Margaretville barn rental - Sofa area with fire place.
Sofa area with fire place.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps15
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Margaretville Barn Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 15 or more (no prom parties)

Stunning 19th century mountain barn over 5500sqft large. Bordering Catskill State Park and close to 4 ski-resorts. Ideal for 2 to 5 families or group of friends sharing holidays or on a get-away!

Secluded barn is located halfway its own private 300 acres mountain, with breath-taking views and unmatched privacy. In winter, Belleayre and Plattekill mountain are 10 miles away, Hunter and Windham 25 miles. In Summer, Pine Hill lake/beach, Wawaka lake, and several golf courses are within 15 min. Pepacton Reservoir offers canoeing, fishing and other water sports. For longer term rentals (2 weeks plus), we offer privileges to a pool and tennis club.

Great entertaining space guarantees memorable moments: 2500sqft open living space, includes master-chef kitchen, bar area, dining area, tatami area, sofa and TV area, two fire places, large windows, and ceilings up to 40ft! 6 spacious bedrooms. Three bathrooms, with 3 showers and 2 Japanese tubs. 2.5 hours from New York (GW bridge). Winter: 4WD/AWD required for last 0.7miles. WIFI+TV. Minimum renter age is 25 years old. Please no prom inquiries.

* Hill in front of Barn is perfect for sledding or snow-tubing.

* Private, marked, hiking trails on property. Barn is at 2300ft, but trails go up to 3200ft.

* Winter hikes are magnificent (bring or rent snow-shoes).

* Uncrowded Belleayre and Plattekill Ski-resorts (Kids ski for free!) are each a 15 minute drive away (10miles). Hunter and Windham 25 miles away.

* We provide maps with hiking trails in Catskill State park. Our favorite: West Kill Mountain (Devil's path or Diamond Notch trail).

* Satellite TV with 120 channels, including Nickelodeon, Disney Channel, Cartoon Network, ESPN, ESPN2, U-ESPN, AMC,...

* Popular for small weddings. Please inquire for details and rates.

More Details
Hide Details

35 Reviews of Property 920649 in Margaretville, New York

5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
average rating of 4.882353 based on 35 reviews
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
4

Excellent For A Long Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This barn was amazing. Plenty of room for a large group to stay in the house, with lots of options to keep you entertained. The owners also made the whole rental process go very smoothly and were always quick to respond to any questions that came up. Can't thank them enough.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Subsequently, we found out from the renter that the missing star is because they only can get HBO and video on demand channels during their stay. We would like to highlight that this is definitely the challenges we face being close to nature. Modern tech such TV, Satellite internet, land line phone and etc. are from time to time not perfectly functional. We hope these challenges would push our renters closer to nature :-) and we would appreciate your understanding about these unexpected service interruptions.
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

A magical breathtaking experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My friends and I couldn't believe our eyes when we walked in. This propriety is magical, extremely spacious and bright.. you can tell that the owners care deeply about the place!
We celebrated our wedding in that occasion, a small intimate ceremony, and I couldn't imagine it being more perfect than that. We brought a bunch of decorations and it transformed into a fairytale barn.
Everything was spotless clean. In the kitchen you could be working in 6-8 people and still not bump into one another. It's full of dishes, pots, pans, bowls, trays, and many things that you didn't even know you could need! ;-)
The owners were really nice since the first email conversation, and tried to accommodate all our needs.
We had the most wonderful weekend, I hope you will have a great time too.
Owner's Response: we are pleased to offer our place to you and being part of your wonderful life as married couple.
our barn just went through a deep cleaning before your group. it is hard to keep it spotless clean all year round but our cleaning crew do try their best.
we are very lucky to have wonderful guests like you and appreciate your efforts in keeping our barn in good shape for future visitors :-)
thank you!
rita
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

Another Good experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The barn was even better than last year with a new back porch and big flat screen TV. We would have stayed longer if we could, we just didn't want to leave. Looking forward to a third year in a row next year!!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

Beautiful barn and a wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Dear Rita,

We just wanted to send a heartfelt note to say Thank You for creating such a beautiful and memorable space for our group.

We absolutely loved the barn, all the details of the interior design (tatami mats, fireplaces, BEAMS!), and the surrounding grounds. Thank you for having so many lovely amenities available to us. We prepared and cooked an enormous meal for our friends and it went off without a hitch! We could not have been more comfortable, it truly felt like home for the short amount of time we were there.

THANK YOU!
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

It was a great wedding and stay for us.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The mountain barn is a perfect site for our wedding. The Fall foliage blew everybody away. It’s spacious and enough for 60-70 people sitting inside barn for dinner. When you close the huge slide door at night, it’s a good projector screen (wood screen!). We hold the wedding ceremony in the afternoon in front of the barn, and the sunshine was beautiful which makes people glow in the pictures; the mountain foliage view is another great feature for the ceremony. For the reception, people could easily hang out around the barn or inside. The tatami is a great place for the wedding cake show. We had roasted pig for the wedding dinner, and it was awesome. Our guests still keep asking how I found the barn. They are talking about how beautiful it is.

Before the wedding, we had stayed three nights. At night, stars really twinkle. The Milky Way is right on top of you. Even though the preparation itself for the wedding was not too much fun, it was also an enjoyable process with a foliage mountain view while sitting either at the big window, or in the big front door, or outside, or even in the bedroom with view. It’s not very cold even during the foliage season, and the two fire places function very well. The barn has most of household stuff we need, such as washer/dryer, glasses, wine glasses, silverware, cookware, tableware, etc. As we need to cook for ourselves before the wedding, the grocery shop is around 25 minute drive. One of us forgot the wallet in the barn, the housekeeper found it, and Rita brought it back to us in NYC. Thanks so much, Rita!

We definitely enjoyed the stay and the big moments in the wedding, and think about coming back again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a detailed review. Indeed, the best feature of our mountain barn is that you are surrounded by unspoid nature. I am especially pleased that as the first Chinese couple to host wedding at our place, your guests travelled half away around globe from China were happy at well! Thank again for sharing your happiness with every one visiting our mountain barn. We look forward to having you back!
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
5

An amazing retreat for a large group!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I rented this incredible mountain barn for a long weekend surrounding our wedding, to ensure a space to spend quality time with close friends who were traveling from all over the world to be with us. This property was the perfect mix of rustic, mountain charm and luxury. Particular highlights were the brick pizza oven and Japanese-style soak tubs. We had 16 adults, and were able to negotiate comfortable sleeping arrangements for all, though some more private than others. We had an amazing three-night stay and hope to return for future big group getaways.
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

magical place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Fantastic, secluded, great views, beautiful two level front porch overlooking the valley, majestic loft like space tastefully designed and decorated
Great hiking opportunities on the property, lots of fun for kids
Would highly recommend
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
Brooklyn
5

Gorgeous Place for Family + Friends to Gather

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had the most fantastic time at the barn. It was gorgeous and really perfect. We could feel that it was a home and the care the owners took in building it. Everyone was really floored, including a few guests we had stop by for dinner one night.. no one could stop talking about what an amazing house we had! We want to make this an annual retreat.

We were able to do morning yoga on the lawn, star gazing at night.. everyone piled into the kitchen to help cook and it did not feel crowded at all! There were 16 adults staying here for a nearby wedding, we could not have been happier. The house is definitely remote, but it made for a such a special break from our normal lives - its a magical house and we felt blessed to have found it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

A Magical Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My now husband and I wanted to have our nuptials in the midst of nature and found pictures of the Catskill barn online. We came up to visit just after a snow storm last winter and despite the snow, we knew that we had found the perfect spot. It was a small DIY wedding which did require both sides of the soon to be joined families to pitch in and help us ‘do-it-ourselves’. All our efforts were well worth it! It was a magical place.
Yes, the hill leading up to the barn is intimidating, especially for those city slicker and suburban guests, but it seemed to serve as the required initiation that the guests needed to pass in order to earn their place in nature. The views of the mountains were a stunning backdrop for our outside ceremony that required no wedding planner to pin up.
The barn itself was another pleasant surprise for the guests. I watched from the bedroom balcony as guests began to walk in, all gapping in awe at the space. As I learned from the extremely sweet, helpful, and well-informed neighbors, the barn was once at the bottom of the hill and the top portion of the barn was reassembled plank by plank atop the hill. The result is an open, modern, and welcoming space secluded in the mystical Catskill hills.
The owner was a huge help and was able to connect me with everyone needed to pull off this party. There is a neighboring maintenance man minutes away (who made a couple of late night trips out to the barn to assist), as well as a housekeeper available for questions. The local party rental man, Mike, was also a huge help and able to network for us to meet all our party needs.
The wedding was amazing. Guest sipping wine entertained in the beauty of the barn while a jazz trio played funky soothing tunes, kids freely playing in the open space and that awesome view of the sunset from the tent on that warm summer evening. Perfect! So if you are willing to put in the work, you will reap the benefits of this barn.
business
5500sqft Mountain Barn on 300 wooded acres. Stunning structure, amazing views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920649
+1 18487022256
Margaretville Catskills
5

Fabulous wedding at the barn!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just had our wedding of about 65 guests at the barn on 6/8/13. It was wonderful! If you do take this on, it's a lot of DIY planning and preparation, but it's worth it.

We had originally decided to have a tent, dance floor and tables set up for outside, but due to heavy rains the few days before, we couldn't use the area due to mud. We then moved everything inside. This meant moving all of the furniture out of the living area of the barn and putting tables up and many decorations. It looked phenonmenal. I wish we had planned it this way from the start. The tent obscures the beautiful view from the barn and if it's a nice day, you can have people outside and inside. The rain did let up enough for us to have an outdoor ceremony, which we had on the lower lawn. It was perfect.

We also met wonderful, extremely helpful people while there - our caterers (a bbq caterer who came in with smokers at 6am from Tivoli, NY - fabulous people and food!!), the owners of the barn and caretakers of the home. The owners were very available and answered questions quickly, solving any issues we had. We were able to stay a few days before and an extra night after, which was all very helpful in setting everything up and putting it all back together again.

The barn is a stunning, magical and lovely setting for a wedding. We couldn't have chosen better, or been more pleased :).
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing! It's an unique experience to host a wedding party at the barn. We are so happy that every couple had their own special happpy moments despite of the hard work and unpredictable weather :-)