocked, clean, and fully operational. I am originally from Shelby, and being at Nell's was like being back home for me. Look forward to going again when I make a trip down to work on the family tree! Thank you Debi for your kind hospitality!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Jane for such a kind review. I am sorry for my delay in responding but honestly, I didn't know the reply feature was here until today.

We can't wait to see you back again. You were wonderful to have with us!!! Let us know if we can be of any help to you when you come visit Shelby again.

God Bles,

Debi and Harold
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Annapolis, MD
5

Peaceful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great time visiting family in NC. We looked around for Hotels close by and none of them had good reviews AND would take pets. The ones that took pets looked kind of icky :( So i decided to check out VRBO. Low and behold....there was 1 place in Shelby. Nell's! It was great! Debi was very nice and genuinely excited we were coming. She welcomed us with kindness and enthusiasm.....but she was very good about giving us our space after a 9 hour car ride :) The beds were REALLY comfortable and the house was SO quite. It was REALLY nice after spending a day with a 4 year old. Debi moved her horses to the back pen, so every morning we would wake up, look out the back door, and see the horses. That was awesome! I would HIGHLY recommend this place! Thanks again Debi!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Fullerton, California
5

Home away from home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a BLAST staying at Nell's. The area is beautiful, and house is close to Gardner-Webb where our son goes to school. Both Debi and Harold are friendly and very accommodating. We enjoyed being able to fix our son home-cooked meals (what he misses most from home). Able to step out the door to walk in the countryside, or hop in the car to see trees changing color across the state. Will definitely be staying here whenever we visit in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
asheville nc
5

home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
very nice to have a place to stay for 11 days while working the cleveland county fair. everything was just as the post said. nice to have a fully furnished kitchen for some home cooked meals. harold and debi were great hosts, as well as the family dog maddox (who we looked forward to seeing every day!) far enough out in the country to be nice & quiet yet close enough to town to not have a long drive for errands. if you get a chance while there try out "smoke on the square" restaurant in downtown! the shrimp and grits are to die for!
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wedding at Nell's Farm House

Wedding at Nell's Farm House
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We wanted to thank you again for your hospitality. The house was perfect and a beautiful setting for the wedding.I am sending some pics, please let me know if they dont come through. We all wanted to stay there, it was so peacefull. Thanks again.
business
Nell's Farm House - Shelby-Boiling Springs Country Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240370vb
Shelby North Carolina Piedmont
South Florida
5

Country Charm, Southern Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We chose this property because of it's proximity to Gardner-Webb University in nearby Boiling Springs. Both Debi and Harold were very informative and willing to answer all our questions about the surrounding area. We ran into a last minute problem that we feared would be an issue, but instead they were very understanding. Upon arrival the house was clean and exactly as described in the ad. Over the course of several days Debi gave recommendations on places to eat, and places to go. Our stay was pleasant and relaxing, especially sitting out on the elevated deck. We recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area as opposed to staying in an area hotel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2