Great Island cottage rental - relax and enjoy from the backyard at the water's edge. the dog will love it too.
relax and enjoy from the backyard at the water's edge. the dog will love it too.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Great Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

fully furnished waterfront cottage nearby gallilee , point judith and the beaches. boating, swimming, fishing from your own dock, or just sit and relax watching the water. convenient and quiet location, with ez trip distance to newport and block island.

Keywords: waterfront cottage

my wife geeta and i live in the berkshires of western mass and intend to retire to this cottage in a few years. i am a former peace corps volunteer from nepal where i met my wife and were married there. fishing , travelling, relaxing, running are some of my favorite enjoyments.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2008

the fishing village of gallilee is a real working port, with a ferry to block island, good restaurants, a very quiet spot on great island, point judith nearby, ez trips to newport and jamestown... are some of the reasons. the exact spot is private, quiet, and close to the water/dock.

relaxation, swimming, boating, clamming, fishing, walking, peace and quiet.

16 Reviews of Property 334421 in Great Island, Rhode Island

Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
5

A taste of heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I and our dog Rocky stayed for one week. We were looking for a quiet place on the water. We got it. It was so quiet and peaceful. Every day we did day trips. The restaurants are great as well. Especially liked the restaurant Spains. Found quiet places on the ocean to picnic as well. Beaches are not far and great. We went out of season so no one minded that our dog ran on the beach. The Lighthouse Tour was fun as well which brought us through Newport. I brought my bike and my kayak and had a blast. The island is great for riding your bike around. The neighbors were so kind and friendly. Love RI folks. I would definitely go back Thank you David for providing this lovely get away. So clean and comfy. The washer ad dryer was a big plus as well Went home with clean clothes
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
5

quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This cottage has everything you could want. Beaches,restaurants(recommend Spain),buy lobsters right at the docks,driving distance to Newport and so much more.Bring food and relax outside.The scenery is beautiful.Stay here. I'm sure that you will enjoy yourselves.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
Rhode Island
5

Happy Birthday to me!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Five nights at Sukha Niwas turned into a wonderful 50th birthday memory to add to my life scrapbook. Great Island is a place that quickly and quietly forces the human body and mind to relax physically and mentally.

Go to sleep at night hearing the water gently meet the shore and wake up in the morning to the birds singing a beautiful melody. You won't hear traffic noises during your stay unless you decide to start your own car.

The cabin is nicely stocked with all the necessities. The outdoor shower is private and a very nice treat. Beds are comfy and the cabin is very clean.

Our communication with David and Geeta was impeccable.

Breathe in the salt air and enjoy your stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
5

What a quaint cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
If you are looking for a very quiet, quaint, adorable cottage all knotty pine, then this is it. So cute and clean nothing fancy just a wonderful cottage with a GREAT ocean view. There is no beach access but a wonderful dock and pier that we spent time on sipping coffee in the morning and good wine at night! I would definetly return. Thanks Dave and Geeta
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
Providence
5

Mini Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What a wonderful little cottage which comfortably housed myself, fiance (who became my husband over this weekend) our wedding ceremony officiants, and another couple.And our small elderly dog. It is a simple and cozy place with spectacular views. We watched the stars, sunsets, and even had a little party on the dock. The outdoor shower is really nice.Truly a little paradise. You will want to also own a little cottage on Great Island after staying here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
Northampton, MA, USA
5

Had to tear ourselves away...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We are a couple in our fifties, and rented this lovely cottage for three nights. If it belonged to us, we'd never leave! It's very comfortable and convenient to everything - no driving for miles to the grocery store. The queen bed was perfect, great shower, efficient, well-equipped kitchen and full-sized refrigerator. The best part is sitting in the back yard, bird-watching. Absolutely fascinating! Great egrets, the smaller species, cormorants being comedians, great blue herons, etc. Early morning and evening are the best times to watch the birds. The neighborhood is very quiet, and the yard is quite private. It was wonderful to have our dog with us. We'd planned on eating at 'Spain' one night, but decided to stay in and enjoy the house. Everything was perfect, and we can't wait to get back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tracey. We look forward to sharing the cottage with you again. Whenever we are there we also dread leaving.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
Agawam, MA
5

Peaceful Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
It was so sad to say good bye to this wonderful relaxing place. My family of 4 and my mother decided to rent a cottage for a week and we came across this property. It was like finding a gold mine! The cottage is cozy and has everything you need, however, we spent almost our entire time outside snorkeling, kyaking, fishing, and looking for clams.We were able to buy some fresh lobsters from the boat which were very tasty! We spent a couple days at the near by beaches and went for a ride along the coast. One of my brother's came for the weekend and stayed in our camper on the property...the weekend turned into a week as they did not want leave either.Also, our black lab had the time of her life as well. Thank you for sharing this with my family, It was one of the best family vacations we have ever had! P.S. love the new outdoor shower, very refreshing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank YOU Paula! We look forward to sharing our cottage with you and your family again.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
Tulsa, OK
5

A little slice of vacation heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I, along with my parents, recently stayed at Sukha Niwas and it was everything we could have hoped for and more. The cottage is very spacious and clean, the beds comfortable (which is very important for us older folks!), the view just as it is depicted in his photos - serene and peaceful. We would drink our coffee on the dock every morning and feed the swans. I used the outdoor shower every morning and enjoyed the view while at the same time quite private and comfortable! I had to call the owner, David, with a question and even though it was a holiday weekend, his response was prompt and friendly. We took his advice and dined at Spain and I will pass on that recommendation - it was fantastic. My Dad said it was one of the best meals he has ever had - and that compliment does not come easy! Being from the Midwest, we took every opportunity to have fresh seafood and one evening grilled fresh swordfish and salmon that we bought at Champlins. Perfect! We visited Block Island via the ferry and drove to Newport one afternoon so we were able to see the sites yet also relax without being rushed or overscheduled. Thank you David and Geeta, for sharing your little slice of heaven with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We named the cottage sukha niwas --- abode of happiness--- for those many happy reasons you mention in your friendly review. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
5

What a Wonderful place....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We can't say enough about this place. What a great location, quiet and picturesque. The backyard is your own private dock and you are right on the water like the owner says. Speaking of the owner, David is a very kind person and very accomodating "Thank you for everything David". This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway, and a fishermans dream vacation. There is a fully equiped kitchen were we made our own seafood dinner which we enjoyed on our own dock with a glass of wine, while watching the sunset. The salt pond is full of muscle,clams,and oysters, and if you love seafood you must stop by Champlins. Great time here for families too. The cottage is very comfortable and feels like home when your there. Thank you David for sharing your home with the rest of the world, we hope to be back this year and bring the kayaks with us this time.

Happy Holidays, Steph&Shane
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ocean Waterfront Cottage with Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p334421vbi
+1 518-424-2165
Great Island Narragansett area
Connecticut
5

What A Wonderful Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Hi David,
We just returned from visiting the cottage to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary. We had such a wonderful time, and loved the cottage and the entire Great Island. The cottage was so charming and well equiped with all we needed. Our eyes simply could not take in all the beauty of the view of the lovely salt pond. We even woke up in the night to take a peek out the window. It was so relaxing and fun! It is such a great destination to explore so many wonderful places. We spend Saturday at the East Matunuck Beach all day, we walked to Salt Brine beach to see the sunset with a drink at Georges, enjoyed a delicious dinner at Spain Restaurant, caught the most lovely sunset at Cronin (Point Judith State Park) , took long walks around the Island, watched our wedding video, enjoyed yummy breakfasts at the outdoor picnic table,and most all of enjoyed spending time together at your delightful cottage.
It was a weekend that will always be remembered....so glad we found you! We would most certainily recommend this property to others. Thanks for your hospitality and sharing this special cottage with us!

We look forward to returning in the future to bike Block Island, and kayak the pond!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We could not say it any better. Thank YOU!
Helpful votes: 3/3