Windham cabin rental - FRONT
FRONT
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Windham Cabin Rental Photos and Description
5 bedroom, 3 full bathroom, sleeps 10

Tucked away on 75 acres of stunning Catskill Mountain landscape, this charming home awaits any family looking for a mountain getaway. A beautiful and private spring-fed pond lies directly on the property where you can take the row boat out to fish, jump right in for a swim, or ice skate during the winter. Ease your ski-sore muscles in the outdoor hot tub by the gas-barbecue, wood stove, and fire pit. Let the naturalist in you come out as you explore the creek that borders the property or hike one of the several trails, all of which are private and lead straight back to the main property.

Must be 25 years of age to rent this property.

Also with children's tree house next to home. New additions to the property include: newly renovated wrap around patio, air conditioning, expanded hot tub area, new barbeque area

12 Reviews of Property 920655 in Windham, New York

Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The pictures of this property do not even do justice for how breathtakingly beautiful it is. You can sit on the front porch and sip your coffee while looking out onto the lake that sits on the property. The only thing that will distract you from looking at the lake is the picturesque mountain that's right in view. You can soak in the hot tub, have a bon fire, cozy up in the living room by the fire place, or go for an amazing hike on the 75 acres.
Nick and Pat could not have been more helpful, honest, kind, or fair through the whole experience. I did a lot of searching before my trip and could not be more confident when I say I know I made the right choice.
I can not even put into words how perfect this place is, you should just go see for yourself.
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The owners of the property, Nick and Pat, besides being very nice people, have great taste. Think the best complement one could give a rental is to wish it were mine!
Seriously, the 8 of us had a wonderful time the four days and three nights there. The cabin had everything, the decor just right, the location of the home (it's way more than a cabin and much warmer than a house) is perfect, surrounded by nature, and with all the comfort of a modern home. Our dog Bruno had a blast romping through the woods (have a feeling he is missing it).To have had rain almost 50% of the time we were there and still consider our stay fantastic speaks well of the property, the surrounding area and the cleanliness of this beautifully built place.
Were planning to tour the area but didn't move an inch. A wonderful weekend of fun, hiking, EATING, a drink or two and simple peace of mind. Hoping to return soon.
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
New York
5

Fantastic stay at this property!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our stay at Nick's property was amazing! The house was extremely large, clean, well equipped and was exactly as described/pictured. The grounds were meticulously maintained and there was lots to do on the property. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck, using the hot tub, going for walks around the grounds, rowing around the lake and using the bbq. We had a group of 10 adults and we did lots of cooking and found that the kitchen had more amenities than most of our apartments at home had! There were also two fire pits outside which we used to make s'mores which was really great! We would highly recommend this property to big groups or families. The communication with both property owner Nick and caretaker Greg was amazing. Both Nick and Greg kept us informed and were available for everything we needed before and during our stay. We even left some clothes in one of the bedroom closets by mistake when we left and Greg was so helpful and even posted them back to us in NYC without any charge! This property is fantastic and we would highly recommend it to anyone! Thanks, Catherine
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Perfect cabin retreat... look no further!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed here with four other couples (10 adults total) for a weekend retreat. The property and its owners exceeded our expectations by far.

* Location
A manageable 2-hr drive from NYC, secluded enough to feel you’re away from it all, but just a short distance from the nearest general store should you need emergency supplies. The exit sign off the highway is tiny but the manager was great and showed up to make sure we didn’t miss it.

* Property (cabin & grounds)
The photos weren’t lying.
- The cabin is spacious yet cozy, spotless clean, and well-equipped (the kitchen was better stocked than my own.) The top floor, consisting of the master bedroom and living area and bathroom, is worth fighting over…but the other rooms are all quite nice and each has its own advantages. Temperature control was awesome, anywhere from pleasantly chilly to toasty warm, however you like it.
- Grill and fire pit were great for multiple BBQ and s’more feasts, and ample chairs everywhere.
- The pond, which was more like a lake, was breathtaking in the moonlight and charming in the day, complete with a little dock & row boat.
- Idyllic playhouse for kids
-We didn’t get to try out the hot tub but it was on standby, bubbly hot, before we arrived.
- The whole place was so picturesque you could snap pictures anywhere (pile of stacked firewood, clanging bell hanging on the porch, treasure chest full of board games, full shot of cabin, etc) and get amazing postcard-quality images.
-Like one other reviewer mentioned, cell phone service in this area is nonexistent. There is Wi-Fi (slow) and landline phones in the cabin if you really need them… but you’re there to relax and get away from it all, right?
-We stayed on-site for the entire time so can't comment on the local eats or attractions, sorry!

* Customer Service
Greg the property manager was easy to reach and accommodating whenever we had questions. Nick the owner was AMAZING. From initial contact, he was helpful and prompt in response, ensuring we booked our stay for the desired timeframe, and sent us a hand-drawn map of the grounds in advance. One of us lost an earring—talk about needle in a haystack—but Nick and housekeeping used their mysterious powers and found it and mailed it to us ASAP. Deposit return was timely. We could not be more satisfied with our experience, and would definitely return!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
Buffalo NY USA
5

LOVELY FALL GET-A-WAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Hi Nick & Pat, I just want to thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin/property with us. We can't say enough how perfect it was for all of us. We enjoyed it so very much that we wanted to stay longer. Your cabin was well equipped with everything necessary & very clean. The grounds were so relaxing & we loved exploring on all the trails. The antique bus was so interesting. I would love to know the story behind it. When you live in the city among all the hustle & bustle it means so much to have a little bit of heaven at your fingertips. It has been so long since I have seen a sky full of stars. That was a treat! So once again thank you so much! Theresa & family
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
New York, NY
5

Beautiful, Secluded Cabin and Gracious Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
After scouring VRBO for days looking for the perfect place to spend one of the last weekends of summer, I landed on this wonderful cabin a comfortable driving distance from my home in NYC.

There's just a ton to like about the house and the property. During the several days that we were there, we spent the daylight hours playing sports in the large front yard, exploring the large property, and altogether enjoying the September weather. At night, we made use of the outdoor char broiler to cook our dinners and relaxed in the hot tub and by the fire pit. Getting to and from town to run errands was a cinch, and Nick provided clear directions, in addition to answering all questions we had about the property and nearby activities. Nick and the home's caretaker, Greg, were both superb to work with. Thanks so much for having us!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Magical Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Unbelievable. We fell in love with the look of this cabin, as our dream was to spend Christmas & the New Year in a log cabin. This place didn't disappoint. It was quite literally magical. As we drove up into the mountain it started to snow, and we had a fully white landscape when we pulled in! The cabin itself was incredible. Everything you can imagine or want for. Pristine and clean, with enough pots and pans, even for a Christmas dinner for 7! All the living areas were fantastic, all really homely and warm. Kids and grandparents were all looked after and the grounds made for great snowballing, igloo making and trekking. Close by Windham Mountain was easy to get to and great fun. If you're looking for a log cabin experience in the winter, I think you'd be hard pressed to find a better place, period. Nick and Pat even called to make sure everything was as we needed, and to make sure we were OK, and the local guy Greg, made sure the fire was lit before we arrived, and ploughed us out when we got stuck. One drawback though, don't think you'll get any service on the internet. The connection is terrible, which made investigating where to go difficult, so just plan to turn off from the world and relax, and for that you seriously won't find a better place! Now, to make Nick and Pat an offer!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Absolutely Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
You will not be disappointed with this home! The entire house was perfectly laid out for our group and well stocked with anything and everything we could possibly need. There are endless things to do here. The built-in grill, fire pit, hot tub, row boat, etc. occupied our weekend. I don't think a single one of us wanted to leave on Sunday. This house would be fantastic in any season. Summer for swimming and hiking the area, Winter for skiing and the hot tub and Spring/Fall for the fire pit and trails. We definitely plan on renting this home away from home again!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Superb cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
After some indifferent experiences of NY state rentals we were delighted with this one. It was clean, well equipped and delightfully situated. The owner and local caretaker were extremely helpful and reacted immediately to the two very minor issues we encountered. The fall colours were brilliant, the hot tub was so envigorating . Even on a wet day the place was so relaxing with the deer grazing in front of the porch; you felt miles from everything, yet the town with its variety of eateries was closeby.
Overall a great place. We hope to return,next time we cross the pond- the Atlantic, not the one at the cabin.
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Charming Log Cabin 75 Private Beautiful Acres/Near Ski & Golf
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920655
Windham Catskills
5

Comfort in the Country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our group rented this lovely house for most of the summer, and could not have been happier. The property is very large - and the owner has carefully crafted beautiful walking trails throughout the 75 acres that take you through pine woods, along a gorgeous mountain stream, and up through meadows of wild flowers. Wildlife abounds, from baby fawns, to bunny rabbits and woodpeckers. The pond is a delicious place to cool off, and swinm long lazy laps. The house itself was spacious and comfortable, "rustic chic" down to the very nice sheets! We grilled every night on the out door "kitchen" with a state of the art gas grill, and made excellent use of the hot tub. The night sky's were full of stars - accompanied by a veritable orchestra of bull frogs, lustily communicating from one side of the pond to the other! The town of Windham is just a short drive away, with everything you need for food and beverage - and - an excellent little golf course just 3 miles from the house! This is a place to forget about the city, and really sink into the gorgeous mountain views right off your covered front porch. The owner and caretaker were so easy to work with, and incredibly responsive. We loved our summer and are still suffering withdrawal. We will definitely be back!

All the best,
Amy
Helpful votes: 7/7