Greve apartment rental - CASTELLO DI COLOGNOLE
CASTELLO DI COLOGNOLE
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Greve Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Three charming holiday apartments in an authentic 12th C. Castle

Three charming apartments in an authentic castle dating back to 12th C. in the typical green hills of Chianti Classico. The castle has undergone various restorations over the centuries which have highlighted its architectural features giving it a particular charm and giving its structure an aura of olden times. The castle itself is very picturesque, built in stone in a square hill overlooking Greve in Chianti. It has a peaceful and a dominating position in front of Montefioralle Castle. From the garden and the windows you have a magnificent, panoramic view of rolling Chianti hills, olive groves and vineyards. The apartments have use of a large lovely private garden (450 m²). The Colognole Castle is ideally located for short day trips to all of the sights of Tuscany. Florence is an hour away by car or reliable, comfortable bus service, the recommended way to visit the great city. Siena is about 1 hour and half by car.

The castle: The Colognole Castle has undergone several restorations over the centuries which have highlighted its architectural features giving it a particular charm and giving its structure an aura of olden times. The castle itself is very picturesque, built in stone in a square surrounding on a hill overlooking Greve in Chianti. It has a peaceful and a dominating position in front of Montefioralle Castle.

The garden: From the garden and the windows you have a panoramic view over the surrounding green hills with olive trees and vineyards. The owners spent long time to choose particular type of plants from three generations. In early June, the wild jasmine and herbs in bloom, adding another magical touch.

General amenities: On request: to be agreed when booking and to be paid directly on the spot:

- Housekeeping.

- Tuscany cooking lessons.

- Cook available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

- Oil and wine produced by owner.

- Bicycles for hire.

Details for Bacco 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, 2 Bathrooms

The Bacco apartment is on the first floor. It has two bedrooms, two baths with shower, a large kitchen, two dining sitting rooms and a large living room. The kitchen is well equipped and has a door window to the garden. A long Tuscan dining table will seat 10 to 12, and has been site of many delicious extended Tuscan meals. There is direct access to the garden from this dining room. The second dining room has a grand fireplace (big enough to stand in) and a stone sink, both original to the castle. The spacious living room contains works of the many artists who have visited the castle and captured its charm on canvas.
More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 91766 in Greve, Italy

Bacco
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
Courtice, Ontario CANADA
5

Beautiful & Relaxing Stay

Beautiful & Relaxing Stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband and I visited this property the last week of July 2009 and stayed for one week. Where do I begin...The apartment was perfect! It contained everything that you would ever need for your stay including laundry facilities and a dishwasher. We shopped in the local market and prepared most of our meals. We typically ate out once per day depending on where our travels took us. This property is located in perfect proximity for day trips to Pisa, Florence and Siena (which we did). We did a day trip every other day and just hung back at the little villages nearby on the off days. Rita offers cooking classes at an extremely inexpensive price and we used the vegetables and herbs fresh from her garden. And let me assure you...the meal was delicious. The view from the back garden is magnificent. We ate overlooking the rolling hillside of vineyards and olive groves. The village is a 2 minute drive and could be walked (it’s just a bit hilly). Nice village with an internet cafe/coffee shop if you didn’t bring your computer.

Rosita, Rita and Faustus not only welcomed us into their home, but also into their hearts. We flew into Rome on a Sunday morning where we picked up our rental car and drove straight to the castle for our first week (of a 2 week trip). Of course, nothing is open on Sundays so Rita prepared a wonderful dinner for us and we enjoyed it in the back garden with a bottle of wine from Faustus' vineyard. We also chose the option for breakfast the next morning as we had yet to get groceries. When we left, we went to Venice for 3 nights where we rented an apartment that seemed so cold to us after having stayed at Castello di Colognole. If they had not had our apartment already rented for the next week. I would have much rather stayed there longer.

They have two dogs who are very playful and well behaved. As we lost our puppy early July, we felt so blessed to be around Bacco and Jemma.

There is no air conditioning, however, there are fans and we did not have any trouble sleeping. They do have misquittos but so do we here in Canada. Rosita speaks english with minimal difficulty. Rita is learning and we really didn't have any trouble communicating.

If you are looking to enrich your life by experiencing the authenic life in Tuscany, this place is a must! It was truly like a second honeymoon for us! We will definitely return...but next time, for a longer period of time.

Corrinne & Stephen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our stay at the Colognole Castle was absolutely wonderful. Upon our arrival, Rosita gave us a warm welcome, and tour around the castle. In the kitchen, she had stocked it with some food essentials that was greatly appreciated. We also cooked a couple of meals during our stay and the kitchen had all the kitchen utensils we needed.
The apartment is charming, very clean, and maintained well. Rosita also keeps it stocked with extra blankets, umbrellas, and is more than happy to accommodate anything else that one may need.
Customer service is the best I've had, you'll feel as though it is your home while staying there.
Definitely a 5 Star!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
Australia
4

Italian Hospitality at its best

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
It has been a long time since a group of 4 of us stayed with Rosa and Rosita at the wonderful Castello Di Colognole but I have finally remembered to write a review! The castle is definitely original and some parts are older than others. During our stay renovations were in progress which did not affect our stay at all but added to the interest. I cannot comment on the condition of our apartment now as I do not know if it has been upgraded but certainly the Bacco apartment which had been refurbished was done extremely well. Our apartment was a little cool and the kitchen quite small, but it served our needs during our stay. The washing machine arrangements were not great at the time, but perhaps they have been modernised by now. Irrespective of these things, we had the most wonderful stay with Rosa and Rosita and they were both welcoming and very kind people. The view from the garden over the valley is magnificent. It is close to town, you do need a car or moped though. There is a daily bus from the town to Florence - very easy. The location was excellent for day driving trips around this regions and there were many wonderful towns to explore. Yes, Rosa's cooking is fantastic! Rosita's beautiful, welcoming smile is very much missed and when I think of Italy, I think of our stay here and believe it is a genuine experience of country Italy. Colognole Castle was a great base for exploring the region and experiencing genuine Italian hospitality. A lot of memories from our week stay at this truly original castle. Laura, Brad, John and Beryl of Australia!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
5

A holiday to cherish

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We arrived at Castello di Colognole late in the afternoon and were warmly greeted by Rosita and Rita and their beautiful dogs. A fire blazed in the huge fireplace in our apartment and we felt at home at once. We had booked a cooking lesson with Rita for that night and the food was delicious. Rita cooked again for us a few days later, and once again the food, cooked with fresh ingredients and vegetables from the garden, was wonderful.

The Castello is breathtaking - the building is magnificent and the grounds and views are stunning. The website photos don't do it justice at all. Our apartment was HUGE. It had all the mod cons - central heating, a large, well equipped farmstyle kitchen and two modern bathrooms, however the character of the building had been retained and the comfortable furnishings complemented the building style. Although there was a big lounge and dining room, we ate and sat at night in the sitting room with its enormous fireplace. Carlo ensured that we always had plenty of wood.

The Castello is a short drive to Greve which is a charming town with a beautiful Piazza and lovely shops, cafes and a restaurant. Sienna, San Gimignano, and Florence were within easy driving distance, however on our 2nd trip to Florence we took the bus which was much easier than driving into the city. We even managed a day trip to Pisa. Closer to home there is the opportunity to do wine tastings or explore small local villages.

Rosita and Rita made us feel like family. They were friendly and helpful and delightful. We would have absolutely no hesitation in booking a holiday at the Castello again and would confidently recommend it to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
Richmond, Virginia, U.S.A.
5

Tuscan countryside at its panoramic best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We spent a delightful week at the Bacco apartment in June, 2010. We gave up easy day trips to the Tuscan hill towns to spent time in the lovely flower garden, eating meals, sipping wine, and enjoying the castle's panoramic views of vineyards, olive groves and Chianti hills. Rita taught a cooking class for us with fresh food from her garden which we replicated in our well-equipped, modern kitchen. Original architectural features of a 12th century castle fascinated us. The bedrooms were very comfortable and quiet, and beds have beautiful, crisp linens. Rita arranges the flowers from her garden to fill the apartment. Rosita, Rita's sister, uses impeccable English to answer all questions. We have decided to return in the fall to see the grape harvest, as both wine and olive oil are produced on the estate, and to visit again these friendly and accommodating sisters.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
5

An Experience To Remember

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My family of eight arrived at the castle after a long week and a half of traveling across Italy. We were ready to rest, and we came to the perfect place! The castle is secluded and quiet. Lilac and lavendar were blooming everywhere, and the weather in the middle of April was sunny but cool. We were greeted by Rosita and Rita, whose hospitality and kindness toward not only my husband and me, but our six children, was unparalleled. The apartment they fixed for us was quaint yet modern and incredibly spacious - the beds were made lovingly and the meal that was prepared for us that evening was deliciously seasoned with fresh garden herbs. The wine here is exquisite. A trip to the castle alone is a vacation. We walked the grounds for hours and there are several extensive hiking paths just up the road. We felt at home and can't wait to return. Florence was an easy 45 minute drive, and from the parking location Rosita recommended, we easily walked to the Ponte Vecchio Bridge and the Galleria. The castle is also a little over an hour from Assissi and Ravenna, Sienna and many other wonderful smaller Italian cities every tourist should see. We highly recommend this vacation site!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Tevia and Edward, thank you very much for the nice review about your staying at the Colognole Castle.
We look forward to meeting you again here at the castle along with your wonderful children.
All my best to all of you. Rosita
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
Bucharest, Romania
5

charming historical residence

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Really charming historical residence, with magical atemporal atmosphere, calm and elegance; large spaces tastefully decorated, with old furniture and a lot of other artistic old objects; wonderful garden with magnificent views on Chianti's hills, equipped with all you would need to fully experience what "dolce far niente" really means. Last but not least, the wonderful family of owners - exquisite intellectuals, devoted to the preservation of historical family heritage and cultural traditions - is consistently contributing to make your stay in Castello di Colognole a real pleasure and an unforgettable holiday. I definitely would like to go there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Bacco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p91766?uni_id=78836
+0039 335 317689
Greve Chianti
5

Gîte magnifique

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Nous avons passé une superbe semaine de vacances dans le gîte "Bacco". Le gîte est très agréable, beau, confortable et parfaitement propre. La grande chambre, comprenant un canapé convertible, était parfaite pour nos 3 enfants. L'accueil des deux soeurs, Rita et Rosita, est très agréable et chaleureux. A notre arrivée, nous avons trouvé des fleurs fraiches un peu partout dans le gîte, ainsi qu'une excellente bouteille de Chianti et d'Huile d'Olive, produits par Rita et Rosita. Rita nous avait même proposé de faire quelques courses pour notre arrivée.
Rosita nous a préparé un excellent repas toscan (tellement copieux que nous en avons mangé pendant 2 jours!)
Le jardin est très beau et la vue superbe.
L'emplacement du gîte est parfait pour visiter les différentes villes et villages de Toscane (Florence, Sienne, Volterra, Saint Gimignano....)