Current area house rental - Welcome to Current
Welcome to Current
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights
 

Current area House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms each has it's own private bath and 1 sleeper couch

This very peaceful and quiet house is located on North Beach Eleuthera in the Current settlement approximately 7 miles from North Eleuthera airport. The view from the house is overlooking the Atlantic Ocean which you can see the beach below and spectacular sunsets. The beach is beautiful white sand and stretches approximately for one mile. You can swim in the crystal clear water and walk the beach to find beautiful shells, sand dollars, starfish, etc.

This house has a wheelchair accessible bathroom and ramp to the beach. There is an outside shower for when you get done enjoying the beach you can rinse off before heading into the house. We have bicycles with baskets, fishing tackle, rods, reels and 2 person 13 ft Kayak to explore the island .

I live in the Florida Keys and was born in raised in Key West. I have been building homes for over 30 years here. We purchased the house in 2004 I am very partial to Eleuthera because this is where my grandparents were born who were fishermen and farmers on the island. I love the water in the islands. You will love the islands when you get the sand in your shoes and the saltwater in your veins.

*We are members of Vacation for Veterans. we support our military and donate our home to wounded soldiers and their families to enjoy. www.vacationforveterans.org

Jack Sweeting purchased this house in 2004

I love Eleuthera and the people that live there.

22 Reviews of Property 919837 in Current area, Bahamas

Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
average rating of 4.714286 based on 22 reviews
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
Westfield,Massachusetts
5

Great 16 days

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at the Hibicus house for 16 days & enjoyed every minute of it. The house was clean, had everything you needed to cook in, and the location was perfect. James the caretaker was as good as it can get.He brought us lobster,stone crab claws and fillets that were spectacular. It's our 4th time staying in the Current and this is the best rental we've had and we are planning on going back next years for 17 days. I would highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a memorable stay at Hibiscus House. Our first priority was a relaxed beach side vacation and this property completely met our expectations. The beach was usually deserted so we had it all to ourselves and provided good swimming every day. We did visit other beaches in the area during our stay, and while they were all lovely, not all were sheltered from large waves. The house is comfortable with large bedrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. Wi-fi and cable TV were appreciated by our two teenagers. The house is terraced on three sides so we were always able to find sun or shade as desired.
Jack, the owner, provided a high degree of care and attention to our stay and we felt more like guests than renters. James, the caretaker, was also instrumental in making our vacation memorable. He kept us provided with fresh fish, lobster and conch and took us on snorkeling adventures.
We had enjoyable expeditions to Spanish Wells and Harbour Island which are both easily to access from Current as well as Governors's Harbour in central Eleuthera. North Eleuthera does not have an extensive tourist info-structure but we were able to obtain everything we required without difficulty. For us the relaxed atmosphere was a strong positive as was the friendliness and helpfulness of the residents. We would certainly return to Hibiscus House.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
5

Very Comfortable Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We have been traveling to Current for a number of years and stayed at 4 different houses on North Beach. All houses were very nice for different reasons.
This year marks the 3rd year we have stayed at the Hibiscus House and I can highly recommend the house. Right on the beach, very peaceful and well equipped . Jack always calls to make sure everything is all right and James who takes care of the property and meets you at the airport is first rate. James also provided us with fresh seafood and is available for fishing and snorkeling trips. The people in area are friendly and it is the perfect place to go to experience the real Bahamas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
new york
4

girlfriends get away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We discovered eleuthera sometime ago and it is so different from any vacation destination – and so perfect for us – that we keep coming back. In the past, we have stayed on the east cost of the island south of governor harbor. This time we wanted to explore north. I loved the settlement of current. Hibiscus house is on the beach facing west capturing sunset. I walked 10 minutes to the beach facing east to catch sunrise. I met fishermen and asked for fresh catch. Next day I had two smiling big guys at my door with a huge bag of freshly caught conch and another full of crayfish (fresh water lobster). oh how yummy they were in ceviche, sauteed or boiled. We did not eat out. We are professional woman. Eleuthera for us is to get away from our hectic lives and just chill. And chill we did. The beach is lovely, white sand with very few rocks (volcanic rocks are common in eleuthera). The ocean is crystal clear and goes from white/translucent small waves to turquoise. We saw one couple strolling on the beach during sunset – never saw another soul on our beach in 7 days. The house is beautifully situated on the beach. The house itself is adequate and a good deal for the price. The owner jack sweeting is a wonderful human being – we had to cancel our trip in february due to a death in the family. He could have just said sorry for your loss and kept our payment – but he invited us to come back anytime. So we went in november. november weather is less predictable, but we loved the alternating sunny days, thunderstorm, rain and more sun. the ocean is gorgeous regardless.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
Springfield, MO
5

Todd and Nancy are coming back to Hibiscus house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I just spent 2 wonderful weeks at Hibiscus house(7/31/13-8/14/13). We have stayed at 6 other Bahamian islands and this spot is one of the best. Many of the islands require an overnight in Nassau, catching the Bahamas Air flight at 10:30 the next morning to arrive at your destination. You can be on the beach at Hibiscus house the same day from the U.S.( you just saved time and money with your toes in the sand!). Let me tell you about the house which is situated on a ridge 30 feet above the ocean and surrounded by lush tropical vegetation giving the house a secluded feeling while providing a view of amazing sunsets. Each day the sunsets are the icing on the cake! The house is very nice, just as pictured online. You can watch the sunsets from the porch or inside from the family room and the outdoor shower is perfect. There is a concrete ramp that leads to a soft white sand beach that extends 20 yards to the ocean. The water depth goes from 0-12 feet in 30 yards with shells/sand dollars/starfish and many small tropical fish around the rocks. While we were there 85% of the time the waves were so small you could have water skied. Some days we saw 1-3 people on the beach and then there were days we saw no one on the beach. My wife has the perfect description of the water" it feels like velvet". Jack has two excellent kayaks and bikes that we went venturing on. We rode the bikes to the Current settlement many times( less than a mile from the house) very nice people-store, post office and dock. There is a main dock just outside of Current by the cut, we rode over on Thursday around 11:30am to watch the mail boat( the Current Pride) arrive from Nassau and all that insues. Pack your snorkel gear, water and whatever else and jump in the kayak and head north or south. We enjoyed heading south towards the cut, there is a very nice beach to stop at and snorkel. You will see lots of fish small to medium size and you can feel the pull from the cut. I have to tell you that the beautiful color and clarity of the water brings us back to the Bahamas every year. Jack is a great guy, always eager to make sure that your trip is special. James the caretaker and Joseph were there to help us but never invaded our privacy, we appreciated them so much.
Thanks to Jack,Joyce, James, Joseph and all the wonderful people that we met on Eleuthera.
Todd and Nancy
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
Houston, TX USA
4

Paradise!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Jack is awesome. He was very attentive before and during the rental period. We spent two weeks at Hibiscus House and were very pleased with the location. I did a lot of research before and after booking the trip and all in all, the location and the house met our very realistic expectations. The pictures on the website are accurate, exterior and interior. The view, beach and water are amazing. We pretty much had the place to ourselves. Occasionally a sailboat would anchor just off shore which added to the view. The Settlement of Current does not have restaurants, coffee shops or gift shops (yes, we knew that before going :-)), but it does have a fabulous, well stocked little library and a small grocery store. James was great - he took us snorkeling and fishing. The cost for the half day trip for two was fair, reasonable and worth every penny! The fresh fish was unbelievably good and we are not that crazy about fish. This is the ideal place to enjoy solitude and beauty. We were able to go snorkeling, swimming and kayaking right from our own little beach. Jack is building a Tiki Hut on the beach which will provide much needed shade. I made do by placing my chair under a palm tree. It was great!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
Monticello, MN
5

Our new secret vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our stay at Hibiscus House was outstanding! We'd been to Eleuthera before, so were prepared for the "out-island" way of life. If you're not familiar with what that is, do some research - this is NOT Nassau.

The house was absolutely wonderful. Perfect size, everything works, well-stocked kitchen (you'll need it), and a view of the ocean that I can still see if I close my eyes. It is quiet island isolation at its finest while your at the house. A pretty good stereo to plug in your iPhone and jam out to whatever your in the mood for, and the food and beer stores are an easy drive down the road. (BRING CASH). Great beaches all over the place, and if you start to miss American-style tourism, head over to Harbour Island, there's plenty of it there.

The owner of the house is great, and is genuinely interested in your satisfaction. The caretaker of the house, James, is an invaluable resource, and an absolutely great guy. Have him take you fishing and snorkeling for a day in his little boat for some real, authentic island fishing the way the locals do - as in, dive for your own conch and use it as bait. We caught more fish than we could eat, and he cleaned them for us, too. It's not free, but so worth the lifelong memories.

We will be back to North Eleuthera, and when we make our plans, this house and our new friend James will absolutely be at the top of our list.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
Livingston, Montana USA
5

Guest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Just returned from my time at Hibiscus House. What a great place. The house has everything one could need. I particularly loved the beach with its wonderful small reef. I snorkeled with two little squid almost everyday and got to experience the creatures of the reef as they went about the business of living in the Atlantic. The caretaker, James, could not have been more helpful. He took us on a drift snorkel in the cut and to some great reefs just off the coast. Eleuthera is a very special place in the world and Hibiscus House is a perfect place to experience this wonderful island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
5

4 ppl in tranquility for 8 days!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We want to thank Jack, James and all of the pleasant people of Current for making our stay here an enjoyable one. We were pleasantly surprised and so very comfortable with the accommodations. Everything you need is here if you are looking for relaxation, quiet surroundings with the sounds of the ocean and the palm trees swaying in the Caribbean breeze.
I would recommend the car to explore Harbour Island and other areas. Harbour Island is pretty much the only "night life" per se, with restaurants and upscale hotels. We enjoyed spending the day there on the beach. If you drive Queens Hwy. to Gregory Town there is a really nice little souvenir shop to get quality gifts for everyone on your list. I would say you can drive from Current (where Hibiscus House is) to the end of Eleuthera in several hours.The grocery store is in Bluff and Lower Bogue has a Texaco gas station. It is around 3.00/gallon and food is expensive so be prepared. Remember, you are on an island!!
As far a no seems, gnats or whatever the bugs are they do exist but Jack has everything you need to be sure your stay is enjoyable. We didn't sit outside but relaxed in the living room at night watching tv, feeling the wind blowing in and listening to the waves. No qualms with ANY of that...it was heavenly.
At the present time there are 2 beach cruiser bikes and Jack is getting 2 more, we had 4 people so we would have liked that but future guests will enjoy biking around the island. Just a heads up, when the ocean is more rough on your side of the island, you can bike a few blocks to the other side and it will be calm... so you can't lose! Kayaking is superb and my son had a great time snorkeling all week. We saw may tropical fish out by the bouys in the water and around the rocks down the right of the beach. We saw a lion fish, blue, yellow, striped and many more sea creatures. We collected sand dollars and conch shells.
The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans and pretty much all you need. I am sure other guests are like us and leave things behind like shampoo and things but that being said nothing is guaranteed. If you feel you REALLY need it, bring it. No fancy shampoo or little things you may be "addicted" to...like our rockstars :( but we managed just fine.
Basically, you CANNOT go wrong if you are looking for serenity, it is here at the Hibiscus House. Thank you Jack!!
FYI: Jack is building a tiki hut with hammocks...BONUS! Sorry we missed it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Hibiscus House on the Beach Dedicated to Navy Seal William J. Bushelle 2/16/14
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919837
+1 3053958738
Current area Eleuthera
5

A week that was extraordinary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I spent a week at Hibiscus House, March 5 - 12. We could not have been more fortunate to have found through VRBO this spot. From the beginning of our search, our experience was upfront, truthful and easy. The owner of this property was easily accessible and checked in with us at regular intervals to ensure that our needs were being addressed. We were picked at the airport upon our arrival by James Monroe, just as we were told. James took us to the grocery store, liquor store and a small restaurant for a take out meal for our first night in Current.
Jack's house is pristine. Extremely clean and well appointed for all our needs, not to mention extremely private. The beach and grounds are as good as it gets. The water is crystal clear the beach is all yours.
We fished all week, going out with James twice to fish and snorkel, and other days fishing at the cut and the town dock. All was beyond expectations. James is the perfect humble guide that will put you where you want to go and catch all the fish you need and let you snorkel the waters of the island. The cost of these activities are not prohibitive and the experience is stellar.
The people of Current could not have been kinder to us. We met many in just a week. They really made our excursion. They laugh and smile a lot- what a blessing.
Our time in Current could have not been better and we will be back - We did not rent car - did not have the desire to go any where else. A rental is available any time.
NOTE - if you need restaurants, night life, water sports-jet skis etc. - entertainment by others - GO SOMEWHERE ELSE - In this location you will entertain yourself and cook for yourself and enjoy yourself by yourself.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6