Lake Winnebago house rental - Fishng for the Pot of Gold in front of the house
Fishng for the Pot of Gold in front of the house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Lake Winnebago House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, sleeps 6 comfortably

Beautiful on the water location on the W shore of Lake Winnebago in the Fox Valley, Neenah, WI. Located 80 miles N of Milwaukee, between Appleton and Oshkosh and 35 miles S of the world champion Green Bay Packers. The home is on a secluded private road with an 'up North' feel yet within a short distance of the Fox River Mall and Plaza, the EAA, The Outlet Shoppes at Oshkosh, The Timber Rattlers (farm team of the Milwaukee Brewers), many excellent restaurants and multiple museums and beautiful park systems. Lake Winnebago is known for it's excellent fishing, boating and recreational activities. It is also home to the Fox River Lock system that flows from the north end of Lake Winnebago down to Lake Michigan at Green Bay.

This is our private family lake home located in a large bay on the S side of Neenah. We're a little over 3 hours from Chicago. The home is fully equipped and ready for guests. It's located on a secluded, privately owned, road with approximately 25 other homes which are year around primary residences. It’s a great family get away or a private retreat for a couple. Even though it has an 'up north' feel it's 10 minutes from major shopping such as the Fox Valley Mall and many stores and restaurants in the Appleton area. Lots and lots of kids activities, parks, museums, farmers markets and festivals. The property and home are immaculate with a sand beach, lots of blow up water toys and lawn chairs. It includes a dock and an available 4200# boat lift. There is a launching area for kayaks / canoes / small boats on the property. Lake Winnebago is nationally known for fishing and many tournaments. There are two large trees on the lake side so you have your choice of sun or shade. The other side of the house is a dense woods. This is a quiet, family recreation home or a great couples get away with a beautiful view of Lake Winnebago through an 8' tinted sliding door overlooking a well-manicured lawn and garden to the shoreline and 60 foot 'L' shaped dock to swim or catch fish . The water at the end of the dock is waist high with a sand bottom. Great for 'cannonballs'!

You pretty much name a store and it will be within 10 miles. There are restaurants of your choice and multiple water activities. We supply a large charcoal grill and all that goes with it. We're approximately 17 miles N of the EAA and Pioneer Airport and the Shoppes at Oshkosh (huge outdoor mall of upscale outlet stores) and 10 minutes from Appleton. Green Bay and Lambeau Field are about 35 minutes N.

Activities abound IF you want to leave the house. The Neenah Pool is a great children's playground, the Shattuck Park Concert Series, Houdini History Museum, Paine Museum, Bergstrom-Mahler Museum, Building for Kids Childrens Museum (very interactive), Rocket Ship Park, an extensive water walkway and bike trail that follows the old train tracks over bridges, Multiple festivals and concerts abound including a wonderful farmers market. See FutureNeenah.org for a calendar of events. If you like history explore the Fox Valley Locks that date to the 1850's.

You need to bring only your personal effects - everything is furnished as this is our home. Bedding, pillows, towels for bath and beach, dishes, silverware, pot, pans, microwave, gas stove, oversize charcoal grill and all that goes with grilling, spices, etc. You've got the picture - it's complete. We also have Time Warner cable TV and high speed secured wireless internet. There's a 40' Smart flat screen that's wall mounted and, of course, a DVR..There are 3 bedrooms with 2 on the second floor. One cozy room overlooks the lake and the other overlooks the woods and is very large. Both have new king size beds with the larger room including a drop leaf table and chairs and plenty of floor space for a queen blow up bed (which we furnish). The third bedroom is on the first floor across from the bathroom. We currently use that as a lady's dressing room but it is a bedroom. There's also a pull out sofa bed in the living room.

If you're interested please call for conversation. It's nicer to talk on the phone. Hope to hear from you.

George

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 918976 in Lake Winnebago, Wisconsin

Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Exactly what we needed and were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Clean and quiet property with a beautiful view and easy access to the water off the dock - with a boat lift. Close to public boat landings. Easily accomadated our family get away consisting of 4 adults and 2 kids. Everything we needed was there; made packing easy.

Enjoyed the outdoors: fishing, innertubing, campfires, playing catch in the yard, relaxing in lawn chairs, and listening to the waves come ashore.

Enjoyed the comforts of home: full kitchen, full bath, air conditoning, cable television with a flat screen for the Packer game and wireless internet for the laptop and the kids' iPods.

George was friendly and readily available by phone to answer the few questions we had during our stay. Easy access to HWY 41 for a quick ride to Oshkosh or Appleton.

I would recommend this place to anyone!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments and we're happy it suited your needs so well. It sound so pleasant maybe I should stay there for a couple days!

Hope to see you again.

George and Ann
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I recently stayed at this home and were truly impressed. From the very beginning of the planning stages of our trip, the owner of the home was very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived at the home, we were pleasantly surprised with the amenities the home and property offered. For example, personally I really loved the fact that they had their own dock, with a boat lift! This made it very easy for my family and I to enjoy beautiful Lake Winnebago and the great fishing the lake offers. We even caught a few fish right from the dock! The home even has their own beach area, which my two kids loved to play at. The location of the home is also very nice and there is a grocery store and places to eat only a few minutes away from the home. Also, Appleton is only a short 10-15 minute drive from the home if you are looking for even more restaurant and shopping options.

We would definitely stay at this home again!
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Short but sweet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a giant birthday party/family reunion/celebration of life over a week-long period, people coming in and out all week long, the bulk on the weekend so we rented two houses on Lake Winnebago within walking distance of each other. The other house was larger and was for the week. George, who needless to say, preferred a Sun to Sun arrangement, accommodated our group by allowing just a 4-night stay. It was perfect in every way; i.e., the facilities, the toys, equipment, amenities available could not have been better. And, yes, George and Ann couldn't have been more welcoming, responsive, amenable and kind. George is a big man in every sense of the word and his wife as sweet as tupelo honey. Most of the folks in attendance were originally from Menasha (never thought we'd love a place in our arch rival, Neenah) so this place was convenient not only for those who stayed there, but also for visitors, for groceries, things for adults (golf, boating, fishing) and kids (nearby pool, all the toys, even a sandbox at this place) and George and Ann gave a free reign to use anything there. It was so nice. Even the weather cooperated: perfect temperature, no rain, etc. I live in California so I'm pretty spoiled. George, did you control that, too???? Great time had by all. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lake house is in a nice peacfull neighborhood. I love to fish and go cycling and I was able to do both. The sounds of a lake will put anybody in a great mood at night by the fire pit.George the owner is a very nice and easy person to communicate with so the whole rental went very smooth!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Perfect!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed every minute of our stay. 5 adults and 2 toddlers were very comfortable. We are from Neenah and loved the location. So convenient to everything!! The house was very clean and had all conveniences of home. George and his wife could not have been nicer or more helpful. We enjoyed visiting friends and having them come out and visit us. The large lakefront was shady and cool on the hottest days. We only needed air conditioning for 2 days! My 2 grandchildren LOVED the sand by the water and "fishing" with the child-friendly fishing rods. They slept soundly every night!(so did we!) Loved being minutes from the grocery store, parks and Zuppa's(a great restaurant!) I just loved the simplicity of the cottage. Highly recommended by all of us!!! Cindy S.
Owner's Response: Hi Cindy:

Thanks for the great review. We feel the same way you do - it's our second home in a beautiful lake setting that is secluded yet near everything. And yes, I agree, Zuppa's is one of our favorites.
It was great meeting you and the family and we hope to see you again.

George and Ann
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I stayed at this property of Memorial Day Weekend and had an amazing time. George and his wife were VERY accommodating and friendly -- especially considering our last minute booking. The house is in a great location with an amazing view of the lake and in a quiet neighborhood with friendly neighbors. George and his wife have kept the house in great shape. It was very clean and had all of the amenities we could think of - grill, blender, toaster oven, games, etc. We didn't explore much of the city, but we did go to the grocery store which is conveniently a few minutes from the house. I highly recommend a stay. You will have a wonderful, relaxing time! I'm looking forward to another trip up later in the summer!
Owner's Response: It sure was fun meeting you and your husband. I'm glad you enjoyed staying at our house as it is a great couples getaway. Hope to see you soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet neighborhood, beautiful views, near metro areas, and 3 hrs from Chicago
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918976
+1 414-745-5400
Lake Winnebago Central Wisconsin
5

Great place for family vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family (w/3 kids, 5 yrs, 3 yrs, 1 yr) had a great time at the lake house. My sons loved doing cannonballs off the end of the dock and swimming in the lake. They also enjoyed helping Dad fish off the dock. House is neatly kept and is in a great location. Plenty of parks nearby with lots of playgrounds for kids. George was extremely helpful and friendly. My family looks forward to hopefully coming again next year and I'm sure the kids will be talking about it until then.
Owner's Response: Thanks! We think it's a great place for famlies and get aways and we certainly enjoyed having you and your family visit us.
Helpful votes: 2/2