Manuel Antonio house rental - Sunset view. Almost every single night from Dec - April.
Sunset view. Almost every single night from Dec - April.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights
 

Manuel Antonio House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 bedrooms+loft, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8-10

Want some time with the family? Want to lose yourself completely in a picturesque view of the Pacific Ocean? Want 8 restaurants, an international grocer, 2 banks, the public bus stop, 4 bars, 4 gift/art stores, a car rental AND a private beach located in walking distance too? Come Join us at Casa Barba Roja - in the heart of Manuel Antonio. Along with the jungles and beaches and surf of Costa Rica, this house will be a memorable part of your stay here in Manuel Antonio! Our Concierge, Shirley Clark, is always available to make this trip that much more stress-free, pleasant, exciting, adventurous, etc.

Gorgeous, open, spacious house - perhaps the best deal in Manuel Antonio! This newly remodeled home has all the amenities to make your trip delightful, stress-free, exotic, and comfortable, while hosting a very tropical, open, bright design that will surely erase all winter blues! Jungle, ocean, sunsets, monkeys, butterflies, mapaches, iguanas - and virtually no neighbors!

This house has plenty of indoor space and plenty of outdoor space as well, both covered and open-air deck s. There is a roofed outdoor area above the pool deck that measures 600sq.ft. and the pool and pool-deck roughly measure 800 sq. ft. Hop in the pool, get some sun, feel better about life and then relax on one of our lounge chairs or sit back in the shade of our covered deck. See the monkeys go by while losing yourself into the deep green/blue ocean of the quiet/peaceful/gorgeous Bisanz Bay. Relax, sit back, unwind, de-stress and enjoy one of the magnificent ocean views on the planet according to the Ottawa Citizen, which calls the Barba Roja Restaurant (100 meters from the Barba Roja House) 'One of the Top 5 places in the world to watch water.' We are here to help make your vacation stress-free! Ask us about a private chef to dine in, tours and activities in the area, transportation to and from San Jose or other parts of Costa Rica.

Centrally located next to Tulemar Gardens and the Barba Roja Restaurant, everything you will need for your stay is within walking distance: International grocer - 5 minute walk, 8 of the area's top restaurants are within a 5 minute walk, the top four bars on Manuel Antonio are with a 3 minute walk. And the absolute best part, while this house is located close to all of these locals, there is virtually no noise of any sort due to jungle on four sides of the house. Even the beach is only 12 minute-downhill walk (the uphill is NOT 12 minutes).

This house is centrally located at the halfway point between the beaches of Manuel Antonio and the town of Quepos. This house is only 130 meters off of the main road, yet is nestled into the jungles of Costa Rica so that all you hear are the sounds of nature. This recently remodeled home is fully furnished and extremely comfortable, and filled with top of the line appliances, as well as teak wood furniture and ceilings, plus a brand new pool and loft to make the house more livable. The pool and outdoor deck and shower were built in Sept of 2011.

There are 2 full bedrooms and a loft. In the largest bedroom, there are 2 queen-size beds, a full-size bed in the master bedroom and two twin beds in the loft. The bathrooms are reasonably large and comfortable.

The beaches of Manuel Antonio are a 3 minute drive or a 12 minute downhill walk. there is an international grocer just a 5 minute walk away, and there are activities and tours of all kinds and excitement levels that will complete your jungle adventure.

More Details
Hide Details

I moved here in 2004 to escape into the jungle. I have 2 kids now and moved back to the US for schooling for my girls, but we come to visit whenever we have a moment!!!

Heather Burt purchased this house in 2004

Because it is awesome! Centrally located, beautiful, comfortable, easy walking distances, no need for a rental car, plus this house is private and quiet and has an awe-inspiring view!

This house is truly in the middle of it all, yet just enough removed to make it a quiet, heavenly getaway where you can walk to everything including 10 restaurants, a bank, a few bars, a sports bar with pool tables, a car rental agency, two grocery stores, etc. . .

29 Reviews of Property 918952 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 29 reviews
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We are a family of 5 with 3 boys ages 6-12. We were hoping the property would be as comfortable and beautiful as it appeared in the pictures and we were not disappointed! It is a gorgeous view with comfortable and up to date amenities. We could not have been happier with the location either. The kitchen is up to date and we cooked there a few times, but there are multiple restaurants within a very short walking distance to the house. Josue and Roxanna were also amazing and extremely helpful. We have recommended the house to friends of ours and if we travel back to Manuel Antonio, we would definitely stay there again. My children didn't want to leave! We loved it. Thank you for helping us have a terrific stay.
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Thibodaux, Louisiana
5

A great place to stay in MA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family of three stayed at Casa Barba Roja in late Feb/early March 2014 but our review starts well before that because the manager and concierge were involved in our planning almost a year before we arrived. The value in the ability to use the knowledge of these two people cannot be overstated when it comes to preparing for your CR vacation. I was in frequent contact with both and they were always super helpful. The house is centrally located and we walked on several occasions to grocery stores, restaurants, the bus stop, and the bank that is right across the street. The location is a huge draw for this property, it is tucked neatly into the jungle of MA after a short walk down a paved lighted path from the main road. We spent countless hours enjoying the sunsets, pool and surroundings and were often visited by jungle dwellers. During the 10 days we were there we saw capuchin & squirrel monkeys, sloths, 2 types of toucan, halloween jungle crab, gladiator frogs, iguanas, a poisonous cane toad,and lots of other birds / wildlife . To wake up early and have a cup of coffee while watching the jungle come alive was worth the trip alone. The house itself is very nice, comfortable, and mostly well maintained but there were some small issues with the house that didn't quite live up to the expectations we had from the other reviews. The ice maker didn't work but they did have ice trays, the shower head for the second bedroom is too long so it sprays directly on the door making a huge watery mess outside the shower, the A/C in the main bedroom never did get cold enough for us so we all slept in the second bedroom, and lastly the railing outside could use a few repairs, it's loose in places and starting to break off in others, I even ripped my shirt on one of the broken corners. I read about TV problems, but I can honestly say we never even thought about turning it on while we were there! I hesitate to mention these small issues because I would have a hard time staying anywhere else if I were to return to MA but I do want to leave as honest & thorough review as possible.
Lastly, our concierge Josue was greatness during our stay. He was always ready to help with anything we needed along the way from tour advice to transportation arrangements and I can't compliment him enough. We liked him so much we requested him for our Midworld Tours where he also works and he was really great at that too. My son still talks about Mr. Josue and how much he liked him!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Wendy and Louis!

Thank you all so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!! As per the issues, the railing has been fixed and will be replaced entirely in Sept and Oct (we would do it earlier but the has solid rentals through August). This is first time I have heard mention of the AC unit in the Master bedroom not being cold enough, but this will be dealt with IMMEDIATELY!!!

And yes, Josue is a great, great guy - and a wonderful concierge!!!!
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

Memorable Family Vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family of 6 - 4 adults and twin 3 year olds - absolutely enjoyed every minute at Casa Barba Roja! The house is well situated - close proximity to everything from restaurants, cafes, and the bus stop, while still being secluded enough to feel like you are in a very private, jungle setting. This jungle setting is perfect for seeing and often meeting (!) the wildlife. Our girls were fascinated by all the new wildlife they saw each day. From 3 varieties of monkeys, toucans, iguanas - our girls named them Iggy and Icky - even a walking stick bug! Super cool. The sunsets never got boring! The loft in the house became a "tree house" for our kids. The accommodations were very comfortable for everyone.

We too had problems with the Internet and phone not working for several days. Josue did his best to rectify the issue. After 3 days, the Internet provider came to the house and fixed the wiring.

Roxana comes each day and cleans the house. She is so pleasant and kind. She also does the laundry for you which is a break for us moms! :)

Our only issue was with the transportation company used for our airport transfers. The company used was Pacifico Travels. We had made arrangements ahead of time for 2 car seats for our children. Going to MA was a breeze. Everything was in order. Our return to the airport was anything but... Only one car seat. We had to drive to another location to pick up another seat. It turned out to be an infant seat. They then bring booster seat. The owner arrived, and instead of being accommodating, he escalated the situation to where he screamed at our family of 4 (two children two adults) to get out of the van with our things and find an alternative transportation to the airport. In the end, we had to pay MORE than our agreed amount and ride with only one child in a car seat and the other with a seat belt. Obviously not safe.
I did bring this up to the owner, Heather, who plans to take steps to ensure the safety of her clients.
We just don't want ANYONE else to experience what we did.
PLEASE DON'T TRAVEL WITH PACIFICO TRAVELS.
Owner's Response: Hello there.
Thank you so much for your review of our house! Unfortunately the internet has been on and off for about two months now as ICE (Instituto Costarricense de Electricidad) has been putting up new telephone and electricity poles in the area as well as putting up new cables which has just been a disaster when it comes to consistent internet. We all hope ICE finishes soon!
Roxana is a gem and we are lucky to have her as a maid.
As for the transportation company used in this terribly planned and poorly executed transfer to the international airport, we have made some changes as to what we now expect from our transfer company. We have used this company for over two years now - and this is the first complaint we have ever had of them. This company is being scrutinized closely.
Hope to see you all back at the Casa Barba Roja in the future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

Beautiful Home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our family of 5 had a wonderful time at Casa Barba Roja. The home has everything you could want to make your stay comfortable. The AC helped on the humid days and the pool and sunsets were amazing. The home is well equipped and grocery store a short walk from the home. We also ate at the tapas restaurant just above the home and the food was very good. The internet was down while we were there but the TV did work. We walked to the road side and were able to get free Wi-Fi. The only aspect that was disappointing is the the beach was not a 10 minute walk as advertised. We had to drive to a public beach and pay the attendant $6 and park on the side of the road to watch our car. The security/locks of the home work very well, be careful not to set off the alarm. We would recommend this home to a family/group for a relaxing vacation!
Owner's Response: Hello Anna,

So glad you all enjoyed our house!! This house is remarkably convenient with so many amenities nearby. We, as well as many, in the Manuel Antonio area have had internet issues as the Instituto Costarricanse de Electricidad (ICE) is putting in new electric and internet lines throughout the area - and it has caused everyone some headaches.

As for the beach, the beach down the public road going through the Los Altos property IS only a 10 minute walk but the main beaches of Manuel Antonio (Playa Espadilla) is about a 20 minute walk so we generally recommend for people to drive to that beach!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Wonderful Vacation in Manuel Antonio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house is amazing. The location, back deck, pool and view are amazing!!! Seven of us stayed at this house and had a great time and plenty of room. Our ages ranged from 8 to 70 and it was perfect. We had a couple of issues with internet and TV, BUT THAT IS NOT WHY WE WERE THERE. The accommodations are excellent. The concierge, Josue, was awesome - providing details and guidance to make every excursion memorable. He recommended eating places, adventures, etc. The location is perfect - we did not rent a car - either walked, or got a Taxi. Josue had the excursions pick us up right at the house. Highly recommended and we hope to go back again and again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Houston, Texas
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family (my 5 and my parents) stayed at the Casa Barba Roja over Christmas and had a blast! The absolute best part of this house is the location (amazingly convenient), the back deck, the pool and the view. My kids came home each evening and immediately got in the pool. Sunsets every night were incredible. We had some TV and Internet issues, BUT THAT IS NOT WHY WE WERE THERE! The house is awesome! Josue, the Concierge, is dynamite! This guy made the difference in the trip - making sure we were well informed, taken care of, and entertained. He checked on us every night (often in person) and communicated extremely well. His friendly personality and honesty about every excursion was perfect. We hope to return to this exact location again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
San Diego. CA
5

Spectacular View, Amazing Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family of four loved our 5 night stay in this beautiful Manuel Antonio home. The views of Biesanz Bay and the ocean beyond are spectacular. The location is in the heart of MA, so we enjoyed many restaurants adjacent to the house. Casa Barba Roja is wonderfully private with forest surrounding the deck and pool. The house could have easily fit another family, while still maintaining a spacious feeling. The concierge, Shirley, was extremely helpful booking activities. During the day, we enjoyed all that MA had to offer and then we would return to our beautiful retreat and swim in the pool and relax while watching lovely sunsets. On our last afternoon, a group of Squirrel Monkeys visited the trees around the pool. They played and ate from the trees, completely ignoring us, but allowing us to observe them for over an hour. I very highly recommend Casa Barba Roja!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Picture's dont do it justice & beautiful people

Picture's dont do it justice & beautiful people
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
One of the best location's by Manuel Antonio , beautiful jungle surroundings , wildlife like monkeys , agoti, tucans, iguana , birds . The most beautiful sunsets from the back deck or from the pool , never the same one twice . The home is spacious , clean and the maid service is incredible . The home is fully alarmed for home security and a safe is provided. The conceirge Josue is very well in tune to all the activities and restaurants in the area , and was a very helpful contact .The local restaurants were fantastic , The Barba Roja , Ronny's , The Cantina are the best places to stop, there are so many more to try and are of top quality , our favorite was Ronny's with its great service and world class meals . Dont let the drive to Ronny's fool you ....it's well worth it . Moving around is easy with cabs and buses in the area , but everything is in easy walking distance's. i would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a peaceful , and pampered getaway .
Owner's Response: Hello There!

We are so very glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Casa Barba Roja!! What you said about no two sunsets being the same is absolutely true - you think have seen the most beautiful sunset ever . . . until the next sunset rolls around! This house has all the peace and quiet of a retreat, yet is an easy walk to just about everywhere in Manuel Antonio.
Thank you for mentioning what a wonderful job our maid does - she is a wonderful person and a real asset to our house (she has worked with me now for over 7 years). Josue is just a great guy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Casa Barba Roja was absolutely amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The house was absolutely perfect, the kitchen was enormous and we all had plenty of space. The crowning glory of the house is of course the outdoor living space, the covered porch was perfect for grilling, eating dinner al fresco every night and drinking wine and watching the sunset. The pool and patio area were straight from a travel magazine- the view is even better in person! Josue was amazing, extremely funny and super helpful; he arranged everything for us to make sure we had an amazing vacation, gave us great restaurant recommendations, and ensured that our trip was perfect!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ooh-La-la Paradise Found. Walk to everything, quiet, luxurious, monkeys, sunsets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p918952
+1 3008052
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Wonderful house! Walking distance to everything.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We arrived in San Jose, Santa Maria airport and used the shuttle service that Shirley, our concierge arranged for us at a comparable price to other shuttle services. We were greeted and our van was waiting for us right away. The driver was great, spoke English well, and was willing to make any stops along the way that we wanted. We stopped at the Crocodile Bridge, a restaurant that served typical Costa Rican food, and the grocery store. If you ask for the grocery store, ask to go to the one in Manuel Antonio, instead of the one in Quepos; it is bigger and has more of a selection, the prices are the same. Once we got to the house, our driver was nice to carry our luggage down the walkway to the house. It took about 3.5 or 4 hrs, including the stops to get to the house from the airport.

Shirley was at the house waiting for us. She walked us through the house and provided instructions on using the locks to the doors, the safe, and the security system. The housekeeper came every day at the same time you request, during our stay it was 10 am.

The rooms were great! The entire house was very clean. While were were home we were able to keep the doors and the windows open, getting a nice cross wind, plus the ceiling fans in both rooms. When it got too humid, we used the air conditioning units in the rooms, which were very sufficient and cooled quickly. The kitchen is fully-equipped. We made dinner two nights out of the 6 that we were there, with plenty of utensils, pans, etc. There is a blender if you are hoping to make margaritas or pina coladas. The pool was great! and especially the view! We loved sitting on the deck at night, the deck lighting is nice and relaxing well after the sun sets. The best is that you have the privacy on both sides on the back deck and pool. The landscaping and the pathway from the house to the main street is nice.

There is a bank across the street of the house, the restaurant, Barba Roja right next door to the house, many other restaurants within half a mile walking distance. The store is a 10 minute walk from the house, very convenient, and they do deliver. There are sloths in the trees and on the power lines all along the walk to Manuel Antonio National Park, about a 45 min walk for a group of 30 year olds, but we made a number of stops to admire the sloths.

And yes! we did see a monkeys and a sloth in the trees on the house property!
Helpful votes: 1/1