Walker cottage rental - Lakeside view of the new cottage. Mid-summer of 2013.
Lakeside view of the new cottage. Mid-summer of 2013.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Walker Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Completely updated! Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bath, (Sleeps 5-8)

Reserve Now for Winter and Spring 2014!!! Please check the calendar first. Weekends and weeks are filling fast and many are reserved weeks, months, or even years in advance. Currently at reduced after remodel prices! Incredible value. Try it.

Major home upgrade just completed. (9/2012 to 6/2013). New Home now available.

Delightful 3 bedroom - 2 bath year around home. Updated every year.

Two new beautiful bathrooms and full separate laundry area

Exterior fire pit and interior gas fireplace.

Relaxing recreational location

Large commercial grade kitchen special for family meal prep and relaxed gourmet meals or just serving a family reunion crowd.

Nearby access to Paul Bunyan and Heartland trails for great bicycling, inline skating, X-C skiing, and snowmobiling.

Great bass fishing ( 1 lb to 5 lb) from dock..Good walleye and northern lake trolling shallows and sand bars

Quiet, calm, and clean lake good for canoeing, water skiing and recreational boating. Ultra clear spring fed lake with a sandy bottom

Loons live here. You should see/hear them every night.

Private dock with 3000 lb covered boat lift

Supplied with Old Town Canoe and Lund 14' fishing boat. Outboard motor not supplied but available for rent at nearby commercial locations

Property has a security system including exterior video surveillance.

CAN SLEEP NINE IN A LARGE FAMILY. IS NOT SUITABLE FOR 9 ADULTS REQUIRING PRIVACY.

Not fully handicap accesible: One step up at entrance. One step down between most of the house and just the living area. 10 steps down to lake in front of house. The interior doors are generally 30 in. width. No ramps are provided.

More Details
Hide Details

Nuclear Engineer. Reside in WA, MD part time, and MN part time.

Like to sail, swim, waterski, snow ski, hike, mountaineer, bicycle, XC ski, and amateur radio

Own house in MN on lake, and house in MD on Chesapeake Bay.

John Swailes purchased this cottage in 1993

Lived on this lake every summer for 63 years. Family on this lake for 90 years. Love it summer or winter! Family owns house next door to the north.

Small lake. Pristine spring fed water. Low boating traffic on the lake nearly all of the time as compared to White Fish Chain, Gull Lake, Ten Mile Lake, Leech Lake, etc. More suitable for families in some ways. More suitable for children venturing out on their own. Better wake boarding and water skiing due to low wave height and quiet boating condiitions. Many bays on the lake. Always a calm spot for trick skiing and trick wakeboarding. Generally good fishing.

House is all new in 2013. Added a bedroom and expanded the other two bedrooms. Added a second bath. Added a full laundry. Added a full living area. Retained the sunroom sitting area over looking the lake and beach immediately in front of the house. Thoughtfully designed and highly functional house with top quality commerical grade gourmet kitchen. Now also with full dining room and more glass for view out to lake. Bedrooms now with full closet and dressers. Master bedroom has ensuite bathroom. Sleeping loft has areas for children or adult guests. Spent four years designing and preparing to build this. Corrected all of the flaws in the previous home and then some.

8 Reviews of Property 349396 in Walker, Minnesota

Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
5

Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The cottage was beautiful and well equipped for a family getaway! Very comfortable and a nice retreat in the winter.
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
5

Absolutely Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I cannot say enough about this home (as I find it hard to call it a cabin). We used it for a group of 7 ice fisherman and had PLENTY of room. Home was designed with group/family gathering in mind. The kitchen was FULLY equipped with every appliance you can think of and of the highest quality. The stove was a chef's dream! This is DEFINATELY a bargain for the winter months! John did a great job in pre-trip correspondence and making sure everything was ready for us when we got there.
Another bonus was all bed linens and towels were supplied for us!!
Thanks John!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
5

Wonderful getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a fabulous property. The house: Beautifully re-done to retain a northwoods cabin feel but with all the luxury and convenience you could want. Kitchen was a dream, beautiful stone fireplace in living room, lots of room in the house yet feels cozy and simply beautiful details throughout. Loved the library! The location: lovely, woods surrounding cabin and great views to the lake. There are neighboring cabins/homes but none can be seen from this cabin. We walked the lake in the evening and it was just beautiful and quiet. I'm sure it is amazing in the summer but the winter was lovely too! Perfect, perfect, perfect! We have looked at and stayed at many cabins in this area and this was by far the best and a good value as well. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
Southern MN
5

Winter Wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Cozy Cottage is exactly that..a cozy cottage, but so much more. While this lake home has the comfy feel of a family cottage, it is also packed with modern amenities. The gourmet kitchen with commercial grade appliances was an absolute treat to cook in, and the island was a great gathering and conversation spot for our group. The dining room table was perfect for puzzles and games as well as for more formal meals. The living room had a wonderful gas fireplace and very comfy leather furniture to watch the big screen HD TV (which was perfect for our college football bowl lovers). The Direct TV and wireless internet coverage worked flawlessly during our stay. The cottage was very well maintained and clean. Even though we were impressed by the pictures, they really don't do the home true justice.

The location was accessible, about a couple miles from a main highway intersection with an "everything you need" gas/hardware/grocery store, and the lake road was very well plowed and maintained during our stay. We felt like the only people on the lake at times. We snowshoed both around the lake and on a very nice trail just across the road from the property. We saw deer, wild turkeys and even watched a ruffed grouse court a couple of hens. Because the kitchen was so nice, we didn't eat out as much as we had planned, but there are many choices within 15-20 minutes.

We would definitely stay here again for a winter break and think a summer stay would be incredible as well as it is just steps from the cottage to the lake shore. This cottage makes you feel like you are in your own vacation home during the stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are working hard to find the right balance of value and availability, as well as keeping the home in great condition. We believe that the property is a great value presently, and during the first years of operation we intend that it will stay that way.

Thanks for the many kind and generous thoughts. We would welcome you back anytime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
5

Gem in the Northwoods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The photos on the website just don't do it for this Gem. Six adults family members had such a good time that two of which had to leave on Friday, but then called off their other events to stay one more day. We have to say the only bad thing is that we had to leave. The kitchen was A1 along with everything else. We could have filmed a cooking show here! John called to see if everything went OK while we were at his place which was a nice thing to do. We or I could go on and on about our stay but just go see it in person.Thanks for the great time and everyone would like to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Be happy to have any or all of you back again. I will continue to try hard and have each stay for each person be as special as this one was for you. Thanks!
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
5

A family's Paradise

A family's Paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just returned from a week at this rental. It was very easy to find and Did Not disappoint. The huge kitchen is amazing with all the cooking equipment. It was a delight to cook family meals in this unbelievable kitchen. You can tell how each detail was so thoroughly thought out when this house was built. Everything is very top of the line. Gorgeous bathrooms, living room, family room, and bedrooms. Also, the washer and dryer came in handy too, along with the wine fridge! Every evening we had deer wander into the yard which were fun to watch. Very nice dock, we weren't able to fish, but definitely seen the fish swimming in the crystal clear lake. My Father was thrilled with the enormous book collection and spent hours looking through them. Cozy nights by the fireplace and drinking coffee in the morning sun were some more of our favorite moments. The property owner provided excellent customer service and called after we returned home to make sure everything was satisfactory in our stay. We ventured to the little towns some days for shopping and even went to the casino one day in Walker. Also, the grocery store is just 2 miles down the road for supplies! I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a wonderful vacation!
Owner's Response: THANK YOU FOR THE THOUGHTFUL, AND I BELIEVE, ACCURATE COMMENTS. I WILL STRIVE TO ENSURE THAT EACH FAMILY'S STAY CAN BE AS POSITIVE AND FULFILLING AS YOURS WAS THIS PAST WEEK
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
5

Fantastic*****

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our one-week visit was fantastic. When we walked into the cabin we were amazed at the decor and arrangements. Craig started us off with a welcome bottle of wine, which was unexpected, but appreciated. Everything you need and more comes with this cabin...cable TV, a sunken bathtub, bikes and more. The cabin is on a secluded bay that opens to 10-mile lake. Loons in the morning and loons at night! Nothing like quiet peace, yet also being able to ski and tube just off the deck. The neighbors, Bob and Kim also happen to be in-laws, and they are first-class. This truly was one of our favorite getaways, and our hope is we'll be able to come back time and again. Casey and Karen Mahon, Elk River, MN
Owner's Response: This is a very nice review, and I wish it was for my cottage. Unfortunately, it is not. My cottage is not on Ten Mile Lake. Please consider removing this review from my web site and adding it to the appropriate property.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Cozy Cottage is Small Enough to be Romantic and Large Enough for a Family!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p349396vb
5095211171
Walker Minnesota
Santa Barbara, CA, U.S.A
5

Perfect peaceful family vacation cabin WE Will be back

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We arrived Mothers Day about 5 pm. Had no trouble finding the cabin. We were amazed at how beautiful this property is. It took our breath away the views of the lake the fresh air trees everywhere. The home is beautiful. We brought our own sheets but the house was stocked with sheets n towels and everything you would need. We took the canoe for a family ride and it was great. Caught a couple little fish the second day and tossed em back but was fun to sit on the dock w our daughter and enjoy the sunshine and fish. We enjoyed bbqing but most enjoyed was the awesome kitchen with viking stove and sub zero fridge. We ate in everyday and only had lunch out a couple times. I could've stayed two weeks or even a season at this amazing cabin. Its just what I had in mind but blew my expectations. The family gathered at the kitchen for meals and enjoyes the lake view. It was so nice to lay in the beds or futons w the windows open and enjoy the breeze on your face. We even did a fun puzzle of minnesota and played cribbage. The large flat screen tv was awesome for the little one to watch nick jr so direct tv is a plus. Also wifi is available. Many books to read. Found 3 trails to hike within footsteps of the house. The porch area was such a nice room to relax w family. There was brand new washer dryer front loaders w used, I have them at home so was nice treat. There was nothing bad to say. Be warned the shower is very small if u r short its not fun but just as well more room for cabin space. The cabin was very clean, expect the floors hadn't been cleaned in quite some time and were very dusty. We almost bought a mop but decided it was our vacation some dusty dirty feet wasn't stopping our fun and the rest of the cabin was very clean and we were overall extremely pleased. John the owner called us and made sure we were comfortable and was available for any questions. We were so grateful to have a awesome owner so helpful from the start of our reservation. The home recently had security installed and the comfort and safety we felt was a plus. The weather was in the 90s 80s and just beautiful. We did have a couple nights of rain and thunder storms but enjoyed the cozy cabin even more. It was a perfect vacation. I cannot thank john enough and I'm sure we will return next may for week at least at horseshoe lake. I even got myself a horseshoe lake sweatshirt at godfreys which is a great grocery/hardware store. Thank you horseshoe lake we r in love and this cabin is perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What can I say other than Stephanie likes this spot in the world as much as I do too!

I will try never to have a spot of dirt on the floors when anyone arrives and I am distressed that I let it occur this time. We have had some light construction and maintenance work ongoing with the property and the house during the spring and early summer. This may have left a dirty floor after my cleaning staff carefully went through the house. The spring as cool and wet part of the time and the yard has some spots still trying to grow grass.

I agree that it is a reasonable value and a very nice house. Almost everyone who stays here says the same thing. Not all of them have been kind enough to write about it in such glowing terms.

I have a modest remodel planned on the cabin for the fall and winter of 2012. The bathroom shower will be somewhat more accomodating in the future.

I enjoy being here with my children and my family. My wife and I fly into Minneapolis for long weekends too when others are not staying at the cottage. When they are, and if my house next door is not cloed for the season, we just stay there if our cottage is occupied. My grandparents built the house next door in 1921.

To all of you yet to come. I will try to make your experience as positive as it was for Stephanie. Some of you will of course find the cottage and lake lot more mundane or less special, but for you more than anyone else, I still think you will like the lake, enjoy your time, and feel that it is a good value.

John Swailes
Helpful votes: 13/13