Savannah cottage rental - 1920s oak draw-leaf table set. Expanded table has seating for 6. Leather chairs
1920s oak draw-leaf table set. Expanded table has seating for 6. Leather chairs
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Savannah Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2-4

While he was the organist and music director of Savannah’s Unitarian Church, which faces onto Troup Square, the Reverend John Pierpont Jr. wrote the beloved Christmas song Jingle Bells, copyrighted in 1857. In 1985, the City of Savannah placed a plaque in Troup Square to commemorate the song and its Savannah roots.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Built in 1900, our cottage is in a quiet residential neighborhood 50 yards from Troup Square. The one bedroom, one bath property is single storey. Fully renovated in 2011, it has off-street parking for one small car and ample free street parking—no meters to feed with quarters or $7.00 daily parking permits required. Within easy walking distance of restaurants (there are two within 100 yards), the Savannah riverfront, and all of the fun and fascination of pre-Civil War historic architecture, beautiful landscaping, antique shops, etc.

----

Highlights: Private Deck with outdoor cafe table and chairs and 15-ft-long built-in bench for seating --- Full Gourmet Kitchen - island breakfast bar, quartz countertops, full-size stainless steel refrigerator, gas range, dishwasher, microwave --- Open Plan Dining Room/Living Room. Dining area has 1920’s oak draw-leaf table that can seat six, and a working fireplace. Living area has comfortable, queen-size pullout sofa-bed—one that you would actually be happy sleeping on!—custom manufactured by Rowe Furniture in North Carolina, with “Air Dreaml” innerspring air mattress system --- In the Bedroom, a Queen-Size Bed (The manufacturer describes this mattress as 'Firm' - not 'Extra Firm' , not 'Soft'. We have purchased an additional memory foam mattress topper. Guests who prefer a firmer mattress can take the topper off during their stay) --- High-Definition Flat-Screen TVs (Living Room, Bedroom and Kitchen) with High-Definition Cable and High-Speed Wireless Internet --- Phone with local telephone number and free calls within the Continental US --- Bathroom with new tub/shower combination --- Carefully furnished with original artworks, framed vintage textiles, antiques, and modern accessories

More Details
Hide Details

We are a nearing-retirement age couple from the New York City area with backgrounds in fine arts and restoration, an appreciation for eccentricity, and a limited amount of patience for shoveling snow - so Savannah is perfect for us.

Owner purchased this cottage in 2007

When our son was clever enough to pass up the blustery New York area where he was born and enrolled in the Savannah College of Art & Design (SCAD) in animation in 2004 we began thinking about escaping ourselves - at least for visits. He graduated in 2008 and has moved on to other challenges but we continue to be fascinated by Savannah, one of the most magical cities in the US.

For short and longer term visits we have stayed in quite a few Savannah hotels and a dozen or so furnished vacation rentals, so we have a good idea of what we want to find to make us comfortable, which has guided us in renovating and furnishing this cottage.

51 Reviews of Property 920489 in Savannah, Georgia

Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
average rating of 4.901961 based on 51 reviews
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed our stay here. It had everything you would ever need, was very clean and the location was great, very quiet and close to the centre.
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Great value, location, and stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My friend and I stayed here for a girls getaway weekend and will definitely be back. The cottage is decorated beautifully and fully updated. It is on a beautiful, quiet street and super close to everything in downtown Savannah. Parking was no issue at all. I highly recommend the Jingle Bell Cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

The sisters

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had such a wonderful time in Savannah. The cottage was stocked with all the comforts of home. The location was perfect - within walking distance of the entire historic district. The parking spot was definitely made for a small vehicle, but once we squeezed into the spot, we were set for the duration of our visit. We will definitely consider booking the Jingle Bells Square Cottage again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Ann Arbor, MI
4

A nice location for a writing retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I went to Savannah for a retreat to work on some side projects that never get enough attention in the course of our normal lives. This little cottage offered us a perfect space for writing, with a great location for walking around downtown when our brains needed a break.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Akron, OH
5

Christmas in Savannah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What a lovely place!
The cottage has everything you could need for a perfect stay in Savannah.
It is tastefully decorated and furnished and was the perfect size for the two of us yet big enough to have over a couple of our family members who live nearby.
The location is excellent, walking distance to the River and nearby bars/restaurants.
It was comfortably furnished - perfect for relaxing after walking around town. The dining table was great for when we had dinner in. The fireplace was a nice touch as it was quite chilly during our stay. Parking is ample on Harris and the little parking spot off the alley was not too small at all. The owner was great and sent us all the information we needed. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Lovely Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Lovely place with charming decor and perfect location. Felt like our own private hideaway with all we enjoyed at our doorstep. Bedroom was cozy with extra bedding and pillows should you need them. The kitchen was outfitted with all one could need. Thank you for a memorable stay. Therese & Mark
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Perfect Weekend GetAway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I stayed here during the 2013 Rock and Roll Marathon and absolutely loved it! The cottage is very well appointed, with everything you would need for a cozy weekend getaway. It was very clean and well kept and had a wonderful rustic, Savannah charm to it. The location could not have been better. We literally parked out car after arriving and did not have to drive anywhere until we packed up to leave. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a run weekend getaway to Savannah!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Couple from North Carolina visiting daughter in Savannah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Such a delightful cottage. My husband and I rented this for 2 nights while we were visiting our daughter in Savannah. The check in process was so easy and we found ourselves in a cottage that had the comforts of home. The property manager responded quickly to our questions. We used the street parking since our car is a little larger and never had a problem with a spot. We will certainly stay here again. We had easy access to downtown Savannah as well as places out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Great getaway spot in the middle of Savannah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We recently stayed at JBSC for a couple of days with our two small children. The place was great. There was nothing we needed that we did not have. The kitchen was equipped and everything was beautiful and tasteful.They were very helpful answering questions and the location was perfect for going everywhere we needed to go in Savannah. The parking spot was small but we could fit a minivan in it. We just had to pull the van out before loading up each time, which not a big problem considering you have the car right there. We hope to go back soon!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Jingle Bells Square Cottage-Historic District-Bright-Working Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p920489
+1 845-535-5899
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

I stand corrected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I stand corrected. The cottage did have a washer dryer in a closet in the bedroom. When we first arrived, I tried to open the closet but it would not open, Not wanting to cause damage, I did not force it. I have been informed by the owner that it was just suck. my bad:(